Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

The Scottish Plumber, LLC

Additional Locations

Phone: (888) 622-2564 Fax: (630) 832-3017 View Additional Phone Numbers PO Box 6090, Villa Park, IL 60181 http://www.thescottishplumber.com



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

The Scottish Plumber, LLC, is a plumber which provides plumbing and drain services for residential and commercial customers. This company serves the western suburbs of Chicago, including Villa Park, Elmhurst, Addison, Northlake, Stone Park, Oakbrook Terrace, Oak Brook, Hillside, Bellwood, Westchester, Western Springs, Brookfield, La Grange Park, Itasca, Wood Dale, Glendale Heights, Glen Ellyn, Bloomingdale, Carol Stream, Melrose Park, River Grove, Franklin Park, Broadview, Maywood, Schiller Park, Rosemont, Lisle, Elk Grove Village, Willowbrook, and Indian Head Park. Services available from this company include trenchless sewer relining, pipe repair, flood control, sewer and drain cleaning, sewer and pipe repair, water heater installation and service, sump pump and ejector pump service, toilet installation, garbage disposal installation, faucet repair and installation, video pipe inspection, bio-cleaning, and smoke testing.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that The Scottish Plumber, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for The Scottish Plumber, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on The Scottish Plumber, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 25, 2010 Business started: 02/01/2005 Business started locally: 02/01/2005 Business incorporated 05/25/2006 in IL
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Illinois Department of Public Health
122 S. Michigan Avenue, Chicago IL 60603
http://www.idph.state.il.us
Phone Number: (312) 814-2608

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Jack Simonson, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jack Simonson, President
Business Category

Plumbers Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning Sewer Inspection Water Heaters - Repairing Water Heaters - Dealers Water Heater - Tankless Sewer Pipe Water & Sewer Line Protection Contractors-Water & Sewer Drainage Contractors Plumbing, Heating, and Air-Conditioning Contractors (NAICS: 238220)


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

The Scottish Plumber, LLC has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1n615 Villa Ave

    Villa Park, IL 60181

  • PO Box 6090

    Villa Park, IL 60181 (888) 622-2564 (847) 453-7385

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/15/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Scottish Plumber came out 8/22/14 to looking at drainage problems. Came back 8/25/14 to fix crushed drain & move drain from under deck stairs. Was told that day he could not re-pour concrete as forecast called for rain. He went on & on how bad it is if new concrete gets wet, it needs 24 hours to dry, etc. So he was coming back the next day. 8/26/14 it poured! I called SP in morning to inquire why he was pouring when it was raining, etc. Lady who answered phone couldn't help, talked to another guy - he wouldn't talk to me so they left a message for the plumber (***** ********* to call me. It took him 2 weeks to call me & in the meantime their Acct people were calling telling me they were going to charge my credit card for the job. I explained there were concerns - I've been waiting for someone (***** or another plumber) to call me back & nothing. She said there was no record of me leaving a message (I told her I talked to someone, didn't leave message) Asked them please don't charge card while there are problems. She agreed. That only lasted about a week then they charged my card & charged me incorrectly ($100 too much). She continued to call me & ***** finally called on 9/9/14. We played phone tag a few days & I never did talk to him. Got a call from ***** (I think he said Plumbing Manager) who said he can come out Sat (9/20/14) before 1pm & for me to call the office to set it up. I spoke to ***** personally on 9/19/14 & explained entire situation. He would not address why concrete was poured on a day it was storming. He too said there was no record of me calling. How convenient! He said he'd come out on 9/20/14 between 10am-noon. I asked to speak to someone in Acct then & he put me on hold & came back & said there was no one there at all. He would leave a message for ***** to call me Sat after 8am. Today is Sat 9/20/14. ***** left a message & I called back - got answering machine & never got a call back. **** (said he was owner) called me - I again explained entire situation & told him ***** was supposed to be coming to look at concrete/drain cover between 10am-noon. **** agreed to give me a $200 credit for the trouble, in addition to the $100 credit for *****'s **** discount. Well, ***** never showed up. I called office & lady who answered said Scott wanted to talk to me personally. He called back & said he never made an appt with me!! He was a complete no-show, the MANAGER! I immediately called **** back & let him know what just happened. **** must've talked to ***** & then called me back. Told me someone is lying to him (implying maybe me). Wants to come out & look at job personally & now I have to wait until I'm back at work & can look at work schedule. After wasting 2 hours sitting at home on a beautiful Sat waiting for a manager who never showed. And my questions/concerns have STILL not been adressed - after 4 weeks!

Desired Settlement: The $200 credit **** offered is no longer acceptable. I am still expecting the $100 *****'s **** discount, which as of this morning hadn't seen. I want the drain cover fixed, the concrete looks like **** (isn't flush with surrounding concrete & looks like it had bubbled then popped) and the $200 credit now needs to be $500.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/09/27) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ********** Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *****@scottishplumber.com The *****'s **** discount which the customer is referring to was applied to the job originally. The job total was $1850, but we only charged $1750 to the card. We then applied an additional $200 credit to the customer's credit card in the name of customer care. Since the Saturday to which the customer refers, we have made numerous attempts to contact the customer to reschedule a return visit. I have personally watched the owner of the company, ****, call and leave a message, with his personal cell phone number, and we have not received a call back to schedule. We can offer the customer two options for resolution: 1) Make an appointment with us to come out, assess the problem with the drain cover and concrete to which the customer has referred to. Once we know what the problem is, we will repair it within 24 hours. However, to this point, we still have not been able to come out to see it. 2) We will credit an additional $300 to the customer, on top of the $200 already credited, and she can use that money to hire another contractor to repair the drain cover and concrete. Please keep in mind that the majority of the work we did, was installing a floor drain under the concrete floor. That floor drain was installed correctly, and as far as we know is draining perfectly. The only problem seems to be with the cover on the drain, and the concrete around it. This should be a minor fix, but we do need to be able to come out in order to take care of it. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/10/08) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I will agree to an additional $400 credit, not $300. I have waited weeks for a response to my initial call/question (for which my question has STILL not been answered). I waited for hours at home on a beautiful Saturday morning for ***** (I believe he said he's the plumbing manager) to come look at the drain. He was a no show. Later that same day the owner, ****, called me a liar after speaking with ***** when he didn't show (said either ***** or I was lying). Really? The owner of a company calling a customer a liar?? That same Saturday morning someone from the business named ***** called me - I called back, left a message, and again, never heard from him. Yes, they have called me to resolve the issue. But not until I filed a complaint. I should've had my call returned promptly - it shouldn't take a complaint. And they continued to try to set up an appoint with *****. He didn't show the 1st time, I have no confidence he would show the 2nd time. The majority of the job may have been fixing the actual drain, but Scottish Plumber was the one who suggested moving the drain opening, not me. The job included busting out the existing concrete, moving the drain opening & repouring concrete (which they did on a day it stormed & they cemented the drain cover down). This was part of the job & therefore I expected it to be handled in the same manner as the rest of the job. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/10/10) */ We will accept the customer's offer of an additional $400 credit. We will process the credit today. It should show up in the customer's account in several business days.

8/20/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was told by the manager Tom on May 19th that on completion of sewer lining on May 20th a manager, if not Tom himself, would submit all paperwork needed by the city of Elmhurst that day for sewer reimbursement program matching up to $3000 (come to find out later the value is only $2000). I have called and called and The Scottish Plumber has promised and reassured me over 15 times that they will take care of everything. As of August 8th the city of Elmhurst still doesn't have all paperwork that is need. I have paid over $200 in interest waiting for the reimbursement money. Invoice #XXXXX and #XXXXX

Desired Settlement: I would like my money lost in interest equalling: 215.36. As well as the $1000 difference in the falsely quoted reimbursement value.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/08/19) */ Hi Mr. *******, We apologize that it's taken this long to complete the process. We would be happy to reimburse you the $215.36 in money you lost in interest. However, our representative maintains that he never promised a $3000 reimbursement. The figure has always been $2000 with the village of Elmhurst, and he has never told anyone otherwise. Thus we don't see your request for a reimbursement of $1000 as feasible. Best Regards, **** ******** The Scottish Plumber

8/6/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On X-X-XXXX i notice water backing up out of the toilet & no water or sewer was able to drain out of the house. Between 7:30 & 8pm I call the Scottish plumber office & was told per their answering service,the office was close & if some 1 had to come out tonight it would cost me $199 to the rod sewer because after hours. Was told if I had someone to come out Saturday, it would be cheaper. Told her OK for sat. & she gave me a window of 2-4pm. On Sat. at 3:50pm I call & got answering service & told them no one call or showed,told me,office close & she would have some 1 to call me. *** ******** call at 4:20 & told me sorry they must had forgot about me & he's on emergency calls,he'll be out around 5:30,OK.He came at 5:30 & rod out sewer from outside rod out station. Had roots from tree in front house & he used 65' of cable per receipt. He charge me $298. Ask why when on the web site & truck it says $99. Told me no because i had roots so $199 for that & since he working emergency had to bill me another $99 for a total $298. Once again I told him some one was suppose to come out between 2-4 & no call no show. Bad business. I paid bill with my credit card & my service work invoice # XXXXX. *** did say I would have to call office Monday so they could schedule me free camera inspection. On Monday 10:55am I call Scottish Plumber & ask for ***** ***** (manager) number,he wasn't in the office. I left message with ***** & he call back 11.Explain what had happen & told him on website & on their truck it says $99 for rodding out sewer. He told me no. Should be $198 not $99.I told him *** charged me $298.$99 for emergency call out & $199 for sewer work.***** told me to email him what happen with my phone & address inform & he would correct charge to $198. Also told him need schedule to get free camera inspection. Told me Ok.

Desired Settlement: I should get $199 refunded back to my credit card website says Our Scottish Full Service $99 Sewer Cleaning service is just that - a full service sewer cleaning (also known as sewer or mainline rodding, snaking, cabling, rooting, or unclogging) and a video inspection of the sewer pipe. The Scottish Full Service $99 Sewer Cleaning service includes: A thorough sewer rodding from an outside access (cleanout) up to 100 feet A free video pipe inspection following the sewer rodding Up to a 1-year warranty on the rodding, based on the condition of the sewer pipe

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/08/04) */ Dear Customer, I apologize about the incorrect charge. Our technician made a mistake in pricing. We have refunded the difference to your card. Thank you for bringing it to our attention. Best Regards, Scottish Plumber Staff


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on The Scottish Plumber, LLC
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart