Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

All Clear Sewer, Drainage and Plumbing

Additional Locations

Phone: (773) 588-6363 Fax: (847) 838-2934 View Additional Phone Numbers 248 W. Depot St. - Unit B, Antioch, IL 60002 https://www.facebook.com/pages/All-Clear-Sewer-Drainage-Inc/154234244615920


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that All Clear Sewer, Drainage and Plumbing meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for All Clear Sewer, Drainage and Plumbing include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 10 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 8
Total Closed Complaints 10

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

7 Customer Reviews on All Clear Sewer, Drainage and Plumbing
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 1
Negative Experience 6
Total Customer Reviews 7

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 07, 2008 Business started: 06/01/1983 Business started locally: 06/01/1983 Business incorporated 11/13/2006 in IL
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Illinois Department of Public Health
122 S. Michigan Avenue, Chicago IL 60603
http://www.idph.state.il.us
Phone Number: (312) 814-2608

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Thomas Patton, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Thomas Patton, President
Business Category

Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning Sewer Contractors Sewer Pipe Contractors-Water & Sewer All Other Miscellaneous Waste Management Services (NAICS: 562998)

Alternate Business Names
All Clear Sewer & Drainage Inc.

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

All Clear Sewer, Drainage and Plumbing has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 205 E Butterfield Rd # 254

    Elmhurst, IL 60126

  • 248 W. Depot St. - Unit B

    Antioch, IL 60002 (773) 588-6363 (847) 438-6363 (847) 677-6363 (847) 838-2904 (815) 344-6363 (630) 858-6363 (708) 442-6363 (847) 415-0322

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/28/2016 Problems with Product/Service
12/14/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We were having a problem with our kitchen faucet as it became loose and the sprayer hose broke under the sink. My husband contacted them as he's a disabled Marine and I am also disabled asking if they could fix it. There were 4 appointments made none of which they kept! A man was set to come on 11/10, 11/12, 11/13, and 11/16. When he had not arrived on this 4th day, first my husband called the office, and we waited to hear from the man, when we did not, I called the office to let them know how this man has put us out all these times. I had to get up early, get dressed, take care of our dogs and lock them up for him. This is not as easy when you're disabled, and I don't like having to lock up my dogs. However the man at the office did not care to hear me , spoke over me, wouldn't listen and then HUNG UP ON ME! I was not yelling or being offensive to him, which I believe are reasons to hang up, he was just plain rude!! I guess a sink faucet is not enough of a problem for them to care about. I wanted to let you know about how they treat some people as they have 2 big ads saying how they are BBB Accredited. I do not feel this a decent way to do business with customers.

Desired Settlement: I just want other people to see my review.

Business Response:

All Clear Sewer and Plumbing did do research on this complaint and I am sorry to admit that the complaint is correct.  With the new information there was disciplinary action taken with the service technician.  All Clear is truly sorry for any inconvenience that you went through all jobs are very important to All Clear.  

Sincerely,

All Clear Sewer and Drain

10/28/2015 Problems with Product/Service
8/7/2015 Problems with Product/Service
6/22/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
5/4/2015 Problems with Product/Service
11/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We had All Clear come out to rod our bathtub after seeing a $55 coupon. Scheduling and punctuality of the service technician was fine, no issues there. Technician rodded bathtub with no luck then we aggreed to rod through the vanity sink, where he had to remove the P-Trap to access the pipe. I was told pipe was corroded and it had to be replaced, which he did. no big deal. After cleaning the bathroom I noticed the screw to the drain in our bathtub was missing as well as the decorative plate to cover the area where the pipe meets the wall. I called the All clear number and was told the owner would get right back to me. No response after a few days so I called again today. I received a phone call not from the owner but from the technician who did the work and he proceeded to talk over me on the phone quite loudly. He said they had to schedule a time to come back to replace these parts. Being one tight schedule I requested these parts simply be returned and dropped off in our mailbox. He insisted that he had to put the parts back himself and I said I would have to get back to him on a time that works for us. About a half hour later the owner, ***, called and with a similar loud abrasive tone told me that the service report states that all parts were returned. Of course they were not and felt like the owner was accusing me of lying. He continued to talk over me (basically yelling at me) and said he didn't understand why I didn't want the service technician to come back to our house to replace the parts. I feel that their sloppiness indicates that I do not wish to do business or let these people touch our plumbing so I reiteriated that I would like to simply have these parts returned to our mailbox so we are not disturbed. Like most people, We are very busy and do not have time for nonsense. This whole ordeal has cost us time and stress over something very stupid, and I expressed that as the customer I would like to simply have the parts stated above returned so we don't have to take more time to go scout these out at vintage plumbing stores. He then called me a "pain in the ***" so I had to hang up the phone. I will never do business with these people again and do not want them in my house or personal space due to the aggressive and inappropriate tone for dealing with a customer. Shocked that I would be talked to this way by the owner over trying to resolve a very simple detail of sloppy workmanship.

Desired Settlement: Backplate of where P-trap meets wall and screw/bolt that secures the screen/catch of our vintage bathtub drain returned; preferably mailed to us. These are simple parts and it is shocking that the technician could be so sloppy in forgetting to replace these. Will furnish photos if needed. Do not want to deal with this company in person or over the phone due to my experience with stressful phone conversations trying to resolve this matter.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/10/25) */ Contact Name and Title: Tom Patton, Owner and CEO Contact Phone: 847-838-2904 Contact Email: Allclearsewer@att.net In this matter All Clear is not saying that the parts are not missing. What we where trying to do is go to this clients location and assess the situation to be sure that the correct parts where purchased and installed. We tried to set an appointment up with the client for us to go and fix the problem and the client is not compromising on us fixing the problem. We are not going to go off of her word saying that the parts are missing and just put them in the mailbox. The parts that are purchased could be the incorrect size, not to her standards ect. We will be more then happy to take care of the situation if it is something that we caused, when we are sure on what is needed to correct the problem. At no point was there an offer of pictures being sent to us.

9/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 4-15-14, this company did an inspection for a kitchen drain repair. The plumber was only suppose to cut thru the sub floor in the basement. I didn't hire them. Last Friday, I had the drain repaired. When the new plumbers moved my stove to access the wall, I found a hole in my kitchen floor right where the plumber had made the cut in the basement. Their plumber had not only cut thru the sub floor but also thru my oak kitchen floor. It's the same hole, because the plumbers who came on Friday were able to stick their hand thru the hole in the kitchen and it came out thru the hole in the basement. I contacted this company and spoke to a very rude man named ***. He's not going to do anything about this. He was very, very hostile. Didn't even get an apology for damaging my house.The floor tile has also been cut from the floor, so when the floor tile fell thru the hole, the plumber had to have known that he cut thru my kitchen floor. He probably thought I would never know because the hole was behind or in back of something. And he was right. If the new plumbers hadn't moved my stove, I never would have known. Makes you wonder how many other homes he's damaged this way, thinking the the homeowner would never notice it. This is the second problem I've had with this awful company. Product_Or_Service: drain inspection

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Replacement They either need to send someone to fix the damage they caused or pay me to hire someone else.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/09/12) */ Contact Name and Title: *** ****** Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *************@att.net Please see attached copy of the invoice from the day that we where at the residence. The homeowner did approve and sign the attached contract after coming to the conclusion that the floor needed to be cut on order to assess the situation. It does state on the back of the contract # 11 that All clear sewer and drain is not liable for restoration. After the situation was assessed and there was a Quote given to the home owner. She declined to have the work done and only paid the $125.00 for the services rendered. This is not the first time this client has complained to you in this case. She has now found someone to fix the problem that she is having and now is looking for someone to fix the floor. All Clear Sewer and Drain feels that this is unwarranted again. The client did sign the contract and it clearly states that we are not responsible for restoration of the property. All clear feels that this is a civil matter and should be handled as such again please see back of contract #14 and 15. The email that we received from this client prior to any telephone calls was extremely Hostile. When *** finally did call this client he explained to her that she needs to read the back of the contract that she signed. Client was not happy with ***'s answers. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/09/18) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The contract I signed said that All Clear is not responsible for cutting the subfloor, which the plumber didn't even tell me he was going to cut until after he cut it. I'm not complaining about the subfloor. I'm complaining about the actual kitchen floor, which the plumber knew he had cut into because the kitchen floor tile went thru the hole along with my oak floor. When I told Mr. ****** about the floor being damaged, he told me that he had corporate lawyers and to take him to court. Nice guy, huh? He didn't care. Since he mentioned the other problem I had with them, I'll elaborate on it. I had a leak in my kitchen drain. His plumber told me that it would cost over $5,000 to fix it because he would have to remove bricks from the house to get to the pipes. So he suggested rerouting the plumbing instead for $1,850. Rerouting the plumbing isn't good. The drain isn't vented that way, and drains need to be vented. As an example, if you take a straw full of water and put your finger over the top, the water won't drain until you vent it by removing your finger. I didn't hire this company. Instead, I hired ***** Plumbing, who moved my stove, smashed thru the plaster wall, and there were the pipes, which they replaced and connected them to the stack, which vents the drain. They didn't have to remove any bricks and it didn't cost $5,000 - it cost $395. All Clear either tried to scam me or the plumber doesn't know what he's doing. And All Clear wanted to reroute the drain, which was the inferior way and would have cost over 4 1/2 times what it cost to do it correctly. It's obvious that this company doesn't care about what's best for its customers, but only about how much money goes into their pockets. When All Clear's plumber was here for the drain, I also mentioned that the pipes leading to my boiler were clogged, and he told me that it would cost $7,000 to fix them, that it'd be cheaper to install forced air heat. Forte Plumbing replaced those pipes for $455. I'm not looking for ways to stress myself out. I've spent $15,000 this year on house repairs, including over $2,600 on plumbers. And I've done this by myself, on my own, dealing with workmen. And I'm still not thru. Thankfully, except for this company, they were all good, honest companies. So I wouldn't be complaining about All Clear for no reason. I'd like nothing better than to be rid of this company. Final Business Response /* (4000, 10, 2014/09/30) */ *** ****** <*************@att.net> Wed, Sep 24, 2014 at 4:29 PM Reply-To: *** ****** <*************@att.net> To: ********* *****" <*******@chicago.bbb.org> Sorry for the delay Here is the invoice with the client signature on it! Thank you ******** All Clear Sewer and Drain (Quoted text hidden) **** W ********** 2815K NOTE FROM THE BBB: Please be advised that the business has provided documentation showing that you signed acknowledging that the floor had to be cut and that they were not liable for it. Therefore we are judging your complaint resolved and closing it ***** ****** Assistant Manager -Home Services BBB-Chicago & Northern Illinois

5/26/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I response to an ad with A+ BBB accredited business logo, the ad stated power rodding clogged sewer or drain for 55.00, On or about 5/7/2014 I called the phone number on this ad and talked to ********, she told me that all clear will rodding my sewer up to 110 feet and only charge 55.00, I made appointment, on 5/9/14, all clear sewer send a guy named **** with two helpers came to rod my sewer, confirmed that they will rod 110 feet, where they were rodding, **** told me that I need to have an outside cleanout, which cost me 3500.00, I told him that I do have one inside cleanout, he told me that what I have is not large enough, it is a 4 inches cleanout but I need a 6 inches cleanout. In order for them to do it, I needed to take the fence down so that they can use hole digger, I asked him how about use hand digging, he told me that will cost me 5000.00. He than use a finder to show me where is the location to dig and where is the main sewer line, he told me it is about 10 feet from the cleanout to the main sewer line, that would solve my sewer problem, he further told me that I should trust his advise, he has 20 years of experience, he knew what he is doing.while I was looking at the area he suggested to dig, he want inside of my house, shortly after that, he came back to the yard and told me that they did 110 feet rodding, reach the end of the rodder the sewer still come out with muddy water, that is not good, they need to use hydro-jet to work on it to clean up the sewer line, assure me that to spend 320.00, that will do it, I told him last time we did the rodding 8 years ago, the guy told me I need to rod 150 feet to finish the work, he told me that my sewer line to the main sewer is only about 90 feet, 110 feet is already in the main sewer line, I still need hydro jet cleaning, because I waited too long to rodding my sewer line, I decided to do both, he told me cost me 500.00, but he agreed to do it for 450.00, I trusted his 20 years experience and the BBB accreditation logo, decided to let him go ahead, he want outside to his van to get the equipment, and the two guys doing the rodding, still working on the rodding, I asked them why they still rodding, do they need additional cable to rod another 40 feet, one of them told me that they still have more than 10 feet to go to reach 110 feet, once they finish that, they need extra cable. When **** came back, he assure me that is not the case and he will get it done right, after about 20 minutes later, **** told me that there is a blockage about five feet from the main line that they cannot get through, he went outside to the side walk, showed me where is the blockage that the rodding cable did not go though and he told me that since he did not finish the work, he only charge me 225.00. I agree to pay him, in his receipt, he indicated that he roded 120 feet and hit the blockage. I must mention here, I did not asking for an emergency service, my sewer was still working but was drained slow, I would like them to go through the entire line to clean out all of the tree roots, what make me became questioning his work is that this monday, we had such a rain storm, in less that 1 hour, the rain water want through my sewer, my basement had 4 inches of water, if it has a sewer blockage, why the water came in so freely to fill my basement of 4 inches water, yesterday, I measured the sewer line he showed to me, if they rodded my sewer 110 feet, it would have been inside the main sewer line, the location of the blockage claimed by ****, it is less than 100 feet, they never rodded no more than 100 feet and ****'s invoice claim that they rodded 120 feet, all those talks were not true. I trust them because of the BBB logo and A+ rating. I called all clear, spoke with ********, she told me that I needed to speak to the owner, when he called me back,I told him my concerns, he told me what the **** I think I should get with 55.00 dollars,you should knew batter, **** you, and hanging up on me.

Desired Settlement: I believe that they lied about their service and they lied about what they did, if they did finish 110 feet, it should have finished my entire sewer line and into the main line, especially in their invoice, brad even claimed that he did 120 feet and stopped by a blockage cannot reach the main sewer line, I wanted them to proof that they did 110 feet not reach the main line and 120 feet not meet the main line, the owner refuse to do so and with F words hang up his phone. The in writing invoice brad gave to me proof they are lying, they do not deserve to receive A+ rating and be recognized as a credible business, has your logo on their ad, at minimum, I should get my 225.00 refund back.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/05/14) */ On 5-9-14 we received a request for a service call from this client stating that he had a $55.00 coupon and asked what the coupon covered. We explained to him as we do to every single client that contacts us "The technician will go in through easy access either through a stack in the house or a clean out in the yard. They will attempt to go through that 6" pipe using a 3" cutter up to 110' that will be the price that you see on the coupon. If there are any other problems the technician will let you know what the problem is and give you a free estimate before moving forward. After explaining to this homeowner multiple times what the coupon covered the home owner agreed to service. Upon arrival the technician confirmed the same information that the office personnel gave him over the phone. The service technician then proceeded to rod with a 3" cutter through a clean out in the floor. The service Technician had a hard time at approximately 100' of cable with the 3" cutter. Service Tech then pulled back cable and downsized to a 2" cutter same thing happened with the 2" cutter at approximately 100' Technician then downsized to a spearhead at that time the spear head was able to get about 10' further into the line. Then the service tech added more cable and was able to go approximately 10' further equaling approximately 120'. At Approximately 120' the rod came to a complete stop. At this time the cable was removed from the sewer. The technician inserted camera and located the spot where the rod would no longer go forward, the location was at the sidewalk where the sidewalk was caving in with ground settling around it. Due to the pipe being filled with water and debris the technician was unable to see anything in the line. Technician then suggested to use the hydrojetter (high power water) to blast the blockage clear so we could see what was going on. At that time Tech quoted 500.00 for all the work that was completed and for the hydrojetting then to use larger cutter blades. Client declined price and requested we do the work for 450.00. Technician agreed to attempt to do the hydrojetting for 450.00 if successful. Technician was unable to get the hydrojetter through the blockage, but was able to get the water to drop. At that time Technician gave an estimate for All Clear to come out and dig up the line to find the problem. The client declined the work. All Clears service tech at this time gave a discount to the client of 50%. This morning 5/14/14 the client called acting inappropriately. The owner of All Clear offered to have the service Tech come back out and re-rod the line. Client refused service. And would not say what he wanted us to do to resolve the situation. Client repeatedly said that he measured and that the line was only 90'. This client does not realize that there is a 1/8" drop per foot in sewer line. He also states in his complaint that the last company that was out there doing work informed him that his sewer was 150'. All clear's owner did end the conversation, but there was by no means any profanity used.

1/27/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I woke up to a clogged sewer in my basement I proceed to look into my valpak coupons where I thought there was a coupon for service when I found the coupon I called the number associated with north shore area I told them I had a coupon for service there attitude changed and they told me there to busy to accept the coupon when I said that's not right they hung up on me when I called back they told me they don't want my business I have a elderly mother who could of gotten sick if I didn't find a solution fast becouse the sewer water was rising fast so luckily I found a credible company quickly

Desired Settlement: For them not to get a A+ rating they don't deserve one

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/01/15) */ Contact Name and Title: *** ****** Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *************@att.net The coupon clearly states $55.00 in most cases. The day that this gentleman called we were coming off of the major deep freeze into the thaw. We were extremely busy with calls that came in before this client and could not have gotten to him till the next day. We explained to him that it would be regular pricing to come out for an emergency service. He continued to argue about the coupon even after we explained multiple times that it is in most cases for the $55.00 not for emergency service. He was arguing that he is an attorney and this is false advertisement and he would be making a complaint. At that point the other phones where ringing and we had no choice but to end the call. The amount of emergency calls that All Clear took that week this client is the only person that was unhappy with the emergency services due to weather being regular price.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

7 Customer Reviews on All Clear Sewer, Drainage and Plumbing
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart