Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

Mr. Rooter Of Will County

Additional Locations

Phone: (815) 727-0153 Fax: (815) 727-0784 View Additional Phone Numbers 126 S DesPlaines St, Joliet, IL 60436

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Mr. Rooter Of Will County
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 24, 1997 Business started: 06/01/1996 Business started locally: 06/01/1996 Business incorporated 06/06/2003 in IL
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Illinois Department of Public Health
122 S. Michigan Avenue, Chicago IL 60603
Phone Number: (312) 814-2608

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Phillip Knippen, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Phillip Knippen, President
Business Category

Plumbers Plumbers - Commercial Plumbing - Contractor Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning Septic Tanks & Systems Contractors & Dealers Sewer Inspection Water Heaters - Repairing Water Main Contractors Water Leak Detection Water Heaters - Dealers Water Heater - Tankless Sewer Pipe Contractors-Water & Sewer Sump Pump Contractors Plumbing, Heating, and Air-Conditioning Contractors (NAICS: 238220)

Service Area
Southwest Chicago Suburbs
Alternate Business Names
Majual Inc Mr Rooter Plumbing/Will County Mr. Rooter Plumbing Mr. Rooter Plumbing of Will County

Additional Locations


    126 S DesPlaines St

    Joliet, IL 60436


    P.O. Box 2175

    Joliet, IL 60434


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/24/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Back in 2013, I had Mr. Rooter come out to give us an estimate on having a toliet replaced. While the salesperson was there, he told us our water was pretty bad, even with the current water softener that we currently had. We're on a well, so we know our water isn't great, with a lot of rust. But he said if they installed a new water softener it would be able to handle all the rust. And because we had water cooler, he also said that he could install a faucet with a filter that would clean our tap water so we wouldn't have to spend money on bottle water, saying the savings there would then pretty much pay for the cost of the new softener. Well, without doing any research or looking into his claims, we bought it all, about $6000 worth. Needless to say, that was a big mistake on my part. But we still have a lot of rust in our water, so his claim that it was going to fix all of that was incorrect. Then they financed the bill, which means the montly bill I'm paying, most of that goes for the financing charges, meaing I'm going to be paying for this for a long time unless I come up with the money to pay the bill off. Right after they installed this extra faucet in our sink for the filtered drinking water, I told them I didn't think it was hooked up right because the faucet would get really hot and the water coming out would be hot as well. They said it was fine and it would be okay. I mentioned this to them at least on two other occasions but they assured me it was fine. In May of 2014, the water coming out of the filter was not looking too 'filtered' with something looking like an clear oily liquid on the top of the water. So when I called them on it, once again explaining about the hot water, then they finally said that something wasn't right because it shouldn't be hot. As it turned out, they had hooked up the hot water side by mistake. But even after telling them right from the beginning, they said it was fine, and ignored my comments. Turns out I was right from the beginning. Now when they came out to address the problem with the water, they said it would need a new filter which was going to cost $300! At no point during his initial sales pitch on this filter and faucet, did he mention the cost of the filters, which need to be replaced about once a year. So all of this savings he was talking about was complete garbage. Fast forward to this month, when this faucet they insalled starts to leak water from the top. When they came out to give us an estimate to fix it, they said it would be $265. This is for a faucet that they just put in 2 years ago and it already needs to be replaced and at that price. Needless to say I did not have fix it and expressed my thoughts that this whole thing was a scam right from the beginning. Shame on me for buying into it. I sent the company's corporate office an email regarding my complaint and was told someone from the local office would be calling me. Never heard from anybody. Emailed the corporate office again telling them I haven't heard from anybody, and haven't heard back from them either.

Desired Settlement: Not sure what they could actually do to fix this. I don't trust them coming into my house again and surely don't trust whatever they would tell me. I just know that I'll be paying for this stupid water softener that isn't doing anything better than our old one, which they told me it would. Plus with this faucet, I am going to have to pay to get it fixed by somemone I trust at my own expense.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/06/24) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ******* Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ******* Mr. ****** called back another Mr.Rooter franchise and they were not going to warranty another franchises work. When I received this I sent my technician out. He replaced the faucet, he replaced the filters and he put in a customer supplied kitchen faucet unrelated to any of the problems at no charge. He retested the water and everything is working correctly. Mr. ****** is a valued customer at Mr. Rooter, and once we found out about this, we rectified the situation immediately. All has been corrected and customer was satisfied with the technicians work. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2015/06/24) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I thought I had already added a response to their work, but I don't see it. But the original Mr. Rooter did come out and went above and beyond what they were required to do to make sure I was satisfied with the work they did. The technician was very apologetic about the issues we had had but was determined to make things right. Nice to see this kind of customer service still exists. I just wish I would have called them first instead of the other Mr. Rooter. I know now this time.

11/18/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Through the website for mr. Rooter, I had a sewage pump installed by one of their ****** branch on October 13,2014. I had bought the pump from local store and needed them to install it. I had paid $517.00 for their services. Less than two weeks after the installation, the pump did not work and the sewage started to leak from the pit. I called them and notify them that they need to come and see what the problem is. The guy was rude and had an attitude. He refused to address the issue that evening, leaving us with smelly situation to say the least.Next morning, he called and said that I have no warranty as I had supplied the pump. In order for him to come,he will charge $300.00 as it is the pump issue. I asked him, how can he determine that it is the pump and not the installation issue. I think it is not only a shady business practices but also to gouge the public and extract more money . His refusal to address the bio-hazard situation, forced me to hire a reputable company to fix the problem. The new plumbing company had to reinstall the pump correctly and fix the faulty installation done by Mr. Rooter and associates. I have a copy of the proof stating that it was installed I would like you to have them reverse the charge for $517 as I had to hire another plumber to fix the faulty installation and their refusal to fix their work in a timely fashion.I have they stop abusing the public and stand behind their shoddy work ethics.Sincerely,***** ******

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund An apology with reversing of the charge of $517

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/11/13) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ******* Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ******* We installed a customer supplied pump on October 13,2014. Customer called us back two weeks later and told us the pump was not working. We informed customer that we would come out immediately, but if the pump was bad, there would be a charge because it wasn't our pump. If it was an installation problem there would be NO Charge. Customer didn't think he should be charged anything and told us he would get back to us. When he didn't, my office manager tried on three different occasions to contact him and left messages. My operations manager also tried to contact him on numerous occasions and left messages. Customer never got back to us. When we finally reached the customer, he said he had gotten someone else. Customer never gave us a chance to correct the problem. Customer also disputed credit card charges with his credit card company. **** K. Owner Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/11/14) */ 11/13/14 Not only they installed the pump incorrectly, they have chosen total lies to cover their@@@. I stand by the statements they had made. I was forced to call another plumbing company to fix their faulty installation only after their refusal to honor their work. They had openly stated that I had no warranty and it is due to the faulty new pump I had supplied. Their employee openly told me that there will be another charge for them to come out. They must have divine qualities that they concurred over the phone lines that it is the pump and not their faulty installation. LOL. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/11/18) */ Mr Rooter Plumbing never had the opportunity to correct any problems if there were any. We offered to come out. We informed him of the two scenarios and he chose to get someone else. We have a signed invoice of him approving the work was done. I have not received payment because he disputed the charges with his credit card company. Mr Rooter Plumbing has been in business for over 10 years with an A rating from the BBB. We stand by our work and we warranty our work as well. **** K Owner

6/19/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: had a $99 service plan add to bill. Not told the cost of plan. Account_Number: 73499

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I want the $99, back.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/06/16) */*Contact Name and Title: **** *******/ President*Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX*Contact Email: ********Mr. **** ******* was gladly refunded the $99 for a discounted service plan and all was satisfied with the customer. The complaint has been addressed.**Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2014/06/18) */*(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)*I am sorry that your office has not rec'd a reply*sooner. **I have recently talk with the party, recently.**They were not happy I call your office.**Rude to me. Actually said I owe them money and **insulted me with initially the contact.**Well I take people at their word.**I heard 729. Charged 829.**Thank you.**The first place I looked for a plumber was this **web site. **Thank You again,*******ps Mr Rooter has not gave me the money back.**Let you know then they do.****** ****Consumer Response /* (2000, 12, 2014/06/19) */*Have rec'd payment.**Thank You.******

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Mr. Rooter Of Will County
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)