Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Reliance Plumbing & Sewer Drainage

Phone: (847) 686-3012 Fax: (847) 583-1859 1848 Techny Ct, Northbrook, IL 60062 http://www.relianceplumbing.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Reliance Plumbing & Sewer Drainage meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Reliance Plumbing & Sewer Drainage include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Reliance Plumbing & Sewer Drainage
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 09, 2001 Business started: 09/01/1999 in IL Business started locally: 09/01/1999 Business incorporated 09/02/1999 in IL
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Illinois Department of Public Health
122 S. Michigan Avenue, Chicago IL 60603
http://www.idph.state.il.us
Phone Number: (312) 814-2608

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Charles Burns, Office Manager Mr. Alex Ortega, President / Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Charles Burns, Office Manager
Business Category

Plumbers Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning Sewer Contractors Contractors-Water & Sewer Plumbing, Heating, and Air-Conditioning Contractors (NAICS: 238220)

Alternate Business Names
Reliance Plumbing

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Reliance Plumbing & Sewer Drainage has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1848 Techny Ct

    Northbrook, IL 60062 (847) 686-3012

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/22/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
11/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 10/9/14 I called Reliance for a blocked kitchen sink drain. ****** attempted to rod the line. He told me we needed to use a jet rodder at a cost of $925. I was told this was the only way to clear the line. I said ok. They still weren't able to clear the line. They said I needed to use a camera/locater to determine why it was blocked. I said ok. On 10/10/14 **** performed the camera/locate. He said they never should have jetted the line. That if you can't get through the line with the cutter you won't get through with the jet machine. He agreed with me that he was more experienced than ****** or ***** (i think ***** ran the jet machine). He then told me that the 4 inch cast iron line had deteriorated. The only option was to break up the concrete floor and replace 10 ft of the line with pvc pipe. After negotiating, we agreed on a price of $3,250. I had to give them a 50% deposit. Which I put on my credit card. The job was scheduled for 10/13/14. After reviewing the drain system I thought we could cap the line at the floor and tie into the main stack line about 10 ft away above the floor of the basement. I contacted **** on 10/11/14. I suggested this option. He said this could be done but you wouldn't save much on the price because they would need a plumber not a laborer to do the work. I told him to put the job on hold. I had another plumber look at the job. He said yes we could cap the line and go overhead to restore the line. He also agreed the jet machine was a waste of time and cost. He suggested he try to rod the line first. I agreed. He used a small rodding machine, maybe a 1 inch in diameter. He broke through the line without much trouble. The cost was $125. I called to cancel the pending job with Reliance. They gave me a credit of $770 and charged me $855. This this was a $10 trip charge, $295 for the cutter rod, and $550 for the jet machine. I called and left a message for ****** to discuss. I never received a return call. Needless to say I will not use Reliance again. I felt this complaint needed to be registered so other potential customers are informed. I

Desired Settlement: I don't think I should pay the jetter cost of $550. I am willing to pay the rodding and trip charge are $305 less the $125 that I paid the other plumber. Therefore I am requesting a credit of $675.00

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/10/29) */ Contact Name and Title: ******* ***** Manager Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *******@relianceplumbing.com Have contacted customer and resolved this issue.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Reliance Plumbing & Sewer Drainage
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart