BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 03/01/2006

American Community Management, Inc.

Find a Location

Phone: (630) 620-1133Fax: (630) 963-5189View Additional Phone Numbers3041 Woodcreek Dr STE 100, Downers GroveIL 60515-5418 Send email to American Community Management, Inc.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 03/01/2006

BBB has determined that American Community Management, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised American Community Management, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 12 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

12 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 6 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues5
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service6
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 12

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on American Community Management, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (12)
01/07/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Our association fees have been raised more than 4%city of ****** ***** has been here to write complaint

Desired Settlement
We want them to get the work done agreed on contract and someone to look into why the work is not being done we need emergency snow plow and salt storm is coming tomorrow ice everywhere

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** ********, President
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ***************
The Association does have an agreement in place for snow removal. The vendor was contacted yesterday and informed us that they would be out today if the snowfall exceeds the minimum requirement per contract.

11/24/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We had never had our storage lock drilled by condo association. Per their letter dated 10.31.14, a $50.00 fee was assessed for some drilling. I emailed the association manager advising of their error on 11.11.14 and requested to remove the fee . I was advised that they are verifying the address with their maintenance person and no status received after that. As of today, per ACM website, the $50.00 fee has not been removed yet. First they placed an order to replace the electric wiring to the wrong unit, now they cannot figure out which unit they have drilled the storage lock to!!! There is always a problem with their service. Please remove the fee IMMEDIATELY!!! This is my second request!!! You need to correct your errors ASAP!

Desired Settlement
I need the $50.00 fee, which does not belong to my account to be removed from my account ASAP and an apology letter to be sent to me.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** ********, President
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ****@acmweb.com
Dear ******, We agree that this is not a valid charge. It was for unit ** not **

I received the following response from our customer service team: "She emailed **** on Nov 11 (last week), **** responded to her that she needs to verify whose lock was drilled out and will get back to her. **** emailed *** LXXXXX ( vendor who drilled the lock out), but he didn't talk to her about it until last night's meeting. He did confirm at last night's meeting that he wrote it wrong on his invoice and it was unit ** not ** I am reversing the charges from her ledger and we're sending an apology letter today."

I'm so sorry about the aggravation that this has caused you and should you have any additional questions, please feel free to call.

**** ********
XXX-XXX-XXXX

11/20/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My mother died in May of 2013. This company has been forwarded bills in her name to my address. I have asked them to stop, I have told them she died, I informed them she has never lived at my address. My mom was the sole owner of the unit. I have no legal responsibility for the property. They have been calling my home, sending a bill to my home every month and even had a process server call me and try to serve me papers. They are harassing me and submitting mail fraud as they have been informed that she is deceased. I need them to stop harassing me.

Desired Settlement
Stop calling me, stop sending any and all correspondence to my home including bills, newsletters, etc. They are being a nuisance.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** ********, President
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ***************
This is for *******************, deceased owner's name is ***********. The owner information form filled out by the deceased had billing address ******** ****************** XXXXX listed. That is the same address as **XXX **XXX's address, complainant. Because that is the address listed on the owner information form, we were mailing late notices, etc to that address. We have reviewed our call notes and email history and do not see that we were contacted to either remove this address or change the address. Nonetheless, *** does not call anyone for collection matters, nor do the attorneys.

Also we did not send out a process server to serve ******. Our collection file was closed back in April of 2014. The association obtained possession at that time and proceed with the eviction in June. None of these actions needed her to be served or called.

The only thing she might be still getting is late notices because those are automatically generated when no payment is received. We will remove the billing address on file so she no longer gets late notices either.

As a note, I see that a foreclosure was filed on 10/30/14. The bank's process server might be trying to serve her, not the association. The bank might be also calling her in regards to the past due mortgage.

*** has not made any calls regarding collections on this matter and we will remove the address on file. If anybody calls representing that they are with the Management Company, please ask for **** ********, the President of the Company.

04/07/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On 04/01/2014 my landlord received a complaint via email from **** ********** of the American Community Management inc. in regards to my children displaying bad behavior. In that email she made alot of derogatory,unprofessional remarks that she could have kept to herself. Being a professional means addressing diverse issues with tact. But to make the comments and not have any evidence to back them up she repeatedly said things that I did not agree with. I addressed her in an email explaining that there is a better way to approach a situation without making snide comments. I feel as if myself and my children are being targeted for some strange reason. she said to him in the email that my children were throwing basketballs on the siding of someone's house, throwing crab apples in other neighbors yards, and that they were throwing rocks from other people's yards. I handled the situatuion about the rock throwing, my 2 children admitted to that. But as far as all the other accusations being made, I have witnessed other children throwing rocks at the mailbox as well as throwing the crab apples from my yard to someone else's. I politely ask the children to stop and they do( at times). My children are not outside that often and when they are I am outside with them watching. So i would like them to stop harrassing me about things that other children are actually doing. I would like Ms Ramos to learn some type of etiquette as well as respect for others and not just let any and everything roll off her tongue.

Desired Settlement
A simple apology and for them to look into the situation further insted of judging blindly.

Business Response
Dear ********,

I have reviewed the email that my firm sent to your landlord. I agree with you that some of the statements used were unprofessional. This has been addressed with the specific Property Manager involved. We will also discuss professionalism in our communications at our next staff meeting.

Respect is a very important value for my company and I'm very disappointed that ACM did not uphold in your situation. My sincere apologies.

**** ********
President

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
Thank you for addressing this matter. I appreciate that you responded in a timely fashion.

09/05/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Business Response
This work required board approval and was awarded to a vendor with a large back-log of work. The work has now been completed. Thank you for your patience.

Sincerely,
**** ********

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
The direct intervention of ACM's President has positively solved our problems. We feel confident about his assurances of future timely compliance according to his business model.

Final Business Response
The work has now been completed. ACM's general manager contacted the homeowner and the work should be complete to their satisfaction.

In reviewing the history of this work order, this work did take far too long to complete. Great customer service is the core of our business model and as the owner of ACM, I am truly embarrassed by this.

We are currently reviewing how we monitor our work order logs to ensure that this does not happen again.

Sincerely,
**** ********

03/02/2015Billing / Collection Issues
01/09/2015Billing / Collection Issues
09/23/2014Problems with Product / Service
03/10/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues
01/20/2014Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Property Management, Real Estate Services, Building Maintenance

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 04/26/1994Business started: 07/13/1986Business started locally: 01/01/1987New Owner Date: 01/28/2008
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation
100 W. Randolph 9th Fl
Chicago, IL 60601-3218
(312) 814-4500
http://www.idfpr.com

BBB records show a license number of 481011684 for this company, issued by Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation. Their web address is http://www.idfpr.com. The expiration date of this license is 10/31/2016.

Type: Department of Professional and Financial Reg.

Check License Status: https://www.idfpr.com/dpr/licenselookup/results.asp?&page=1&lic nbr=481011684&type2=LICENSE

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: January 2010, IL

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Karl Kulhanek (Owner/pres)
Business Category

Property Management, Real Estate Services, Building Maintenance

Alternate Business Names
American Community Mgmt., Inc., ACM Community Management

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

American Community Management, Inc. has received 4.12 out of 5 stars based on 2 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for American Community Management, Inc.

3041 Woodcreek Dr STE 100

Downers Grove, IL 60515-5418

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 3041 Woodcreek Dr STE 100 

    Downers Grove, IL 60515-5418(847) 301-1133
    Fax: (630) 963-5189

  • 34 Congress Cir W 

    Roselle, IL 60172-3911(630) 620-1133
    Fax: (847) 301-7472

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Chicago and Northern Illinois. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*American Community Management, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (847) 301-1133
X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Property Management

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.