BBB Accredited Business since

Prestige Plumbing Heating Cooling

Phone: (630) 801-8600 Fax: (630) 801-8640 11 John St STE A, North Aurora, IL 60542 View Additional Email Addresses View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Prestige Plumbing Heating Cooling meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Prestige Plumbing Heating Cooling include:

  • 5 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Prestige Plumbing Heating Cooling include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Prestige Plumbing Heating Cooling
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 25, 1990 Business started: 01/01/1989 Business started locally: 01/01/1989 Business incorporated 06/08/1989 in IL
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Illinois Department of Public Health
122 S. Michigan Avenue, Chicago IL 60603
Phone Number: (312) 814-2608

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Tim Miller, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Tim Miller, President
Number of Employees


Business Category

Plumbers Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning Bathroom Remodeling Heating & Air Conditioning Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial Water Heaters - Dealers Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Plumbing, Heating, and Air-Conditioning Contractors (NAICS: 238220)

Alternate Business Names
Prestige Plumbing, Inc.

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Prestige Plumbing Heating Cooling has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A-.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 11 John St STE A

    North Aurora, IL 60542


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/14/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I originally called for service on September 4 and they said the soonest they could be there was Monday September 7. After waiting that day I called and they said they made a mistake and told me the wrong day. This was a waste of my day and my tenant day. I had to reschedule for Thursday September 10 th and that morning they called to say they didn't think they could come out since it it was a landlord tenant call. They knew this from the moment I called them on Friday and told me at that time I needed to be there. I agreed to be there. I should have seen this as a sign of a poor service organization. I explained to them I would be at the property as the landlord and they agreed to come. They came a few minutes late and looked at the bathroom with the issue. He said it was hard to know what the problem was without taking off the toilet. He said the would only charge for work done. He then told a story about how dangerous it is for non experienced people to try this work and said he had just been at a call when the homeowner cut through pipes. This cost the homeowner thousands more then if the just called a plumber. I feel like he told me this story to scare me since I don't have any knowledge about toilets. That is the reason I called them. He gave me a worst case and got to work. This job took him less then 45 minutes and he was on his way. I got home and spoke to my husband and found out the part is 20 bucks at Home Depot and something anyone could fix. It was not the severe situation the guy scared me with. It was not a $600 job! I called and spoke to Dominick that day and he said he would call back in the morning. He called the next morning with a song and dance that this is standard practice and they back up their work. I told him I was sick with how much I paid and I felt I had been taken advantage of by their company. He asked me what it would take to feel better about their company. I told him $300 would make me feel less sick about this experience. He said he would get it approved by the owner and as soon as my check cleared they would send a check. I told them I called a few other plumbers and the change no more the $200 for this kind of job. I felt like I should have a refund of more but was happy to take $300 and move on. My check cleared more than a week ago and I emailed and called Dominick everyday last week with no response. I only chose this company since they were rated on this site as A and positive on other sites. I tried to resolve this with them before taking this step. I do not want any other female to be taken advantage by this company! I have never had a issue before trusting BBB until this instance. I appreciate your help in getting this matter resolved.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund of $300 I was promised by this organization.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/10/14) */ We are shocked to see this complaint by Mrs. ********* because she was happy upon completion of our work. Mrs. ********* was given all estimates to repair her tenants leaking toilet in writing and up front before any work was conducted. The price/estimate given is a flat rate price based on a national pricing standard. Mrs. ********* had a choice to use or not use our services at the time options were presented and made the decision to move forward with the repairs at the estimated price. Mrs. ********* approved and signed for the proposed repairs with the estimated price before the repairs began. She also signed and paid after the work was completed. It was only after she spoke with her husband later that day that a problem surfaced. Mrs. ********* over simplified the issue in writing: $20 bucks in parts and 45 minutes, "and something anyone could fix." Mrs. ********* called a professional plumber to do the repair. It is always our goal to make our customers happy and solve their plumbing problem's. In this instant the customer was happy upon leaving and the problem was solved to this day. No complaints on workmanship have been mentioned. The work was approved, satisfactory completed and paid for. We fulfilled our contractual obligations with Mrs. *********. In good faith we are sending Mrs. ********* a $50 gift card to use for any future services. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/10/14) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) They should not be shocked since I called and spoke on two occasions to staff ********* He assured me he spoke to the owners and would be processing a refund. This company takes advantage of customers and my case is proof. This response is proof how unprofessional this company is and not one to be trusted. They have inflated costs and should be stopped from stealing from anyone else.

8/19/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 7/16/2014, I purchased a water softener system from Prestige Plumbing for $2,625. I've been trying to get Prestige to come in and service the unit since May of this year but I'm unable to get them to show up. I've missed wages in order to be present at home when they say they're going to show up, but twice they've failed to show up as promised. On one of those occasions they showed up 4 hours late (when there was no one home), and the second time they just simply failed to show up with no notification of any kind. I have attempted to schedule more service appointments with Prestige Plumbing but the result is always the same. They eventually call to reschedule or to cancel due to "other priorities". This business is obviously not interested in honoring the warranty of my unit. The unit I purchased seemed to be defective from the start, as I made a total of 3 service calls within the first month following installation. At one point they had diagnosed it as a defective unit, but failed to replace anything, simply opting to "restart" it every single time. I demand that the unit be completely replaced or a refund be issued. Litigation for "breach of contract" will follow if unable to get this resolved.

Desired Settlement: I demand that the unit be completely replaced or a refund of $2625 be issued.

Business Response: Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 5, 2015/08/19) */ Hi, I'm requesting that Case# ******** be closed and marked as resolved. The business called to set up an appointment and they showed up as scheduled. They found the root cause to be an installation mishap, which they have now rectified. They followed up by checking the water hardness twice to make sure that the problem was indeed resolved, and I can confirm that it has. Prestige Plumbing handled the issue with professionalism and their staff was very friendly and apologetic for the way my case was (mis)handled. I am happy with the way Prestige Plumbing responded to this complaint. Please consider this statement as proof for marking the case as closed and resolved. Thank you for providing this service. Ruperto Herrera

4/16/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Prestige plumbing installed a new water heater at my residence on Feb 23th. Upon removing the old water heater from the basement, some rust water got on the carpet in multiple places. The installer asked me for carpet cleaner and I gave him what I had and he took it upon himself to use it to try to clean the carpet. Some visible sign is still present of rust in multiple locations. I voiced my concern and was told that a carpet specialist would call me so we could set up a time for someone to come out and remove the stains. To this day, I never received a call. I have attempted to contact Prestige plumbing several times and have left many messages. They have tried to contact me once, but I wasnt by my phone, and oddly enough, they didnt leave a message. I immediately contacted them back, but have been unsuccessful in getting through as I keep receiving voicemail.

Desired Settlement: I am seeking to have my carpet in the same condition as it was before the service took place, i.e. the rust stains removed to my satisfaction or the carpet replaced.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2015/04/10) */ Contact Name and Title: *** Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *** This matter was handled by our carpet cleaner Saturday 4/4/2015 and the customer was happy with his service. I don't know why our carpet cleaner company took so long to respond to this matter but we do apologize for the delay.

3/23/2015 Problems with Product/Service
11/24/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Though Prestige advertises "lowest prices upfront", they charged me what "****" their techinician states is the going rate of $937 to replace an outside spigot. I've used Prestige before to replace a sump pump and paid a fair price ($330 which include an hour and 20 minutes of labor and a new sump pump). **** said because it's more difficult to get to the outside spigot because we have a finished basement. He said it would take at least an hour and half to do because again it was really difficult to get to the spigot. I understand it was more difficult but I gave him my credit card at 3:23 (time stamp on my cell phone). After I called a friend who owns a contracting business and told him the cost he said stop the job now they are charging you 3 times the rate. I called **** back at 4:06 but he didn't answer. Finally got a hold of **** at 4:12 and he was done with the job. My card was charged at 4:25. I've argued with Prestige that this was not a fair price but they keep stating the work is done. I've received 5 quotes and the highest is $305. Plus the bill does not break out labor and material so I have no idea how much they charged me for sales tax or if they even charged taxed (isn't that illegal)? Other plumbers have stated that parts would be $80 to $100, that means Prestige made roughly $800 for less than an hour of work. Again Prestige states on their website "lowest price upfront"? What does that mean? I'm willing to pay $500 (which is still way over the highest price). Unfortunately my debit card has been charged and they will not credit my account. Help.

Desired Settlement: I think a $400 refund is fair which means I'm still over paying by $200.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/10/30) */ Contact Name and Title: *** ****** President Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *********** Upon review of the allegations/complaint "#XXXXXXXX" Mr. ****** ******'s complaints have no merit. We responded promptly to Mr. ******'s residence. Prior to any work commencing, Mr. ****** was contacted and quoted the total flat rate price for the work to be completed. Mr. ****** agreed to the price and provided his authorization to proceed with the work. Work was successfully completed and paid for by Mr. ******. We then received a call from Mr. ****** indicating he was talking to several of his friends and they indicated they could do it cheaper. Mr. ****** then became irate and dictated what he felt he should have spent. We have communicated with Mr. ****** several times to a no end solution. Our offer to Mr. ****** for a 25% discount on his next service still stands. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/11/04) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) *** did not answer the two questions I asked. One and reason for the complaint of faulty advertisement . What does lowest price upfront mean? Secondly, how do I know how much tax I paid on my invoice as there are two flat charges. I can't tell how much labor was for the 45 minutes Mark spent replacing the spigot. Also parts are suppose to be taxed. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/11/11) */ Lowest price upfront means that we give our lowest price upfront - before any work begins. This allows our customers to make a decision to proceed with the proposed work or not. This is a flat rate price for the proposed work to be done. We guarantee the quoted flat rate price is all the customer will pay for the proposed work to be done no matter how long the job takes. Also the tax is paid when we purchase our parts and material from our suppliers and is included in the flat rate price. We do not give a time and material breakdown on our invoices as we are a flat rate company.