Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

DRF Trusted Property Solutions

Phone: (630) 904-6859 Fax: (630) 904-7590 View Additional Phone Numbers 10242 Bode Street, Plainfield, IL 60585 View Additional Email Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that DRF Trusted Property Solutions meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

15 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 5
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 8
Total Closed Complaints 15

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

338 Customer Reviews on DRF Trusted Property Solutions
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 334
Neutral Experience 2
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 338

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 02, 2006 Business started: 02/20/2004 in IL Business started locally: 02/20/2004 Business incorporated 02/20/2004 in IL
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Illinois Department of Public Health
122 S. Michigan Avenue, Chicago IL 60603
Phone Number: (312) 814-2608

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Scott Henderson, Marketing Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Scott Henderson, Marketing Manager
Business Category

Plumbers Plumbers - Commercial Plumbing - Contractor Water Heaters - Repairing Water Heaters - Dealers Water Heater - Tankless Boilers - Repair & Cleaning Plumbing, Heating, and Air-Conditioning Contractors (NAICS: 238220)

Hours of Operation
Open 24 hours/ 7 days week.
Alternate Business Names
D R F Installations, Inc.

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

DRF Trusted Property Solutions has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 10242 Bode Street

    Plainfield, IL 60585 (630) 615-7000 (630) 615-4471 (630) 904-6859


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/28/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I requested that DRF correct a problem with my water heater. I agreed to the $149.00 charge for them to come to my house and diagnose the problem. I told the service person what the problem was and the error code. The error code said the system should be flushed. The service person did not bring equipment to flush the tank nor did he do anything to check on the header. He did not know what to do and spent 2 hours looking at ******** videos and calling for help. He finally came back and told me it would be $640 to fix this. The market price for this service is $100-200. I am requesting a refund of my deposit because the service person was not qualified and did not do anything except to show up.

Desired Settlement: Refund the deposit or fix the problem at a reasonable cost.

Business Response:


Our customer service representative advised that you may need a special pump.  The brand of water heater pump was not available and with the pump it would take 3 hours to complete the flush. This was the reason for the price. 


Be that DRF wanted to assist the customer as best we could given the circumstances, such as try to do a flush without the pump, our plumber looked at ******** videos to see if there was a way to bypass the pump that was needed and complete the flush for the customer.  Unfortunately, that was not possible.


Regarding the $149 charge for the service call.  Although the plumber was unable to complete the flush that day the $149 is still charged because the plumber was dispatched to the customer’s home, he quoted for the work and the plumber was on the phone with Rheem for over 40 minutes during the service call.  


We hope this customer further understands the circumstances of the situation and that DRF has always had the best interests of the customer in mind.

Consumer Response:

Complaint: 11734146

I am rejecting this response because:

No service was performed. Time was spent because an unqualified technician was sent. I have a comparable quote for $400 less.


James *****

8/4/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: We purchased a water heater from **** *****. They sent DRF to install the Water heater. The cost for the water heater was 560.00. The cost for the install was approx 900.00. The issue is that they did the install and our water pressure is very little. We have 1 bath and the water barely came out of there and the kitchen faucet. We called them and they came out again and it is a little better but they won't fix it unless we pay them more money. There was not an issue with the water pressure before the install only after. They say stuff from the old heater is in the pipes. They want more money. Isn't this part of the install? doesn't everyone have stuff that comes out of the old water heaters? We paid a lot of money for the install. they were here 2 hours. Even for a plumber 250 an hour is a lot,.

Desired Settlement: I want it fixed! I think we should get a refund of some the install since this was not done right and we have been going without much water pressure.

Business Response:

Thank you for taking the time to review DRF. I can understand your frustration regarding the low water pressure issue you are having. There are instances when a water heater is older, the pipes within the home can collect debris and not allow for water to flow as quickly. This is a pre-existing condition in the home prior to having a new water heater installed. We do charge a service fee when a plumber is sent out again to inspect a problem within the home - and if additional work is needed, we deduct that from the needed work cost. We did not charge a service fee for you particular second visit. We apologize that this could not be resolved to your liking the second time around. If you would like to proceed with the services needed to fix your low pressure issue, please let us know. We are happy to serve you and your plumbing needs.

Consumer Response:
Complaint: 11507627

I am rejecting this response because: When your people came here, they said we need copper piping and not the galvanized piping that went to the new water heater.  You then charged us more approx $300 for a new pipe.  I am frustrated as we replaced 2 faucets with no issues.  You then tell me that after you replace the heater that to fix the issue that was not there before you would charge yet another $149.00 dollars.  Our water was off for quite awhile when we replaced the faucets.  There is not debris in the faucets, no rust or anything that came through then to the new faucets when the water was turned back on.  There was not debris present coming through the faucets are clogging the faucets after you installed the heater.  The only difference is the lack of pressure.  Your tech says this happens quite a lot.  I don't know about that as this is the 2nd time I have replaced this unit and I did not have this issue then.  Nor did I have to pay extra for pipe at a cost of 300.00 ( I think)  I know of 2 friends at work who also replaced their units and this was not an issue for them and believe me, one has a home much older than mine.  I don't believe I should pay more money with a company I don't trust to do the job.  Why would I when you keep saying it will cost more money.  You were scheduled to do 1 thing, then it turned out I needed a pipe, then a back flush, when does it end?  You were paid to do a job, and it was done but with a mistake that you must have made.  I should not have to pay again for you to fix the error, not caused by us or our pipes.  I have made this known to everyone I know not to use you or **** *****.  They have lost me as a customer already.  This is the worst customer service ever.  You are not trying to resolve the issue, you are just trying to get more money from me.  If I contacted your customers, would they tell me that every time you were called, that the price went up because there other issues?  I wonder.


Robin ********

Business Response:

Dear Robin,


From what you describe, your water pressure issue is not due to the work we completed. Pre-existing conditions including galvanized pipe are beyond the scope of work of the water heater installation we were contracted to provide – which we did and there are no problems with it. We have checked with the village and learned they have not yet performed their final safety inspection of our installation and recommend you contact the plumbing inspector to schedule this important inspection as soon as possible. We also suggest that you ask him or her for a free independent third-party evaluation of your issues. If the safety inspection reveals any problems with our installation, we will schedule service to repair any deficiencies in our work at no additional cost to you. We understand that this is a frustrating situation for you, and hope that you can see that we are trying to resolve this situation the best way we can.


7/28/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was given a price for the installation of a hot water heater. I was never told I needed a permit. then I was charged an additional $75.00 about a week and a half after the job was completed This Is like a scam I tried to get **** ***** to resolve this problem but this subcontractor gave them the run around with not results

Desired Settlement: I want them to refund my **** ***** credit card this additional fee

Business Response:

Dear Mr. ****,


We understand your frustration regarding this situation. In Tinley Park, Safety checks are required as an extra safety measure to keep you and your loved ones safe.


The breakdown of the $75 total fee charged to your credit card is due to a $50 safety check fee that goes to your village plus the $25 service fee because the appropriate documentation was not obtained and submitted to us as your licensed installer within 72 hrs. This procedure and fee information was disclosed to you on the Permit Agreement that you signed with our plumber on site prior to the installation.


In good faith we have refunded the $75 fee to you.

2/5/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: We purchased a Rheem 50 gallon hot water heater through **** *****, Lake Zurich on 10-31-2015. **** ***** recommended DRF Trusted Property Solutions to install this product which they did on 10-31-2015. We noticed a foul odor with the hot water. We contacted **** ***** who said the inside "rod" was the wrong one installed since we have well water. We then contacted DRF who said they could come out and fix this and there would be a charge of $190 additional. We gave them our address, both **** ***** and DRF never asked if we had well water. We do not feel that it is our responsibility to tell the professionals how to do their job. We are senior citizens with a severly handicapped daughter who is mostly bedridden. We cannot afford an additional charge. We were already charged $1,543.48. The water heater was $547 and the rest is for installation. This problem is getting progressively worse and the smell is intolerable. I have been to **** ***** and have called DRF on several occassions with no resolution. We really need this to be resolved asap. This is a major hardship on myself, my husband and my daughter.

Desired Settlement: We want the water heater replaced with the proper product for our location. These professionals should know what they are supposed to do and should ask the appropriate questions before installation.

Business Response:

The problem this customer is experiencing is not due to a defect in the water heater that was installed, an incorrect installation, or the improper product being installed. We advise customers with a well water supply that there is a possibility of an odor as a result of the minerals in the water reacting with the standard magnesium water heater anode rod. Options to avoid/correct this condition include replacing the anode rod with one made of non-reactive materials, bleaching the system, or consulting with a well company.

During the sales call with the customer on Saturday, 10/31/2015, our representative read our standard waiver relating to well water and anode rod replacement option. The waiver explains the possibility of a smell because the property is on a well and that replacing the rod could be discussed with the plumber at the time of installation. We have reviewed our recording of the sales call and have confirmed that the waiver was read to the customer, and that the customer acknowledged and agreed to it. We installed the new water heater the same day; our installation passed inspection by the Village on 11/4/2015.

On Saturday, 11/28/2015 the customer called us regarding an odor in their hot water and we scheduled a service call for Monday, 12/1/15. The customer was advised that since this appears to be a well water issue relating to the anode rod and most likely not an installation issue, an $89 charge for the service call would apply. The customer subsequently cancelled the service call.

To correct this customer’s hot water odor situation, our recommendation is that the anode rod be replaced. In our experience, this action mitigates the problem in the majority of cases

Business Response:

1.       Customer had a water heater installed.

2.       Customer is on a well and customer’s husband refused the replacement of the anode rod to help with discoloration and smell.

3.       DRF and **** ***** installed a free anode rod provided by **** ***** for a cost in labor of ½ in the customer’s new water heater.

4.       Customer admits this helped a little but there is still some smell and coloration.

5.       Water heater has passed inspection by the municipality.

6.       This is a well water issue and a well company is needed to come out and treat well.

7.       Customer has refused to contact a well company to treat well.

8.       At this point DRF and **** ***** has done everything correct for the customer with the installation of the water heater and we have no further action to complete.

Consumer Response:

Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

The water heater that was installed by **** ***** was not ever functioning correct. We complained about the very foul smell as well as residues in the hot water. We had our well water tested and it was found to be fine. There was nothing wrong with our well. We requested service from **** *****. We were informed that the rod inside the water heater was incorrect since we have well water. After several weeks a new anode rod was installed, but it did not remedy the situation. We had repeatedly requested to have the water heater removed and exchanged, but the request was not granted. We have been in this house for over 30 years and have never had a problem like this before. It was quite a hardship to have this foul smelling water and the residues for almost 3 months!!!  I did take pictures and shared this with **** ***** so they could see what we had to deal with. The hot water was grey.


