BBB Accredited Business since

Bela Plumbing & Sewer Inc

Additional Locations

Phone: (847) 471-0623 Fax: (630) 599-1362 PO Box 68337, Schaumburg, IL 60168 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.belaplumbing.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description



Bela Plumbing & Sewer is a plumbing contractor which installs, maintains, and repairs plumbing equipment for residential, industrial, and commercial customers. Located in Schaumburg, IL, this company serves the city of Chicago and the northwest suburbs, including Hoffman Estates, Rolling Meadows, Arlington Heights, Palatine, Des Plaines, Mt Prospect, Prospect Heights, Roselle, Medinah, Bartlett, Streamwood, South Barrington, Hanover Park, Elk Grove Village, Buffalo Grove, Inverness, Bloomingdale, Elgin, South Elgin, Barrington, Deer Park, and Kildeer.

The company has been in business since 2005 and is family owned and operated, with over 20 years of experience in the plumbing industry. This company offers emergency services 24 hours a day, seven days a week, as well as regularly scheduled appointments and maintenance services. When applicable, the company applies fixed rate bids for services, so that the customer is aware of what the price will be for the work before service begins, avoiding surprises about the cost of the work.

Services available from this company include installation and repairs of sump pumps, water heaters, ejector pumps, tubs, sinks, faucets, toilets, battery backup systems, gas lines, and disposals. The company also fixes pipe leaks, thaws frozen pipes, and detects and fixes underground leaks. The company uses and services products from Kohler, Bradfor White, and Zoller, as well as other brands. Their website includes answers to frequently asked questions from customers.

Visit the website for Bela Plumbing & Sewer to learn more about their services, read their frequently asked questions, and contact the company to schedule an appointment for plumbing services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Bela Plumbing & Sewer Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Bela Plumbing & Sewer Inc include:

  • 4 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Bela Plumbing & Sewer Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Bela Plumbing & Sewer Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 21, 2009 Business started: 01/01/2004 Business started locally: 01/01/2004 Business incorporated 11/21/2005 in IL
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Illinois Department of Public Health
122 S. Michigan Avenue, Chicago IL 60603
www.idph.state.il.us
Phone Number: (312) 814-2608

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Ashley K Ellis, President
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Ashley K Ellis, President
Business Category

Plumbers Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning Water Heaters - Repairing Pumps - Service & Repair Sump Pump Contractors Plumbing, Heating, and Air-Conditioning Contractors (NAICS: 238220)

Alternate Business Names
Bela Plumbing & Supply Royal Flush Plumbing & Sewer

Additional Locations

  • 1800 S Park Ave

    Streamwood, IL 60107

  • 416 Columbia Lane

    Gilberts, IL 60136

  • PO Box 68337

    Schaumburg, IL 60168

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/28/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Company sent a repair technician to our home on 8/19/15. He diagnosed a broken kitchen faucet and said he needed to order a part. I paid him $125 for the service fee. After a week went by I called the company but only got voice mail. I left a message inquiring the status of my repair. After several more days I left another message asking about the status of my repair. I called again today 9/4/2015 and left another message this morning. I never heard back from them. They took my money but never completed the repair. Our home warranty company also can not get information from this company. Product_Or_Service: plumbing repair - kitchen faucet

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Finsh the job I would like the company to contact me to explain the delay and finish the job or refund my money.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (4001, 10, 2015/10/28) */ We were waiting for the manufacture to send the parts. When the parts came in, we went out installed the faucet. This job has been completed to the customers full satisfaction. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 12, 2015/10/28) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Bella Plumbing was waiting on the manufacturer. The lack of communication was because they were on vacation and I was not aware no one was there to take my calls. As soon as they got back someone called me. Bella did a great job and was super helpful!

9/14/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
1/2/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Upon recommendation by Bela Plumbing I contracted with Bela to install an outside cleanout on my main sewer line to facilitate running of a larger cutter through the main sewer line to fully clean it of tree roots and debris. They indicated the size of the cleanout inside the house was too small for them to completely clear the line of tree roots and debris. They explained the outside cleanout would allow them to run a larger cutter that would clear more roots and debris, and would take care of the problems with my main line backing up in my basement. They also indicated it would be easier and would be less disruptive as all future rodding would be done without having to come in the house. A cleanout was installed, and they ran a cutter through the line. Then 15 months later I determined the cleanout was installed on the storm line, not the main sewer line. After six weeks of repeated phone calls to Bela with little response, they finally admitted to the error and agreed to come out and install the cleanout on the main sewer line. They began to dig, and due to equipment failure they were not able to locate the line easily. After four hours of digging a larger and larger hole in my front yard, they finally located the line and installed the cleanout. Due to the length of time it took to install the cleanout, they were not able to run the cutter through the line as they had done when they installed the previous time. I called and spoke with **** and he agreed to contact me to schedule the work. I called **** again after a few weeks since I had not heard back, and he indicated he would not come out and complete the work, as he was concerned about his equipment and the poor condition of the sewer line. They are now recommending the entire line be replaced. The reason I initially contracted with Bela to install the clean out was for the purpose of running the larger cutter. Now after they do the work, they refuse to complete the work originally contracted, and they recommend additional work. There was no attempt by Bela to assess the condition of the entire sewer line at the time the new cleanout was installed. In addition, the camera they brought had a broken lens and could not be used to assess the condition.

Desired Settlement: Since Bela will not come out and run the cutter, I will have to contract with a different company, and am looking for Bela to cover the cost of the work they refuse to complete.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2014/09/29) */ Case # XXXXXXXX 1 message Bela Plumbing and Sewer Inc. <*********************** Mon, Sep 22, 2014 at 2:56 PM Reply-To: "Bela Plumbing and Sewer Inc." <*********************** To: "***********************" <************************ Hi *****, My name is **** and I represent Bela Plumbing. We were called by Mr. ******* for a sewage back-up originally. We sent cutting equipment into his sewer system and cut through a blockage. Tree roots were pulled back from his sewer line indicating a broken section. Although the sewer blockage was cleared we recommended a clean-out access be installed for the purposes of inspecting his main sewer line and maintaining his sewer line. He was informed at that time that if he did not clean it on a regular basis that it would require a complete replacement. He was also informed that even with regular inspections and cleanings that the entire sewer line could not be warrantied and may require replacement. Well over one year later Mr ******* called us to inform us that another plumber had been to his house. We were told that his sewer had again backed up and the other plumber learned that the clean-out we had installed was on another line. We returned to Mr. *******'s house two separate times to send in equipment to confirm this. Mr ******* requested that we install one new clean-out for him at no-charge. We located the sewer line outside the house with a video camera designed to locate and view sewer lines. The sewer was excavated and a new clean-out was installed. The three trips including labor, materials, service calls, equipment charges and delivery and disposal fees were all waived 100%. Mr ******* received no bills for any of the above stated work that was performed. After installing the new clean-out we informed Mr ******* that the condition of his sewer line had worsened considerably since our last visit. We recommended a complete replacement after inspecting the condition of the sewer. We would provide an estimate for this replacement if he wanted but he did not. Some time later I personally received a call from Mr ******* requesting that I rod out his sewer line. I told him at that time that I did not want to risk damaging my equipment inside his sewer line. If he wanted to repair it properly I would help him with the work but i simply was not interested with risking my cables. I will also comment on his assessment of our inspection equipment. Our equipment works properly. I feel confident that our diagnosis of his sewer line is accurate. If there any other questions that require answers please feel free to contact me directly. Thanks and have a great day. **** BELA PLUMBING **************** Streamwood IL, XXXXX Email: ********************** Phone: (XXX) XXX-XXXX Fax: (XXX) XXX-XXXX Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 11, 2014/09/29) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) **** from Bela is not telling the whole story. After they completed installing the original clean out (on the wrong line) and rodding it out as part of the job, they had to come out again within 8 months to re-rod the line. This time I was told the line under my basement floor was the issue and they indicated the need to tear up my basement to fix the problem. The real problem at that time was the clean out was installed on the wrong line, and the line was never properly cleared. Six months later, this past June the problem recurred and I contracted with a new plumber. At that time we determined the cleanout was installed incorrectly by ****. It was installed the storm sewer line, not the main sewer, and they never properly cleared out the main line. It took over a week to convince **** to come out to evaluate the situation, and **** didn't have the courtesy to come out himself. The first time Bela came out they only visually inspected, and confirmed the cleanout was indeed on the wrong line. After multiple phone calls, they came out a second time to locate the line, and after many more phone calls, and emails they finally came out to install the clean out. Each time took numerous phone calls and emails to **** and the office to get a response or a return call. **** never once came out to confirm the issue, he never came out to do any of the subsequent work, nor did he initiate any phone calls. When the two guys came out to do the work, they could not locate the line, and dug a larger and larger hole in my front yard. Their equipment was not working properly as a locator, and the camera had a broken lens and was incapable of assessing the status of the sewer line. One of the guys was trying to locate the line using a coat hanger cut in half like a 'divining rod'. After 5 hours of digging they called **** to get his opinion and **** recommended they run the cutter through the line to listen for it to locate the line. At that point I should have told them to fill in the hole and leave. Finally they located the line and began to install the cleanout. There was no evidence of broken clay pipe, the roots entered at the junctions between the sections. There was no attempt to assess the condition of the remainder of the line, all they wanted to do was finish and get on their way as quickly as they could. They would not have been able to assess the line with a camera with a broken lens. They left and left me with a 15 x 25 foot area of destroyed lawn. **** is correct they covered the cost, as they should have, but I also paid an additional $345 for them to re-rod the second time without properly diagnosing the problem, in addition to $392 to the second plumber. Upon completion of installing the new clean out on the correct line they also should have run the 6 inch cutter as is customary after installation of a cleanout. His equipment should be able to clear out tree roots. I am still looking for them to cover the cost of another plumber of my choice to rod the line as they should have done. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 18, 2014/11/05) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I can not in good conscience recommend Bela Plumbing to anyone. They did not perform the work I contracted them to complete, and they continue to make claims regarding the condition of my sewer line by speculation, without having done anything to assess its condition. I've used them on numerous occasions over the past few years with complete satisfaction and I'm sure they have many satisfied customers, but the true sense of a business is how they handle the unsatisfied customers. The source of my dissatisfaction is with the way they handled the correction of their error, and their refusal to complete the work. They don't seem to be the same company as they were when they were headed out of Niles. Final Business Response /* (4000, 16, 2014/11/05) */ complaint # XXXXXXXX 1 message Bela Plumbing and Sewer Inc. <*********************** Tue, Nov 4, 2014 at 2:31 PM Reply-To: "Bela Plumbing and Sewer Inc." <*********************** To: ***** ****** <************************ Hi *****, My name is **** and I represent Bela Plumbing. We were contracted to install one cleanout at Mr.*******'s house. We have installed two cleanouts at Mr.*******'s house. Mr.******* told me that he recently had a plumber out at his house.( June or July ) On the complaint he further indicates this plumber charged him $392.00 ( I assume for rodding his sewer line ) After we installed the second cleanout, Mr. ******* asked us to come to his house to rod his sewer.I told him we were not interested in that work. His sewer line is in such bad condition that our risk of damaging our equipment is too great. After continued conversation he admitted to me that he had no intention of paying for these services. Had we come and performed this work for him he would have refused to pay. We service thousands of customers every year. We have been in business for over twenty years. Our record of success and happy customers speaks volumes about my company and the work we perform. Had we wanted to we could have refused to install a cleanout for Mr *******. But we made a mistake and we performed that work for no charge. Mr ******* seems to want to take advantage of a situation and get something for nothing. I did not break Mr. ******** sewer line. I did not insert tree roots into Mr ******** line. I installed a sewer cleanout as I told him I would. ***** I hope this will conclude this process. If you have any other questions please contact me directly. Have a great day and thank you for being so patient. **** BELA PLUMBING **** ** **** *** ********** *** XXXXX Email: **********************

1/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 9/28/13, a group of neighbors requested Bela Plumbing & Sewer to rod from house cleanouts to city main. When company arrived, I inquired to be included. Once the rodding was completed, the worker, ****, stated that the charge is normally $125.00, but he will do ours for $100. He wrote $100.00 on the work order. Our credit card was charged $125.00. I called twice, (my wife once) asking John to honor the price **** quoted us, and he keeps saying he will get back to us - never calling back. -------------------------------------------------- 11/8/13 info from consumer: The business has not made any attempts to contact me. -------------------------------------------------- 12/3/13 info from consumer: The busniess has not made any effort to contact me nor attempt to resolve. Please proceed with the next step, according to normal procedures.

Desired Settlement: $25.00 reimbursement of overcharge

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 18, 2013/12/26) */ Issue has been resolved with the customer. He agreed that he should have paid what we charged. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 20, 2013/12/26) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Bela offered to charge us $25.00 less than what was listed on the invoice. They also put the new cost on the invoice but still charged us the higher amount. This practice is extremely misleading. We never agreed, at any time, to pay the higher amount, and anything other than that is false and misleading. -------------------------------------------------- 12/27/13 additional info from consumer: In addition to my previous statement, I wanted to add the following: **** was to call my wife & I back three times (on three different days)...which he never did. Lastly, the work performed was not done to my complete satisfaction. The workers attempted to state they rodded all the way to the city main, which they did not. I have a city catch basin cover at the end of my driveway. I removed the cover to ensure the cutter did reach the city main. The workers had to add additional cable to the machine, and at that point, the cutter still DID NOT reach the city main. Bela failed to do a complete rodding from the cleanout to the city main, and attempted to mislead me that they had. Final Business Response /* (4000, 22, 2014/01/06) */ We have contacted the customer regarding this issue about the alleged 25.00 over charge he received. The agreed price for the work was 125.00 which is the same price that 8 of the other neighbors paid as well for the exact same work done on the exact same day. We explained to the homeowner that the price the tech allegedly told him of 100.00 was not accurate and not the agreed price he was given before we did the work. Our techs do not set the prices for the work performed in the field, only the office does which is exactly what happened in this case. We have no intentions on refunding the 25.00 since he agreed to pay this amount which once again is the same discounted amount we gave all 8 of his neighbors for the exact same work. We would be willing to give him a 25.00 discount on future work as long as he mentions it to the office when he calls and he can ask for *** when he calls.