Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Capps Plumbing & Sewer Inc

Phone: (847) 459-7385 Fax: (847) 459-7386 90 E Marquardt Dr, Wheeling, IL 60090 http://www.cappsplumbing.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Capps Plumbing & Sewer Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Capps Plumbing & Sewer Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 3
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Capps Plumbing & Sewer Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 21, 1998 Business started: 11/02/1996 Business started locally: 11/02/1996 Business incorporated 08/29/1997 in IL
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Illinois Department of Public Health
122 S. Michigan Avenue, Chicago IL 60603
http://www.idph.state.il.us
Phone Number: (312) 814-2608

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Joseph Capotosto, President Ms. Deanna Marsh, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Joseph Capotosto, President
Business Category

Plumbers Plumbing, Heating, and Air-Conditioning Contractors (NAICS: 238220)


Additional Locations

  • 90 E Marquardt Dr

    Wheeling, IL 60090 (847) 459-7385

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/3/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Capps has not repaired our hot water problem and has increased the cost twice, they want additional money to finish the job.

Desired Settlement: Have hot water in all locations at the agreed price, replace glass that was broken.

Business Response:

We were originally contacted for an estimate to replace their water heater. They accepted the work and we installed a new 50gal water heater on 04/19/16 as proposed. They called us back 2 days later and said they were having hot water issues. When we arrived, the new heater we installed had perfect hot water. We did find cold water getting into the hot side. After further investigation we found a 6gal water heater in the bathroom ceiling that is tied into the hot water system for the main heater, putting cold water into the hot water system. This is against the State of Illinois plumbing code. The heater in the bathroom ceiling needs to be removed, lines capped and the bathroom tied into the new water heater. We can contact the Village of Schaumburg plumbing inspector to look at it and confirm it is against plumbing code. 

As for the broken glass, we would be happy to reminburse you for anything that we broke.

9/4/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Refund

Desired Settlement: Refund.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/08/21) */ Per our conversation with the property manager, when a unit on the first floor is backing up and the backup is solely between the downstairs and upstairs units, the cost is the unit owner's responsibility. It was not a common line or building backup. The backup only affected her unit from the unit upstairs because these two lines tie together. Ms. ****** called us out directly for the work, and we confirmed with the property manager it was her responsibility. The association is not responsible for the cost. We cannot issue a refund as Ms. ****** is the homeowner, she contacted us directly, and the services rendered for the backup are her responsibility per the property manager.

8/20/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
6/8/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This second complaint associates to my former complaint # XXXXXXXX. Originally, I requested simply admittance from the owner of Capps Plumbing & Sewer, Inc. (*** Capps) that the error his two employees made during their improper installation of a new hot water heater in our home was deathly dangerous to my family. Ultimately two workers from ***** Gas stated that the gas leak would have reached 5-15% by 2-3 am which would have caused my family's death by either asphyxiation or explosion. After speaking with *** Capps twice further via telephone he still refuses to admit that the circumstance could have become deathly dangerous to the lives of my family (myself, wife, daughter - and dog, for that matter). He replied twice, stating "Natural gas can't kill you." The ***** Gas workers (masters in the content of this) say otherwise as I just explained. *** has clearly established his incompetence, and ignorance or selfishness as he would rather protect his business and money than the safety and lives of his customers with his demands of the entire bill to be paid immediately and his refusal to admit to the circumstance as deathly dangerous. I also request that his BBB rating be lowered. What ever happened to good morals and ethics?

Desired Settlement: Since *** Capps refuses to admit that his initial worker's negligence put my family's lives in deathly danger (which is all I initially asked for in my first complaint) I am now seeking for: 1. A discount on the bill considering the hardship his company put us through between the time they improperly installed the new hot water heater and allegedly/apparently fixed it, and 2. His BBB rating to be lowered.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/05/26) */ *** Capps spoke with Mr. ******* and apologized several times. It was not negligence but a defective part. As soon as Mr. ******* called to report the leak, we were out immediately to make the repair and replace the defective part. The technicians installing the water heater tested the work upon completion, and the leak was not present at that time. When the tank fully pressurized, the part stopped holding and began to leak. We sincerely apologize again for the inconvenience to Mr. ******* and his family. We are willing to discount the work $100.00. The job cost will be $787.00 plus $13.50 for the stop payment charge for a total balance due of $800.50. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/05/26) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The workers were negligent for not checking for a gas leak upon their initial improper installation of the hot water heater. I know they didn't check it because I was watching them. *** Capps did not return my numerous calls that evening regarding what his intended actions were to fix their mistake. I finally spoke with him after I contacted him again on the following day. He never returned the calls I left with his answering service who did reach him and gave him the message. Instead, he chose to leave us without a clue of what to do. They did not come out immediately. *** Capps still refuses to admit that his initial worker's negligence put my family's lives in deathly danger (which is all I initially asked for in my first complaint). He apologized for an unrelated issue. I am now seeking for: 1. I agree to pay Capps $757.00. This includes a discount on the bill of $130.00 (his offer of $100, in addition the $30 check cancellation fee) considering the hardship his company put us through between the time they improperly installed the new hot water heater and allegedly/apparently fixed it, which involved my family being out in the rain for an hour and a half until ***** Gas shut-off the gas. Capps did not even call back or come-out until the next day. We thank God for the ***** Gas workers. 2. His BBB rating to be lowered. I will not accept any lesser agreement. Once again (from my former complaint): Two workers from ***** Gas stated that the gas leak would have reached 5-15% by 2-3 am which would have caused my family's death by either asphyxiation or explosion. After speaking with *** Capps twice further via telephone he still refuses to admit that the circumstance could have become deathly dangerous to the lives of my family (myself, wife, daughter - and dog, for that matter). He replied twice, stating "Natural gas can't kill you." Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2015/05/27) */ *** Capps agrees to payment of $757.00 per Mr. *******'s request. We apologize again for the inconvenience to him and his family.

7/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Capps Plumbing broke open a sewage line at my home flooding my downstairs with sewage. In the course of patching this pipe, Capps spilled a plumbing chemical, purple primer, on cabinetry, a dishwasher and a microwave causing permanent stains. Capps partially repaired the damage, patching the ceiling and replacing the damaged cabinet doors, but they refuse to address the carpet damage and appliances. I request the BBB's assistance in resolving these issues. I've spoken with them multiple times without success. I'd speculate that Capps is trying to dodge the more expensive repair items. In my last call, *** *********, the owner, was belligerent and hung up on me. Really appreciate your help as I don't think I can resolve this with them.

Desired Settlement: I request a financial settlement so that I can replace the ruined carpet and damaged appliances.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/06/19) */ We ask the BBB to please close this case as it is in litigation and cannot be discussed and/or resolved through the BBB. Thank you. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/06/24) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) This situation is not in litigation. I have not filed any suits, and I'd have to believe Capps doesn't have any basis to litigate for its failure to repair the damage caused to my house (nor have I received anything notification of a lawsuit from them). I'm hoping that the constructive intervention of the BBB will end these frustrating, untruthful delay tactics and enable a satisfactory resolution. Please help! Thanks! Final Business Response /* (4000, 11, 2014/07/08) */ Capps Plumbing & Sewer Court Filing 1 message ****** ***** <******@cappsplumbing.com> Tue, Jul 8, 2014 at 2:01 PM To: "*******@chicago.bbb.org" <*******@chicago.bbb.org> Hi *****, Per our conversation, please find the court filing attached for case #XXXXXXXX. We filed the case against Mr. ******** on 7/7/14 per the stamp on the attachment. If you need anything further, please let me know! Sincerely, ****** ***** Vice President Capps Plumbing & Sewer 90 E. Marquardt Dr., Wheeling, IL XXXXX Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Fax: XXX-XXX-XXXX ChiassonCourtFiling.pdf 295K NOTE FROM THE BBB: The business has provided documentation showing that they have filed suit. As the court will resolve the matter we are judging your complaint resolved and closing it. There is nothing further that the BBB can do in this matter as BBB policy prohibits us from handling complaints in which the courts are involved. ***** ****** Assistant Manager-Home Services BBB-Chicago & Northern Illinois

3/12/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have a broken sewer pipe. Called several plumbers for estimates. Most had salesman inspect the job and provide estimates. Capps' rep was named *** or ***** who asked me some questions over the phone and did not visit my house. He wrote up an estimate on 1/20 and emailed it to me. He called to remind me to sign and send it back so they could get the permit and start the next day. I decided to go with them because they have 3 locations so I thought they must be doing something right. I signed and faxed it back to them for $1875 for the dig, installation of pipe, new cleanout, taking away the dirt, and putting in of pea gravel, plus $585 for the concrete breakout. Their workers arrived the next day (1/21) about 10:15 with the permit. They looked at the job and said their backhoe could not fit between the house and garage, so they called Capps and left. I called around noon to see what was happening and they said they would be sending ****** over to inspect the job. ****** came out, measured the job, and reported back to Mr. Capps. ****** said Mr. Capps told him it would be more money. I finally called Mr. Capps at about 4:40 to find out what was going on. He said *** made a mistake and should have gone out there to visit the job before giving an estimate. He said that the job was not a regular dig, they would have to use two pieces of equipment and not just the backhoe, and the job would cost about another $2200. I told him we had a contract. He said they have 3 days to rescind the contract (which I had heard of but I thought it was for the consumer's protection on in-home solicitation). I asked some friends who are attorneys, and they said we have a binding contract and it was his guy who made the mistake in not properly estimating the job. Called Mr. Capps this morning, told him that my lawyer friends said we have a binding contract and asked if he was going to honor the contract. He told me he has attorneys on retainer and that I should "**** off".

Desired Settlement: Want him to do the job as per his contract.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/01/27) */ Contact Name and Title: ****** ********* Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX To Whom It May Concern, We provided Mr. ******* with a proposal for a sewer repair based on the specifications he provided to us verbally. When our crew arrived onsite, we found very limited access to the area where the repair was to be made. At that point, we emailed Mr. ******* a changer order reflecting the new pricing to perform the repair. When I spoke with Mr. ******* via telephone, regarding the difference in price and the difference in the work, he began to use vulgar language with me. I have attached the original proposal and the change order we sent to Mr. *******. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 19, 2014/03/04) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) It is true that I had virtually no other choice but to have another company do the repair, but I was not happy with the way Capps Plumbing handled this situation. Final Business Response /* (4000, 21, 2014/03/12) */ Mr. *******'s desired resolution was to do the job per our original contract. Capps Plumbing & Sewer did agree to do the job per our original contract. When we put together our schedule and contacted Mr. ******* to schedule the work, he said he had another company do the work. We are requesting this case be closed as we are unable to provide Mr. ******* with his desired resolution due to him hiring another company.

1/17/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was serviced byCAPPS technicians in October this year. First they provided me with a quote of 1085$ for powder and master bathrooms trim installation. When they came they were not able to do work completely because they discovered that sink faucet in the powder room should be changed to fit existing sink and shower valves in master bath can't be installed without extensions. I paid 70% of the quote and ordered everything needed to complete work. After technicians left I found that two toilets they installed in a wrong way, shower head is not fixed and marble around the tub faucet is scratched after installation. They were even not so professional that they left some their staff necessary for their work which until now nobody ask about. I decided not to complain assuming hat they come back once more to finish and can fix everything. Now I see that it was a mistake. Next time another technician came and he was much more professional. He completed everything and fixed previous mistakes. But he charged me more than a quote for the service call. I asked him to do some additional work and paid for it. So in summary I paid around 1500$ for the all done by CAPPScompany But after some time changing lighting bulbs in the shower cabin I discovered that when they installed shower head they scratched it and this shower head is still not fixed well. It was brand new not cheap piece of trim given to technicians in original package. I called to CAPPS office and told about it. Somebody answer that technician will call me back to discuss. Nobody called. I called once more and operator told that company's owner aware about it and will call me. Nobly called. And I called once more and somebody was very rude with me on the phone training to explain me that I waste time. Then I received again answer that owner will call me. Nobody called. I send an email to them with the details of this situation with the questions to their owner. I received answer from the Vice President of the company Deanna Marsh with excuse and promise that owner will call me shortly. Again nobody has called until now. They have advertising on their website with personal note from their owner that they guarantee 100% of satisfaction. In reality their service doesn't correspond to their promises. I hope that you will help me in this situation as well as avoid the same situation with other consumers who choose this company based on their high rating -------------------------------------------------- 1/6/14 info from consumer: Owner contact with me a week ago and we discussed the situation. He suggested to compensate with 200$ which is 50% of the trim fixture's cost. After discussion with my husband we agree to this to close this question. I called today and confirmed to the owner. In addition I received his confirmation about representation of his people for the final inspection if the city requies to do it. Once I receive check with compensation I will close this complain with full satisfaction. -------------------------------------------------- 1/6/14 info from consumer: Owner contact with me a week ago and we discussed the situation. He suggested to compensate with 200$ which is 50% of the trim fixture's cost. After discussion with my husband we agree to this to close this question. I called today and confirmed to the owner. In addition I received his confirmation about representation of his people for the final inspection if the city requies to do it. Once I receive check with compensation I will close this complain with full satisfaction.

Desired Settlement: I would like to receive a replacement of the shower head and fixing it in proper way. Also I need compensation for the scratched marble around tub faucet. Also I want to put your attention that their high A+ rating confuses consumers as well as their advertising of 100% satisfaction guarantee at their website

Business Response: Final Consumer Response /* (450, 9, 2014/01/17) */ The consumer indicated ONLINE that the business responded to this complaint to his/her satisfaction. He/she also stated:

1/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Called plumber on XX-XX-XX to rod sewer line. Paid the company $390 for services (with 90 day guarantee). The next day the sewer backed up again in the same exact location. When they came back out they wanted us to pay an additional $195 to redo rodding or $785 for extra rodding. Left without doing anything more.

Desired Settlement: Either a complete refund or fix the problem with the sewer line.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/12/09) */ To Whom It May Concern, I spoke with Mr. ***** last week and told him we would come out to perform the jet rodding to clear the sewer for $785.00 and credit that trip the $390.00 from the first trip. Mr. ***** said he would let me know how he wanted to proceed. Respectfully, *** ********* President Capps Plumbing & Sewer, Inc. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2013/12/30) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) They did not do the job that we paid for. Their website says verbatim - "Capps Plumbing is so confident that we will deliver the best possible plumbing experience that we GUARANTEE it. If you are not completely satisfied with the work performed or the service provided, we will refund your money." *** **** told us they did not offer this guarantee. We are completely happy with the service the other plumbing company provided - everything is working fine. We believe we are due a refund!!! Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2013/12/20) */ To Whom It May Concern, I am requesting to speak with a representative from the BBB regarding this case. I have spoken with the homeowner, Mr. ***** on several occasions regarding this issue. The other company the homeowner had out rodded from the floor drain. This is not the proper way and is unethical to do to a homeowner. Please contact me at XXX-XXX-XXXX to discuss this futher. Thank you, *** *********


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Capps Plumbing & Sewer Inc
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)