BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 05/01/2010

Caruso Management Group, Inc.

Phone: (630) 717-7188Fax: (630) 305-7804

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

15 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues2
Problems with Product / Service13
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints15

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (15)BBB Closure Definitions
10/14/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
To whom it may concern:

I have experienced VERY POOR SERVICE from this Management Co. I have made numerous phone calls only to get bounced around from person to person being told things like I am new to this job and can't say what happened to the previous person responsible for the property management of the ******* Townhomes (my subdivision). I then leave voice mail messages with no response. I was instructed to submit a form/request for Landscaping approval and a light fixture via fax to the attn: of Kathy Powers ***.XXX-XXXX on 8/28/14 with the understanding that I should receive an answer within 30 days. I spoke with ***** ********* 10/1/14 she has no record of this request. I have the fax confirmation as well. Now I have to begin the process again. Which means no landscaping in 2014 due to weather restraints. I am willing to pay. I simply need an approval from the Board which is filtered through Carusso Management Group. Despite my efforts of phone calls and request in writing I am getting no help. Obviously, they simply care about one thing the bottom line the $160 monthly association fee. I need help PLEASE!!!

Desired Settlement
I would like better service going forward. The Landscaping at rear my home was removed over 2 years ago and never replaced. This is an eye sore. When can I get the final approval to replace it without being threatened with a fine. I also have a outside light fixture that I would like to replace as well. Finally, someone needs to be accountable to return phone calls and letter correspondence. I would like a point of contact when this office is contacted. It appears that there is a great deal of turn over at this company. Which throws up a Red Flag!!!!!! When will this matter be resolved!!!! I AM HOPING IMMEDIATLY.

Business Response
We at Caruso Management group act under the direction of the current Board of Directors of ******* Club Homeowners Association. Unfortunately at this time we do not have enough information. We are more than willing to help Ms. ****

08/18/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I contacted Caruso management group on XX-XX-XX by email and phone about some damage that was done to my screen door by one of it's landscaping crew workers. I was told to send an email and someone follow up with me, see below a copy of the email;

********,

As per our phone conversation today. The bottom of my patio screen door was damaged in two spots by the landscaping crew and there grass blower machine this past week while they were out on the property and needs to be re-screened.

Thank you,

****** **********.

B.t.w. On Thursday April the 24th , one of your landscaping crew workers while working on the property digging the grass borders/trenches , was on my rear patio with his hands pressed up to the glass door looking into my home, not sure what he was looking for or how that pertains to his job.

I stopped into the Caruso office on 5-13-14 and spoke to a ***** about the issue. ***** said the repair work had been authorized in the system and someone would be contacting me by email or phone before the end of the business day to let me know when someone would be out to complete the repair work. It is now 5-30-14 and I still have not heard from Caruso by phone or email and no one has stopped by to complete the work they damaged on my screen door.

Desired Settlement
I want them to fulfill there contractual obligation and repair my screen that their workers damaged.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ***
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ****@carusomanagementgroup.com
Caruso disagrees that this complaint is directed at us. This issue is between the homeowner and the landscaper who the homeowner believes did the damage. This complaint was turned over to the vendor who is then responsible to handle it with the homeowner from that point on. Caruso should not contact the homeowner in matters that do not relate to our responsibilities as that only adds a middle man and confusion to the complaint. The vendor is responsible to contact the homeowner and as we understand it, the vendor did contact the homeowner. We did not damage this homeowner's screen and we forwarded the complaint as we were supposed to do. The workers work for the landscaper not Caruso Management.
Lastly the issue of people looking in his windows is a police matter and that is how it should be handled or the homeowner may lodge a complaint with the vendor.

Consumer Response
As per our phone conversation today. I wanted you to be aware that the above case number issue has not been resolved.

I have not been contacted by Caruso Management or it's vendor about the above mentioned case number.

Thank you for your assistance in resolving this matter.

Final Business Response
Caruso did not hire this vendor. The Board of Directors did. The Board advised us to have the owner notify the vendor of his concern. We manage according to the cotnract and take direction from the Board. We did notify the landscaper but according to the Board this is between the homeowner and the landscaper.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I contacted Caruso to let them know that the vendor they hired to do work on the premises here had indeed caused damage to my screen door. I saw the worker hit the screen door with the leaf blower while I was on a conference call. Caruso hired this vendor not me. I have always contacted Caruso when their contractors have caused damage to my property here and they have been the one's to contact the contractor/vendor to make repairs. For example: Norton Roofing last year, repaired the shingles on the roof and a gutter that was damaged when they put on the new roofs. I contacted Caruso and Caruso contacted Norton to come out and make the repair.. Last year a different landscaping crew damaged some irrigation pipe and a drain cover they were installing, I contacted Caruso and they contacted the landscaping crew to come out and repair the damaged work. Two years ago it was the painters who left paint all over the front porch and brick retaining wall out front, again Caruso was contacted and they reached out to the painters. I'm sure I can come up with some old records and corroboration from other home owners here in the subdivision to show that the homeowners have contacted Caruso about repairs and Caruso has contacted the contractors/vendors to come out to make the repairs. If Caruso is not willing to do what they were hired to do: Manage the property owners expectations. I want to hire my own contractor to make the repair and bill Caruso for it. I contacted Caruso and filed this report with the Better Business Bureau at the end of April 2014. Here it July 16th and Caruso hasn't bothered to contact their contractor/vendor that they hired. This is just further unscrupulous business activities on there behalf. So know, their response is not acceptable.

06/13/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
to whom it may concern,

the first time I received the notice was in the early February. I contacted the management company immediately and spoke to someone from your company personally after receiving the information. Based on the conversation, I learned that that the management didn't have correct contact information, including name of owners, phone numbers and address. I emailed the management to update my contact information. Today, the management company still doesn't update my contact information; particularly correct spelling of my name. The incorrect contact info results in the lost mail in the past and delayed to receive the mail.

Based on the 2/26/2014 conversation, I've stated that my tenant has hearing disability and asked the management to contact us through a channel that we can receive. It's an owner responsibility to ensure the accessibility of the place. However, it shouldn't be discriminated by the physical disability, esp people are deaf

The 2nd notice I received the notice, dated, 3/28/2014. The management company asked the owner to be presence at the house after sending the notice past the time of inspection. It's a certificate mail. The management knows that the time of receiving mail past the inspection time. The other day, i received the notice of board meeting a day after the date of the meeting.

Please help me understand how we can work with your company better. I asked you to update my contact information so that I can receive the notice in a timely manner. The management company didn't do it. I spoke to the management company personally. It still didn't update it.

With that being said, as an owner I find the service your management company offers is unprofessional. I am truly disappointed at the service the Caruso management offers. I am not asking you to do me a favor, simply ask you for a fair treatment. Certainly, the fine of amount is unfair. the amount of fine $100 should be waived. I didn't grant you to access my account. i would like to speak to your manager immediately.


here's my phone #XXX-XXXXXXX.
****** ****

Desired Settlement
written apology and waive the fine.

Business Response
Caruso Management Group disagrees with this homeowner. She was notified and as the homeowner it was her responsibility not her hearing impaired tenant who could not hear someone at the door to respond to the vendor at the door. Her name was written different ways on different documents adding to the confusion of the communications.
Her fine has been waived by the Board of Directors of Amber Fields and we apologize for the miscommunication.

10/11/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Moved out of Pine Ridge Club on August 8, 2013. Returned my key to the clubhouse on August 4, 2013 and was told my security deposit of $100.00 would be returned within a few weeks. It is now over a month later and I can not get any one to either call me, return my email or acknowledge this. I am asking that my $100.00 deposit be mailed to me immediately as well as a $25.00 late fee.

Desired Settlement
$100.00 security deposit refund for deposit made on clubhouse key and a $25.00 late fee for being late.

Business Response
We acknowledge that the homeowner is due his security deposit of $100.00.
Check # 474 has been cut and was mailed to the treasurer for signature on 9/26/13. The homeowner should receive his check shortly. The previous manager for his association has quit and now the new manager finding out about this worked to resolve the issue

10/07/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
When my husband and I closed on our old townhouse ***** ******* ****** ******* ** XXXXX) on July 30th, 2013 the association took a long time to get the closing letter in and at the closing table submitted the letter and stated that we owed $500 for a satellite dish that the owners before us had put up. It was not brought up at my closing when I originally bought the house but the satellite dish had been left up. I never received any warning letters requesting that the dish be removed in the 7 years that I lived there. My husband and I would have gladly had the satellite dish removed because we never once used it. When the association was questioned they stated that they had sent letters but did not provide them. We had to pay $500 in order to close. I strongly believe that Caruso waited until closing to provide the letter so that we would be forced to pay the $500. After many phone calls from the lawyer and many phone calls from me the company finally provided us with a cost to remove the satellite dish and state that when the dish is removed they will reimburse the rest of the money. I want to make sure this money is in fact reimbursed. We are now buying a new house ***** ******** ****** ******* *** closing Thursday (August 29th, 2013) We just found out it is the same management company. They sent the paid assessment letter stating we owe 692.78 dollars for fees from last year and this year. There is even a fee dated October 2013. When questioned by our lawyer the association offered no justification or rationale for these charges and just stated that they believe they can charge it and others have paid it. The attorney believes they are wrong however he knows it would cost far more then the $692 to fight the battle. The attorney stated that the way he read the statute they cant charge us for attorney fees and late fees. In addition, we are trying to get an updated paid assessment letter for closing from them because they said the one they had given us is only good until August 23rd. I am afraid they are waiting to submit a new letter until closing because they know If they wait till closing and add more fees we will be forced to pay them.

Desired Settlement
I am seeking to be reimbursed the $275 for the remaining satelite dish fees after the cost of removing it. I am seeking to have the $692.78 in fees removed from the paid assessment letter. If the closing has already happened by the time this compaint is proccessed I am requesting to be reimbursed the $692.78.

Business Response
Caruso strongly disagrees that any of these allegations are the responsibility of Caruso Management Group and ask your consideration as we note the following facts.

First is that the complaint as it pertains to the sale of **** ******* and the $500 required to be escrowed for a Satellite Dish violation. All owners are bound to the Association covenants & rules and the Misty Creek Condominium Association has strict rules regarding satellite dishes. **** ******* had an open violation for a satellite dish and the team at Caruso Management Group was only following the Association's explicit instructions on how to handle a satellite dish violation at the sale of the unit.
Accordingly any issues she has with this matter are not with the Management Company but rather with the Association. It is further noted that at least 1 violation letter for the satellite dish was sent to the home and all owners should have copies of the governing documents for the association, for which they are bound.

Secondly, as to the comments as it pertains to the purchase of **** ******** in the Blackberry Creek HOA, *******'s comments are a legal matter. The law for Community Associations dictates how foreclosed homes, upon sale, are addressed in regards to what is commonly referred to as "Collection of the Back 6 Months from the 3rd party buyer at the sale after ownership is taken through judicial sale".
It is the Attorney's who represent Community Associations who provide to the managing agent the direction on the collection of the "Back 6". And it is per Legal Counsel that the managing agent is instructed to collect any fees incurred in that 6 month period, not limited to just assessments. Though *******'s attorney may disagree with the laws that govern Community Associations it is a legal matter that neither the management company nor the BBB should be involved in.

We would conclude that the invoice for the satellite dish violation on **** ******* has been received and the information had already been provided to her attorney so that the balance remaining in escrow could be released to her.
As to the "Back 6" owed on **** ********* this is a legal matter. If her attorney wishes to debate the legality of the laws that govern Community Associations then this matter should be directed by *******'s attorney to the association's attorney and the complaint removed from Caruso Management Group as this is a legal matter over interpretation of the law.

We respectfully ask that this complaint be stricken from the files and removed against Caruso Management Group.



Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Caruso Management has been working with the lawyer and has agreed to pay money back for the satellite dish fees. I do appreciate that. I still claim that we did not receive notice of the violation until our closing. I understand that this rules is in the bi-laws however since we did not install the satellite dish we did not check to make sure there wasn a rule regarding satellite dishes. Many of our neighbors have satellite dishes and we did not know this was not allowed.
As far as Caruso Management claiming that they were just following the association laws by charging us the fees from "the back 6 months", the fees on the paid assessment letter I received are dated January 2013, September 2012, October 2013 and January 2013. The closing was at the end of August. None of these fees are within the last 6 months. October 2013 has not occured yet however we were charged $142.50 for October 2013. If Caruso Management is willing to refund us for the fees that are beyond the six months especially the $142.50 fee from October 2013 we would be willing to remove the above complaints. Thank you.

Final Business Response
Caruso Management does not support the consumers claim as it pertains to the satellite dish violation and the Associations requirements at the sale for a $500.00 escrow account. What we can provide is that as soon as the association's vendor provided our office with an invoice for the work to be paid from that escrow account that information was provided to her attorney. However we must again note that it is not Caruso Management but rather the Association and their governing documents that dictated what was required with the sale and what rules all owners must abide by while having ownership in their home within the Association.

As to the consumers claim as it pertains to the back 6 months owed this is more than just the Association's governing documents but rather is in state statues/laws. The Association's Attorney has confirmed that the back 6 months of all common expenses (not just assessments) is due & owing by the 3rd party purchaser when a foreclosed home is sold. The timing of the back 6 months owed is not determined by when the 3rd party purchaser buys but rather when the foreclosure was concluded. And again this information is provided to the managing agent by the Associations attorney.
Caruso Management, as managing agent, cannot waive any of the fees that are owed and has nothing to do with determining those amounts.
We can however clarify that the October 2013 charge was a typo and the charge was accurately incurred in October 2012. We are sorry for any confusion this typo has caused and we have clarified this with the seller's attorney.

Page 1 of 3
03/02/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Our attorney for closing on a property in ******* HOA ordered the HOA letter from Caruso on Jan 19th (the first business day after we accepted an offer on the house). They said it would take 2 weeks but if we wanted it expedited we could pay an an additional $125 over an above the $225 we already paid them to email the letter. At the 2 week point they were contacted and said it would be emailed on Friday, Feb 6th. Today, the 6th, they were contacted and said that they might be able to get it emailed on Wed, Feb 11th. We are set to close except for this letter. For each day they continue to delay this letter saying our dues are paid, it is costing us almost $100 a day in savings. We were told from the onset it would be 2 weeks. $225 just to send an email saying they received our 2015 HOA dues is absurd. However, they are also very unprofessional. My husband called today frustrated that the email had not come through and the employee hung up on him because she accused him of yelling at her. My husband may have been frustrated but he does not yell at employees. They refused to allow him to speak with a supervisor. How is it possible for a bank to provide a letter in one day saying a home equity line of credit has been satisfied and this company can take 3 weeks to EMAIL a letter indicating dues have been paid. The fee for this email is 50% of what an entire years dues costs. Each time we ask about the progress of the letter we are reminded we can expedite for $125 more. I believe they purposely refuse to do their job so they can extract more money out of you. This letter is the only thing we are waiting on to close this property. We have worked extremely hard to gather all required documents so we could close early to help out the buyers and save ourselves some money. This company has a very lengthy list of unhappy HOA members and revues listed on YELP. They have a reputation in the real estate community and in the real estate law offices as being very difficult to deal with. No company should have that type of "blackmail" power just so one can close on a home. Their attitude and practices are unacceptable to say the least.!

Desired Settlement
They overcharge for their service. We want the letter sent ASAP and would like a refund. They said they would email letter in 2 weeks and will be 31/2 weeks before we "might" get it. Not to mention the money it is costing us each day it is delayed beyond 2 weeks
We would also like an apology for the poor service and run around. Our real estate attorney has contacted them several times and we have contacted them once and were treated very poorly.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ***
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ****@carusomanagementgroup.com
Our records regarding this case do not agree with the complainants. The original request came in on 1/26/15 and was responded to the same date indicating the documents and fee required to begin the request. According to our records Caruso received everything needed to begin processing the request on 1/30/15 including a payment of $225, the flat fee for this Association to process closing paperwork. The closing documents were completed and sent to their attorney on 2/10/15,7 business days after processing began. Had an expedited fee been charged Caruso would gladly return it.The attorney had not indicated a rush on this order and thanked us, he then asked if it could be received sooner and the closing department accommodated without an additional fee. The original closing date given was 2/18/15 and the date needed was changed to 2/11/15. Caruso sincerely apologizes to any homeowner that feels that they received poor treatment.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Their dates are completely incorrect. Our attorney ordered the HOA letter the first business day after we received the offer on the house because he stated that Caruso company is notorious for dragging their feet. This was on Feb 16th. Our realtor confirmed with him that the letter was ordered because she also knows from past experience that this company is always late. Caruso said it would take 2 weeks unless we wanted to pay an expedited fee above the already outrageous $225 fee. At the 2 week point on Mar 2nd our attorney called and they said they would have it to him on Fri Mar 6th. We called on Friday and they said they did not have it as promised and said maybe on wed. We had to delay closing because of them at $100 a day cost to us. It took 23 days for them to email a simple form letter saying we were current on our dues. Totally unprofessional. Our attorney never praised them-just the opposite. He said they are the worst to deal with and we concur. Not only did they cost us money but they lied about it too.

08/21/2013Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Property Management

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.