Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Abel Plumbing Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Abel Plumbing Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 3
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Abel Plumbing Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 19, 2011 Business started: 12/10/2009 Business started locally: 12/10/2009 Business incorporated 02/10/2010 in IL
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Illinois Department of Public Health
122 S. Michigan Avenue, Chicago IL 60603
http://www.idph.state.il.us
Phone Number: (312) 814-2608

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Adam Lester, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Adam Lester, President
Business Category

Plumbers Plumbers - Commercial Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning Water Heaters - Repairing Pipe & Valve Fitters - Gas Water Leak Detection Garbage Disposals - Household Water Heater - Tankless Water Analysis Backflow Prevention Devices & Services Sump Pump Contractors Plumbing, Heating, and Air-Conditioning Contractors (NAICS: 238220)

Service Area
Abel Plumbing Inc. provides their services in BOONE County IL, OGLE County IL, WINNEBAGO County IL.

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/16/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
8/4/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: A leaky tub was discovered in mid-June and Abel plumbing was assigned by my warranty company to fix the leak. Their technician arrived the following day, spent approximately 30 minutes looking at the issue and left when he could not duplicate the leak. The technician agreed there was a leak, saw damage and told me he had other jobs to do. He their 24-hour emergency number and instructed me to call when the leak reoccurred. I spoke with Abel Plumbing's secretary and was advised they would come anytime (Day or night) to fix the leak immediately. I was advised by the technician and secretary to keep the water running once the leak was located and call and their emergency technician would respond. That night, the tub leaked and I called the emergency number. I left a message and waited for nearly two hours for someone to return my call. After two hours, I turned the water off and called the emergency number again; leaving a second message. No-one responded or called. I contacted the warranty company the following morning and informed them of the issue and asked for an alternative company. At approximately 11:00 AM, I received a call from Abel Plumbing. The owner informed me he received my calls but felt it was not an emergency. After a number of days and hours on the telephone; the warranty company refused to reassign the leak to a second company. On 7/6/15 at approximately 1:30 PM, their technician arrived at my house. The technician examined the bathroom and informed me he knew what the problem was. As I was unhappy with the company's service, I instructed the technician that he was not to do any work not covered by the warranty company. The technician informed me he understood and went to work. I observed the technician bring into the house an already opened container of caulk. After a few minutes of work, the technician summoned me and informed me he was finished. The technician showed me the work and informed me he thought the Jacuzzi switch still leaked. The technician instructed me to call back when it leaked. I questioned as to why he wasn't fixing it; if it still leaked. He informed me he had done some work, but needed to be called back if it did not address the issue. The plumber left with the partial container of caulk at approximately 2:21 PM. It should be noted that the times provided above are obtained from security cameras I have installed at my residence that captured video of the technician coming and going from the residence. On 7/7/15, I received a call from the warranty company. The warranty company indicated Abel had not called for approval to do the work to my house, prior to doing it and the work was not covered. The warranty company informed me that had they called like they're supposed to, the company would have been told this and I, the homeowner would have had to agree to the work done. After hours on the phone, the warranty company informed me they would speak with Abel and have them absorb the bill since neither they nor I had authorized the work. On 7/15/15, I received a bill from Abel. The bill indicated they were at my house on 7/6/15 for two hours and used an entire tube of caulk... Both I dispute and can provide evidence to the contrary. Since then, I have contacted my warranty company, in hopes they can assist me in resolving this issue. On 7/16/15, 20 and 24, I left messages with Abel to call me. On 7/29/15, I spoke with Abel via telephone. I informed their receptionist of my concerns with the work not authorized and informed her I had captured the incident on security footage. I identified their overbilling. I was advised the owner (Adam) would call me back the following day. As of this date and time, I have yet to receive a telephone call from Adam or anyone from Abel Plumbing. I believe their actions were intentional and I have given serious thought to filing criminal charges in relation to fraud by contractor.

Desired Settlement: I would like to see a zero balance on my account since the work was not authorized by anyone. The warranty company did not give them authorization to complete the work. I gave them no implied or expressed consent to complete the work. I informed the technician to do only the work covered by the warranty company.

Business Response: Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 6, 2015/08/04) */ The owner (Adam) contacted me and spoke with me after receiving an email from BBB. I explained my issues and he setteled the matter by zeroing out my account. His staff emailed me (Within a matter of hours) an invoice indicating the zero balance. The technicians that came to my home, to represent this company, were curtious and pleasant. I chaulk this incident up to a failure to communicate between the three parites involved (The plumbing company, the warranty company and the homeowner). BBB, I appreciate your help with this matter.

12/15/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I find it very disheartening that a company would take funds from someone's account that they knew they were not entitled to. A property owner makes a service call to your company, NOT the tenant and you find it good business protocol to take funds from the tenant almost a year later. Makes no sense why your company attempted to resolve this issue if taking the money from the tenant was your intention. You made it very clear during your investigation into who should be responsible is the one who called to request your services which was not me. Furthermore as far as recommending your company to any friends, families, co-workers, or any one who will listen, to not, I repeat "DO NOT" use ABEL Plumbing for "ANY" of your plumbing, remodeling, etc. needs.

Desired Settlement: I find it very disheartening that a company would take funds from someone's account that they knew they were not entitled to. A property owner makes a service call to your company, NOT the tenant and you find it good business protocol to take funds from the tenant almost a year later. Makes no sense why your company attempted to resolve this issue if taking the money from the tenant was your intention. You made it very clear during your investigation into who should be responsible is the one who called to request your services which was not me. Furthermore as far as recommending your company to any friends, families, co-workers, or any one who will listen, to not, I repeat "DO NOT" use ABEL Plumbing for "ANY" of your plumbing, remodeling, etc. needs.

Business Response: Consumer Response /* (3000, 19, 2014/12/02) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) As to paragraph one regarding *** **** telling ABEL plumbing I would be responsible for payment is not true. The clog was from normal wear and tear as stated in the lease agreement forwarded to Abel plumbing. I wrote the check in error not because "I" was responsible that is why Abel plumbing agreed to destroy the check but waited 2 years instead to fraudulently deposit the check. There was never an agreement with myself and *** ***** *** was the landlord responsible for maintenance to his property by Illinois law. Abel plumbing admits to trying to get payment from Mr.***** so in truth they knew Mr.***** to be responsible. Again I was advised by Abel plumbing that whoever requested the service call was responsible for payment. Abel plumbing admits the owner "AKA" *** **** made the request. There was no lack of communication between landlord and tenant. Abel plumbing made it very clear to me that the one who made the call was the responsible party. Abel plumbing went as far as to tell me they spoke to *** who advised them it was in my lease agreement. I told Abel plumbing that it was not stated anywhere in my lease as to the tenant being responsible for ANY repairs. They requested a copy of the lease which I provided. I was lied to again. Abel plumbing did not even have the common courtesy to destroy the check like they said they would do since it was written in error and if not in error they why hold on to a check for 2 years? Everyone being happy is not the problem. The problem is Abel plumbing was contacted by the property owner and came to the residence on his and his only request. If i would have known I would be responsible I would have contacted my own reputable plumbing company.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Abel Plumbing Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)