BBB Accredited Business since

American Bar Association

Phone: (312) 988-5010 Fax: (312) 988-5217 View Additional Phone Numbers 321 N Clark St, Chicago, IL 60654 http://www.americanbar.org


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that American Bar Association meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for American Bar Association include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on American Bar Association
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 07, 1989 Business started: 08/21/1878 Business started locally: 08/21/1878
Business Management
Mrs. Laurel Bellows, President Ms. Stephanie Giggetts Mr. Jack Rives, Executive Director
Contact Information
Principal: Mrs. Laurel Bellows, President
Business Category

Professional Organizations Associations Professional Organizations (NAICS: 813920)


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

American Bar Association has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 321 N Clark St

    Chicago, IL 60654 (312) 988-5000 (800) 285-2221 (312) 988-5010

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/7/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Dec. 16, 2013, I received an advertisement for a continuing legal education (CLE) program sponsored by the Health Law Section of the American Bar Association (ABA). The program was entitled, "Cutting Through the HIPAA Hype..." and cost $109, which I paid. The program promised that in exchange for participating, I would receive 1.5 hours of CLE credits for ********* where I am a licensed attorney. I took the course and in return, I received a "certificate of CLE completion" from ******** ******** (ABA Associate Director of CLE Accreditation), which indicated I received 1.5 hours of CLE credit from ********* Specifically, the certificate that I received stated, "unless otherwise indicated, required sponsor documentation has been forwarded to and credit requested from MCLE state with general requirements for all attorneys." I subsequently submitted this certificate to the ******** Bar Association and was told that -contrary to what the certificate indicates- the ABA never requested CLE credit for the program and that my certification was worthless. Not only did I pay $109 and not receive what was promised, but now I am 1.5 hours short on my required CLE credits with the ******** bar (and the deadline for obtaining credit has passed). The ABA has refused to do anything to rectify this situation and I have been met with incredibly poor communication in an attempt to resolve same.

Desired Settlement: All I want is what was promised to me: the 1.5 hours of CLE credit for Kentucky. This would require the ABA to submit this program to the Kentucky Bar Association for CLE accreditation as they indicated they would do. In the alternative, I would like a refund of the money I paid for this program in light of the fact I did not receive what was promised as well as compensation for the time I have spent attempting to resolve this issue.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (4001, 12, 2014/09/26) */ Thank you for contacting me regarding Ms. ********'s complaint. Ms. ********* is licensed in ******** and took ABA online, on-demand courses. At this time the ABA does not seek CLE accreditation for our recorded products (including online, on-demand programs such as Ms. ********* viewed) in ********* When Ms. ********* attempted to report these courses to ********* she found out that they weren't approved (due to the format type) and that she'd need to individually apply. As I explained on the phone, the ABA applies for continuing legal education (CLE) accreditation on a state-by-state basis. Meaning, the ABA is not the accrediting/regulatory body. We must seek program approval from the various states that have an MCLE requirement. The nuances among each jurisdiction's MCLE accreditation processes vary greatly. As such, we cannot and do not seek accreditation in all states for all format types. We include disclaimers on our website advising participants to our accreditation practices in their respective states. http://www.americanbar.org/cle/mandatory_cle/mcle_states/states_a-k/********.html http://www.americanbar.org/cle/mandatory_cle/mcle_by_format/online_courses.html As I attempted to explain to Ms. ********** the ABA does its utmost to seek CLE accreditation in as many jurisdictions, for as many formats, as possible. However, we cannot, and do not, seek CLE accreditation in all jurisdictions for all formats. It is for this reason that we try to include the accreditation disclaimers in as many places as possible.