BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 04/01/2009

Prestige Plumbing Heating Cooling

Phone: (630) 801-8600Fax: (630) 801-864011 John St STE A, North AuroraIL 60542-1619 Send email to Prestige Plumbing Heating CoolingView Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 04/01/2009

BBB has determined that Prestige Plumbing Heating Cooling meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Prestige Plumbing Heating Cooling's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Problems with Product / Service1
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Prestige Plumbing Heating Cooling

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (2)BBB Closure Definitions
11/24/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Though Prestige advertises "lowest prices upfront", they charged me what "****" their techinician states is the going rate of $937 to replace an outside spigot. I've used Prestige before to replace a sump pump and paid a fair price ($330 which include an hour and 20 minutes of labor and a new sump pump). **** said because it's more difficult to get to the outside spigot because we have a finished basement. He said it would take at least an hour and half to do because again it was really difficult to get to the spigot. I understand it was more difficult but I gave him my credit card at 3:23 (time stamp on my cell phone).

After I called a friend who owns a contracting business and told him the cost he said stop the job now they are charging you 3 times the rate. I called **** back at 4:06 but he didn't answer. Finally got a hold of **** at 4:12 and he was done with the job. My card was charged at 4:25. I've argued with Prestige that this was not a fair price but they keep stating the work is done. I've received 5 quotes and the highest is $305. Plus the bill does not break out labor and material so I have no idea how much they charged me for sales tax or if they even charged taxed (isn't that illegal)? Other plumbers have stated that parts would be $80 to $100, that means Prestige made roughly $800 for less than an hour of work. Again Prestige states on their website "lowest price upfront"? What does that mean? I'm willing to pay $500 (which is still way over the highest price). Unfortunately my debit card has been charged and they will not credit my account. Help.

Desired Settlement
I think a $400 refund is fair which means I'm still over paying by $200.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: *** ****** President
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ***********@comcast.net
Upon review of the allegations/complaint "#XXXXXXXX" Mr. ****** ******'s complaints have no merit. We responded promptly to Mr. ******'s residence. Prior to any work commencing, Mr. ****** was contacted and quoted the total flat rate price for the work to be completed. Mr. ****** agreed to the price and provided his authorization to proceed with the work. Work was successfully completed and paid for by Mr. ******. We then received a call from Mr. ****** indicating he was talking to several of his friends and they indicated they could do it cheaper. Mr. ****** then became irate and dictated what he felt he should have spent.

We have communicated with Mr. ****** several times to a no end solution.
Our offer to Mr. ****** for a 25% discount on his next service still stands.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
*** did not answer the two questions I asked. One and reason for the complaint of faulty advertisement . What does lowest price upfront mean? Secondly, how do I know how much tax I paid on my invoice as there are two flat charges. I can't tell how much labor was for the 45 minutes Mark spent replacing the spigot. Also parts are suppose to be taxed.

Final Business Response
Lowest price upfront means that we give our lowest price upfront - before any work begins. This allows our customers to make a decision to proceed with the proposed work or not. This is a flat rate price for the proposed work to be done. We guarantee the quoted flat rate price is all the customer will pay for the proposed work to be done no matter how long the job takes.

Also the tax is paid when we purchase our parts and material from our suppliers and is included in the flat rate price. We do not give a time and material breakdown on our invoices as we are a flat rate company.

03/23/2015Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Plumbers, Water Heaters - Dealers, Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial, Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential, Heating & Air Conditioning, Bathroom Remodeling, Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning, Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 04/25/1990Business started: 01/01/1989
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Illinois Department of Public Health
122 S. Michigan Avenue
Chicago, IL60603-6191
(312) 814-2608
http://www.idph.state.il.us

BBB records show a license number of 058-119900 for this company, issued by Illinois Department of Public Health. Their web address is http://www.idph.state.il.us. The expiration date of this license is 04/30/2015.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: June 1989, IL

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Tim Miller ( President)
Business Category

Plumbers, Water Heaters - Dealers, Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial, Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential, Heating & Air Conditioning, Bathroom Remodeling, Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning, Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems

Alternate Business Names
Prestige Plumbing, Inc.
Industry Tips
Home Remodeling Contractors

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Prestige Plumbing Heating Cooling

11 John St STE A

North Aurora, IL 60542-1619

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 11 John St STE A 

    North Aurora, IL 60542-1619

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Chicago and Northern Illinois. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Prestige Plumbing Heating Cooling is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Web Addresses

X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Plumbers

Home Remodeling Contractors
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.