Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Pearson Plumbing, Heating & Pest Control

Phone: (815) 398-8312 Fax: (815) 229-8778 View Additional Phone Numbers 2415 20th St, Rockford, IL 61104

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Pearson Plumbing, Heating & Pest Control meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 6 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 3
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Pearson Plumbing, Heating & Pest Control
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 30, 1989 Business started: 06/01/1964 in IL Business started locally: 06/01/1964 Business incorporated 08/28/1990 in IL
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Illinois Department of Public Health
122 S. Michigan Avenue, Chicago IL 60603
Phone Number: (312) 814-2608

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Matt Morgan, President Mr. Greg Lee, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Matt Morgan, President
Business Category

Plumbers Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning Bathroom Remodeling Heating & Air Conditioning Duct Cleaning Pest Control Services Kitchen Remodeling Heating Contractors Plumbing, Heating, and Air-Conditioning Contractors (NAICS: 238220)

Alternate Business Names
Alpine Softener Rain Barrel Water Conditioning

Additional Locations


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/17/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: My complaint is nearly identical to the one I read from June of this year on this website. I too purchased a furnace and A/C in the summer of 2012. From the beginning I had issues with the A/C. The unit would loose refrigerant and not cool every summer. They came out yearly and I got the same story, it might be a leak but they did not know for sure. I got no lasting repairs and plenty of bills. I have $800 in this unit over 5 visits since August of 2015. I know for a fact they were here in August of 2014 too for the exact same problem. They finally told me on the third visit this year that the coil needed to be replaced but it would cost me nearly $400. I thought they were not going to charge me for the two earlier visits that fixed nothing. Six weeks later they processed my check for $228 they were sitting on. I sent two letters with my bills and never heard a word back. What is just as upsetting is that the second time they came out this year it was for a re-check. I was told the unit was full. Two weeks later the unit would not work and a different tech told me the records say it was not full when it was checked. I am disappointed with the unit and the service and do not feel I should pay for service on a unit that their own records should show was faulty.

Desired Settlement: Adjustment for money spent on service that never repaired a faulty new unit.

Business Response:

We reached out to Mr. ***** and are refunding $316.  We apologize for all his frustrations and inconvenience that he has experienced with our service.  We appreciate the many years of loyalty and wish to continue to be his service provider.

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********* and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. They have indeed sent me a refund check for my expenses prior to fixing the problem. I am happy and satisfied with the result.


******* *****

10/12/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had Pearson Plumbing and Heating replace an Central Air Conditioning unit in May of 2012. I spent over $3000 for the unit and have had nothing but problems with this unit. Since this replacement was made, I have had Pearson's out to 'fix' my unit a total of 7 times since installment for the same issue....the air conditioning stops cooling. The following are a list of dates that these service calls were made for repairs: 4-30-13, 5-8-2013, 6-10-15, 06-01-16, 06-2-16, August 2016, Sept 2016. In addition to having to call on numerous occasions for a brand new failing air conditioning unit, I have had issues like clockwork every single Summer. In addition, the problem is always the same. There is a 'leak' somewhere and each time a tech comes to 'fix' it, the problem is never resolved. This last visit (visit #4 for the Summer of 2016), supposedly a coil failed creating a leak and prior to that I was advised that there was a leak on the external component of the unit. Now I am receiving an invoice for $175 for services that I should have never had to have in the first place. This is a brand new unit and I have had a total of 7 house calls since installment for this malfunctioning unit that I had originally paid over $3000 for. I should not be charged for services that I should have not had to have called for in the first place and this issue should have been resolved with the 6 previous house calls that I placed for the same issues each Summer prior. A brand new unit should have no issues, much less an issue every single Summer. Very poor service and quality of products.

Desired Settlement: No Charge for the services provided as this is the same issue being addressed from the last 6 service calls that were made.

Business Response:

We can understand Mrs. ******** frustration and the inconvenience that she has experienced. We have removed the $174.90 charge. We appreciate the many years of loyalty and wish to continue to be her Service Provider.

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.


***** ******

6/20/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a brand new A/C unit in May 2012. From the beginning, I have had nothing but issues. Have had numerous service calls placed to have a tech come out because the unit would stop cooling almost every Summer season since. This in completely unacceptable. I have paid over $3000 for the unit, and have put another $600 into the unit and the unit is new. The only reason that I had a new unit installed is because I was told by this company that my old unit that was 11 yrs old could not be serviced because the type of refrigerant that it needed was now obsolete. I had never had this many service calls with my old unit and I have had 4 service calls on a brand new unit that is now 4 yrs old. A brand new A/C unit should work and consistently. Not stop working every time summer comes around. Also, I should not be spending an additional $600 on a brand new unit. I called this company to speak with the manager, **** and requested a call back. Received nothing. I am very dissatisfied with this company and the service and treatment I have received. I have paid a lot money for unnecessary services. A brand new A/C unit should have no issues, especially not repeatedly the same issues. The tech who last came out was very understanding and tried to address the issue yet again, but at this point, this is no enough. I can and will go elsewhere in the future for furnace/air services, but I'm between a rock and hard place because this unit is still under warranty. I am very disappointed and dissatisfied with this whole situation. 4 service calls in 4 years for the same issue over and over again is unacceptable.

Desired Settlement: Refund/adjustment for the extra money that I have placed into this brand unit

Business Response:

I have talked to Ms. ****** and hope that I have resolved her concerns we really want to help her with this issue.  I am hopeful that the last service call that was done will be the solution.  She will contact me directly if she has other issues.  We are scheduled to go to her home in May 15, 2017 to do a Preventative maintenance tune up on her air conditioner and insure that it will be ready for that season.  We’re sorry for all the inconvenience and hope that we can continue being her service provider. 

Business Response:

I confirmed with Mrs. ****** and she has received the check. 

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.


***** ******

6/11/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/26/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/3/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Called Pearson's to repair furnace, !st repairman was in such a hurry , came and decided it was the main board. He ordered it. another day, came installed it, and worked fine for 1 hr. Called again, 2 days later, a different guy came out, re-installed the origional board, and cleaned a hose.. Told us we would be refunded some of the cost of the $400 from the first repair... This was Nov 27th.. I called on the 30th and was told we will be getting a check in the mail for about $240... Called again on Dec. 14th said we will be writing a check today.. Called again on the 18th, and today the 21st, same run around.

Desired Settlement: just want my refund back from them like they promised..

Business Response: I spoke to Mr. **** today 12/22/15  and he verified that he did receive the check already.  I apologize for the inconvenience we may have caused him.  

6/18/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: i've been a customer for 9 1/2 years, and have used their services many times. Jan 30, 2014, I wanted the sink, washer, and softener hooked up. Immediately upon arrival, he told me "all of these pipes need to be moved" i said no they don't- they've been there for years and were just fine. He insisted. I said I don't want them next to the wall because the pipes could freeze. " I have to go, just get the job done, i'll be back later" I said. When I came back, there were new pipes everywhere. There was an entire configuration for the softener that I had ready to go- that he had to move out of the way instead of using them, and he put new everything in. He did not hook up the washing machine, my renter did that he said. I received a bill for $1523.00 and all it says is the amount for labor $1316 and an amount for parts $207. I called Feb 20 and said I was not happy, and spoke with ***. I called again Feb 27th, and spoke with ****, and told her I wanted an itemized summary of things (amounts of service charge, how many hours worked) She told me they were in the process of "changing" their business and they do things differently now- they charge a flat fee for each job depending on what it is. I said I have a right to know that ahead of time, and I have a right to know what I am being charged for. **** told me "I don't know as much about this as ***, so I will have you talk with her," I waited a very long time on the phone, and it seemed very convenient *** was "too busy" to speak with me. I told **** I expect something in the mail with a summary of services, and I have yet to hear anything from anybody. I have no intentions of paying this bill (not I have late fees, also) until I get more information. It seems this bill is exceptionally and unbelieveably high- especially when these services did NOT need to be done. the softener service guy from another business came to hook up the softener and asked where the pipes went that were there- he knew because he had srviced the softener for the previous owner, and he knew those pipes were just fine. I am ******,and they don't even seem to care AT ALL. I will NEVER recommend or use Pearson's services again. So much for being a good customer for 9 1/2 years!

Desired Settlement: consider the bill as PAID IN FULL and you will never have to hear from me again

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2015/05/29) */ Contact Name and Title: *** -Customer Service Mgr Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: **** When our plumbers ***** and ****** went out that same morning that M. ****** called, they explained they would need to re-pipe the new sink because the sink she was providing was a vanity style sink that goes against a wall, unlike the previous sink that she had before, which was a free style standing sink that could be hooked up anywhere and did not require it to be against a wall. The old layout of the softener as she mentioned was just lying on the floor and needed to be extended and moved closer to a drain. In addition the piping that came with the owner provided softener is not approved by code. We are licensed by the state of Illinois and can only install approved materials. ***** did not hook up the washing machine and did he charge for that, because the tenant advised that he wanted to build a platform for it. Customer was charged for a plumber and a helper at 6.1 hours of work @ $219 per/hour totaling $1316 for labor and $207 for parts. our plumbers would not put pipes in an areas where freezing is imminent and felt that they got the ok from her to do the work because as she also mentioned in her letter she told them "just get the job done" and left. We apologize to Ms. ****** for all her frustrations and inconvenience that she has experienced with the recent service. We appreciate the many years of loyalty and which to continue to be her service provider. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 10, 2015/06/09) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) there has been no response at all from Pearsons. I paid the bill in order to keep my high credit rating. I do plan on sending the info to the Attorney General, and will do sdo very soon- I've just been very busy this past week. Are they not responding because they know their tactics are not right? I don't know- and I still am not at all happy. They were not willing to talk with me much at the beginning, and not at all now. what a way to do business! Final Business Response /* (4000, 12, 2015/06/10) */ We did respond, not sure why she says we did not. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 14, 2015/06/16) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) This was on Jan. 30, 2015. On Feb 7, 2015 I called Pearson's and ******* rooted the drain in the basement with the camera and blade and it took 3 hours. I was charged $396.00 for labor and materials. On Feb 9, 2015 I called again and Pearsons removed the garbage disposal, repiped the drain valve and ran the line for the icemaker and hooked it up, with labor and materials 252.00. This is no where NEAR the $219.00 you say you charge per hour. Your $219 charge is bogus and NOT ACCEPTABLE. THIS BILL IS BOGUS AND THE PREVIOUS CHARGES TELL IT. I DO NOT ACCEPT THE INFORMATION AS GIVEN. If you DID just raise yur labor charges that much in such a short time, I have a right to know this ahead of time. Sorry, but I'm not buying this info as stated.

3/28/2014 Billing/Collection Issues

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Pearson Plumbing, Heating & Pest Control
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)