Finally **** ***** agreed to take their water heater back and to let us have the opportunity to get another unit installed by a different company. They reason they did not exchange their unit is that claimed that by exchanging the unit, it would not solve the problem. 


Besides the problem with the smell and the residues, I inquired about the cost of the unit and the installation. By the way, that had not been discussed prior to the installation. The unit at the store costs $547. WITH the installation our bill came to $1543.68. I was quite surprised about this fee. Would it really cost almost $1000 to have this water heater installed in my home? Then I contacted local plumbing contractors here, and their cost was $500 less!!!  **** ******* slogan is that their prices are guaranteed to be lower than the competition. That proved to be quite incorrect.


Then last Friday - January 29, at last the **** ***** contractor came in the morning and took their water heater back. It had taken almost 3 months of repeated phone calls and visits to the local store here.

The very same day in the afternoon we had a different company install a new water heater.  The total cost was $1020, which is more than $500 less than the charge from **** *****. We no longer have any foul smell - nor residues in the water. 


Now finally we have the kind of water we should have had 3 months ago. 


Should you need more information, please contact me.


**** ***********

12/11/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Date of complaint:10/8/2015 Service Technician: Pete ***** with DRF Trusted Property Solutions Service technician installed hot water heater and left premise without turning unit on. Pete's reasoning was there was a blockage in the PVC exhaust and left it to me to resolve the issue. After two days without hot water technician Daniel ******** with United Chimney & Fireplace Inc, was able to inspect the PVC exhaust and found absolutely no blockage and was able to turn on my hot water (10/10/2015). The hot water heater passed inspection from the Village of Huntley on 10/13/2015. We contacted DRF Trusted Property Solutions in an effort to resolve the issue and were asked to fax documentation from United Chimney & Fireplace Inc stating no blockage was found. After waiting a week we heard back from "Chris" from DRF Trusted Property Solutions who stated "management" was unwilling to reimburse me for my out-of-pocket expense. DRF Trusted Property Solutions incompetency left we without hot water and resulted in me paying for a service that was not needed.

Desired Settlement: Full reimbursement of $200 out-of-pocket expense.

10/19/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Friday, 9/18 - Water heater installed Monday, 9/21 - Reported to ****** Plumbing issues with receiving hot water throughout the house Thursday, 9/24 - Service call scheduled and spoke to **** to troubleshoot/adjust for the hot water, at this time we reported the leak at the front base of the front panel. I was told to "keep an eye" and a service call was scheduled for 9/30 Tuesday, 9/29 - woke up to additional water now around the entire bottom rim of the heater and reported this to ****** Plumbing - ****** Plumbing sent **** out, upon evaluation he stated that the heating unit needed to be replaced - At this time we reported back to ****** and DRF whom connected with ***** - At this time we no longer have confidence in the current heater and have requested a replacement - DRF Management notified us they would escalate the issue Wednesday, 9/30 - woke up to not only water at the base of the heater but the unit is also sounding alerts as well as sending alerts to my phone app - Reported issues to both ****** Plumbing and DRFwho claimed the issue was "being looked into" - DRF contacted me back to let me know the issue was moved to another manager to look at, at that time I provided her with this timeline of events to note in my account history - Contacted ****** again to ask for advice in terms of what to do while this is figured out, turn off unit, turn off water etc. they said they would get back to me - ****** manager from DRF contacted us to notify us that the company had made the decision to replace the heater however it would now be a 2 week wait since it isn't currently in stock. I told her when we ordered originally they guaranteed same day installs and had no issues when securing the sale, now all of a sudden there is nothing for any of the *********** in the entire area? ****** claim that the water heater was not "common" for the area and this is the FIRST time anyone involved had mentioned that I have a non-standard heater Thursday, 10/1 I had a friend in the area to double check for me and he decided to contact DRF to get a fresh quote on a brand new same day order, same model, the sales person sent him a written quote for the same heater that I am unable to get replaced for another 2 weeks and advised if he chooses to make a decision by noon they are able to install that same day

Desired Settlement: First the company or companies involved needs to be held accountable for the inconvenience and bad customer service in regards to the install of the defective equipment as well as the time lost in using of the defective equipment (over a week) The equipment needs to either be replaced in a reasonable time frame, a day or 2, not 2 weeks. I don't know anyone who would be expected to use a defective water heater for 2 weeks and that's just ok? If they are unable to provide a workable water heater in this timeframe then a full refund needs to be issues ASAP and the product removed so that we may locate another vendor

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/10/08) */ The customer's new water heater installation was completed on 9/18/15. Mr. **** contacted our office advising he has an issue with the water heater. We notified the subcontractor that installed the water heater, Mr. ******, and advised them that the customer was having an issue with the water heater. The subcontractor contacted the customer and scheduled the earliest available date to inspect the water heater. On 9/29/15, Mr. ****** inspected the customer's water heater and determined that the customer was having a leak and contacted our office. DRF contacted the manufacturer, *****, and completed a conference call with *****, DRF and the plumber. It was determined by ***** that the heating element in the water heater was defective and in need of replacement. ***** advised they were overnighting the part to the customer and provided authorization for Mr. ****** to install the part once it arrives. This information was communicated to the customer and he was dissatisfied with the outcome. I spoke to Mr. **** and advised him that the issue with the water heater is not due to install but a manufacturer issue. The manufacturer has been contacted and advised they are repairing the unit. I empathized with the customer but we have to follow the procedure set by the manufacturer. I advised the customer to continue with the repair process and I will also escalate this issue to ***** and see if they will assist the customer further. On 9/30/15, I received authorization from ***** to replace the unit under warranty. I contacted the customer and advised ***** provided approval to replace the water heater under warranty. I also contacted Mr. ****** who agreed to complete the warranty installation same day. I contacted our warehouse manager who was unable to obtain a replacement tank same day. The warehouse manager further advised it may take up to two weeks to obtain a replacement tank if ordered. I called the customer and apologized that we are unable to replace the tank the same day due to unavailability of the water heater. I further advised the customer that it may take up to two weeks to obtain the replacement tank, however, we are exhausting all of our resources in order to obtain a tank sooner. I further advised the customer that I would call him back on 10/1/15 with an update. The customer questioned why are we having difficulty obtaining a replacement tank. I advised the customer that electric water heaters are less common than natural gas tanks and aren't as readily available in inventory. Since the natural gas are more common in homes, there is a larger stock of those types of heaters. On 10/1/15, our warehouse manager was able to locate a replacement tank for the customer at another ********** store. Mr. **** was contacted by our office and was scheduled for a replacement tank installation same day. Mr. ****** installed the replacement water heater and the issue has been resolved. The customer mentioned in his complaint that he had a friend contact our office on 10/1/15 and inquire about a new water heater installation. Mr. **** suggests that his friend was quoted for the same water heater and offered installation same day. Mr. **** is unaware that receiving a quote for a replacement water heater and scheduling the water heater installation are not the same. If Mr. ****'s friend would have completed the scheduling of the water heater installation he/she would have learned that the replacement heater was not available. They would been offered an alternative heater or offered installation for another day. Mr. **** suggests that we, DRF, were delaying his replacement water heater installation. I assured Mr. **** when I spoke to him last on 9/30/15 that we want to get him taken care of and get this issue resolved. We treat warranty installations and customers purchasing a new water heater installation the same. We take care of the customer. I also communicated to Mr. **** that DRF is the service provider for ********** and *****. We did not manufacture the water heater nor we did not cause the water heater to fail and we have no control over available inventory. The customer further notes in his complaint that he has a product issue. DRF did not manufacture the product. He also notes that he received bad customer service. DRF was extremely responsive, empathetic and went above and beyond to get the customer taken care in a timely manner. We were able to bypass the manufacturers warranty process and obtain authorization for a replacement tank immediately. Although we initially were advised the replacement tank wasn't available right away, we were able track down a replacement tank for the customer and was able to have the new tank installed in the customer's home within a couple of days of contacting our office. We also followed up with the customer after the warranty installation was completed to ensure that his issue was completely resolved. To date, we have not heard from Mr. ****.

9/23/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: June 4 ..installation of water heaters

Desired Settlement: settled

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 12, 2015/09/22) */ TO : '****** *****' Subject: RE: Angie's List Complaint Resolution Process - Case ID (XXXXX) Mr. *****, I understand if you would like to address it when you return home. The extended service contracts that you purchased are actually Home Depot extended protection plans. The extended protection plans extend the labor warranties for an additional five years. The Rheem tanks that you purchased covers tank and parts for six years and one year of labor. The Home Depot extended service plan covers the labor for an additional five years giving you a total of six years of labor. Our billing department mailed a brochure to your home address which gives you information about the plan, how to contact Home Depot if you have any questions and how to register the plan. I've also included the web address for your records. Please close complaint. Thanks Mark Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 14, 2015/09/22) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) The matter was taken care of and I tried to close the complaint some time ago.

8/19/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: We paid them in 2014 as usual to restart the irrigation that they installed 10+ years ago as they normally do. They sent out the problem technician that we had reported in 2013. The technician lied about a missing piece of equipment and then charged us to replace the device. We now have 2. The system never worked and we called and told them. We also sent pictures per their request of the destroyed grass and perennials in fall of 2014. The irrigation never worked in the summer of 2014. We sent pictures of the 2 RPZ devices. They sent folks out to check the property we never saw them. They promised in the fall of 2014 to replace the lawn and perennials and they acknowledged that the system was not properly working. In spring of 2015 they did not send the annual email requesting a turn on date for the system and the work needed to satisfy the village. I called them in early June of 2015 asking what happened because summer had already started. They acknowledged that they had not contacted me but didn't know why we slipped through the system. They said they would be out in a week to turn on the system. They have not contacted us and grass is dying again as well as our perennials. We just had ***** plant two new trees and would normally turn on our irrigation zoned system to water the new trees. Acknowledging that they did not put us in the schedule for 2015 is disturbing and failing to show after they knew we wanted the system turned out is crazy and destructive to us as property owners. We paid over $10,000 to have this system installed by DRF. We did not expect this type of behavior. We are replacing perennials and paying for tree lawn service to bring our grass back. If they were not going to support our yard then send us alternative landscapers and please reimburse us for the loss of property because their employee failed to turn on the system.

Desired Settlement: We want DRF to turn our irrigation system on for 2015 without cost and to make sure that it is properly working. We want them to reimburse for the replacement of perennials and for lawncare supplements we bought to bring back our lawn after not having water in 2014 and 2015.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2015/08/14) */ DRF installed this irrigation system in August 2008, thus 2014 was the sixth full year for the system. At the customer's request, the system was designed for 100% coverage of planting beds (as configured at the time of installation); turf watering was secondary and not at 100% coverage. Mrs. ********** purchased an annual irrigation service contract from us in May 2014; services offered include system turn on, RPZ certification, and winterization/turn-off for the 2014 season. We performed those services to the extent that we were able to; the winterization service could not be fully completed as after multiple attempts to schedule a second visit, we were not granted inside access to the property to completely drain the system. When our technician visited the property on 5/27/2014 to turn on the system, the customer's RPZ valve (which, to prevent freezing during winter, was sealed in a protective plastic bag and left in the custody of the customer for re-installation at the time of the system turn-on in spring) could not be located, so we supplied a replacement. As an accommodation, we extended a substantial discount on this replacement component. The irrigation system was working properly after the turn-on, and the customer's RPZ valve passed ******* and was certified by the Village of Winfield for the 2014 season. 4-1/2 months later, on 10/14/2014, Mrs. ********** contacted us, claiming that her irrigation system was never turned on that it had not worked the entire season. Since the customer did not contact us to advise that there was an issue with the functioning of her system, we cannot assume responsibility for any property damage. We believe that a reasonable person would have noticed that plantings were wilting from lack of water in time to prevent them from perishing and would have taken steps to correct the situation by reporting a system malfunction, or watering through alternate means. Mrs. ********** states in her complaint that she now has two RPZ devices. As mentioned above, the original RPZ that had been left in the customer's custody could not be located at the time of turn-on. As an accommodation, we provided a replacement at a discounted price. The customer agreed to this and paid for the replacement of this essential component. Mrs. ********** states in her complaint that we acknowledged a malfunctioning system and that we promised to replace damaged property. We have no record of making such statements. If Mrs. ********** can provide documentation to support this claim, we will gladly reconsider this point. We did not solicit her business for the 2015 season, assuming that she no longer wanted to do business with us. On 6/11/2015, Mrs. ********** contacted us to request a turn-on of her system. We emailed her asking to schedule the service and advising of the annual service contract cost. The customer did not act to initiate a service contract or schedule service. The next contact with Mrs. ********** was nearly two months later, on 8/6/2015 when she called us to advise that she had filed a complaint with the BBB. At this point, we are confident that we have performed all of the services that Mrs. ********** contracted for, and feel it is in our mutual best interest to end our business relationship. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 8, 2015/08/17) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I have kept a documented file of all communications between myself and DRF. They are lying about the failure to communicate prior to 4 months of non-performance in 2014. They are also lying about discounting the RPZ device (2nd). We tried to contact them throughout the summer of 2014 and they sent out a technician to address the problem prior to the 4 months. They stated in writing for us to take picutres of the yard prior to their giving us a reimbursement. I also have digital phone records of my call for service to DRF in the May of 2015. They clearly stated that the next step was for their plumber to set up a visit for turning on the system but he never called back. It is outrageous that they are clearly being so dishonest about the communications which I have kept and will submit to the BBB by August 27th.

3/26/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had DRF come in to fix my hot water heater. They charged me $89 for a service call and then $124 for the cleaning and inspection. My hot water heater lit as the plumber left and about 12 hours later went out again. A service rep called me and asked me how it all went and I let them know that I had to light it two more times since the plumber left. She made it sound like they were going to follow up and send someone back out there at no cost because the plumber left and it didn't stay lit and he told me it was fixed/working. Now it is 3 weeks later and I called to see if they were sending someone out and they told me that they could not waive the fee for someone to come out because they don't do that. I am feeling ripped off because I was charged $214 for a service. I was not upstairs while he was fixing it and now I'm wondering if he even did anything or just charged me for services that didn't occur. I called and they simply apologized. I let them know that a good business apologizes and a great business takes care of mistakes they made.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I would like a $214 refund so that I can contact a plumber who will be able to fix the problem as this problem was not fixed yet I was charged a HIGH price for someone to come in and tell me it works when it doesn't.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/02/12) */ On January 13, 2015 Ms. ******* contacted DRF wishing to replace her water heater, during our conversation with our customer it was determined that her water heater was no longer under warranty. We sold Ms. ******* a water heater to be installed the following day. Ms. ******* requested us to arrive at her home after 3pm; this would normally require an emergency fee for any customer requesting specific time frames, we waived that cost for her. We were able to accommodate her request on January 15th, our plumber attempted to repair her water heater in an effort to save the customer the cost of a new heater, with the understanding that this may not be a permanent fix. The customer agreed and signed all paperwork. Ms. ******* contacted our office on February 3rd indicating she is still having problems with her water heater. She is currently scheduled for Friday, February 13th and we are accommodating the after 3pm request with no additional cost again. As an act of good faith, we will also deduct her service fee of $214.00 from the total cost of her new water heater. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/02/13) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) When I called DRF I asked them if they fixed water heaters as I was unsure of the problem. I had replaced mine only 8 years ago through a different plumbing service that I didn't recall so I was in search of another plumbing company. The wonderful person I spoke with assured me that they did fix water heaters but they would have an additional one on the truck that day just in case it was needed. When **** arrived, he told me the water heater didn't need to be replaced. It just needed to be cleaned and it should be okay. He was wonderful and cleaned it all up. However it went out three days later. I was not made away of any "permanent fix" i just assumed that if someone was fixing something it would last more then three days. My friend relit it and it was fine for another few weeks. Then it went out again. I called to see if they guarantee their services. They said that they would need to charge me an additional $89 for someone to come out and look at it again. Then on top of that fee, I would need to pay for any parts. I said "Well I have a hard time paying the $89 fee when this last time it only lasted for three days". I asked to speak with a manager to get that fee waved and they refused. Before I hung up the phone I said "Ok well I will be contacting the BBB because this is not fair or okay". She apologized and I let her know that an apology was not going to help my water heater. A follow up service call would work better. After filing a complaint I received a call from DRF and they said they could accommodate me in two different ways. They said that they could send someone out to look at it but if they fix it, it might only last temporarily. The other choice was they would waive my $214 pervious bill and include it into the amount for replacing my water heater completely. I was very thankful they were offering me this opportunity as I simply wanted my $89 follow up fee waved and having the $214 put into my replacement fee was very kind of them. I asked them if they could send someone after 3:30 as I can't be there ever before that time daily. They agreed but no fee being waived was ever mentioned. However it was mentioned in the written response. I appreciated that fee being waived too. We agreed on Friday Feb. 13th. On the day of service, they called to make sure I would be home after 3:30 and that the plumber was running on time so all should be good and he would be to my house around 3:30. At 1:30 I got a call to let me know that they would be charging me $190 because the plumbers were done early and they couldn't wait until 3:30 without charging me that $190 fee. I let them know that we had an agreement with the previous response from the BBB that I received in my email and my fee was going to be waived. Suddenly everything was fine again. I appreciated the support they gave me following the first experience I had with this company. Final Business Response /* (4000, 11, 2015/03/19) */ DRF installed the water heater and refunded the $214 as requested by the customer. The customer is satisfied. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 13, 2015/03/21) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I was refunded the $214 and charged the full amount for the new water heater. They wanted to charge me an additional late fee but it was waived after asking to speak to the manager.

3/26/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On December 12, they came out for initial installation of a GE Reverse Osmosis water filtration system for our kitchen sink. They charged us $1044.06 for this service, which, not knowing better, we agreed to pay them. We consulted with another company today and was informed that they would only charge us about one-fourth of that price (around $250) if we had come to them. A couple of hours after they left, the RO faucet started to leak from the rear out of a small slit. We called DRF back and let them know about the leak, so they said that they would send **** back out in 3 days to fix it. When he came back out, he could not figure out what the problem was. We called GE at his suggestion to see if there was a defective part while **** was here. GE said that some part of it was broken and we had to order the part. GE told **** to have us call them back to order the part, and **** said that once we got the part to call DRF back and order another service call that would be free of charge because it would be considered part of the initial installation. The part arrived the week of Christmas, we called DRF just after Christmas to order the service call, they scheduled one for 1/5/15. We verified that the call would be free of charge and they confirmed that with me. On 1/5/15, DRF called and said due to weather the tech could not come out and that we needed to reschedule the appointment for 1/12/15, which was their next available appointment time. I agreed to that. On 1/12/15, they called to say that **** would be coming, and I asked again to verify that the service charge would be waived, and the scheduling tech could not verify that. The note from 1/5/15 that said that the fee would be waived was gone with no explanation. So they cancelled the service call that day because I told them I would not pay $120 for a service call that was supposed to be free. I was angry, and I asked them to have a supervisor call me back since they were not able to get one on the phone that minute. The supervisor called me back and they did put the note back in waiving the service fee, but the next appointment available was not until 1/24/15, which was 12 days later, which, having no other clear choice, I agreed to. On 1/23/15, DRF called me to say that there was an oversight in the scheduling and the tech that was supposed to come on 1/24 could not come until 1/26. Feeling like I had no other choice still, I agreed to that. On 1/26, DRF called me to confirm the appointment, then an hour later, DRF called me back to say that there was a change in the plans, and that the tech couldn't make it today, and the next available appointment was 1/28, which I agreed to. There was no explanation of why there was a "change in plans." On 1/28, **** finally came back out, installed the replacement part from GE that we had obtained, and while the faucet was still leaking, it was at least beginning to produce filtered water. I contacted GE to ask about the leak, and they suggested that the drain line may be clogged or incorrectly installed. Feeling very frustrated with DRF, I contacted a different company Ecowater systems, and had them come out today 2/10/15 to evaluate the leak after we discovered yesterday that the water had been in fact leaking down through the kitchen floor and through the roof of the basement, soaking clear through one of the ceiling tiles in the basement. They are the company who said that they would have done the same work, done it correctly, and done it for only $250.

Desired Settlement: For them to refund the $1044.06 they egregiously overcharged us and to compensate for the water damage caused by their shoddy installation work under the kitchen sink that drained down through the floor and through the ceiling of our basement.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/02/12) */ Dear Ms. ******* *********, DRF Trusted Property Solutions cares about each and every one of our customers; complete satisfaction is always our goal. We are sorry to hear that you are not happy with your current situation and appreciate the opportunity to try and make things right. With over 1200 five star online reviews, the experience you're describing is not at all typical. It is rare we experience an un-satisfied customer. We will be contacting you within the next 48 hours to assist you with your current situation. Sincerely, DRF Trusted Property Solutions Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/02/17) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Stated they would contact me within 48 hours, It has now been 5 days since the 2/12/15 response from DRF on this website, and they have not even once attempted to call myself or my husband. While I have no proof that I paid for the reverse osmosis system (as stated, it was a gift), they also have no proof that the plumbers performed their task correctly, and as I am not a plumber I don't know what it is supposed to look like. The plumbers did install the one single part that GE had sent to me, which resulted in SOME water coming out of the faucet, which was an improvement to NO water coming out of the faucet, but the leak in the faucet remained. Upon calling GE to get further insight on 2/2/15, they indicated that the drainage hose was incorrectly installed if there were any severe dips or loops, (which there was a very large dip in the drain hose), and that was the most likely culprit of the leak since it is a gravity-fed system and any obstruction of the drainage hose would result in the faucet leaking. Furthermore, the 1/6/15 date was supposed to have been no charge in the first place because the only plumber who did the job, ****, had told me that due to the defective part it would still be considered part of the initial installation and the service charge waived. This was noted in their system when I called to schedule that 1/6/15 date, but when they had to reschedule to the 1/12/15 date that note had somehow been lost from their system. Upon calling Ecowater, I inquired about pricing they would charge for the same install and was quoted $250-300, which is a HUGE difference from the $850 I was charged by DRF. That is price-gouging. There is also yet another reschedule that occurred between the 1/12 and 1/28 dates they neglected to mention. When they rescheduled the 1/12/15 date, it was originally set for Saturday, 1/24/15 and they called on the 23rd saying that due to an oversight in their scheduling, the plumber who was supposed to come out on the 24th was on vacation until the following Monday, 1/26/14, thus, they rescheduled one single appointment 4 times! Being grossly overcharged and then given the run-around with scheduling should be unacceptable business practice. We are still waiting for a refund. I have photos and video of this blight I will gladly provide if necessary. Final Business Response /* (4000, 14, 2015/03/18) */ The customer's issue is with the manufacturer of the Reverse Osmosis system, which is GE. We did not manufacture nor did we sell the system to the customer. The customer should present her concern to GE since the faulty part was the source of the leak. GE is not taking responsibility for the leak because the system is not under warranty. When an item is no longer under warranty, the manufacture holds no responsibility for a part failure. As a result, the customer is attempting to hold DRF responsible. The customer also has an issue with our pricing, however, as stated in our previous response, she was given the quote prior to installation and could have declined. The customer agreed to the quoted price and therefore, the installation was completed. Ms. ********* has declined our goodwill gesture to refund $150 to her and countered by requesting $425.00. Ms. ********* should contact GE for further assistance in this matter and our offer to assist the customer by refunding $150 stands. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 16, 2015/03/20) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The source of the leak was not the result of a faulty part, as the faulty part was in fact replaced by DRF. I have spoken to the manufacturer, GE. According to my conversation with GE, the drainage hose was not properly installed which resulted in the leak and subsequent damage. DRF is responsible for the installation, and the improper installation was the source of the leak. Whether the product was under warranty or not has no bearing on DRF's negligence in this particular matter. I am also upset by the lack of concern at how many times one single appointment had to be rescheduled. DRF's constant failure to follow through in a timely manner has resulted in much wasted time and frustration on my end, and doesn't seem like a very good business practice. I still feel that a $425 refund is reasonable as DRF is responsible for faulty installation, and also responsible for consistent rescheduling of one appointment and wasting my time. I feel taken advantage of when it comes to the pricing. Yes I agreed to the pricing because I didn't know any better. I was referred to DRF by ********** for the installation, and I (apparently incorrectly) assumed that they would not refer me to someone who would price gouge me.

1/13/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: My husband and I had a tankless water heater installed through DRF last year in the Fall. At the time of installation, the technician advised that the tankless water heater did need to be flushed annually and that the first flush would be included as a result of our purchase so to make sure to call them in a year or so to get the flush scheduled. He advised that after that we would pay for the annual flush which was he thought $200 or so. I called to schedule the annual flush and the person I spoke with advised that we would need to pay $250, when I pushed back, he stated he would talk to his Supervisor and let them know we were told the first one would be included. He called me back on 12/5 and advised that the Supervisor did not authorize the flush and we would need to pay. I want them to perform the annual flush at no charge as we were told by their employee.

Desired Settlement: I want DRF to send someone to perform the annual flush as was promised.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/12/30) */ On August 13,2013 we installed a tankless unit. Mrs. ******* purchased the contractors package which does not include a free flush. In an act of good faith DRF approved one free flush on December 8,2014. The normal annual cost for this process is $250.00. We did advise Ms. ******* that moving forward she will be responsible for that cost. Our customer service department is scheduling an appointment that is convenient for Ms. *******.

8/25/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 7/23/2014, we paid DRF Trusted Property Solutions $5,200 to purchase and install a new Navien 240a Tankless Water heater in our home. The sales rep guaranteed that DRF was aware of all City of Chicago code and would install the product correctly. After installing the product, the DRF Plumber (Installer) mentioned that we should call our local gas company (People's Gas) and have a larger gas meter installed, in order to support the new increased gas demand. People's Gas sent out a team yesterday (8/6/2014) to install a new Gas Meter, but upon inspecting the installed tankless water heater system, they concluded that the system was installed incorrectly. After inspecting the DRF installation, People's Gas found: 1) The unit was not vented correctly for "Incoming air", 2) The unit needed its own Gas line, or a larger gas line then the current 3/4 gas line coming into the house. DRF sent the installer back to our house to speak with People's Gas while they were visiting, DRF and People's Gas basically disagreed on the work, and if it met city code. The Master Plumber or Manager of Plumbers from DRF > ******. called and said DRF had a rapport with the City Inspectors and he would get an inspector out to clarify their work for People's Gas. Meanwhile, on 8/7/2014, DRF sent their installer back out to our home to install a new air intake PVC valve through our wall and into the new unit. This action resolved the first issue that People's Gas had with the installation. When we asked the plumber about DRF assisting us with the city to confirm the work that he did, and take whatever action necessary to correct the problem, he mentioned that he had no connection or contacts with the city. We are now left with a system install by DRF where we are unclear if it meets city code; we don't know if there is any danger to our family, as People's Gas mentioned it could be, i.e. Carbon Monoxide poisoning. Also, People's Gas may turn off our Gas at any time since the install is consider not up to code and dangerous. DRF has done little to assist in these issues.

Desired Settlement: We want DRF to work with us, the City of Chicago, and People's Gas to confirm that the water Heater meets code, and/or take whatever corective action is necessary to fix the problem and bring the water heater up to city code. If the problem can not be fixed, we want DRF to refund all of our money.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/08/12) */ On 7/23/2014 DRF completed the installation of a tankless water heater at the ***** residence. Prior to the installation, DRF advised the customer that they would need to have the gas company complete gas meter upgrade to provide adequate gas volume. On 8/6/2014 we were contacted by our customer Mr. ***** whom stated Peoples Gas was going to shut off their gas due to the installation being incorrect. We were on site that same day to insure we were in compliance. Peoples Gas was on site as well and recommended that DRF install a fresh air intake vent. While the reasoning behind the People's Gas tech was in question, we gladly complied. We successfully completed this task at no charge to the customer on 8/7/2014. On 8/12/2014 Peoples Gas installed a larger gas main pipe to give the customer more room for possible expansion at a later date. This was in response to our advice to the customer prior to the installation that additional gas supply would be needed. DRF was in constant communication with the *****'s and Peoples Gas to address any concerns in a timely manner. It was also determined that DRF's work was never outside of code compliance and was installed correctly within both the IDPH code and manufacturer's specifications. Peoples Gas was at the customer's home today and they have discontinued their opinion that our work was done incorrectly. Our plumbing manager Mike L. spoke with Mr. ***** today and he stated was 100% satisfied with the resolution at this time. DRF recommended that the customer have the plumbing inspector come to their home and provide an additional independent 3rd party inspection to alleviate any concerns that may remain. DRF contacted the inspector and has an inspection setup. NOTE: Both the plumbing inspector and the licensed plumbers from DRF are licensed by the IL Department of Public Health. This license is required by law to legally install a water heater for hire. The service reps from People's Gas do not possess this license and are not qualified to install or inspect water heater installations.

7/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Paid for new hot water heater that was defective and technicians had to come back the next day but charged full value the same day- and work was not done

Desired Settlement: Fix

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/07/23) */ On July 22nd customer ordered a new water heater, DRF was out on the same day to have it installed. We arrived at the home at 4:30 in the afternoon, after several attempts we determined the unit itself was defective. Our dispatcher confirmed with Ms. ****** we were in route at 7:05am, she was successfully installed with a new water heater. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/07/23) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) There seems to be totally no remorse or even financial reimbursement for the inconvenience. Not to mention there scheduling of prior commitments for Wednesday am. Additionally, the mess that was left by the technicians was absolutely unconscionable with yet again a pitiful apology. Shame.

5/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I consider this misrepresenting the qualifications of the DRF installers. If I had known that DRF was non union I would not have had the installation done. I contacted Home Depot and DRF for resolution to no avail.

Desired Settlement: Labor cost for install

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/04/23) */ RE: BBB Complaint Case# 94498268 (Ref#XX-XXXXXXXX-XXXXXXXX-X-XXX) 1 message ******* **** <************> Tue, Apr 22, 2014 at 6:59 PM To: "*******" <*******> Dear *****, Thank you for your assistance in regards to the complaint filed against DRF Trusted Property Solutions. Per your request I have attached a copy of the recorded call received by DRF Trusted Property Solutions from The Home Depot on April 1, 2014 at 7:56:31 AM from the outside number (XXX) XXX-XXXX. During the recorded conversation between Mr. **** and our DRF Trusted Property Solutions Employee there was no mention of our plumbers being union contractors. Nor did Mr. **** inquire if we were part of a union during the recorded call. In addition, there is no mention on any media, including our company website and marketing materials that we are union contractors. Thank you once again, ******* **** Customer Service Supervisor ************

1/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have major damage as a result of a water heater on which I have a six year warranty going out. I bought this water heater from Home Depot who contracted with DRF to install it. I called a few weeks back because of the major flooding in our basement as a result of this. Then, my mother ended up in the hospital for weeks. I just called DRF today to get them out this Thursday, January 2nd. I spoke to someone named **** who kept insisting I had a GE water heater when I told her I do not. I have a Bradford they put in. Finally, she found out that someone had entered the wrong information in their system and we do have a Bradford. I kept complaining about the damage and she said she would have someone out on Thursday. Then, she called me back looking for the serial number which I do not have handy. My mom is still not feeling well and I tried to explain that I cannot hunt for this. She tried to say I would be charged and I told her I would go to the BBB because I have an extended warranty on this heater which I paid for. This has been very stressful for us and this treatment is now compounding the problem. We paid over $1000.00 for this heater and warranty minus the discount. I am so upset over this wrong information they had in their system and the call I received later.

Desired Settlement: I need an immediate repair of this faulty water heater and want to know if they plan to cover the water damage from this happening. I am very upset over this treatment.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/12/30) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ********, Call Cent Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ************** 12/30/2013 - We have reached out to the customer. We have the correct tank and serial # information. The customer does not have an extended warranty and is outside of the labor warranty on the water heater. While DRF has not visually seen the damage, the damage the customer is claiming is not an installation issue but a manufacturer issue. We provided customer with manufacturer contact information and she will pursue with them. Customer purchased the unit and installation from Home Depot, not DRF.

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

338 Customer Reviews on DRF Trusted Property Solutions
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart