BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Chicago and Northern Illinois

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 12/01/2006

Broad Shoulders Management

Phone: (773) 745-0185Fax: (773) 745-03815207 N. Harlem Ave., ChicagoIL 60656 Send email to Broad Shoulders Management

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 12/01/2006

BBB has determined that Broad Shoulders Management meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Broad Shoulders Management's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
02/24/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Unauthorized service

Complaint: ***** ***** the owner was involve with vice president from security bank in Elmwood park ******** ********** in bank fraud,build condominiums with partial permits,does not hold home repaire or general contractor license,hide mold and hundreds of violation and remove violation with face paper work.This company should not have a A+ rating in fac I don't think they should be allowd to do any business due to the fact that they are involve in all kinds of illigall work,violations,busineses,fraud,etc

Initial Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ******* *****, VP
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *******@broadshouldersmgt.com
Most of the grievances cited in Mr. *****'s complaint were not against Broad Shoulders Management as the managing agent, but rather ******, Inc. as the developer; and all of them are unfounded.

The President of Broad Shoulders Management, Inc. (the management company for the property where Mr. ***** resides) was also the Vice President of ******, Inc. (the development company for the property where Mr. ***** resides). This property was developed and turned over from the developer back in 2003 or 2004. Since then, the Board of Directors has retained our firm to manage the Association.

We currently are in litigation with Mr. ***** for harassment and death threats against my employees. In one morning, Mr. ***** called my office over 165 times over the course of a few hours. I have attached the police reports, the court order not to contact Mr. ***** and another one of my employees as well as a copy of our phone records from 4/3/13-4/12/13 showing the instability of Mr. ***** calling my office so many times (records highlighted in grey are from Mr. *****). We are currently awaiting another hearing of harassment/threats against another one of my employees which is scheduled to take place on February 10, 2014.

The claims that Mr. ***** makes in his first paragraph that ***** ***** was involved in bank fraud, building condominiums without permits, does not hold a general contractor's license, hides mold, and has hundreds of violations which he removes with false paperwork are libelous, unfounded and have nothing to do with my management company. First of all, if Mr. ***** was involved with bank fraud, he would be in prison (which he is not, nor was he ever suspected or charged with any kind of bank fraud). No sale would have gone through at Mr. *****'s developments had he not obtained the applicable building permits required by the various municipalities in which he has developed. I am unaware of any reason why Mr. ***** would have to hold a general contractor's license. Mr. ***** has never tried to hide mold or falsify any documents in order to discharge any violations. Apart from the fact that all of these claims are unfounded, once again THEY HAVE ABSOLUTELY NOTHING TO DO WITH BROAD SHOULDERS MANAGEMENT, INC.

In his second paragraph he states that we do favors for police officer **** **** by allowing his tenant have two dogs when it is against the rules of the Association. This is not true. Mr. **** is on the Board of Directors at the Association and one of his most recent tenants at the property has brought in two dogs (which is not allowed without prior written permission from the Board). When we became aware of the situation, we immediately reached out to Mr. **** and inquired if he knew what was going on. He did not and asked the rest of the Board of Directors if they would allow this to stay until his lease is up and he abstained from voting on the topic. This situation was handled by my office in accordance with the governing documents of the Association, and no special treatment was given to Mr. ****.

Mr. ***** also stated that we work with the President of the Board of Directors of the Association who is a real estate agent (Mr. ******* *********** to sell Mr. ***** foreclosed units, which is a conflict of interest. No one at my office has ever used Mr. ************* services as a real estate agent for the sale or purchase of any properties (foreclosed or otherwise). Obviously, Mr. ***** has sold condominiums to Mr. ********** in the past as he was part of the development company, ******, Inc., which developed the Condominium Association where Mr. ********** sits as the President. Not only is this false, but even if it was true I do not see the conflict of interest here.

Mr. ***** then claims that we have not fixed a minor lack (leak?) for which they have had violations for many years. I have no idea what this is in regards to. The Association does not (to my knowledge) have any outstanding code violations that are from many years ago.

The claim that Mr. ***** calls himself ***** ***** or ***** to hide his real name is preposterous. Mr. *****'s name is ***** *****, but he also goes by *****, *** and ***** as they are short for *****. For instance, my name is *******, but I also go by **** - this is not to hide my real name, but rather common practice in the United States of America for people to go by nicknames. He has never called himself ****** that is absurd.

Mr. ***** claims that we hid a mold violation from tenants since 2007, once again not true. Mr. ***** had a company come out to inspect for mold in the laundry room and the test came back with slightly elevated levels of Penicillium Aspergillus (dust). When Mr. ***** reported this to us, we immediately investigated the laundry area and noted that one of the vent fans was not working properly and we had it fixed. After this, we called out another environmental company to come and re-test the laundry area and there were no elevated levels of any microbials. I have attached the laboratory results and the subsequent report from Bain Environmental regarding this.

The complaint that we claim that we will do things and never do such as air condition the lobby is actually kind of true - misconstrued, but that did happen. The HVAC unit on the roof went out last year and after obtaining multiple quotes (I believe 4 or 5) the Board of Directors picked a contractor to replace the unit. However, once the contractor was selected and went to the City of Chicago for permitting, he was informed that the code has changed and in order to replace this HVAC unit, all of the duct work on the top floor must be re-done. This finding basically "doubled" the cost of this job and therefore was put off for this year and has been tabled for the time being - to be revisited when we get revised quotes from all of the vendors that submitted proposals previously, based on this new scope of work. I do not see this as being negligent, we are carrying out decisions that were made by the Board of Directors.

The complaint that we suggest major work in order to make money (replacing all plumbing in the building) is absolutely false. The building has galvanized steel plumbing and it is totally corroded resulting in poor water pressure, busted pipes, leaking fittings and damage to shower cartridges by rusty debris from inside the pipes clogging them. The Board of Directors unanimously voted to increase the Association dues back in 2010 to save for this major replacement. The Association is saving up money to do so. We do not have a plumbing company nor are we receiving any kind of "kick-back" or other compensation for this plumbing job. You can ask any of the multiple plumbers that provided proposals to do this work and they will tell you that those pipes are in horrible shape and should have been replaced long ago. The most recent proposals that we received for this work were provided by ***** ******** Plumbing (the Association's plumber) and the RePipe Specialists (specializing in plumbing replacements for hot and cold water supply lines) both of which are licensed plumbers in Chicago and any recommendation to have this work done comes from them - the professionals, not from us.

Mr. ***** states that we should finish all of the work left not finished when we built the condominium just further emphasizes my point that this complaint has nothing to do with my company. WE DID NOT BUILD THE CONDOMINIUM. We manage the Association and take all of our directions from the Board of Directors.

He then states that we should fix free of charge all violations done by us and the mold. We did not create any violations for the property, nor is there any mold (as evidenced by the attached report). Furthermore, if a property gets cited by the City of Chicago Department of Buildings for a violation, it is not the management company's financial responsibility to correct the violations, it is the Association's. We do not make any decisions at the property, the Board of Directors does and we simply carry out those decisions.

Mr. ***** wants us to pay the Association fees for cell antennas that were on the property. There used to be cell phone towers on the roof of the building that are considered part one of the Units. We do/did not own these cell phone towers nor does the Association have any claim to the space where these towers existed or the rent that they brought in. When the Association was developed, a small portion of the roof was allocated its own PIN and was assigned to one of the Units at the property. So this request is invalid for two reasons: (1.) Broad Shoulders Management, Inc. does not own or have any interest in the cell phone antennas that were on the roof and (2.) neither Mr. ***** nor the Association have any claim to the monies collected from those cell towers.

I ran out of room, the res

Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Most what they are saying is not true and fake
I will fax the paper work to prove-it


2/14/14 This crooks will not respond

2/19/14 Broad Shoulders Management handle all condo association election for us. For 10 years they never send any proxies and basically you have no choice just to vote for existing board if you go to meeting. If you don't attend the meeting you don't vote. So they vote each other. The election has been squedule last summer but cancel in order to keep the existing board.The election is a joke and is stage by Broad Shoulders Management in order to keep existing board ..This is a clear violation of condo act and for sure they will blame the association not them.
In fact ***** ***** is got complete control over the association. I would like to ask for prove that our condo election is not corrupt. Most likely they will come up with some fake paper work

Mr ***** claim that they are not require to have home repair or general contractor license. Most of the money they make are not with management but with construction work and they have a lot of workers every day doing repairs in different buildings. They will replay that they use subcontractors witch is not true. They use subcontractors for a small portion of work but most is done by them. Is a sophisticated scam..
Do you have employs doing construction work eight now?
If you answer yes you need a home repair or general contractor license per city codes
If you answer no that statement is not true and I will provide you with pictures of workers employ by ***** ***** to do construction work.



2/19:
I will respond to all what ******* ***** send you but at this time I would like to respond to his answer on dogs for apt 611.First of all there are three dogs not two. The management should enforce the rolls dot to by bass them. They claim that the police officer **** **** had no knowledge about this. I don't think so
They claim that he got approval from the board of directors to keep the dogs till the lease is up.
If the board approve this they should approve every one not only **** ****.
They blame association now when in fact they are trying to help the guy in order to have him on the board so the management company will continue doing what they been doing. How about apt 604 the tenant renting from ***** ***** witch is not here now but is suing the association. He had two dogs and was renting from ***** *****.They did not know again or they got again approval from the board of directors. This answer are a joke made to protect the management and some association members.

I would like to talk about air condition in the lobby witch this management promise and never did because the code change. This is the biggest joke that I ever hear. First they claim that they had 4-5 estimates(but no one knew about the code change and they find out when they go to get a permit. The code did not change and they never apply for any permit. In order to apply you need a blue prints and the City will take your application and ask you to make correction if needed. You cant walk and ask for a permit for the job and the city will tell you that the code change. This is fake like many other paper work
The true is that they try to this illegally and they stop because they knew cant be done right.
Now they blame the association not them but in fact they are the once doing all this funny things. I did call board members many times about what they are doing and had no knowledge.
I do testify that am HVAC certified and I have knowledge about codes and city regulation..
The statement that they made is fake in order to deceive anyone with out knowledge.


I would like to talk about mold.
Mr ***** does not even know that we had mold and other violation in 2007.We cant talk about taking steps to fix this violation because Mr ***** have no idea about them. The question is? is this outstanding violation or dismiss with fake paper work? I will have this answer for you soon In 2013 we had mold again and Mr ***** waited till December when is cold to do a test but he claims that he fix a fan and the mold some how disappear .This is amazing
To completely fix mold issues the area must be free of water leaks in order to cut the water supply that is producing mold.
He even show you paper work to prove-it,to bad one page is dated jan 15 an other jan 27.They did a cheap clean up and fix a fan in order not to take responsibility. This is insulting .
Them may blame the association again in fact they don't do anything just get 100.000 a year for construction, cleaning ,management etc and always blame someone else.Most of the condo board member don't live here so they dont care like the management company. Is there a connection???
Will have to find out

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined the company made a reasonable offer to resolve the issues, but the consumer did not accept the offer.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Property Management

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 11/17/2005Business started: 09/01/2003
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Luigi Adamo (President)Customer Contact: Mr. Anthony Adamo (Vice President)
Business Category

Property Management

Industry Tips
Home Fire Protection
Preparing to Sell Your Home
Storm Clean-up Schemes Cause Additional Heartache
You Need to Hold an Estate Sale... Where to Begin?

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Broad Shoulders Management

5207 N. Harlem Ave.

Chicago, IL 60656

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 5207 N. Harlem Ave. 

    Chicago, IL 60656(773) 745-0185

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Chicago and Northern Illinois. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Broad Shoulders Management is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.