BBB Accredited Business since

V J Killian Co.

Additional Locations

Phone: (847) 446-0908 Fax: (847) 446-3980 933 Green Bay Rd, Winnetka, IL 60093 View Additional Email Addresses View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that V J Killian Co. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for V J Killian Co. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on V J Killian Co.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 10, 2002 Business started: 01/01/1920 Business started locally: 01/01/1920 Business incorporated 10/17/1932 in IL
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

City of Chicago
121 N La Salle St # 604, Chicago IL 60602

Illinois Department of Public Health
122 S. Michigan Avenue, Chicago IL 60603
Phone Number: (312) 814-2608

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Robert Baker, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Robert Baker, President
Number of Employees


Business Category

Plumbers Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential Plumbing, Heating, and Air-Conditioning Contractors (NAICS: 238220)

Alternate Business Names
V. J. Killian Co.

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

V J Killian Co. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1355 N. Western Ave.

    Lake Forest, IL 60045

  • 1941 Johns Dr.

    Glenview, IL 60025

  • 933 Green Bay Rd

    Winnetka, IL 60093 (847) 446-0908


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/27/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Case Summary: We are being billed for accepting a contractor visit our home to check on a water heater. No work was ever contracted nor done. In late August 2014; we noted some water collecting at the bottom of our water heater in which we contacted three outside contractors to provide us a quote. Only one provided us with what we requested. The Killian Co. not only didn't provide us a quotation in which the technician promised it would be sent; they billed us in the amount of $147.00 for a service call where they made a service observations. We attempted to contact the service branch to resolve our problem where the lady and gentlemen were quite belligerent falsifying a conversation that never existed. Our request was to remove the billing immediately as no work was ever performed nor contracted with us. A bill of $147.00 was sent to our home with added financial charges. We assume their intention was to install a water heater no matter what they found. It's difficult to surmise how they would have made this calculation before they even viewed the situation. Like any good consumer; we wanted to understand 1 what the problem situation entailed with the water heater repair, replacement, pilot light, etc. 2 wanted to review what expenses we were going to incur and 3 choose a reputable and fair plumbing contractor.

Desired Settlement: We want a revised invoice sent with a zero balance and no adverse activity forwarded to any credit agency. We desire to have the owners of the Killian Co. be advised of this case if we need to proceed further so they have been properly informed. If collection, late or any derogatory statements have been communicated or forwarded to any credit type/collection agency; we want a retraction immediately indicating there is no debt outstanding on our end with copies of all correspondence to each specific agency.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/10/07) */ An invoice with a zero balance will be mailed. No other agencies were contacted or will be contacted. In our defense, a verbal quote was given over the phone and accepted. However, when our people arrived to install the water heater, they were turned away. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/10/10) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The contractor forwarded an invoice 'crossing out' the original incorrect billing of $147.00 with no initials of authorization. Anyone could have crossed out the invoice...and marked's not revised as we originally requested. They must have other complaints as the message fabricated within the invoice description consists of nothing that actually took place at our home. 1 'No one was turned away', 2How could we receive a quote over the phone when they were coming over to analyze the problem to provide an estimate? 3 The only verbally statement made at the time of the phone call was allowing the contractor to come to the house to view the problem and 4 We are 'not refusing to pay' as there never should have been any bill invoiced in the first place. It's called non recognition of a previous erroneous charge. Perhaps, the contractor needs to revise their service and communication policies. To put this complaint to rest; we are going by what was stated in the original response by the merchant to the BBB of negating the invoice on their books and that they have not submitted to any collection/credit agencies. If we find anything to the contrary in the future of this merchant submitting any derogatory and/or false information to any credit agency; other matters will be taken. A PDF copy of their invoice is attached. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/10/15) */ The requested invoice showing a zero balance will be mailed today. It is partially hand-written, but signed by myself. As stated previously, no information of any nature was sent or will be sent to anyone.