BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 06/01/2010

Parks' Plumbing & Sewer Inc.

Phone: (847) 676-1931Fax: (847) 676-93388121 N. Lawndale, SkokieIL 60076-3321 Send email to Parks' Plumbing & Sewer Inc.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 06/01/2010

BBB has determined that Parks' Plumbing & Sewer Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Parks' Plumbing & Sewer Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Parks' Plumbing & Sewer Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
09/09/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On April 2, 2014 we entered into a contract for the installation of a flood control system. Two weeks before the work was scheduled to begin, Parks sent an agent to our address to locate the sewer line. A week before the work was scheduled to begin, I received a phone call stating that the sewer line had been located underneath the driveway and that the job would cost extra. We disputed the extra charge as the salesman had told us that $7676 would be our final cost. Parks agreed to do the work for the agreed upon amount. The work was scheduled for and began in mid June 2014. On the first day of the job the crew cut a section of the concrete driveway in a square about 3 feet by 3 feet and started to dig. Hours later it became evident that there was a problem when they could not locate the sewer line. A supervisor was called to the job site and accessed our sewer line through a manhole cover for a grease trap on our back porch. Using a detection device that he fed into the sewer line he determined that the sewer line was a few feet to the west underneath a grassy area. He said that their equipment had malfunctioned and they had incorrectly located the sewer line during the initial visit two weeks earlier. He assured me that the driveway would be fixed and would look as good as new. Parks has since patched the 3x3 foot section very sloppily and the evidence of the patch is very evident. We asked Parks to replace the entire section of driveway from break to break and were told that they would prefer to apply a sealant over the entire driveway. After weeks of no action and repeated phone calls to the business, we were finally called back and told that they were advised against the sealant as it would chip. The new proposition was that the entire driveway would be pressure washed and would look as good as new by next season. It has now been over two weeks since that phone call with no action. During our last phone call a week ago, I asked that the owner of the company contact me with no response.

Desired Settlement
We are asking that the entire section of the driveway that was affected be replaced from natural break to natural break by a concrete company. The area is approximately 7 feet by six feet.

Business Response
We at Parks' Plumbing and Sewer, first of all would like to apologize about the initial visit when our equipment had a malfunction. We take full responsibility and stand behind our work. We would like to think that we handled this situation to the best of our abilities for our customer and our company. We did notify the customer about the malfunction as soon as we learned about it and told him that we would need to come out to relocate the sewer and we would replace the 5 x 5 area of concrete that we worked on, of course at no charge to him. Both parties agreed that this solution would be sufficed.
We sent a crew out and they reinforced the 5 x 5 area with Rebar & Mesh, then compacted every foot to make sure there would be no sinkage and then poured the new concrete slab. After the job was done the customer called in and said he was unhappy with the color of the concrete. We then sent our Director of Operations out to meet with the home owner to discuss his concerns and to let him know that we take his complaint serious. Our Director explained to the customer that the color of the concrete slab would appear a different shade of gray due to the fact that it was brand new concrete that was poured and the surrounding concrete had already been weathered down, his next response was that he didn't like it because it didn't have "Curb Appeal."
Since the customer was not happy we did offer several different options to try and get the shade of gray to his liking. The most beneficial option was to have a crew go out and power wash the entire drive way, again at no cost; to try and match the shades. The results of the power wash were not satisfactory due to the fact the surrounding concrete was already too weathered.
After running out of options we decided to contact a Professional Concrete company to see how much it would cost us to remove and replace the whole entire drive way. The concrete company told us they would have to go out and take a look and go over options and they would get back to us with an estimate. We did keep the customer up to date on the moves we were making.
We think that we have handled this issue the best way possible and we never want any person that does business with Parks' to feel dissatisfied. We apologize about the mishap and hope to keep all of our clients happy. We will be receiving the estimate for the concrete work in the next day or two and will be back in touch with our client about the repair, the timing and the process in which it will be handled.
Thank you for your attention.
D.O.O
**** ********

Industry Comparison| Chart

Plumbers, Backflow Prevention Devices & Services, Pumps - Service & Repair, Flood Control Equipment, Bathroom Remodeling, Water Heaters - Repairing, Sewer Contractors, Pumping Contractors, Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning, Foundation Contractors, Sump Pump Contractors, Kitchen Remodeling

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 04/01/1986Business started: 01/01/1980
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Illinois Department of Public Health
122 S. Michigan Avenue
Chicago, IL 60603-6191
(312) 814-2608
http://www.idph.state.il.us

BBB records show a license number of 058-117789 for this company, issued by Illinois Department of Public Health. Their web address is http://www.idph.state.il.us. The expiration date of this license is 04/30/2016.

Type: unknown

BBB records show a license number of 055-008775 for this company, issued by Illinois Department of Public Health. Their web address is http://www.idph.state.il.us. The expiration date of this license is 09/30/2015.

Type: unknown

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jeff Poczatek (President) Eileen Tanner (Office Manager)
Business Category

Plumbers, Backflow Prevention Devices & Services, Pumps - Service & Repair, Flood Control Equipment, Bathroom Remodeling, Water Heaters - Repairing, Sewer Contractors, Pumping Contractors, Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning, Foundation Contractors, Sump Pump Contractors, Kitchen Remodeling

Industry Tips
Home Remodeling Contractors

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Parks' Plumbing & Sewer Inc.

8121 N. Lawndale

Skokie, IL 60076-3321

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 8121 N. Lawndale 

    Skokie, IL 60076-3321Fax: (847) 676-9338

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Chicago and Northern Illinois. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Parks' Plumbing & Sewer Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Plumbers

Home Remodeling Contractors
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.