This business is not BBB accredited.

T M D Service Group

Additional Locations

Phone: (847) 421-6066 321 Park Ave # 2, Wilmette, IL 60091


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for T M D Service Group include:

  • 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Failure to respond to 1 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for T M D Service Group include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on T M D Service Group
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 15, 2009 Business started: 09/15/1994 Business started locally: 09/15/1994
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Tom Kristianson, President/Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Tom Kristianson, President/Owner
Business Category

Building Maintenance Carpet & Rug Cleaners Fire & Water Damage Restoration Janitor Service Property Management Snow Removal Service Snow Removal Service - Commercial Snow Removal Service - Roof Cleaning / Janitorial Services Contractors - General Electricians – Residential Handyman Services Property Maintenance Residential Property Managers (NAICS: 531311)


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    321 Park Ave # 2

    Wilmette, IL 60091

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    336 Lincoln St

    Glenview, IL 60025 (847) 302-2585 (847) 421-6066

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/8/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hi I am writing in reference to my case with TMD company; BBB Complaint Case# ******** (Ref#***************** ***** ) I have called BBB multiple times that I could not open the link to read the response from company as I received email from BBB. Finally I was able to speak with representative responsible for cases in my area and my case. I was told that there have been problems with BBB website creating difficulties like I have been having. I was told last week that she (my case Rep) was going to email me the response right after our phone call ends, while I spoke with her. I have not received the response yet. She had also advised me to speak directly with business. Hence, I called business two days ago. I still have not received any response from business and business has not returned my call. Can I get the response from business please? Also, may I know what are my options now as I don't even know what business has responded. Thanks I'll appreciate quick response.

Desired Settlement: Refund of $400 Plus $150 that I had to pay for emergency snow removal Plus cost of rental car bec my car was stuck in snow. Immediate Response from company how they want to proceed

10/26/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We paid in full up front for unlimited snow removal. We paid by check. Our agreement is written. Phone calls, emails and texts were ignored and TMD simply didn't do the job.

Desired Settlement: We want a refund and, most importantly, want the public to know about the problem.

10/26/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Owner signed the contract for whole season of snow removal. Collected money in advance (check). They never provided services. Called them multiple times but voice mail was full. Sent many texts but no response. It seems a scam or fraud case. I suffered lot of damages due to their unexpected behavior. My work got affected. Economical damages. Personal damage as my son got sick. My car got stuck in snow. I demand full refund plus cost of damages incured due to their fraudulent activity.

Desired Settlement: Full refund of money plus cost of damages. They should face charges.

10/26/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In January I contacted TMD service group to have them plow snow from my driveway apron. I received their contract via email, signed a copy and returned it with a check for $200 which was promptly cashed. There was a major storm on 2/1/15. My driveway apron is 2 cars in width. Only a one width opening was plowed. We have since had other storms and they have failed to show up. I have made three attempts to contact by phone (2/8,2/10, 2/19) and received messages that their mail box was full followed by a call disconnect. Emails sent on the the same above days to the address I contracted with have gone unanswered.

Desired Settlement: $200 contract amount. Services were never performed.

10/21/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Due to some medical problems my husband and I needed to find a snow removal company for the XXXX-XX season. I was delighted to find a TMD Services, a local provider that had a good BBB rating. On 11/9/2014 *** ******************* Services and I entered into a prepaid $450 contract for unlimited snow removal from my driveway and walkways between Nov-April plus 'salt' that would be safe for plants. (check ****** TMD's services weren't required in November nor December. Come January, I had to contact *** to remove the snow from my driveway. Then I had to call him again to do a better job. He was apologetic and said his fleet was having problems, but that things were better and he'd be sure to 'take care of me'. He did show up once in time before 7am as agreed so that I could get to work on time. That was the last time he plowed my driveway. When we had that big snow storm in late January/early February that started on a Saturday night and accumulated 18-24" depending on the drifts, TMD never appeared. Not all day Sunday, not Monday. After repeated calls and emails he still never contacted me. I had to make other arrangements. When I got quotes from other firms they chuckled and said that given the depth of the snow, it would cost me $150-$180 to have the snow removed from my driveway even though it is small. That is when I realized that TMD was probably just chasing the big dollars and ignoring the prepaid unlimited clients. We missed medical appointments and work because TMD failed to honor its contract. I emailed him and told him that I was canceling the contract for failure to perform and asked him for my money back less $40/visit for the 3 times he did show up (even though one visit was to fix shoddy work) He never responded other than to continue to not show up. I have a copy of the contract and our email correspondence should you need to see it.

Desired Settlement: Ideally, I want to have my entire $450 returned. By paying him in advance I enabled him to get work done on his fleet to prepare for the season. By his failing to perform per our contract, my husband missed a needed medical appointment, I lost a day's wages and I had to make other costly arrangements. However, I am a big supporter of small businesses and wish to be very reasonable. I would be willing to accept $330 in the form of a cashier's check which would compensate TMD $40/visit. I feel this is more than fair.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 17, 2015/10/15) */ The winter of 2014-2015 ranks in the top 5 Chicago area winters for snow production. We had more than 35 snow removal clients and contracts, including individuals, churches and condo associations. While we have always taken pride in the outstanding service we provide, this past winter caused us to fall below those standards and expectations. Most of our clients received their usual outstanding service; however, some received less than perfect service and yet others received horrible service. Four of our clients filed complaints with the Better Business Bureau - the first ever complaints filed against us. All our vehicles, equipment and workers - including backup workers were prepared for a demanding winter. However, we were unable to control an accident causing me serious injury and subsequent health issues. Nor were we able to control the illness my "second" contracted and lack of reliability my "back up" demonstrated. For me, it felt like a "perfect storm," if it could go wrong, seems it did*, and my response was negatively impacted by my injuries. In addition, during and immediately following heavy snowfall, it was impossible to answer all incoming calls, even after I established a dedicated line just for those calls and messages. Too many people needed to have an uninterrupted day, no matter the weather, and I was unable to accommodate all of them. The heavy snowfall caused an enormous change in the time required for snow removal and that only worsened with winter accumulations. For example, it could take as much as 90 minutes to clear areas that ordinarily required 10-15 minutes. Ordinarily of less than 4-5 in of snow is predicted, we don't start plowing until the snow stops. In minor snows, we begin after 5 a.m. to minimize noise from plowing and snow blowers. In severe storms, we plow all night. We may clear a basic path from the garage and a path from the house to the garage, then come back later, re-do it and finish the detailing. For those who have specific time constraints we make every effort to at least clear a path and get them out. During the last storm of the season, I got CO poisoning and had to go to the hospital. With only a few exceptions we were able to accommodate our clients. Of course, we wish to apologize to, and make right our relationship with, those who were "the exceptions." While I have not gone into great detail, it is important to know that I began the season fully prepared for the winter season - more vehicles and equipment than I needed to service my clients, so there was equipment backup, as well as human backup. Unfortunately, my accident and subsequent health issues, along with the illness of my "second," gravely impacted my abilities. In all my working years I've not had such a "perfect storm," and I don't expect to have one again. After more than 60 medical visits I am healing from my injuries and getting back to my usually strong, healthy self, so I expect to function as I have historically, providing outstanding service to customers. I am not in a position to refund fees paid last winter; however, I will provide snow removal service at no charge this winter to those who have filed complaints. The service I will provide at no charge will be the equivalent to the service contracted last winter. My standard plow rules will apply to this offer. While a few clients were dissatisfied with my service last winter, it is important to add that I am already receiving requests for service for Winter XXXX-XXXX from previous clients as well as those who received recommendations for my work from previous clients. Notes: *Perfect Storm: refers not only to snow and weather, but is the combination of the weather, CO poison, illness of my "second" and failings of backup employees. Prior to first snow I had problems with what seemed to be a sinus infection. After seven visits to Northwestern Clinic and numerous different antibiotics, it was determined I had a severe irritation to upper airway caused by environmental issues. Massive steroids and the installation of a home ventilation system addressed the issue. The last storm was not supposed to happen; I did not know until the afternoon that I would need to plow residential accounts, by then the CO had taken over, but I didn't know it. I thought I was just tired. I would sleep a couple of hours, drive a half hour, sleep a couple of hours, etc. over and over, till I slept several hours, felt horrible, went to hospital. Snow was melting by the time I left the hospital. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 19, 2015/10/16) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) TMD's response is unacceptable to me. The fact of the matter is that we had a written contract for unlimited snow removal service last winter for which I prepaid and TMD did not provide. I needed the service LAST year when my husband and I were recovering from surgeries and were unable to do the work ourselves. We had to find other costly arrangements, lost wages and missed some medical appointments due to TMD not performing the contracted services. I do not need his 'free' service this year (plus I have no reason to trust that I could rely on it) and will only accept refund of my money. As noted in my original complaint, I am willing to accept $330 of the $450 I prepaid in the form of a cashiers check since he did perform some level of service a couple times. Final Business Response /* (4000, 21, 2015/10/19) */