Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Clover Creek Apartments

Phone: (630) 953-1335 Fax: (630) 620-4014 830 Foxworth Blvd, Lombard, IL 60148 View Additional Email Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Clover Creek Apartments meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Clover Creek Apartments include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Clover Creek Apartments
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 06, 2001 Business started: 01/01/1986 Business started locally: 01/01/1986
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Kristen Contreras, Property Manager Wendy Hernandez, Assistant Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Kristen Contreras, Property Manager
Business Category

Property Management Residential Property Managers (NAICS: 531311)


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Clover Creek Apartments has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/10/2015 Problems with Product/Service
12/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My wife, and kids were asked to vacate the apartment that we just signed a 1 year lease to. with no formal complaint, we decided to just move out. I was to be returned my rental deposit in the amount of $1,455,give or take a couple hundred dollars, only to receive a check in the amount of $119.00. I have video tape of the apartment before I left, and also tried talking to the property manager, who angrily barked out that no adjustments would be made to my final bill. She went on to send me still photos of the apartment and how they said the rug could not be repaired, and that someone made a recommendation that it all be replaced.(but my video only shows that the rug had a few stains on it) and that costed $800/900 dollars, and also the counter tops needed to be repaired in the amount of $175.00. I clearly can show that this is wrong as it is documented in my video.

Desired Settlement: I am seeking at least $400/$500 dollars back from this Company. My family and was actually put out on the streets, and could not afford a deposit to move elsewhere with the small amount of time we had to move.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/11/24) */ Contact Name and Title: ******* ********* MGR Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: **********@goco.com The details of this complaint are not accurate. The **** family was given plenty of time to find new housing. A discussion was had to terminate the lease agreement in the beginning of August and the ****'s vacated the beginning of October. We were in communication about a date that was reasonable for them to vacate. They chose the vacate date, not Clover Creek. I have provided Mr. **** with the receipts of work completed in his former apartment. The receipts are valid. Clover Creek did not make them up. Clover Creek does not look to charge former tenants for work that was not done in the apartment. We were not able to save the carpet in his former residence. It was not in acceptable enough condition for a new tenant so we replaced it. The carpet was new when Mr. **** moved in. The countertops also needed to be re-surfaced. I provided Mr. **** with receipts and photos of his former residence as is the standard for all of our former tenants. We exchanged an email. I never spoke to Mr. **** and therefore did not bark at him as indicated in his complaint. The charges are factual with the documentation necessary for back up. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 10, 2014/11/24) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) First off, This is bogus charges. I again, can provide a video of the counter, and of the carpet. The carpet had some stains, and that is all, as far as the counter top, we never used the counter tops, all the food prepared in the apartment was catered. Also, I was charged for another bogus charge of sewer and garbage on the beginning of August, and we left the apartment on the 4th of August. I won't go into a long, drawn out conversation with *******, because she spoke to my wife, and my kids and asked WHEN are you all going to leave on multiple occasions!!! This apartment complex is way below standard living,and the safety of the tenants are below satisfactory, especially for the rent they charge. I had no problem vacating the property, but I won't let someone make up false accusations, and try to get me to believe something untrue. I was there, and had this apartment was left unlivable, or damaged, I would have been the first to admit it. I would like to send a copy of the video tape to BBB for further analysis. And , while we are on that subject, I finally spoke to ******* after 3 weeks when I first came in to find out what was the move out instructions, and told her that the rug was stained, and she indicated to me "oh, you should not worry about the rug, because when you move out, we'll have someone to go in and clean it. It should not cost more than $50.00 or so." I do agree with one thing, the rug might have cost a little bit more than fifty dollars to clean, but I don't agree with replacing a entire apartment with new carpet, when 2/3 of it had remained new!!! I am not satisfied, and I am utterly disgusted with our short stay at Clover Creek,(3 months), and would never recommend this apartment complex to anyone! Thank you BBB for hearing my complaint. Final Business Response /* (4000, 12, 2014/11/29) */ This is incorrect. I sent ONE email to Mrs. **** asking her if they had decided on what date they were vacating the apartment. I never spoke with his children asking them when they were going to vacate the apartment. All residents are required to pay water and sewer and trash through the date they occupy the apartment. Mr. **** turned in keys on October 4th. They took possession on August 2nd. I don't know what Mr. **** is talking about. When I spoke with Mr. **** he asked me how much it was to clean his carpet b/c he was not sure he would have time to do it himself. I indicated to him a standard carpet clean is $50. There is no way I can promise any resident without actually seeing their apartment what they are going to be charged at move out. Perhaps he misunderstood me but again I told him a STANDARD carpet cleaning is $50. If we can clean a carpet for the next resident to move into, we will do it. Unfortunately, that was not the case with the carpet in Mr. ****'s former residence. Clover Creek has no additional response to this complaint.

10/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The ONLY individuals that actually signed the lease are ******* *****, ***** ***** & ******* *****. The ONLY individuals that actually signed the lease. We signed a lease agreement and gave a security deposit of $1,687 to rent a 3bedroom apartment on August 13, 2013. We moved in August 15, 2013. We moved out that same apartment on August 17, 2014. We did not receive a call to pick up our security deposit check until September 27, 2014. We picked up the security deposit check made for only $438.72 with no detailed itemized listing of what was taken out of my security deposit. Clearly $1,249 was taken out of my security deposit and the very least clover creek property managers could have done was provide a detailed list of exactly what was taken out of my security deposit and why. Furthermore, clover creek property management made out the check incorrectly. They made the check to include my niece, ********* *******; she's 3 years old. Why would they include a 3 year old on a check? She cannot endorse a check! Red tape! This is simply another example of the **** poor service we have received from the bitter unprofessional racist staff in the clover creek property management office. Additionally, the check is also made out to "& None Left". No sure who that is but I am certain that name is not listed on our lease nor signed the lease. My experience with clover creek property management has been nothing short of a nightmare for the past year. I had hope that moving out would put an end this nightmare but it continues with this joke of a security deposit check. I have turned to the BBB because each and every time my sister or myself calls they claim that the property manager is not in the office that day. Which would mean ******* has taken off most of the month of September, which is highly unlikely. Clover Creek Property Managers NEVER return phone calls so it is pointless to continue to try to communicate with them because the entire office is just bitter, unprofessional and quite rude. To end this nightmare lease experience, my request is as follows: 1.) Reissue my security deposit check to include the full amount of $1,687. 2.) If any fees are to are owed to clover creek bill us and please provide a detailed list of each item and the cost associated with that item. 3.) Reissue my check to include the individuals that actually signed the lease agreement. Why would you include minors & the verbiage "None left" on a security deposit check? Clover Creek Management did that to create red tape for us when trying to cash this check. Just another example of the unprofessionalism and bitterness that cultivates the clover creek property management office. Since you clearly need direction on how to operate professionally, the check should be made out as follows: ******* ***** "or" ******* ***** "or" ***** *****. Those are the individuals that signed the lease agreement and the only individuals that should appear on the security deposit check payee line. There is absolutely no need to include any additional verbiage on neither the payee line nor a minor's name. Clover Creek's additional verbiage on the pay to the order of line (payee line) renders this check use less. I would expect a call to pick up my check with the next 48 business hours as I am extremely uncomfortable with providing an address to the management office for fear of possible harassment and buddying, which is what I experienced from the property management office while I was a tenant at Clover Creek Apartments. Thank you BBB for your time and attention to the matter. Sincerely, ***** *****

Desired Settlement: 1.) Reissue my security deposit check to include the full amount of $1,687. 2.) If any fees are to are owed to clover creek bill us and please provide a detailed list of each item and the cost associated with that item. 3.) Reissue my check to include the individuals that actually signed the lease agreement. Why would you include minors & the verbiage "None left" on a security deposit check? Clover Creek Management did that to create red tape for us when trying to cash this check. Just another example of the unprofessionalism and bitterness that cultivates the clover creek property management office. Since you clearly need direction on how to operate professionally, the check should be made out as follows: ******* ***** "or" ******* ***** "or" ***** *****. Those are the individuals that signed the lease agreement and the only individuals that should appear on the security deposit check payee line. There is absolutely no need to include any additional verbiage on neither the payee line nor a minor's name. Clover Creek's additional verbiage on the pay to the order of line (payee line) renders this check use less. I would expect a call to pick up my check with the next 48 business hours as I am extremely uncomfortable with providing an address to the management office for fear of possible harassment and buddying, which is what I experienced from the property management office while I was a tenant at Clover Creek Apartments.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/09/29) */ Contact Name and Title: ******* ********* Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: **********@goco.com We received your complaint from the BBB. I received your email from that correspondence. An itemized listing was mailed to the last known address as we are required to do, which is the apartment address as there was no forwarding address provided. I am happy to provide you with an itemized listing again in this email. As to your comment regarding our note none left - that simply means that a forwarding address was not left and to mail the check to Clover Creek per your request when keys were turned in to our office. I did not receive a phone call from you or anyone in the apartment. I do understand that there were several calls placed to our office inquiring if we had received your refund check at our office and that was the reason for the call. From what I can tell, the check was made out to ***** ***** as she is the primary listed in our computer system. If you would like to return the check to our office, I will be more than happy to get a new check re-issued to all adult leaseholders. Please return the check to our office in order to initiate that process. The security deposit is held in lieu of final charges on the unit. We will not re-issue the check for the full amount and bill you for the balance due. The deductions from the security deposit are as follows: $262.33 - Rent due for 3 days additional stay beyond Lease expiration $150.00 - Satellite Dish Removal Fee $225.00 - Paint Charge to cover up custom paint colors by Resident $73.04 - Final Water Bill $538.08 - Carpet Replacement Charge due to stains (Carpet new in 2012, amount based on a 5 year life expectancy of carpeting) $.17- Deposit Interest $1,687.00 - Deposit $438.72 - Refund Check

8/11/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: At the end of June 2014, I put down a deposit to hold an apartment that wouldn't be available until August 15, 2014. I had lots of time before my scheduled move in date so I kept looking at other places. On August 6th, I was approved for a condo that's a bit cheaper and has more of what I am looking for. I emailed ******* ******** over at the Clover Creek apartments to let her know that I will be withdrawing my application and would like my $300 refunded to me. She responded back to me: "Hey ******, I'm sorry to hear that. Unfortunately your application has been approved for some time now. The $300 is non-refundable once your application is approved, we allow 24 hours for buyer's remorse but after that it is non-refundable. This is to cover the fact that we held this apartment off the market for you and now it will sit vacant until we can fill it. If you have any questions I will be in all day tomorrow or just e-mail me back. I will cancel your apartment as soon as I hear from you." None of that was mentioned to me. I knew that I had been approved, but it was obvious that I was going to be approved regardless. The day that I was there filling out the application, I asked one of the girls working there if my $300 would be refundable and I was told "YES." Nobody told me that there is a 24 hour buyer's remorse window. What I was told though, is that the application fee is $60 and that is not refundable. I am totally fine with. I am not fine with an apartment office being scandalous like this and telling me one thing when they really mean something else. It is extremely unprofessional and it is incredibly immoral... its just flat out wrong. I have not signed a lease. The only thing I have signed was the application - that's it. Also, ******* mentions that the apartment has been off of the market for some time now. That is true, however, what she fails to mention is that the apartment IS NOT available anyways until August 15th. Clover Creek has lost no revenue other than me wanting my deposit back.

Desired Settlement: All I want is my $300 refunded to me.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/08/07) */ Applicant cancelled after being notified of approval. Application clearly states that holding deposit is not refundable once notified of approval. We will forward the signed application to the applicant today that contains the language regarding cancellation and his signature acknowledging that he understood.

3/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Every day for past 3 weeks i have had to endure this torture especially my child. Office staff gives a hassle sometimes. It is a fire hazzard! Child is hovered in corner of room with blankets over head screaming when this occurs.

Desired Settlement: Problem to be resolved.............this is the second complaint. I will report to an agancy that handles disability as well since my disabled child is impacted if this isnt resolved.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/02/12) */ Contact Name and Title: ******* ********* MGR Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: **********@goco.com Every time **** ***** has informed us that the trash compactor is not working we have gone over to her building and found there to be no issue with the trash compactor other than it working as it normally should work (for example: it is running because a resident dropped trash down the chute). When **** ***** contacted the Village of Lombard code enforcement department, they too found no issue with the trash compactor. Management has offered to transfer **** ***** to a different apartment in the past as a result of her numerous, almost daily, complaints. **** ***** declined to be transferred. The trash compactor can malfunction if a resident throws items down the trash chute that cause it to jam (such as a box that is too large). The trash chute is not malfunctioning. The trash compactor is not broken. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 9, 2014/02/13) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) that is not true, every time I have called it has been after over at least 30 minutes of running. each time it was neccsary to remove a jammed item or wipe the sensor. I spoke with the village and they informed me that their was a bad sensor that finally was replaced. The mgmt is very poor at this location and I shouldn't have to disrupt my special needs child by moving apartments because they cannot manage the problem. I will continue to report when this issue occurs and any others. Final Business Response /* (4000, 11, 2014/02/18) */ As of today's date (February 18 2014) I am not aware of any issue with the trash chute in **** *****'s building. Is there currently an issue? If there is a future problem, per the terms of her lease agreement, she should report that via a service request to the Clover Creek management office. She can do this in person OR phone at (XXX)XXX-XXXX OR email at ***********@goco.com. We are more than happy to address her concerns when there is an issue. The City/Village of Lombard found no such problem when they last visited her apartment. The inspector visited the Management office when he was done meeting **** ***** and said there was no issue found and that he encouraged **** ***** to contact us about relocating to a different unit. There is a sensor on the trash chute. The sensor is not broken. If trash gets stuck by the sensor eye it will cause the compactor to run. There is also a timer on the trash chute that will auto start to move trash through the trash chute. Clover Creek has not been negligent in fixing the trash chute when **** ***** complains. We respond each time she has called. There trash compactor is not broken. It is working as it should. If this is an issue for **** *****, we can speak with her again about relocating to a different unit. **** ***** did just renew her lease at this location.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on Clover Creek Apartments
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart