Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Precision Plumbing Services, Inc.

Phone: (630) 690-1983 Fax: (630) 916-8312 View Additional Phone Numbers 1051 N. Main St Ste. E, Lombard, IL 60148 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.precisiontoday.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Precision Plumbing Services, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Precision Plumbing Services, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 12 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

12 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 4
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 7
Total Closed Complaints 12

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

91 Customer Reviews on Precision Plumbing Services, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 85
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 6
Total Customer Reviews 91

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 16, 1995 Business started: 05/01/1992 in IL Business started locally: 05/01/1992 Business incorporated 12/11/1992 in IL
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Illinois Department of Public Health
122 S. Michigan Avenue, Chicago IL 60603
http://www.idph.state.il.us
Phone Number: (312) 814-2608

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Mike Borowski, General Manager, VP Mr. Matt Morse, President Mr. Jon Zaghloul, Plumbing Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mike Borowski, General Manager, VP
Business Category

Plumbing - Contractor Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning Sewer Contractors Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential Drainage Contractors Plumbers - Commercial Plumbing, Heating, and Air-Conditioning Contractors (NAICS: 238220)

Alternate Business Names
Precision Plumbing Heating Cooling

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Precision Plumbing Services, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1051 N. Main St Ste. E

    Lombard, IL 60148 (630) 282-4797

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/21/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had a plumbing issue which was displayed in my laundry room as it was apparent I had a backup somewhere in my system. I called Precision Plumbing and I was called by a dispatcher who informed me for $149 I would receive a full rotting from my clean-out as well as with a camera to determine the issue. The plumber did not do this instead brought a small line inside and ran it through the drain in my laundry and what this did was temporarily clear only the laundry sink and actuially made the issue worse. The very next day I experienced the same issue yet now when a toilet was flushed it seeped into the laundry area as well. I called Precision Plumbing as they said I had a 90 day warranty and explained the issue. They sent someone out and I was told it would cost me another $149 to perform what was supposed to be done at first or if I would like the deluxe package for $399. This company is using false advertising and trying to take advantage of consumers in a dire need of a service. I want the public to see this and I want a refund of $100 as I only received $49 worth of service and I told the second plumber that I was not interested in being taken advantage of and said I wasn't interested. Now I have to find another plumber to do what I called Precision to do in the first place and paid for.

Desired Settlement: I want a refund and I want the public to read about their false advertising and misleading up-sell tactics.

Business Response:

The company regrets that this client does not feel he was treated fairly, as this was not the intent.

Upon arrival, the client’s main drain was flowing properly as viewed from the exterior cleanout access. The original blockage was confined to just the drain in the laundry room, unaffected by use of other drains in the home. The original technician restored flow to this drain and ran water to test and water flowed through, exiting the building through the exterior cleanout access.

Upon arrival of the second technician, the exterior main drain was still flowing properly, but discovered the interior main drain was clogged-causing back up in floor drain with use of other drains in home.

The second technician provided an additional rodding option since the culprit for the backup appeared different than that of the original visit.

The second technician should have sought clarification from the original technician or a supervisor and work to find a more amicable solution for the client.

For this reason the company will provide, upon approval of the client, a 100% refund for services described in this complaint.

Business Response:

The client called and emailed Precision on 1/20/16 to say that he misread the company's initial rebuttal to this bbb complaint, and he would accept (as seen in email correspondence below).

From: ** ***** ****************************
Sent: Wednesday, January 20, 2016 10:36 AM
To: **** ******** ******************************
Subject: Re: BBB Message

 

OK when you see the message from BBB come through reply again and I will mark it as accepted pending receipt of check.

Regards ****

 

***** **** ******** ******************** *************** ********** ******* *** **** **** ** *** ** ***** ******** *** *** ******e

 

Refund Check is in the mail 


On Jan 20, 2016, at 8:02 AM, ** ***** ********************* wrote:

For **** ********

I misread your message last night-please reply and I will accept your response as soon as I receive my refund.

Regards ****

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********* and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me but I would like to leave the complaint open until I receive the full refund as promised.

Sincerely,

******* ********

12/17/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
11/21/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 10/18/15, a Precision Plumbing technician installed a new ***** water heater in the basement of our home. Upon installation, the tech said that he never installs ***** water heaters. When the tech was leaving, I reported to him that I smelled gas and he assured me the smell was probably due to the "newness of the unit" and would dissipate with time. We had opened the basement windows to see if that would eliminate the odor, however, upon returning home the following day from work, we continued to notice the strong smell of gas upon entering the lower level of the home . We were concerned about our safety and called Precision at 9 pm that evening and they said they would come out and it would be $149 as it was an emergency service call. We questioned the charge, as we had expected them to stand behind their work. The same tech arrived around 10:30 pm and said he didn't smell anything and checked connections and said it wasn't gas and the smell was from being a new unit and should fade. The next day we called ***** and they told us that we shouldn't be smelling an odor like that and that they would come out to inspect. We again contacted Precision with this information. The smell continued and never faded and we contacted Precision and they weren't able to come out until 10/26. A different tech arrived and he,too, claimed not to smell anything. Upon inspection, he found there was a gas leak at the connection site to the water heater and he replaced a connection piece, as the part had been 21 years old, thus resulting in a leaky connection. The original tech used the old parts instead of replacing them during the installation and he didn't notice the apparent leak. After the connection was fixed, the odor immediately dissipated, A gas leak in our house for over 8 days could have been a catastrophe and was totally unacceptable especially as we had repeatedly notified them of our concerns. We don't feel that we should pay full price for substandard work. After several attempts to contact the tech's supervisor, the plumbing manager returned our call and admitted they had faulty gas detector equipment. He said he would refund our $149 for the emergency service call and give us a $100 discount on future business. We wanted to make the owner aware of the situation and left several messages for him, however, he never returned our calls.

Desired Settlement: We would like the owner to acknowledge he got our message and we want a reduction to the original labor charge. We were charged about $600 for the installation by an qualified and trained expert plumber and we believe the substandard installation doesn't deserve that amount. The installation was either done by someone improperly trained or equipped with faulty testing devices.

Business Response:

The client contacted the company to resolve their plumbing needs, not to add frustration or concern. For this we are truly sorry. We are grateful they shared their experience in this forum as well as with the owner today on the phone. Once the company receives the client's approval on the resolution form, the company will issue the client the agreed refund.

9/21/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
10/8/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We had a simple bath drain to unclog. This usually cost about $150 to $200. Their estimate was about $250. They ended up doing excessive work and charged us over $900. When I called the owner (**** *****) to ask for some relief in the bill... he never returned my phone call. I am not looking for a full refund but I am looking for a correction in this invoice. My wife was in a hurry and unwittingly signed they work order but the work that they did and what they charged should be criminal.

Desired Settlement: At least a 50% discount.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/10/07) */ I spoke with Mr ***** on Friday Aug 26th and resolved his complaint. **** *****

8/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On June 24, 2014, I had a side sprayer replaced on my kitchen sink by Precision Plumbing. The work involved unscrewing the nut from old side sprayer hose and tightening the nut for the new one. The location of the nut required special tools to unwind and tighten, or I would have done it myself. I had purchased the part beforehand, so this was a "labor only" transaction. Upon arrival, the technician asked what I thought it would cost to install the part. I responded that I did not know. BIG MISTAKE! He quoted me $303, but later waived the $49.00 dispatch fee making the total cost $254.00. The work took less 30 minutes to complete. I felt this company took advantage of me and tried to get as much money out of me as they could. This was price gouging at its worse.

Desired Settlement: I feel the total cost of the service should have been no more than $150.00. It took less than 30 minutes to install the part.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/08/08) */ Contact Name and Title: ****** ******** Manager Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *********@precisiontoday.com The company reached out to Mr. ********* and he agreed that he signed off/agreed to the work that was done on 6/24/14 and was satisfied with the work provided. As a good faith effort the company will apply a $54.00 refund to Mr. *********.

5/16/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I called out precision plumbing to power rod my sewer line and after a camera inspection the technician informed me that I had a break in the sewer line 5 feet off my foundation. He recommended a repair of 10 feet of the sewer line to fix the issue. I was also informed that the tech reached a length of 75 feet with a 3 inch bit with the power rodder to clear the sewer pipe. (Which I have documentation of.) We ended up using another contractor to complete the work which was recommended. When the pipe was exposed where the technician had stated it was broken there was no brake at the pipe. The actual problem was tree roots had invaded our sewer pipe beginning at about 15 feet outside the foundation wall all the way to the sewer manhole located in the center of the street. Upon removal of the pipe the majority of the pipe was blocked 95% and I believe the 3 inch cutting rod never made it out to the 75 foot mark. This work was completed 6 weeks after Precision Plumbing had been out and the line was completely blocked. I feel that the $299.00 that I paid should be credited back to me because I don't believe the power rodding that was stated on the invoice reached the length of 75 feet and the recommended services to further resolve our issue of fixing 10 feet of sewer pipe was incorrect.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I am requesting a refund of my $299.00 that I paid for the services that I do not feel were adequately completed.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/05/05) */ Contact Name and Title: ****** ******** CCM Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *********@precisiontoday.com The company is unable to validate the customer's belief that that sewer rodding service was insufficiently performed, nor is the company able to validate the customer's comment about where the pipe repair should have commenced-there is no indication of that on the invoice. There is also no indication on the invoice pertaining to a break in the pipe, but rather notation of there being root masses which coincides with the customer's complaint. As a good faith effort, the company has provided a full refund of the services performed on 2/25/14

