Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Jim Dhamer Plumbing & Sewer, Inc.

Phone: (630) 964-2222 Fax: (630) 964-4112 1901 Ogden Ave, Lisle, IL 60532 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.dhamerplumbing.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Water Heaters, Sump Pumps, Drain Problems Corrected, Video Inspections/Sewer Repair, Backflow Testing, Fixture Replacement & More


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Jim Dhamer Plumbing & Sewer, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Jim Dhamer Plumbing & Sewer, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Jim Dhamer Plumbing & Sewer, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 11, 1985 Business started: 07/01/1974 in IL Business started locally: 07/01/1974 Business incorporated 09/24/1982 in IL
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Chicago Department of Public Health
333 S. State Street, Chicago IL 60604
http://www.cityofchicago.org/Health/
Phone Number: (312) 747-9884

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Jim Dhamer, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jim Dhamer, President
Customer Contact: Mr. Monica Dhamer
Business Category

Plumbers Sewer Contractors Contractors-Water & Sewer Plumbing, Heating, and Air-Conditioning Contractors (NAICS: 238220)

Products & Services

Jim Dhamer Plumbing & Sewer, Inc. sells the following brand(s): Bradford White, Grohe, Kohler, Moen

Method(s) of Payment
Visa, Mastercard, Check & Cash
Alternate Business Names
A-Plus Jim Dhamer Plumbing Dhamer Plumbing & Sewer, Inc.-Jim

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Jim Dhamer Plumbing & Sewer, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/26/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Details for filing a refund claim of $ 3,200.00 against Jim Dhamer Plumbing and Sewer Inc - *** ****** was paid an amount of $ 3200.00 for repairing a damaged sewer pipe on 21 Apr 2015. However, they didn't complete the job and they made a faulty repair. Moreover, the company left without completing the full sewer repair. I had to employ another Contractor and everything was re-done and finished by the 2nd contractor. 1) First of all, they just left after doing a part of the job on the pretext that it would need another contractor to finish it up. 2) Second of all, this completed segment was wrongly attached to another piece of broken pipe (cast iron) which had fallen to the ground after another break. 3) Finally, to prove my point, I am attaching a set of photographs which has been taken on April 23rd after re-digging everything by the 2nd contractor and more up to 10 ft from the foundation wall. Please press *** ****** for a refund of my entire amount paid for the job done incomplete and wrongly! Regards, **** ****** XXX-XXX-XXXX Cell: XXX-XXX-XXXX

Desired Settlement: I am filing this complaint for a full refund of $ 3,200.00 which was paid to Jim Dhamer Plumbing and Sewer Inc, for completing a sewer repair job on April 21, 2015. The company, not only, left without completing the full repair but did a wrong sewer repair. They fitted a new joint to a broken damaged sewer pipe which was lying at the bottom of ground and going nowhere. Consequently, I had to employ another contractor to re-dig everything, correct the faulty repair, and complete the full job.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/05/20) */ Contact Name and Title: ****** ****/Vice Presiden Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *****************@*******.com The customer was fully aware that his sewer line had an additional break or breaks upon completion of our initial repairs. It clearly states this on his invoice when he signed and approved our work. His contention that our work was faulty is not correct. Our work was inspected and approved by the village on the permit which he obtained. Although we have compassion towards the customer's situation, additional work and expenses were needed to put his system back in service. These expenses would be incurred by him regardless of who completed this work. The customer took it upon himself to contact our insurance company and a claim has been filed in regards to this matter. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 12, 2015/06/03) */ The case ID # XXXXXXXX, was closed without my consent and I would like to request that the case should remain open and all the attachments (9 documents) which I have sent on May 15, 2015 to ****** ******* (Inquiry Service Rep.) should be reviewed. Below is my rebuttal, point wise: 1) Jim Dhamer Plumbing has done an incomplete job and not done it correctly. 2) The whole area was re-dug and extended further by a 2nd contractor *** ****** *********** who have found that *** ****** has made a wrong join to a broken pipe and not to the sewer pipe going to the main sewer drain (check document 4_pic). - **** ****** (XXX-XXX-XXXX) beloow is the email I sent to ****** ******* on May 15, 2015) (**** ****** To ********@*************** ****** ****** May 15 ******, Complaint ID#: XXXXXXXX Business Name: Jim Dhamer Plumbing & Sewer, Inc. With this email, I am sending you more details on the faulty sewer repair job done by Jim Dhamer Plumbing. There are 9 attachments showing the property at **** ****** ***** before, during, and after the sewer repair job was done by the 1st Contractor (Jim Dhamer Plumbing) as well as the re-digging and completion by the 2nd Contractor. Below, please find the captions for the attached (nine) pics put in *************_XXXXXXXX.zip file:- 1_pic:**************** property - before repair 2_pic: Leakage in Basement from outer sewer pipe 3_pic: Digging around foundation wall by *** ****** 4_pic: Broken pipe found after digging 5_pic: *** ****** put a 4" pvc new-BEND-joint and out pipe 6_pic: 2nd Contractor - pointing to the joint and another broken pipe 7_pic: 2nd Contractor exposed the wrong fitted pipe lying at the bottom 8_pic: 2nd Contractor's completed job with a single 6 " pvc straight (blue) pipe 9_pic: Invoice from Jim Dhamer Plumbing & Sewer for $ 3200.00 and paid in full I'll wait for your response by Monday. If you need more details, please feel free to contact me. Thanks and Regards, **** ****** **** ****** **** Woodridge, IL 60517 Final Business Response /* (4000, 14, 2015/06/12) */ Contact Name and Title: ****** ********* Pres. Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX In response to customer's claim that the work preformed by us was faulty, our reply is as follows: We proposed to dig down by hand and repair the one known break in the sewer line as it passed ******* the foundation, on its way towards the street and city sewer connection. We did this as evidenced by the fact that our work was inspected and passed ** the Village of ********* Inspector on the permit which was taken out by customer. Passing ********** means our work was done up to all city and/or Illinois Plumbing codes. Upon completion of our work, a 2nd break was discovered further down the line. This additional break was not caused by our work. This fact is evidenced by the Insurance Claim filed by customer. The insurance investigation determined that no coverage was available as this was not a result of our work and/or workmanship. Although we have compassion *** customer's situation, we cannot justify a refund for this matter. Customer was fully aware additional work was required to restore his sewer service. It was clearly stated on our Invoice which he signed and approved prior to issuing payment to us. We have addressed drainage issuesand repaired sewers for over 40 years and this situation that arose is a rare occurrence but does sometimes happen.

1/12/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The plumbing work took place on Dec. 23, 2014. I contacted *** ****** plumbing and emailed photos of the damage and poor reinstallation work (the faucet is now crooked). I was told that an owner/supervisor would contact me to discuss the issue, but no one has followed through as yet.

Desired Settlement: At least a partial refund for damage to existing faucet and failure to reinstall it properly.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/01/06) */ The customer's original request was to remove existing tub spout & install a new one. The existing spout is screwed onto a pipe nipple behind the tile wall. Upon attempting to remove the spout the plumber conveyed to the homeowner present that he was experiencing difficulty removing it & if he continued the piping behind the wall may break. If customer wanted him to proceed the wall could need to be opened if warranted for a relpacement. Upon discussion the customer told the plumber to leave it as is, as it was still operational & remodeling of that room would take place in the not so distant future. It was never removed & reinstalled. Cosmetic changes did occur while attempting to remove it; the unit was left operational as decided upon mutually by the plumber & the homeowner's spouse. The customer called 12/24 & left a message. The plumber who was at the job called her back 12/26. She still wanted to speak with management & also emailed the company as well. She received an email in response on 12/30 to acknowledge that she would would be contacted as requested. She was called on 1/5/15 and per the phone conversation is being issued a partial refund as she has requested & feels is appropriate due to the circumstances.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on Jim Dhamer Plumbing & Sewer, Inc.
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart