BBB Accredited Business since

Baum Property Management Ltd

Additional Locations

Fax: (630) 897-2440 540 W Galena Blvd  # 1, Aurora, IL 60506

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Baum Property Management Ltd meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Baum Property Management Ltd include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 3
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Baum Property Management Ltd
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 18, 2003 Business started: 09/01/1984 Business started locally: 09/01/1984 Business incorporated 09/21/1984 in IL
Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Michael Baum
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Michael Baum
Number of Employees


Business Category

Property Management Residential Property Managers (NAICS: 531311)

Alternate Business Names
Baum Property Service

Additional Locations

  • 540 W Galena Blvd
    # 1

    Aurora, IL 60506

  • PO Box 46

    Aurora, IL 60507


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/10/2015 Delivery Issues
12/1/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: We have asked for repairs since August 2014 on the exterior of our townhome and interior issues that have resulted from lack of exterior maintenance. We have interior damage to dry wall as a result of ongoing gutter issues that the property management company did not quickly investigate or solve. Now that the gutter issues have been fixed, we were promised the dry wall would be repaired but nothing has been done. We are trying to repaint our interior and have rescheduled our painter once already, but have been delayed as we wait for the needed repair to occur first. The management company is not upholding their end of the contract. I pay association dues so that my property may be taken care of in a professional and swift manner. This has not been the case thus far. I have had continued communication issues with this company. They are very unprofessional and it is very hard to get anywhere with them .

Desired Settlement: If the property management company does not fix our drywall we would like a refund of the fee our private interior painter will charge.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/11/18) */ Response- the drywall repair person stated that he did call this individual and left a message to schedule an appointment, and did not get a return phone call. We did get involved and was able to get the drywall repairs completed. To the best of my knowledge, this complaint has been resolved. Thanks

9/30/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Baum Property Management works for the Emerald Green Villa Owners board of our HOA.I have lived here for 23 years now and conditions get worse on a daily basis. I have been active about things I want and have the right to inspect. Baum is breaking the law ( SB 3180 ) by ignoring my requests. They tell me one day they will go to the archives and look....and never get back to me. I have many written requests that are ignored. I have asked them repeatedly to reach out to are President ***** since she is the one who should KNOW where stuff is and she has been on the embedded board for almost 20 years. I know what I have a legal right to see according to our Declaration. I am requesting paper work on the last building #5 and #11 broken down to each building. I need to see a copy of the engineers report regarding the extent of repair needed for each of the 13 buildings. ***** told another board member she lost it. My purpose is to show the board has discriminated against me in doing the least on my unit and building and calling it done. Other buildings are in worse shape than #5 where Our President lives and it was totally resided a year ago. I am a disabled senior counting on maintaining my property value. I think this is a valid reason for my requests to be answered. I have been on the boards bad side because I ask Questions. Over the past 15 years I have written and recorded by pictures and letters to the board all that has gone on. Last year I reached out to my Doctor about my anxiety and frustration over fees of almost $300 a month that don't include equal proper maintenance. He put me on an anxiety medication and has even increased my dosage. I feel trapped in a situation where I throw money away and have no choice as to how it is spent. I hope Baum will provide at no charge what I want. The latest from them was about charging me to see records. This is not right according to law SB3180. Hope you can help.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Replacement Proper repair to my building or refund of my fees.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/09/06) */ Baum Property Management should not be a party in this dispute. We are the management company for Emerald Green, and work for their Board of Directors. The Board makes the decisions for major repairs to the common elements. In addition, her requests for info predate our management at Emerald Green. We began management in 2012 and her requests are for info in 2010. We have informed her we are not in possession of the info she requests, and to make her requests to the Board. She did attend the last Board meeting and was informed of this. Thanks Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/09/10) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Baum Property Management is remiss in this matter. If they were acting as a liaison as they should they would advice The Board that they must comply to my request by law ( sb3180 ). Records that I request should be kept in order and ready for inspection by a unit owner for 7 years. They may not make the decisions but they should have the board comply with the law or they are just as accountable. They assist our President ***** ****** to continue her lack of being forthcoming about matters a unit owner is entitled to. She has been on the board for at least 20 years and should be able to produce this information or she is in breach of her duties.

4/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service