BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 01/01/2010

Black Diamond Plumbing & Mechanical, Inc.

Phone: (815) 444-0979Fax: (815) 444-6675

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service4
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints6

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (6)
07/08/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
6/26/14 in the afternoon Black Diamond serviceman came out because air conditioner was icing up. He didn't check much, added Freon (2 lbs). I said air didn't seem cool from vents, he put his hand there (no thermometer) and said he thought it was cool enough.

After he left, I was correct, it wasn't working, the house got warmer (on a cool day). 1 1/2 hours after he left, compressor blew out, tripping breaker and a few other breakers.

Black Diamond's initial offer was to send an electrician out that I would pay to fix the house. After speaking to an electrician of my own, he said no, it was just the a/c and to reset the breakers. I reset all breakers except the air conditioner eventually, the house is fine and everything works fine. I told Black Diamond this, and a different a/c service guy from Black Diamond came out, checked voltage at various parts of the panel and said the panel had nothing to do with the problem, all voltage tested fine at the panel, and that the problem was inside the air conditioner. He looked at it, and wrote re. the compressor:
"FOUND COMPRESSOR BLOWN OUT WHERE WIRE TERMINALS PLUG INTO IT. WINDINGS OF COMPRESSOR ARE SHORTED TO SHELL ON ONE LEG, AND FREON OIL IS VISABLE UNDER COMPRESSOR ELECTRICAL COVER. IT HAS BEN MY EXPERIANCE THAT THIS HAPPENDS STRICTLY DUE TO AN ELECTRICAL WINDING ISSUE INSIDE THE COMPRESSOR"
He did mention the a wire for my well, but indicated it was not related at all to this problem.

Both my electrician and one his service guy spoke to confirmed that a breaker could cause an extra breaker to trip, this does not mean anything is wrong with the house or panel.They did not charge for this visit. Both young gentlemen who came to the house were very nice and polite.Other HVAC professionals (including one who looked at the unit) told me this could have happened from overcharging an old unit. Or, the unit may have had a problem that he didn't notice before charging it.

Ron at Black Diamond claims they had nothing to do with it, even though it happened immediately after servicing (less than 2 hours). Tries to claim the pressure from the coolant has nothing to do with electrical. Even his own repairman explained to me that they were related. Contrary to other HVAC technicians, he claims there is no need to check the temperature coming from the vents to see if it was working, only his gauges matter, not if the air coming from the vents is cold. Ron then tried to blame it on some other wire in my breaker box (which is for the well) that my electrician and his own technician told me is not relevant. btw, I actually didn't give permission for them to take a photo of my breaker box.

The air conditioner is destroyed now, it was old, I did not request any compensation for that. However, since they did not thoroughly check out the unit before charging it, and did not test the temperature at any registers before departing (and it wasn't working) I only asked for a refund of my service charge.

I repeatedly asked Ron to answer if he was going to refund this charge, and he consistently refused to answer, talking about how many years he had done this, and how he was right and everyone else was wrong, and offered nothing at all from the company. I repeatedly asked him to work with me to resolve this. Ron eventually said "How is this our problem?" and refused to work with me at all. I repeatedly said I was trying to work with him, but he refused.
-------------------------------------------------
6/30/14 info from consumer:
I will have more information shortly - a different contractor is installing a new air conditioning unit, and will hopefully confirm that there is no fault in the electric in my house as Black Diamond's Ron tried to claim. I should have this within a day or two hopefully.

Desired Settlement
I only want a refund of the service charges, even though I now must replace the entire unit.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** *******, Manager
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ****@bdplmg.com
Ms. ********* was contacted by our office on 7/2/14. Everything has been worked out and a credit for the service charge is in process.

09/19/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
5/15/2013 A/C not working.Contacted Nicor Servicesand originally given appointment for Hawthorn West to come May 17(claim #XXXXXX)Had family in for brother's funeral and it was HOT. wound up with appointment changed to Thurs after 5p so OT charges would apply#XXXXXX. Meantime, Black Diamond could come out same day(Wed)and came soon after. **** checked A/C outside then inside wire was loose. Asked if he could check why attic fan did not come on under claim and he called Boss **** who approved it and said it would be covered up to $400.00 with original cost of $375.00 quoted. We were reassured this would be covered under Service policy with claim#XXXXXX or we could not afford to have it done at this time otherwise. **** went to look for motor as that was the problem.On trying to install it, it was too big.He would look for another motor in McHenry and return after finding. He called Friday am and had motor . On arrival, he said this motor wound up being more expensive and we would be responsible for the difference of $125.00 out of pocket as the new total was $525.00 and Nicor would cover $400.00. He gave us a Nicor services invoice 2091 with claim#XXXXXX and we had to charge the $125.00 0n Visa on a separate Black Diamond Invoice#XXXXX saying"remaindetr of Nicor billing" Around 6/26/2013 we received a bill for $315.00 as Nicor refused payment on the billing axcept for service diagnostics.On speaking to Nicor several times to tryong to dispute this, They say they were never contacted by Black Diamond re this claim until they received a fax requesting payment on 6/25/2013 at which time they spoke with ****** at Black Diamond and told her this was not a covered repair and they had never been contacted to OK claim. Nicor paid only $85.00 diagnostic fee and denies rest of claim>I hav ebben back and forth with Nicor and Black Diamond who now says that our $125.00 Visa payment was only a "deposit on services" and we owe the balance.**** was a very kind and compassionate person but I believe this company is pulling a bait and switch and really am upset as we told them we would not have the repair done if it wasn't covered and wound up out of pocket $125.00 already for something we were told was covered and we don't have the funds for if it wasn't

Desired Settlement
I honestly do not know what is fair. Between the $125.00 we have already paid and the $85.00 Nicor Services paid that is a total of $210.00 . We were originally quoted a total of $375.00 that was supposedly covered under our service policy the differnce being $165.00 so I propose we split that and owe $82.50 since we were mislead. Sincerely, **** ********

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** *******, Manager
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ****@bdplmg.com
I spoke to Ms. ******** today at approximately 1:50pm. We resolved the issue over the phone and **** will not be responsible for the balance she has with our company. There was miscommunication between Black Diamond and Nicor and that should never have been imparted upon the ********'s.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
**** ******* responded promptly, was very courteous and understood my dispute with the charges. He wrote off our billing balance as he said Nicor should be responsible for it, not us. We would definitely call this company independently for our future repairs as they represented themselves fairly after the issue was reported. Thank you for the prompt response

06/18/2013Problems with Product / Service
08/18/2014Problems with Product / Service
01/23/2013Advertising / Sales Issues
10/11/2012Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Plumbers, Contractors-Water & Sewer, Backflow Testing, Humidifying Apparatus, Air Conditioning Repair, Thermostats, Lighting Equipment - Emergency, Dehumidifying Equipment, Circuit Breakers, Heating & Air Conditioning, Water Heaters - Repairing, Cable TV, Internet & Telephone Installation Service, Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning, Heating Contractors, Carbon Monoxide Detecting, Sump Pump Contractors, Contractor - Electrical

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.