Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Black Diamond Plumbing & Mechanical, Inc.

Phone: (815) 444-0979 Fax: (815) 444-6675 748 Tek Dr, Crystal Lake, IL 60014 View Additional Email Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Black Diamond Plumbing & Mechanical, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

4 Customer Reviews on Black Diamond Plumbing & Mechanical, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 4

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 28, 2002 Business started: 06/01/1999 Business started locally: 06/01/1999 Business incorporated 01/11/1999 in IL
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Illinois Department of Public Health
122 S. Michigan Avenue, Chicago IL 60603
Phone Number: (312) 814-2608

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Dave Growney, Vice President Mr. Rick Sperando, Owner/President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Dave Growney, Vice President
Business Category

Plumbers Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning Cable TV, Internet & Telephone Installation Service Water Heaters - Repairing Heating & Air Conditioning Circuit Breakers Dehumidifying Equipment Lighting Equipment - Emergency Thermostats Air Conditioning Repair Humidifying Apparatus Backflow Testing Contractors-Water & Sewer Electricians – Residential Sump Pump Contractors Carbon Monoxide Detecting Heating Contractors Plumbing, Heating, and Air-Conditioning Contractors (NAICS: 238220)

Alternate Business Names
Black Diamond Plumbing & Electric

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Black Diamond Plumbing & Mechanical, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/11/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
8/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Tried to resolve 4 times, they keep saying they willperform and nothing happens

Desired Settlement: do what the promised

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/07/28) */ On November 2, 2013, Mr. ***** elected to enroll in our HVAC maintenance agreement. At that time he paid $199 and that covered his furnace cleaning, his a/c cleaning and the cleaning of his humidifier and changing of the filter. This is clearly spelled out on the front of the agreement. We performed the a/c cleaning on 7/11/14 per the agreement. Nothing was said to us at the time of the service about a replacement filter. Once Mr. ***** returned home from work he called the office and inquired. The office staff located the copy of the agreement and informed Mr. ***** that the filter was not included. Mr. ***** then proceeded to insist that he speak to the supervisor of that division. There were a couple attempts made by the supervisor to contact Mr. ***** that went unsuccessful. Then we received the BBB complaint. We have since given Mr. ***** and $69 filter at no charge. Mr. ***** is satisfied with the resolution. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/08/07) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) They did provide the filter, but their answer is an outright lie on what was included in the service I purchased and their actions to resolve. A shame because till now I have always thought they provide good service. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/08/07) */ We are confused as to Mr. *****'s continued displeasure with our company. As you can see from the attached, it is clearly marked (in highlight) what is included with the furnace cleaning that his wife signed. We even went above and beyond to deliver a $70 filter for free to Mr. ***** to hopefully satisfy him and retain his business. It is unfortunate that he feels this way as we value his business, but we are at a loss as to what we did wrong.

7/8/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: 6/26/14 in the afternoon Black Diamond serviceman came out because air conditioner was icing up. He didn't check much, added Freon (2 lbs). I said air didn't seem cool from vents, he put his hand there (no thermometer) and said he thought it was cool enough. After he left, I was correct, it wasn't working, the house got warmer (on a cool day). 1 1/2 hours after he left, compressor blew out, tripping breaker and a few other breakers. Black Diamond's initial offer was to send an electrician out that I would pay to fix the house. After speaking to an electrician of my own, he said no, it was just the a/c and to reset the breakers. I reset all breakers except the air conditioner eventually, the house is fine and everything works fine. I told Black Diamond this, and a different a/c service guy from Black Diamond came out, checked voltage at various parts of the panel and said the panel had nothing to do with the problem, all voltage tested fine at the panel, and that the problem was inside the air conditioner. He looked at it, and wrote re. the compressor: "FOUND COMPRESSOR BLOWN OUT WHERE WIRE TERMINALS PLUG INTO IT. WINDINGS OF COMPRESSOR ARE SHORTED TO SHELL ON ONE LEG, AND FREON OIL IS VISABLE UNDER COMPRESSOR ELECTRICAL COVER. IT HAS BEN MY EXPERIANCE THAT THIS HAPPENDS STRICTLY DUE TO AN ELECTRICAL WINDING ISSUE INSIDE THE COMPRESSOR" He did mention the a wire for my well, but indicated it was not related at all to this problem. Both my electrician and one his service guy spoke to confirmed that a breaker could cause an extra breaker to trip, this does not mean anything is wrong with the house or panel.They did not charge for this visit. Both young gentlemen who came to the house were very nice and polite.Other HVAC professionals (including one who looked at the unit) told me this could have happened from overcharging an old unit. Or, the unit may have had a problem that he didn't notice before charging it. Ron at Black Diamond claims they had nothing to do with it, even though it happened immediately after servicing (less than 2 hours). Tries to claim the pressure from the coolant has nothing to do with electrical. Even his own repairman explained to me that they were related. Contrary to other HVAC technicians, he claims there is no need to check the temperature coming from the vents to see if it was working, only his gauges matter, not if the air coming from the vents is cold. Ron then tried to blame it on some other wire in my breaker box (which is for the well) that my electrician and his own technician told me is not relevant. btw, I actually didn't give permission for them to take a photo of my breaker box. The air conditioner is destroyed now, it was old, I did not request any compensation for that. However, since they did not thoroughly check out the unit before charging it, and did not test the temperature at any registers before departing (and it wasn't working) I only asked for a refund of my service charge. I repeatedly asked Ron to answer if he was going to refund this charge, and he consistently refused to answer, talking about how many years he had done this, and how he was right and everyone else was wrong, and offered nothing at all from the company. I repeatedly asked him to work with me to resolve this. Ron eventually said "How is this our problem?" and refused to work with me at all. I repeatedly said I was trying to work with him, but he refused. ------------------------------------------------- 6/30/14 info from consumer: I will have more information shortly - a different contractor is installing a new air conditioning unit, and will hopefully confirm that there is no fault in the electric in my house as Black Diamond's Ron tried to claim. I should have this within a day or two hopefully.

Desired Settlement: I only want a refund of the service charges, even though I now must replace the entire unit.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/07/03) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** *******, Manager Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: **** Ms. ********* was contacted by our office on 7/2/14. Everything has been worked out and a credit for the service charge is in process.

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

4 Customer Reviews on Black Diamond Plumbing & Mechanical, Inc.
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart