Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Becovic Management Group, Inc.

Phone: (773) 271-6143 Fax: (773) 271-4415 4520 N. Clarendon, Chicago, IL 60640 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.becovic.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Becovic Management Group, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Becovic Management Group, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Becovic Management Group, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 20, 1994 Business started: 11/01/1973 in IL Business started locally: 11/01/1973
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Sal Becovic, Owner Mr. Kevin Snider, Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Sal Becovic, Owner
Customer Contact: Mr. Kevin Snider, Manager
Business Category

Property Management Real Estate Residential Property Managers (NAICS: 531311)

Products & Services

This company offers property management.


Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/24/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: First off my low rating is based upon my latest rental experience with Becovic Management Group. I transferred from the Clarendon property to their 6001 N. Kenmore property because of the larger space and onsite parking. I am not a dramatic person but I have to admit the experience has been terrible. First off, the building is absolutely infested with roaches. I have lived in apartments around the country (ex-military) and have never experienced paying market rent to live in a building where roaches have been seen in the lobby, my bathroom (mainly), kitchen and most absurdly on my front door as I came home from work on November 20th. I've sent several emails with pictures and videos, submitted maintenance requests, talked to the onsite maintenance worker and visited the office on my off day. The resolutions offered by management were the following: 1. Transfer to a new apartment. -I declined this offer because I would have to cover the expense of moving. Why should I incur a cost due to roaches that have existed prior to my arrival? How do I know this was a pre-existing issue? The city has a record of previously failed inspection for the address because of roaches. 2. Set off a roach fog in my apartment. - I'm not an expert but this was suggested by the property manager when I stopped by on Veterans day. Trusting his opinion, I agreed to it only to find that the fog was specifically designed to address bed bugs and it ideally shouldn't be used in an occupied apartment. The roaches in this building are a major problem that should be aggressively addressed by the management team or stop lying to potential renters with the mantra of "quality living for those that expect more". I expected more and have been left to deal with less. The other major issue is the broken rear access door. It has been broken for over a year. I submitted a maintenance request and it has yet to get repaired. Why is this a major issue? Well, anyone can enter in from the alley and access the building. I've caught kids smoking weed and empty condom wrappers in the hallway connected to the unsecured door. As I stated above, this is an issue that I should not have to be confronted with as a tenant. I'm currently paying $1335 a month for rent ($1200 + $135 for parking), why am I killing roaches and confronting marijuana use?

Desired Settlement: Stand on your mantra of "quality living for those who expect more".

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 10975193, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

Jonas *******

8/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: on monday May 4th, a construction crew, contracted by the property management was doing work and no notice has been sent by the management to move my vehicle from the parking. Instead they have sent a notice to move the car for Thursday may 7th. On Tuesday may 5th, I was surprised to see my car covered of dust caused by the construction and a crack on my windshield. I informed the building management and all I have been getting from them is a run around. This situation has been on for over a month and my Lease is coming to an end soon. The property management has shown NO effort of resolving this problem and keeps telling me that the owner is "aware" of the situation. Despite the owner's supposed awareness, absolutely no measure has been taken in any way to at least show an effort to fix the damage.

Desired Settlement: I need the management to take responsibility in this damage and issue a refund in the repair cost.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2015/08/04) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ****** Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *******@*******.com A request was submitted to the owner and after review A detailed refund was issued on 07/10/2015 in the amount of $986 which included $150 for window repair. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 12, 2015/08/04) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) This response is not accurate at all. The check that has been received by us is the return of our security deposit ($925 and the additional $61 are interest generated as we were told). There were no mention of repairs issues, hence, when we brought the car repairs up again, we were given the number of the owner (again) and asked to contact him directly (one more time). Additionally the cost for those repairs is no where near $150 (over $500) and we do not know where they get those figures from. If the check we received were including any repair cost, it should have been more than our security deposit. We are asking the management to Please take responsibility and let's find a solution to this issue Final Business Response /* (4000, 16, 2015/08/18) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ****** Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: *******@*******.oom ******* - On the check you were issued, it was the security deposit, the interest incurred, the deduction from the kitchen and washroom cleaning, and the $150 credit for the broken windshield. A check was issued which you signed and cashed. I'm not sure what other responsibility management should be taken as we thought when you cashed the check it was settled then.

7/9/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
2/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I moved into the apartment June 2013. Since then the apartment has flooded a total of 4 times. They did try to fix the problem however, the problem persists. I asked to be let out of the lease, the property manager would not give me the ok. I could not stay in an apartment that continuously flooded. This is a health hazard. I am concerned that my credit will be adversely affected which should not be the case. When I told him that I will not stay in the apartment he began to yell on the phone. Finally he said that when I leave to ensure the apartment is clean, which I will comply with, however, the flooding issues is still not resolved. Tenants in the building state that the apartment has always had flooding issues. This property management company having this knowledge still rented the apartment to me. This is an ethical issue.

Desired Settlement: My credit must not be adversely affected due to the flooding issues not being resolved.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/02/10) */ We have contacted Experian and they have assured us that your credit history along with your payment history will be non-existent with us as you requested. We spoke ( ***** and I ) spoke of this almost a month ago and I was doing everything in my power to make that happen for him, before and even after he chose to slander my name on Yelp and BBB.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Becovic Management Group, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)