BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 05/01/2007

Plumbing Express, Inc.

Phone: (815) 469-0600Fax: (815) 469-3850View Additional Phone Numbers9526 Corsair Rd, FrankfortIL 60423-2511 Send email to Plumbing Express, Inc.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 05/01/2007

BBB has determined that Plumbing Express, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Plumbing Express, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service4
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Plumbing Express, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 3 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (4)BBB Closure Definitions
08/08/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
after the repair was done the hot side had low water pressure and they came to correct it. They replaced the supply line and installed a shut off valve on the hot side and charged me for it. The problem is the hot side was never leaking and they never should have fixed something that wasn't broken and then charge me again to fix it.

Desired Settlement
the unpaid bill was placed with a collection agency
i want that to be removed

Business Response
The plumber stated he was called out because the elbow on the water line under the kitchen sink feeding the cold side was leaking due to corrosion & age of the pipes. When the plumber arrived at the jobsite he was dealing with tenant & with Mrs. ******** over the phone because she was at work. The plumber assessed the plumbing issue and gave her an estimate of $2XX-XXX to make the repair. She gave him the go ahead and hung up with her.

In order to make the repair the water needed to be turned off to the entire building. While changing out the cold side elbow, the plumber noticed that the hot side elbow look as bad as the cold side but it wasn't leaking yet. He tried to call Mr. ******** two times to inform her that she should have it replaced but couldn't reach her on her at her office nor her personal mobile phone. Under the assumption that she would be happy with replacing both sides to prevent a future call & having to pay for another visit, again having to turn the water back off and on to the whole building, which would create more possible problems due to the old pipes, the plumber replaced the hot side for a discounted price of $40, well between the estimate that was given to her over the phone.

When the work was completed it took a couple of days for her to return our call to pay us for the 1st visit. While on the phone, the plumber did explain the situation. She then asked that a plumber come out again because when the water was turned off and back on again, the building caused rust debris to clog up the hot side & shut off valve was bad too. The plumber spoke to Mrs. ******** & make her aware that she would incur a charge since it wasn't our fault that there were water pressure issues from turning off and on the water to the building, we were dealing with old galvanized pipes & the repair was made. A check was left with the tenant to pay for the repair and the plumber left.

Mrs. ******** put a stop payment on her check and it is policy to send it off to a company who is in charge of NSF checks as well as payments that had a stop put on them. They collected the funds in our favor and nothing was heard of since.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The problem is I never authorized the hot side to be fixed in the first place, as they assumed I would be happy, but the hot side became problematic and I was charged an additional $185 to have it fixed. I don't remember how much I was quoted for the initial repair and they were paid by check that was sent in the mail. The plumber **** also told me that the check would have to be in their office before he could come out again. It took about 6 days before they came out to fix the pressure problem. Initially the plumber who came(it wasn't ****) said I wouldn't be charged for the repair but then asked to see my receipt to see what was done. How could I be charged for to fix the valve on the hot side when they shouldn't have touched the hot side in the first place.

Final Business Response
Case # XXXXXXXX
1 message
******** ******* <********@flatleysplumbingexpress.com>
Tue, Aug 5, 2014 at 1:57 PM
To: "Mendez, *****" <*******@chicago.bbb.org>
Dear *****,

I would like to go ahead and offer Ms. ******** the $285 refund that she has requested on the above referenced case number. I don't understand why she agreed to 1/2 then changed her mind, but to avoid arbitration on both ends, we are willing to ask the collection agency to cease contact as well as collection on the $185 and send her a check for $100.00 totalling $285.00.

I wasn't sure how to go about this & would need your assistance please.

Thank you,
******** *******
Business Manager
Ph: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Fax: XXX-XXX-XXXX
www.flatleysplumbingexpress.com



Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I will accept the refund of 1/2 of the $185 along with the removal of this matter with the collection agency and removal from my credit report if applicable.

09/05/2013Problems with Product / Service
05/24/2013Problems with Product / Service
05/06/2013Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Plumbers, Contractors-Water & Sewer, Sewer Pipe, Water Heater - Tankless, Water Heaters - Dealers, Water Heaters - Repairing, Sewer Inspection, Sewer Contractors, Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning, Plumbers - Commercial, Piping Contractors, Sump Pump Contractors

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 03/01/2001Business started: 04/01/1962
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Illinois Department of Public Health
122 S. Michigan Avenue
Chicago, IL60603-6191
(312) 814-2608
http://www.idph.state.il.us

BBB records show a license number of 055-020549 for this company, issued by Illinois Department of Public Health. Their web address is http://www.idph.state.il.us. The expiration date of this license is 09/30/2015.

Type: unknown

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: July 1987, IL

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Patrick Flatley (Owner)Ms. Jennifer Flatley (Office Manager)
Business Category

Plumbers, Contractors-Water & Sewer, Sewer Pipe, Water Heater - Tankless, Water Heaters - Dealers, Water Heaters - Repairing, Sewer Inspection, Sewer Contractors, Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning, Plumbers - Commercial, Piping Contractors, Sump Pump Contractors

Alternate Business Names
Flatley's Plumbing Express
Industry Tips
Home Remodeling Contractors

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Plumbing Express, Inc. has received 4.80 out of 5 stars based on 3 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Plumbing Express, Inc.

9526 Corsair Rd

Frankfort, IL 60423-2511

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 9526 Corsair Rd 

    Frankfort, IL 60423-2511(815) 469-0600
    (708) 349-6090
    (630) 323-9333

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Chicago and Northern Illinois. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Plumbing Express, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (708) 349-6090
  • (630) 323-9333
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Plumbers

Home Remodeling Contractors
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.