5/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service
3/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Each Precision employee that assessed the situation, are paid on a commission structure to sell and complete work, and they provide different solution to the problem which I paid for each time. I ultimately agreed to complete a contract of $2,899 on 1/18/14 to create a Exterior Access point and Hydro Jet the sewer line. Precision Plumbing used sewer camera's and GPS technology to pinpoint the recommended area to place the clean out on my grass area in my front yard. Precision arrived at my house on 1/21/14 to complete the work, but after digging a 7 foot hole in my front yard with a bull dozer, they determined that they would have to break open my sidewalk in front of my house. I told Precision Plumbing that I would not pay for the concrete work. After several conversations with the employees on-site ******** and the services manager (****). I was presented two options: 1) Precision could leave my home charge me for digging a hole in my front yard by keeping my $869 deposit and leave my water and sewer pipes exposed in minus zero degree weather to potential freeze or 2) I could pay $2100 to have the concrete removed and replaced. I verbally agreed to having the concrete removed, but I strongly believe that Precision Plumbing intentionally create circumstances in which I had little or no control over making a logical and fair decision. After being at my home 4 seperate time and being paid for services provided, I believe they had enough information through the use of sewer line camera's and GPS technology to know that I would have to remove the concrete. Instead of disclosing this information as part of the proposal, they continued their practice of incrementally extracting additional money from me. After the work was complete. I told the employees that were standing in my home that I did not want to make payment. That I wanted to drive into the office and meet with the owner of the company of the manager. I was asked to make payment immediately, because the work had been completed, and they employees would have the manager or owner contact me to discuss some type of fair resolution. I did what the company asked me to do and made full payment. I have never received a phone call and my attempt to contact the owner or manager have been unsuccessful. Thank you **** ******* *** N. **** Ave Oak Park, IL XXXXX XXX-XXX-XXXX

Desired Settlement: I am requesting a $2,100 refund for the charge of removing the concrete and expense or replacing it. I am open to any conversation that includes the reimburtment in cash or additional services provided in the future that seek to do something that both parties can agree is fair. I believe that I have been logical, fair and reasonable throughout my dealings with Precision Plumbing. I have paid for ALL services at the point of service delivery and I have been respectful in explaining my concerns, issues and objections. Thank you **** ******* XXX-XXX-XXXX *** N. **** Ave Oak Park, IL XXXXX

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/02/19) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ******** GM Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ****@precisiontoday.com This complaint through the BBB was when the GM and the owner first became aware that the client was wanting to speak to us. Neither the GM nor the owner received any messages from the client as he indicated. When complaint received by GM on 2/18/14, GM phoned client at 2:35 pm to inquire about concern and attempt to resolve issue and spoke to client briefly. Client said he was awaiting another call at the time and would call back later. As of 1:00 p.m. on 2/19/14, there has been no return call from the client. The company is requesting that Mr. **** furnish a copy of paperwork indicating a $2,200 charge/proposal from Precision for concrete removal and replacement by Precision, as that is not indicated anywhere in Precision's records. What is indicated on the paperwork is an $1100 price for concrete removal (excluding concrete restore), reduced to a $750 charge as an amicable solution between the client and Precision, followed by the client's signature of approval. The client indicates in his complaint that he did not want to make payment after the outside work was complete, and he was going to drive to office to speak to manager or owner. No such visit has been made to Precision's office by client. The client said that he made full payment on the day the outside repair was performed (1/18/14), but that is not an accurate statement. The team member from Precision attempted to collect payment for the excavation portion only on 1/18/14, as that portion of the work was complete. Client refused. Precision was to return to complete the final (jetting) portion of the work when the weather was more conducive. In actuality, client paid all monies due above and beyond initial deposit ($2867.30) on 1/30/14 when the jetting work was complete (see attached credit card transaction record with date and time stamp). The client had called Precision 2 days after (1/20/14) outside repair performed on 1/18/14 to schedule appointments for 2 other departments for 1/23/14 to scope out sewer work needed and an HVAC tune up, both for another property the client owned. The client did not have Precision proceed with any sewer work on 1/23/14 at this separate site location. If client was dissatisfied with his experience with Precision albeit still unsettled, why would client invite the same company out to potentially re-engage in business at another property of his? In this complaint, it is unclear why client would suggest accepting additional services (as resolution) provided by same company in the future. In reading this complaint and analyzing the situation, it causes one to question whether client intended on using this forum to leverage having more services provided to offset or avoid personal expense for multiple residences. Due to the nature of the work being performed where the issue is underground, unforeseen issues may arise during the scope of the work. When said issues arose, the client was made aware and the company reduced the expense of the concrete removal price to help bring satisfaction to the client.

2/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Called Precision Plumbing out to my home on XX-XX-XX at around 2:30 P.M. at **** ******** ****** Hanover Park, IL to examine a leak that was seeping into the south end of my basement bathroom ceiling and you could see that the drywall was bowing from the water pressure which really concerned me. The plumber from Precision a man named **** ran upstairs and checked both bathrooms and informed me that he found the cause and it was our upstairs master bath toilet although the toilet was on the north end of the bathroom upstairs. He said that the toilet was loose although we had this toilet repaired by another plumber in February of 2013. Before I could go any further he had his estimate sheet with itemized line items of $398 to reset a toilet, $400 if it was a collar and $875 for a new toilet. Because I am not a plumber I had to take his word that he knew what he was doing and as a homeowner I wanted to solve the problem even though this sounded a bit high as I had the same thing done before for $250. So when he pulled the toilet the collar was fine but advised me that the floor was no good and the water was seeping downstairs from a hole in the floor. So for the same price of the collar repair ($400) he would cement the surrounding area with what appeared to be about $12 worth of Quikrete sealer. So at this point what was I supposed to do tell him to put everything back as it was? So he proceeded on and finished the job and when we examined the ceiling downstairs we could not find anything additional as I had wiped the liquid from the ceiling 10 minutes earlier. Directly after this I left for one hour and when I returned I found to my utter shock the bathroom ceiling once again had this brown liquid gunk dripping down just as it had been when the plumber arrived. I called back Precision the same day around 5:00 PM and explained my disgust and the woman who answered the phone took my message and said she would give it to dispatch. No one ever called me back. The next day my neighbor stopped over and we discovered that the issue was not the toilet at all but the bathroom sink on the south end of the master bath and directly above the bowed ceiling downstairs. There was had a ruptured supply line that caused a steady drip of water to the below vanity and subsequently into the ceiling downstairs. **** did not check the sink even though there was standing water on the tile directly below the sink when he arrived and did his examination. Now all I can surmise is that either **** is not a very good plumber or that he didn't see a big enough commission n fixing a leaky sink fitting which my neighbor did for $50 including $20 worth of new parts on 1-2-14. OK so I complained to the office there on 1-2-14 and they asked me if I signed off the work and of course I did. We as consumers rely on the integrity of professionals that specialize in certain areas of home maintenance and anyone in my situation would have done the same thing because I thought this backup of water could have started an electrical fire. Now being an honest person had Paul done his job the first time this repair would have cost about $125.So what I am asking for here is $647.50 which is the difference in what I paid with a coupon of $772.50 less what it should have been $125 and I want to let other consumers know about how these companies prey on you when you are under duress.

Desired Settlement: I want a refund in cash. What they did is not acceptable and I want others to be aware of how this company operates.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/01/16) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ******** GM Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ****@precisiontoday.com The technician found the toilet to be loose-to the point where nuts were not even hand-tight and the tiles surrounding the toilet also very loose-a clear indication of leakage at minimum, a poor existing toilet installation at best. It is certainly possible the client had more than one leak. The technician offered to open ceiling down below to verify extent of leak(s) and the client declined stating his friend would do that. The technician cannot control the duress level of the client. The technician provided options and pricing upfront and in writing and the client made the decision for the technician to proceed with the work proposed. As a good faith offering, Precision is willing to refund $400 on the client's credit card. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 21, 2014/02/05) */ Yes I still have not received a check from Precision Plumbing as agreed to-it has been one week. Please advise as to the status. **** ******** ------------------------------------------------- 2/5/14 info from consumer: Still waiting on a response. Was promised payment in the form of a company check-Still have not received it-please advise as to what the delay is. Final Business Response /* (4000, 25, 2014/02/05) */ The client will receive his refund check within this next week. NOTE FROM THE BBB: Please hold off on your response pending receipt of the check. Please confirm receipt ***** ****** Assistant Manager-Home Services BBB-Chicago & Northern Illinois

1/6/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My wife, ****** *********** called several plumbers on Saturday Dec. 14th for repair needed for a leaky kitchen faucet. The plumbers that responded from Precision Plumbers were busy with emergency calls so they said they would come out first thing Monday morning. The plumber arrived as planned at 8am Monday. I had already purchased a replacement faucet and taken all connections off the old faucet. The plumber just had to loosen a nut to lift the old faucet off and set the new one, which had easy connect hoses, in its place. It was the same model faucet except it had easier connections. The plumber explained sometimes it was a major job to remove an old faucet and explained he has had to saw some off and made it sound like it might be a complicated job. He showed me an estimate for the work at $458. He asked if i had any coupons and I said I did not. He said he had some and would apply the discount to the bill. I figured that would substantially reduce the bill because it was so overpriced. When he finished, in 45 minutes, he said the total was $457 after a $50 discount. I thought he had charged for parts even though I had supplied the faucet and parts. He said that it was just labor. I didnt think I should make a scene even though I knew I was getting ripped off. I phoned his office and spoke with the receptionist who said she would look into it and get back to me because she could not explain why a $180 faucet install job was charged at $507, almost 3 times other estimates. She never returned my call. I know they didnt return my call because there is no valid explanation for such high charges. They simply took advantage of my wife's lack of plumbing knowledge.

Desired Settlement: I did an internet search for kitchen faucet install charges. The estimates are all in the $180 range. I think $180 plus the $50 service call for a total of $230 for a 45 minute simple install is fair. I think Precision Plumbers should refund the $227 overcharge. In return I will edit my reviews I left for them on Yelp and other sites. I left very honest reviews about how they charged way too much money and misled my wife and I.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/12/18) */ We did receive a call on 12/16/13 regarding a price complaint. Our Customer Service Representative documented the call and advised that we would respond within 24/48 business hours so we could review the transaction and invoice as we did not have the physical invoice in our office yet. After reviewing the invoice we see that we presented options and pricing up front and in writing. In addition we have ****'s signature on the invoice approving the work to be done. We do charge on a per job basis vs hourly. Per the complaint listed we did provide pricing up front and offered our own coupon even though the customer did not have one. If other organizations choose to charge a lower rate for work that is their business decision. At this time we acted ethically to ensure the customer was fully satisfied. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2013/12/18) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) 48 hours did pass without a response so they lied about that. I explained the only reason why I didn't turn the plumber away was because he said he would apply a discount. He also added a $50 charge that was not on the invoice when I initialed it. That completely offset the coupon he made me believe was going to discount the job. He also mentioned that sometimes these jobs require a saw to remove a faucet if it is seized up. I was under the impression that the estimate was for worst case scenario and would be lowered if no problems occurred. If Precision Plumbing refuses to work on a resolution to this problem I will post my honest very negative reviews on every trade and consumer website to help prevent other customers from being taken advantage of. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2013/12/19) */ As of 12.19.13 at 12:30pm we have contacted the customer and agreed to provide a refund to the customer upon completion of our refund document. As of this time we consider the matter to be resolved.

10/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My husband and I purchased a new heating/air conditioner from Precision in November 2012.While the initial contact was positive, the actual installation of the unit started on a Friday afternoon, and took until the following Monday to be completed. Work took place on weekend. Although I felt we were inconvenienced by installation "timing" we are satisfied with units. As customers, we're entitled to "no worry" plumbing inspection on annual basis so we decided to take advantage of offer. When the service person came this fall to do furnace "check-up" we asked him who he might recommend as good plumber for inspection. He suggested person and we asked for him. However, Precision called night before and said he was not available. We asked to reschedule for next week and Precision said they would send our requested plumber then. When plumber appeared, it was not the requested plumber. In fact, it was the same plumber who installed a new toilet for us - a toilet we didn't actually need. The plumber we requested was not available. My concern is that the plumber who did the "no worry" inspection came up with a total of $8624 worth of services we could use. My concern is whether our requested plumber would have come up with the same needs. One expensive suggestion was to install a whole house filter and another to install a water softener. I am curious why our source of Elmhurst water would be so hard or full of chemicals that we would need a filtering or softening system. I'm contacting Better Business Bureau rather than company directly because I'm curious whether others have shared this same type of concern. I noted some negative reviews on line but decided to explore my concerns through your agency rather than on a public media link. There seemed to be some who thought Precision did a scam job, while others were very positive regarding their experiences. Bottom line - are "offers" for free inspections really designed to create huge and expensive installations, services, etc.?

Desired Settlement: I would like some explanation why requested plumber did not do "no worry" plumbing inspection...especially after Precision notified us the first time to let us know he was not available. Why not provide the same type of courtesy call the second time he was not available rather than sending another plumber? Second, is this common practice to have a complementary plumbing inspection result in thousands of dollars of recommended services? I'm curious if others have experienced this same approach - i.e., Precision follows up with you after an initial very pricey service (over $13,000 for a new furnace and air conditioner)by then suggesting you need more very expensive services once they do a "no worry" plumbing inspection for you. I have no interest in extracting any type of monetary settlement from Precision. What I am interested in is having an objective review of Precision's customer service practices and whether my concern is unique or common. I'm turning to the Better Business Bureau to provide me with clarity and objectivity regarding Precision's practices.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/10/04) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ******** GM Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ****@precisiontoday.com Mrs. ********, thank you for your valuable feedback. You have some legitimate concerns that hopefully some perspective can be lent. In review of your complaint, I have broken it down into sub categories and hope to address each separately to your understanding. A toilet that wasn't needed-This is concerning that a toilet was installed for you on a previous visit that you later/now didn't feel needed to be done. I would like to better understand why you feel that way. Precision wants you to be comfortable with the services provided for you, and will work to ensure your satisfaction with this. Why did the plumbing tech who was requested not visit your home, and if he was unable to make the appointment, why was a 2nd courtesy call not provided?: The original day the plumber was scheduled to perform your inspection, he had a conflict as he had a full day job to return to and was unavailable. When the appointment was rescheduled for the next week, one of our representatives who rescheduled the appointment set it for when she believed the requested tech was scheduled to work again. Unfortunately it was rescheduled for when the requested technician was away on vacation and our lead dispatcher who reviews each job before dispatching became violently ill from 9/17-9/19. This got completely missed by our staff and we absolutely should have informed you before sending out a different technician. Why were multiple options provided after the inspection?: The purpose of a "no-worry" membership and inspection is for the technician to verify proper functioning and integrity of existing plumbing system, fixtures, and components as well as identify any items that may show signs of leakage, wear and tear, code violations, improper flow, or system upgrades. Items notated post-inspection may vary by tech based upon the type of engagement the client and tech have at the time of the visit. Some clients may be alongside of the tech during an inspection and ask about system upgrades, express interest/disinterest/concern over certain areas while some clients may not be alongside of the technician and the tech simply documents any and all findings. The pricing is provided should the client choose to have us proceed with a repair/installation on day of installation, or it can be used for planning for future repairs/upgrades. There is no obligation to proceed with any options provided. Why were water softener and filter options provided based on the water quality in the town of Elmhurst?: Elmhurst water is drawn from Lake Michigan. Lake Michigan water is considered hard water. Hard water leads to more rapid wear and tear on plumbing fixtures, appliances, and water heater. A water softener not only helps preserve the plumbing system, it offers side benefits that many clients enjoy. A water filter was documented because the water that comes from Lake Michigan is delivered through a municipal water supply. Every municipality has the responsibility to treat the water with chemicals to rid the water of potentially harmful bacteria. This is standard practice and necessary. However, there is no system provided by each municipality to extract any chemicals at the point of delivery (at homes or businesses). A filter in the home helps to reduce these chemicals from the water. Many consumers turn to bottled water these days for this very reason. Is it common to have a laundry list of items? Some homes have extensive lists while others have relatively small lists, sometimes no list. Findings on inspections from one home to the next can vary based upon age of system, age of fixtures/appliances, usage, maintenance, system design, fixture models, water quality, and homeowner preferences. If there is any more information Precision can provide, please advise. Please also advise on how we can ensure your satisfaction with the toilet that was installed on a previous visit. Thank you for your feedback.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

91 Customer Reviews on Precision Plumbing Services, Inc.
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart