BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Chicago and Northern Illinois

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 03/01/2006

American Community Management, Inc.

Find a Location

Phone: (630) 620-1133Fax: (630) 963-51893041 Woodcreek Dr, Downers GroveIL 60515 Send email to American Community Management, Inc.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 03/01/2006

BBB has determined that American Community Management, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised American Community Management, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 12 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

12 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues4
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service7
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 12

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (12)BBB Closure Definitions
04/07/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Inappropriate behavior by customer service personnel

Complaint: On 04/01/2014 my landlord received a complaint via email from **** ********** of the American Community Management inc. in regards to my children displaying bad behavior. In that email she made alot of derogatory,unprofessional remarks that she could have kept to herself. Being a professional means addressing diverse issues with tact. But to make the comments and not have any evidence to back them up she repeatedly said things that I did not agree with. I addressed her in an email explaining that there is a better way to approach a situation without making snide comments. I feel as if myself and my children are being targeted for some strange reason. she said to him in the email that my children were throwing basketballs on the siding of someone's house, throwing crab apples in other neighbors yards, and that they were throwing rocks from other people's yards. I handled the situatuion about the rock throwing, my 2 children admitted to that. But as far as all the other accusations being made, I have witnessed other children throwing rocks at the mailbox as well as throwing the crab apples from my yard to someone else's. I politely ask the children to stop and they do( at times). My children are not outside that often and when they are I am outside with them watching. So i would like them to stop harrassing me about things that other children are actually doing. I would like Ms Ramos to learn some type of etiquette as well as respect for others and not just let any and everything roll off her tongue.

Initial Business Response
Dear ********,

I have reviewed the email that my firm sent to your landlord. I agree with you that some of the statements used were unprofessional. This has been addressed with the specific Property Manager involved. We will also discuss professionalism in our communications at our next staff meeting.

Respect is a very important value for my company and I'm very disappointed that ACM did not uphold in your situation. My sincere apologies.

**** ********
President

Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
Thank you for addressing this matter. I appreciate that you responded in a timely fashion.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

03/10/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Guarantee or Warranty Complaint Issue

Complaint: On 7th January, 2014, Mrs. ********'s Condo located at **** ***** ******* ***** ***** ***** Hyattsville, MD, XXXXX was flooded out due to a broken pipe in the wall. Mrs. ******** contacted her agent Ms. ******* ****** in Maryland, who initiated the process to file a claim on the resulting damage which should be covered under the insurance of American Community Managment. Ms. Viera and Ms. ******** were initial denied by Ms. ***** ******* of ****** ** ********* Risk Management Services Inc. (Department of ACM), to even file a claim under the insurance. They have tried to contact Ms. ******* via phone and email on several occasions and she never answers or responds to their emails. Mrs. ******** also contacted her personal insurance provider, Liberty Mutual and spoke Ms. ******* ** ****** who became the adjustor on her claim. Ms. ** ****** also tried to contact Ms. ******* to no avail because she claims that the by-laws on the contract only allows Liberty Mutual to cover the claim if American Community Management denies it. After several emails and being pushed back and forth from agent to supervisor, Ms. ***** ******* at The Windmill Square Condominium Board of Directors for American Community Management sent Mrs. ******** an email to inform her that American Community Management denied her claim and will not be covering the cost of her repairs and also stating that she was responsible for repairs to the adjacent condo and quoted her a deductible of $10000.00. Mrs. ******** forwarded this email as evidence to Ms. ** ****** at Liberty Mutual so they can step in and cover the claim but Ms. ****** responded saying Liberty Mutual needs an official letter stating this. Since then, Ms. ******** has been calling American Community Management trying to establish contact and obtain this official documentation so her claim can be covered. She has even emailed and called Mr. ***** ** ********* (Ms. ***** ********** supervisor) and Mr. **** ********* claims adjuster at ACM) and none of these people answer their phones, return voicemail messages or return emails. Mrs. ******** is serving as a care giver and guardian for the dependent children of a Dual- Military Naval couple in which both service members are currently deployed and as a result she cannot focus on this issue as needed or travel where she convinently pleases to resolve this issue. She has sought the advice and assistance of the Naval legal office who has also tried to contact every one of CSR's and Supervisors for American Community Management and they too have not had any luck in contacting them. Their customer service is deplorable and they continue to quote articles and laws that do not exist in their contract and they also refuse to honor their contract. I am very shocked that they have even received and A+ BBB rating because I too am annoyed by the business manners after trying to assist Mrs. ********.

Initial Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** ********, President
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ****@acmweb.com
This case has been filed against the wrong company. We are American Community Management, DBA ACM Community Management located in Downers Grove, Illinois. There is another company called American Community Management doing business in Maryland. Their website is: *********************************
My firm does not manage the property in question.
Thank you
**** ********
XXX-XXX-XXXX

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

01/20/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to respond to phone calls or written requests for assistance or support

Complaint: American Community Management (the "Company") was notified in September about issues with the work that was done on owner's balcony. Email correspondence went back and forth since September 2013 detailing the problems. Timely response was not rec'd. In addition and without my authorization, the Company gave my personal email to their vendor who contacted me directly. All issues were to be handled through the Company. I rec'd an email indicating that someone would be to my property in November and that it was not necessary for owner to be home. I rec'd another email indicating they had to reschedule and would be there again then I heard nothing more until I heard someone climbing up my balcony from the outside. Needless to say I was frightened and was never notified that someone would be there to fix the issues I submitted back in September. The "fixes" performed were not quality, in addition, the vendor failed to perform initial repair to my balcony according to the scope of work notice owner rec'd by the Company and now it is too late due to weather conditions. These "fixes" should have been addressed when I originally submitted them to the Company back in September - they failed to respond in a timely manner and are now requesting that I pay full price for the work done, which I feel is unacceptable. I am requesting the Company discount my price for the unsatisfactory work that was done on my balcony because of their failure to communicate timely and properly!

Initial Business Response
Dear *****,
I apologize that you did not receive the highest level of customer service from my firm. I did review your concerns with your property manager **** and both the vendor and the board are well aware of your frustration. Your board of directors did request that ACM run homeowner requests and concerns regarding the project by them before responding. This did add some delay to what you should normally expect from ACM. That being said, this was a unique situation and ACM should have provided better training to our customer service team to let homeowners know they might expect a delay in a response.

As previously stated, ACM has passed your concern on to the board and the board President should have already reached out to you.

Should you have continued concerns, feel free to call me at XXX-XXX-XXXX.

Sincerely,
**** ********



Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This response is not acceptable. The board president believes that the vendor work has been completed. She also told me that there was delay from the board; however, I disagree. ACM could have responded and explained things better and updated me on the status of when someone from Painters U.S.A. would be out to my house to perform their "fixes". Someone should have realized that the winter months were approaching and if any "fixes" needed to be done on any homeowners balcony they should have been pro-active and followed up in a more timely manner.

Painters U.S.A. DID NOT follow the scope of work and fill the knot hole on the balcony floor when they originally worked on my balcony. Nor have they fixed it now. They did a poor job of cleaning up the stain that was on my railings and underneath the balcony door. Not once in my communications with ACM and/or the board did I say I was satisfied with the work they did because I knew "fixes" needed to be done. All has not been done by the vendor. The notice homeowners received indicated that the vendor would not be paid until everyone was satisfied. I am not satisfied with the work performed which I notified ACM back in September indicating this. However, they are requiring me to pay full price even though their notice indicated no one would be paid for the work if we were not satisfied. I am not going to pay for work that was not performed according to the scope of work for this project nor will I pay for unsatisfactory "fixes" performed within the last week. Attached is the notice the homeowners received indicating scope of work and that the vendor would be paid when everyone is satisfied.


Final Business Response
We have once again presented Mrs. ******'s position to the Association's Board of Directors. The board has rejected her position and stated that timely payment must be made or the board will impose a late fee.

I would like to let Mrs. ****** know that this is a board/vendor decision and ACM cannot provide credits or discounts without board/vendor approval. My recommendation would be for Mrs. ****** to attend the next board meeting and discuss her concerns with the board directly.

To the BBB I would like to point out that Mrs. ****** is using this forum to try and resolve an issue between herself and her Condominium's board of directors. I would like to request that the BBB schedule a conference call between myself and Mrs. ****** in an effort to conclude this case.

Thank You,
**** ********

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I will not sign a waiver. I am attaching another copy of the notice that defines the scope of work (see circled paragraph). Filling knot holes is part of the scope of work. If it is not going to be a permanent fix then I would like to understand why it is part of the scope of work, which I am assuming was a factor in determining the price of the balcony maintenance.

Again, per the notice (see second cirlced paragraph) it clearly states that the Contractors will not be paid until the work has been completed to our satisfaction. Again, I notified the property management company in September after they completed work on my balcony and expressed my concerns with the unsatisfactory work. It is not my fault no one responded in a timely manner to get the issues fixed before the winter. This is the reason I requested a discount on the price of my balcony - the vendor did not follow the scope of work (fill knot holes) nor did he clean up the stain on the railings and under my balcony door properly - the paint does not match. If ACM will not discount my portion of the balcony maintenance and insists on having the vendor return to fix what should have been fixed back in September then I will pay half of the invoice now and the remainder of the invoice once the "fixes" have been made to the scope of work and to my satisfaction - per the notice that indicates "contractors will not be paid until the work has been completed to our satisfaction". NOTE: I will not sign a waiver for the fill of the knot holes - it is part of the scope of work. If it falls out then the vendor will need to fix it since it is my understanding that they guarantee their work and it is part of the scope of work.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

09/05/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Repairs resulted in additional damage

Initial Business Response
This work required board approval and was awarded to a vendor with a large back-log of work. The work has now been completed. Thank you for your patience.

Sincerely,
**** ********

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
The direct intervention of ACM's President has positively solved our problems. We feel confident about his assurances of future timely compliance according to his business model.

Final Business Response
The work has now been completed. ACM's general manager contacted the homeowner and the work should be complete to their satisfaction.

In reviewing the history of this work order, this work did take far too long to complete. Great customer service is the core of our business model and as the owner of ACM, I am truly embarrassed by this.

We are currently reviewing how we monitor our work order logs to ensure that this does not happen again.

Sincerely,
**** ********

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

07/01/2013Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 3

Industry Comparison| Chart

Property Management

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 04/26/1994Business started: 07/13/1986Business started locally: 01/01/1987New Owner Date: 01/28/2008
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: January 2010, IL

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Karl Kulhanek (Owner/pres)
Business Category

Property Management

Alternate Business Names
American Community Mgmt., Inc., ACM Community Management
Industry Tips
Home Fire Protection
Preparing to Sell Your Home
Storm Clean-up Schemes Cause Additional Heartache
You Need to Hold an Estate Sale... Where to Begin?

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for American Community Management, Inc.

3041 Woodcreek Dr

Downers Grove, IL 60515

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 3041 Woodcreek Dr 

    Downers Grove, IL 60515

  • 34 Congress Cir W 

    Roselle, IL 60172-3911(630) 620-1133

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Chicago and Northern Illinois. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*American Community Management, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.