BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that American Community Management, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for American Community Management, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 13 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

13 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 4
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 8
Total Closed Complaints 13

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on American Community Management, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 3
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 26, 1994 Business started: 07/13/1986 Business started locally: 07/13/1986 Business incorporated 01/28/2010 in IL
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation
100 W. Randolph, 9th Fl, Chicago IL 60601
www.idfpr.com
Phone Number: (312) 814-4500

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Karl Kulhanek, Owner/pres
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Karl Kulhanek, Owner/pres
Business Category

Property Management Real Estate Services Building Maintenance Residential Property Managers (NAICS: 531311)

Alternate Business Names
ACM Community Management American Community Mgmt., Inc.

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

American Community Management, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 3041 Woodcreek Dr STE 100

    Downers Grove, IL 60515 (847) 301-1133

  • 34 Congress Cir W

    Roselle, IL 60172 (630) 620-1133

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/22/2015 Problems with Product/Service
11/4/2015 Problems with Product/Service
3/2/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues
1/9/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues
1/7/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Our association fees have been raised more than 4%city of ****** ***** has been here to write complaint

Desired Settlement: We want them to get the work done agreed on contract and someone to look into why the work is not being done we need emergency snow plow and salt storm is coming tomorrow ice everywhere

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/01/06) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ********, President Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *************** The Association does have an agreement in place for snow removal. The vendor was contacted yesterday and informed us that they would be out today if the snowfall exceeds the minimum requirement per contract.

11/24/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We had never had our storage lock drilled by condo association. Per their letter dated 10.31.14, a $50.00 fee was assessed for some drilling. I emailed the association manager advising of their error on 11.11.14 and requested to remove the fee . I was advised that they are verifying the address with their maintenance person and no status received after that. As of today, per ACM website, the $50.00 fee has not been removed yet. First they placed an order to replace the electric wiring to the wrong unit, now they cannot figure out which unit they have drilled the storage lock to!!! There is always a problem with their service. Please remove the fee IMMEDIATELY!!! This is my second request!!! You need to correct your errors ASAP!

Desired Settlement: I need the $50.00 fee, which does not belong to my account to be removed from my account ASAP and an apology letter to be sent to me.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/11/21) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ********, President Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ****@acmweb.com Dear ******, We agree that this is not a valid charge. It was for unit ** not ** I received the following response from our customer service team: "She emailed **** on Nov 11 (last week), **** responded to her that she needs to verify whose lock was drilled out and will get back to her. **** emailed *** LXXXXX ( vendor who drilled the lock out), but he didn't talk to her about it until last night's meeting. He did confirm at last night's meeting that he wrote it wrong on his invoice and it was unit ** not ** I am reversing the charges from her ledger and we're sending an apology letter today." I'm so sorry about the aggravation that this has caused you and should you have any additional questions, please feel free to call. **** ******** XXX-XXX-XXXX

11/20/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My mother died in May of 2013. This company has been forwarded bills in her name to my address. I have asked them to stop, I have told them she died, I informed them she has never lived at my address. My mom was the sole owner of the unit. I have no legal responsibility for the property. They have been calling my home, sending a bill to my home every month and even had a process server call me and try to serve me papers. They are harassing me and submitting mail fraud as they have been informed that she is deceased. I need them to stop harassing me.

Desired Settlement: Stop calling me, stop sending any and all correspondence to my home including bills, newsletters, etc. They are being a nuisance.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/11/19) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ********, President Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *************** This is for *******************, deceased owner's name is ***********. The owner information form filled out by the deceased had billing address ******** ****************** XXXXX listed. That is the same address as **XXX **XXX's address, complainant. Because that is the address listed on the owner information form, we were mailing late notices, etc to that address. We have reviewed our call notes and email history and do not see that we were contacted to either remove this address or change the address. Nonetheless, *** does not call anyone for collection matters, nor do the attorneys. Also we did not send out a process server to serve ******. Our collection file was closed back in April of 2014. The association obtained possession at that time and proceed with the eviction in June. None of these actions needed her to be served or called. The only thing she might be still getting is late notices because those are automatically generated when no payment is received. We will remove the billing address on file so she no longer gets late notices either. As a note, I see that a foreclosure was filed on 10/30/14. The bank's process server might be trying to serve her, not the association. The bank might be also calling her in regards to the past due mortgage. *** has not made any calls regarding collections on this matter and we will remove the address on file. If anybody calls representing that they are with the Management Company, please ask for **** ********, the President of the Company.

9/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They refuse to fix my sink that backs up. They just threw a chuck valve on it after 3 years of calling and cleaning up nasty water in my kitchen almost every other month! Every time the air conditioner for our building goes out they refuse to fix it till a weekday! They send out the unqualified maintenance men or call in friends of theirs. Vomit in hallway never cleaned up, just vacuumed over. Mold growing in ceiling tiles, refuse to fix problems. They just replace the drop ceiling tile.

Desired Settlement: I want a real fix to my sink and for them to repair things that break over the weekend in the correct way. Not make us wait until a weekday or deal with unqualified maintenence

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/08/26) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ********, President Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ****@acmweb.com Dear *****, **** ****** our onsite customer service representative stated that she has spoken to you and is working on resolving your concerns. Should anything remain unresolved, please contact me at our main office, XXX-XXX-XXXX. Sincerely, **** ******** Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/08/28) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The air conditioning issue has been resolved. I spoke with **** and do not feel comfortable ending this complaint until the mold issue in the hallway has been accessed and fixed. Pictures available upon request. She has put out a work order so the process has begun. Thank you Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/09/10) */ I just got word from our onsite staff that the leak and ceiling tile have been repaired. Should there be any additional concerns, please feel free to call me at XXX-XXX-XXXX. **** ********

4/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 04/01/2014 my landlord received a complaint via email from **** ********** of the American Community Management inc. in regards to my children displaying bad behavior. In that email she made alot of derogatory,unprofessional remarks that she could have kept to herself. Being a professional means addressing diverse issues with tact. But to make the comments and not have any evidence to back them up she repeatedly said things that I did not agree with. I addressed her in an email explaining that there is a better way to approach a situation without making snide comments. I feel as if myself and my children are being targeted for some strange reason. she said to him in the email that my children were throwing basketballs on the siding of someone's house, throwing crab apples in other neighbors yards, and that they were throwing rocks from other people's yards. I handled the situatuion about the rock throwing, my 2 children admitted to that. But as far as all the other accusations being made, I have witnessed other children throwing rocks at the mailbox as well as throwing the crab apples from my yard to someone else's. I politely ask the children to stop and they do( at times). My children are not outside that often and when they are I am outside with them watching. So i would like them to stop harrassing me about things that other children are actually doing. I would like Ms Ramos to learn some type of etiquette as well as respect for others and not just let any and everything roll off her tongue.

Desired Settlement: A simple apology and for them to look into the situation further insted of judging blindly.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/04/02) */ Dear ********, I have reviewed the email that my firm sent to your landlord. I agree with you that some of the statements used were unprofessional. This has been addressed with the specific Property Manager involved. We will also discuss professionalism in our communications at our next staff meeting. Respect is a very important value for my company and I'm very disappointed that ACM did not uphold in your situation. My sincere apologies. **** ******** President Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2014/04/06) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Thank you for addressing this matter. I appreciate that you responded in a timely fashion.

3/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 7th January, 2014, Mrs. ********'s Condo located at **** ***** ******* ***** ***** ***** Hyattsville, MD, XXXXX was flooded out due to a broken pipe in the wall. Mrs. ******** contacted her agent Ms. ******* ****** in Maryland, who initiated the process to file a claim on the resulting damage which should be covered under the insurance of American Community Managment. Ms. Viera and Ms. ******** were initial denied by Ms. ***** ******* of ****** ** ********* Risk Management Services Inc. (Department of ACM), to even file a claim under the insurance. They have tried to contact Ms. ******* via phone and email on several occasions and she never answers or responds to their emails. Mrs. ******** also contacted her personal insurance provider, Liberty Mutual and spoke Ms. ******* ** ****** who became the adjustor on her claim. Ms. ** ****** also tried to contact Ms. ******* to no avail because she claims that the by-laws on the contract only allows Liberty Mutual to cover the claim if American Community Management denies it. After several emails and being pushed back and forth from agent to supervisor, Ms. ***** ******* at The Windmill Square Condominium Board of Directors for American Community Management sent Mrs. ******** an email to inform her that American Community Management denied her claim and will not be covering the cost of her repairs and also stating that she was responsible for repairs to the adjacent condo and quoted her a deductible of $10000.00. Mrs. ******** forwarded this email as evidence to Ms. ** ****** at Liberty Mutual so they can step in and cover the claim but Ms. ****** responded saying Liberty Mutual needs an official letter stating this. Since then, Ms. ******** has been calling American Community Management trying to establish contact and obtain this official documentation so her claim can be covered. She has even emailed and called Mr. ***** ** ********* (Ms. ***** ********** supervisor) and Mr. **** ********* claims adjuster at ACM) and none of these people answer their phones, return voicemail messages or return emails. Mrs. ******** is serving as a care giver and guardian for the dependent children of a Dual- Military Naval couple in which both service members are currently deployed and as a result she cannot focus on this issue as needed or travel where she convinently pleases to resolve this issue. She has sought the advice and assistance of the Naval legal office who has also tried to contact every one of CSR's and Supervisors for American Community Management and they too have not had any luck in contacting them. Their customer service is deplorable and they continue to quote articles and laws that do not exist in their contract and they also refuse to honor their contract. I am very shocked that they have even received and A+ BBB rating because I too am annoyed by the business manners after trying to assist Mrs. ********.

Desired Settlement: Mrs. ******** is requesting the official denial letter from American Community Management so Liberty Mutual can step in and cover the cost. Below are the emails and contact numbers of American Community Management's and Liberty Mutual Staff: ACM: ***** *******-Office(XXX)XXX-XXXX,fax(XXX)XXX-XXXX, email *************@ajg.com **** ****-(XXX)XXX-XXXX Claim# PHCOXXXXXXXXXXX and PHCOXXXXXXXXXXX. ***** ********* (XXX)XXX-XXXX email **************@ajg.com ***** ******** (XXX)XXX-XXXX ******* ******** ************ with Ms. ******** Liberty Mutual: ******* ** ******* office (XXX)XXX-XXXX ext.XXXXX, fax (XXX) XXX-XXXX Insurance policy number: HXX-XXX-XXXXXX-XX

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/02/26) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ********, President Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ****@acmweb.com This case has been filed against the wrong company. We are American Community Management, DBA ACM Community Management located in Downers Grove, Illinois. There is another company called American Community Management doing business in Maryland. Their website is: ********************************* My firm does not manage the property in question. Thank you **** ******** XXX-XXX-XXXX

1/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: American Community Management (the "Company") was notified in September about issues with the work that was done on owner's balcony. Email correspondence went back and forth since September 2013 detailing the problems. Timely response was not rec'd. In addition and without my authorization, the Company gave my personal email to their vendor who contacted me directly. All issues were to be handled through the Company. I rec'd an email indicating that someone would be to my property in November and that it was not necessary for owner to be home. I rec'd another email indicating they had to reschedule and would be there again then I heard nothing more until I heard someone climbing up my balcony from the outside. Needless to say I was frightened and was never notified that someone would be there to fix the issues I submitted back in September. The "fixes" performed were not quality, in addition, the vendor failed to perform initial repair to my balcony according to the scope of work notice owner rec'd by the Company and now it is too late due to weather conditions. These "fixes" should have been addressed when I originally submitted them to the Company back in September - they failed to respond in a timely manner and are now requesting that I pay full price for the work done, which I feel is unacceptable. I am requesting the Company discount my price for the unsatisfactory work that was done on my balcony because of their failure to communicate timely and properly!

Desired Settlement: I am requesting a discount in the amount of $70.00. In the future the Company needs to respond to homeowners requests in a timely manner and accordingly. This is not the first time I have had an unsatisfactory experience with this Company due to poor communication on their part.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/12/11) */ Dear *****, I apologize that you did not receive the highest level of customer service from my firm. I did review your concerns with your property manager **** and both the vendor and the board are well aware of your frustration. Your board of directors did request that ACM run homeowner requests and concerns regarding the project by them before responding. This did add some delay to what you should normally expect from ACM. That being said, this was a unique situation and ACM should have provided better training to our customer service team to let homeowners know they might expect a delay in a response. As previously stated, ACM has passed your concern on to the board and the board President should have already reached out to you. Should you have continued concerns, feel free to call me at XXX-XXX-XXXX. Sincerely, **** ******** Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2013/12/11) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) This response is not acceptable. The board president believes that the vendor work has been completed. She also told me that there was delay from the board; however, I disagree. ACM could have responded and explained things better and updated me on the status of when someone from Painters U.S.A. would be out to my house to perform their "fixes". Someone should have realized that the winter months were approaching and if any "fixes" needed to be done on any homeowners balcony they should have been pro-active and followed up in a more timely manner. Painters U.S.A. DID NOT follow the scope of work and fill the knot hole on the balcony floor when they originally worked on my balcony. Nor have they fixed it now. They did a poor job of cleaning up the stain that was on my railings and underneath the balcony door. Not once in my communications with ACM and/or the board did I say I was satisfied with the work they did because I knew "fixes" needed to be done. All has not been done by the vendor. The notice homeowners received indicated that the vendor would not be paid until everyone was satisfied. I am not satisfied with the work performed which I notified ACM back in September indicating this. However, they are requiring me to pay full price even though their notice indicated no one would be paid for the work if we were not satisfied. I am not going to pay for work that was not performed according to the scope of work for this project nor will I pay for unsatisfactory "fixes" performed within the last week. Attached is the notice the homeowners received indicating scope of work and that the vendor would be paid when everyone is satisfied. Final Business Response /* (4000, 13, 2014/01/07) */ We have once again presented Mrs. ******'s position to the Association's Board of Directors. The board has rejected her position and stated that timely payment must be made or the board will impose a late fee. I would like to let Mrs. ****** know that this is a board/vendor decision and ACM cannot provide credits or discounts without board/vendor approval. My recommendation would be for Mrs. ****** to attend the next board meeting and discuss her concerns with the board directly. To the BBB I would like to point out that Mrs. ****** is using this forum to try and resolve an issue between herself and her Condominium's board of directors. I would like to request that the BBB schedule a conference call between myself and Mrs. ****** in an effort to conclude this case. Thank You, **** ******** Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2013/12/26) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I will not sign a waiver. I am attaching another copy of the notice that defines the scope of work (see circled paragraph). Filling knot holes is part of the scope of work. If it is not going to be a permanent fix then I would like to understand why it is part of the scope of work, which I am assuming was a factor in determining the price of the balcony maintenance. Again, per the notice (see second cirlced paragraph) it clearly states that the Contractors will not be paid until the work has been completed to our satisfaction. Again, I notified the property management company in September after they completed work on my balcony and expressed my concerns with the unsatisfactory work. It is not my fault no one responded in a timely manner to get the issues fixed before the winter. This is the reason I requested a discount on the price of my balcony - the vendor did not follow the scope of work (fill knot holes) nor did he clean up the stain on the railings and under my balcony door properly - the paint does not match. If ACM will not discount my portion of the balcony maintenance and insists on having the vendor return to fix what should have been fixed back in September then I will pay half of the invoice now and the remainder of the invoice once the "fixes" have been made to the scope of work and to my satisfaction - per the notice that indicates "contractors will not be paid until the work has been completed to our satisfaction". NOTE: I will not sign a waiver for the fill of the knot holes - it is part of the scope of work. If it falls out then the vendor will need to fix it since it is my understanding that they guarantee their work and it is part of the scope of work.

9/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/08/22) */ This work required board approval and was awarded to a vendor with a large back-log of work. The work has now been completed. Thank you for your patience. Sincerely, **** ******** Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 11, 2013/09/05) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) The direct intervention of ACM's President has positively solved our problems. We feel confident about his assurances of future timely compliance according to his business model. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2013/08/30) */ The work has now been completed. ACM's general manager contacted the homeowner and the work should be complete to their satisfaction. In reviewing the history of this work order, this work did take far too long to complete. Great customer service is the core of our business model and as the owner of ACM, I am truly embarrassed by this. We are currently reviewing how we monitor our work order logs to ensure that this does not happen again. Sincerely, **** ********

7/1/2013 Problems with Product/Service