BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that ABC Plumbing, Heating & Cooling meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for ABC Plumbing, Heating & Cooling include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 25 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

25 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 5
Billing/Collection Issues 7
Delivery Issues 3
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 10
Total Closed Complaints 25

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

22 Customer Reviews on ABC Plumbing, Heating & Cooling
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 17
Neutral Experience 1
Negative Experience 4
Total Customer Reviews 22

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 07, 1988 Business started: 06/15/1953 Business started locally: 06/15/1953
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Illinois Department of Public Health
122 S. Michigan Avenue, Chicago IL 60603
Phone Number: (312) 814-2608

City of Chicago
121 N La Salle St # 604, Chicago IL 60602

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Matthew Schroll BIAN R Mr. Donald Schroll, President Gordon Schroll
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Matthew Schroll
Number of Employees


Business Category

Plumbers Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning Sewer Contractors Water Heaters - Repairing Heating & Air Conditioning Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial Circuit Breakers Generators - Electric Switches - Electric Thermostats Fuses - Electric Air Conditioning Repair Air Conditioning Systems - Cleaning Duct Cleaning Air Duct Cleaning Air Duct Systems Air Duct Repair Electrical Power Systems Maintenance Boilers - Sales & Service Humidifying Apparatus Wire & Cable - Electric Furnace Sales & Service Furnace Cleaning Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Boilers - Repair & Cleaning Electricians – Residential Electricians Electricians - Commercial Heat Pumps Heating Contractors Plumbing, Heating, and Air-Conditioning Contractors (NAICS: 238220)

Alternate Business Names
ABC Plumbing Heating Cooling Electric
Additional Information

On July 25, 2007 the BBB held a meeting with ABC Plumbing, Heating, and Cooling to address consumer allegations. Complaints on file allege disputes with the company's flat fee method of pricing, diagnosis problems, and customer service issues. The company addressed the Bureau's concerns and advised the BBB that it has already taken corrective measures to improve in the aforementioned areas. ABC Plumbing, Heating, and Cooling owns ABC/Crisara Home Comfort, located at the same address. Although the two companies share employees and the same address, they are separate entities and the BBB maintains separate reports on both companies. Consumers should be aware that ABC Plumbing, Heating, and Cooling owns ABC/Crisara Home Comfort, with both companies being located at the same address. Although the two companies share employees and the same address, they are separate entities and the BBB maintains separate reports on the two businesses.

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

ABC Plumbing, Heating & Cooling has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 220 W Campus Dr STE 200

    Arlington Heights, IL 60004


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/17/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: ABC arrived on 7/16/15 Order #XXXXXX. Called to repair one non-working outlet. **** ****** XXX-XXX-XXXX of ABC suggested additional 6 outlets due to new law requiring said outlets. Charged $2122.00 (paid by check ****** for work performed. No breakdown was given on receipt. He was here only three hours. After looking into actual prices of new outlets..$10 per outlet and $4.00 per bubble if purchased at a hardware store. I estimated the work to be at $1400.00 Essentially, charging me an additional $700 for labor?? I tried reaching the owner, leaving a message. No phone call returned to me...The bill given to me was hand-written by Mr. ******* no breakdown whatsoever was given as to pricing/work performed, etc.

Desired Settlement: No settlement requested at this time. Want someone at ABC held accountable for their business practices. I believe they are over-charging by 2 to 3 times the amount. Not just to Senior Citizens but, to everyone. Their business practices need to be investigated immediately!!

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/08/06) */ We spoke with customer and resolved her concern.

7/27/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: We requested ABC Plumbing to check the air conditioning unit at our rental unit in Schaumburg and service it as needed. The serviceman came and said that the outside temperature was too cold and he could not do anything with the air conditioner. We did not authorize any payment and were told that we would not be billed since no work was completed. We then received a charge on our ******** ******* bill for $99.00 on June 11, 2015 which was never authorized by either ***** ******** or ********* ******** (holders of the credit card in question). We have tried to get the charges reversed and ABC Plumbing has not responded correctly. We have contacted them on June 12, 2015, June 23, 2015 to no avail. ******** ******* has a dispute on record for this charge.

Desired Settlement: Refund or reverse the charge on our***** credit card.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2015/07/14) */ Contact Name and Title: ******/Manager Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ****** We apologize for the miscommunication regarding the time that the credit was to be applied for the $99.00. We did credit the $99.00 back to the customer on 6/26. We strive to process refunds as quickly as possible and we apologize for the delay.

10/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On October 4, 2014 we had a scheduled appointment with ABC Plumbing for 2 separate plumbing issues. When scheduling the appointment we specifically told the person we wanted a maintenance rotting and asked if they honored the advertised price of $93 for this service. They said yes and we scheduled the appointment. When the technicians arrived they told us the price would be $595. They didn't even have the rotting equipment with them. They would've had to leave and come back with the proper equipment.

Desired Settlement: ABC Plumbing should honor their advertised price

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/10/06) */ Contact Name and Title: **** *******, Manager Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: **** The advertising specifically states that some restrictions apply. It is necessary when performing maintenance rodding to do a much more extensive rodding and go thru multiple times. The 93 or Free program is designed as an opportunity for a family to save one-time on rodding when in a difficult situation with a backed-up sewer. The rodding is for going thru one-time and getting the sewer open, if we are unable to open the sewer we waive the fee. Many times additional work is necessary for this type of rodding and as such we camera the sewer at no additional charge. The tech we sent out was a technician who is capable of looking at the other plumbing issue the customer called about and doesn't specialize in rodding and that is why he didn't have the equipment on the truck. The rodding specialists would not have been able to diagnose that issue. Due to the customer service representatives error, If the customer would like I am willing to go through the sewer with a 3" cutter one time for the $93 as maintenance and provide the free camera inspection at no additional charge.

9/2/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am the owner of a rental townhouse in Palatine where my renter a single parent was experiencing a leaking toliet. On July 16th 2014 I was out of town so she called ABC Plumbing, Heating, Cooling, Electric to make the repair. ABC determined the wax ring needed to be replaced. Their technician removed the toilet and replaced the wax ring and reinstalled the toilet at a cost of $635. A wax ring costs $3-$5 and to remove and replace a toilet take about 20 minutes for a novice plumber. She did complain about the cost but got no relief. I have gone to the ABC website and gave them my feedback but with no response. I feel my renter was taken advantage of since she is a single woman. I pay all repair bills for the townhouse but this bill was so high and she felt so bad she paid half.

Desired Settlement: I don't mind a fair price and I've never called a plumber for such an easy task and I know that there is a charge for the service call plus the work but $635 is extremly high a fair price would be about half of what was charged.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/08/29) */ Contact Name and Title: **** *******, Manager Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: **** I am not sure what customer this was for but I can tell you a few facts that always pertain to ABC. We quote all pricing up front using a flat rate book which is the same for any and all customers. We have been in business for over 60 years and have succeed because of our commitment to quality and customer satisfaction. We are a little higher priced than many plumbers based upon the level of service we provide. The level of service which includes things like same day service, having all the parts on our trucks and having highly skilled fully trained licensed plumbers on staff. That being said I know that we always quote a price before doing work, we always prepare the work area to ensure no damage to the home, always perform the work to the highest standards in the industry, we always test the work and clean-up the work area so it is better than when we found it. We take great pride in serving our customer and having over 60% of our customer use us multiple times. We are not for everyone especially a bargain minded customer who is not looking for excellent service. We are similar to a nice steak house where the service is better and the food tastes better, rather than going to Denny's for a steak. All of our people are back ground checked and drug tested and we only higher the best in the industry and then provide them with over 80 hours of training per year to ensure they stay the best and continue to improve. I am willing to issue a refund of $100.00 to the customer if we can get the tenants information since I can't find the landlords information in my computer system. I appreciate you time and concerns. Please let us know who to issue the courtesy refund to. Sincerely, ******* *******

7/21/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: 5/29/2014 i was calling several electric company for a coach lamp to be check on, settled my business conversation with ABC as the person i spoke with *** mention of a service fee $49.00 and will be waived if i decide to get the repair done. 5/30/14 early morning, I spoke with a staff of Abc requesting to inform the tech to call me before the repair to which she reassure message will be deliver, i can hear her typing my message possibly via computer but I did not get a return call. I found out from my babysitter that he talked to her about the issue with the coach lamp and got her to ok and babysitter paid him check #111 with the amount of $404.00 (I left a blank check to the babysitter as I was at work). I called the ABC office and request the technician to call me, and that i will put a stop payment of the check. until today no calls or updates received either from the company or tech. today, i got a 10day notice letter from the company dated 7/1/14 to pay it. or they will turned it to their collective agency and will be listed on major credit bureaus. the company and technician violated my consumer rights to be inform and make my decision, I was not given information or the estimate of the repair but instead proceeded without the approval of the owner of the property. 7/4/14 info from consumer: I make a mistakes with some information: Consumer: ******* *************** **** ******* ave. ******* il. XXXXX XXX-XXX-XXXX Complaining about: **** **** ABC Technician

Desired Settlement: An acknowledgment from the company and technician of their fault. i will pay for the service fee $49.00 and i will reimburse photo eye replaced on the lamp provided i get the serial # brand name so I can call the stores for its retail price. Thank you for your help and BBB services.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/07/07) */ The name on the consumer complaint is an employee of ours. I believe we have come to a resolution with the customer.

6/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: ABC Plumbing charges a $59 service charge just to provide a quote to do work. I believe the quote was excessive for the work requested. They wanted $840 to fix a small section of copper piping. They try to bundle you with their Ultimate Advantage Club (not sure what the advantages are) by offering to reduce the price to $690. I had similar work done before so I knew the charge was outrageous. The only way to get the $59 back is to have the work performed and they will credit the bill. Other plumbing companies I've dealt with ***** ******* do not charge a fee for quoting a job. **** ****** performed this service for $240 with the same representations and warranties. The reason we called ABC was they were advertised as a consumer's pick in some local publication. I feel like people need to know what their business model is really like. Beware of this organization. I wasn't home for the quote and I believe the service tech knew that he was in an affluent area and had a female (my wife) that he was dealing with so he jacked the price up.

Desired Settlement: I asked them for my $59 back and they refused.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/06/12) */ Contact Name and Title: **** *******, Manager Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: **** The customer was quoted the standard price to do work based upon 65 years of experience and dealing with these types of jobs. We use a flat rate price book so that each customer pays exactly the same price for the excellent service they receive. I apologize that Mr. ***** was unhappy with the service he received. A refund for the $59.00 was issued on 6/10/14 by the customer service manager when she heard about the issue from our CSR. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2014/06/12) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I filed the complaint because I hadn't heard back from ABC in regards to my concern. Had they called me back and told me they issued a refund I may not have filed the complaint. Refund hasn't been received yet but i'll check the mail.

4/7/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 4/5/14, I called ABC because there was standing water in my laundry tub. ***** the technician, arrived within a reasonable time period,inspected the area,described what would be done to drain the tub, and I agreed to pay $802.00. He sawed my water pipe but couldn't get the water to drain. He then decided to work on the pipe underneath the tub again cutting a water pipe and the water began to drain from the tub. Why didn't he work on the pipe underneath the tub first? Yes, he reassembled all cut piping, the water does drain through the pipes......but for an additional $469.00? He then explains that the $469.00 was for parts and labor. I was not told that parts and labor would be an additional charge. I was led to believe that the original quote of $802.00 would be the final quote The company, ABC, advertises that an assessment would be given for a repair with no hidden fees. To me, this is a misrepresentation by the company.This is in regard to call number XXXXXX on 4/5/14.

Desired Settlement: I am requesting a refund of $914.00, $445.00 for cutting the wrong pipe, and $469.00 for a hidden fee that was not discussed at the assessment.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/04/07) */ Contact Name and Title: **** *******, Manager Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: **** We do work on a flat rate basis with upfront pricing and don't change the price when the scope of work changes. I agree that Adam should not have charged the additional $469.00. We will refund this charge, but I cannot issue a refund for any other fees. Since the $802 is less than you would have spent had he only charged for the other work. Adam did quote the original price before beginning any work and the price of $802 was approved. I am sorry about the error of charging an additional $469.00. I am happy to issue the refund as soon as we receive your response. We appreciate your business and look forward to servicing you in the future. If you ever have any questions or concerns feel free to contact our customer service manager ****** at XXX-XXX-XXXX. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2014/04/07) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I accept their response. Adam did state that he is a rather new employee. He appears to be honest and I will assume that this is a mistake. I look forward to receiving the refund of $469.00 and doing business with ABC Plumbing again. **** ******* Final Consumer Response /* (450, 8, 2014/04/07) */ The consumer indicated ONLINE that the business responded to this complaint to his/her satisfaction. He/she also stated: Thank you

4/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had a spigot/sillock fail in my garage so I thought I'd give ABC a call since my first time with them seemed ok. I called around 3:30 on a Friday, May 28th and explained that a spigot had failed and I had to shut water off to my house to stop it. I was told they could not get someone out till after 6:00 that night, which was fine. The tech, ***** ** showed up just after 7:00 and I explained the issue to him while he looked it over quickly and then went to his truck to work up a quote. When he returned I was told he would have to cut a hole in the wall to gain access to the pipe. He gave me a price of $1,750 to replace it or if I signed up for their advantage club it would be $300 less. I could not believe what I heard, I figured part of it may have been overtime considering the late hour but had a hard time wrapping my head around it. Unfortunately I proceeded with the work since I had no water, no time to find someone else, and I was not feeling well either-I joined the club only because the total price work in my favor, just barley. That following Monday after I felt better and I talked with some plumbers and explained what happened; they confirmed it was high for the work that was done. I rethought some electrical work I planned to get done with them so I called around to get another quoteturns out I was being overcharged again. When I called to cancel and explained why, the operator offered me $100 off if I kept the appointment. I was more offended then anything, I was easily charged double, after the discounted rate of $1,450 for joining their club, and offered only $100. It discounted price itself was ridiculous, on retrospect I feel like the $1,750 was a ploy to get me to sign up for the club.

Desired Settlement: The first thing I would like to see is a breakdown on how the plumber came to his price of $1,750 for the repair. I looked up the replacement sillock online, Woodford model 19 Anti-Rupture Outdoor faucet, and it runs about $60 max. I am very interested about the $1690 difference. If they can provide me with a reasonable explanation for the difference and show it is in line with what other plumbers charge I will be satisfied. Otherwise I would like a refund for the difference consistent with what the job should have cost.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/04/02) */ Contact Name and Title: **** *******, Manager Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: **** We have worked this out directly with the customer. Unfortunately we had a new technician at the home who didn't understand the price book. this was remedy and the correct price of $823 was charged to the customer and a refund given for the additional amount. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (450, 6, 2014/04/02) */ The consumer indicated ONLINE that the business responded to this complaint to his/her satisfaction. He/she also stated: I was contacted on 4/2/14 by ****** from ABC PHCE and we discussed the matter. She talked with the plumbing manager and she said the plumber was new and misquoted the job, which they should have caught. They did promise me a refund for what the job should of cost. I am happy enough with the settlement and just want to put it behind me.

1/31/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Under duress (existing furnace was venting carbon monoxide) we accepted ABC's installation proposal to correct the situation by installing a new system as quickly as possible with the guarantee that their price would be: and I quote 'within dollars' of any competitors prices. Since the installation on 1/2/14 we have provided to ABC 2 quotes by comparable companies that are both $1500.00 less than what we were charged. As stated we would not have accepted their proposal had we not been assured that their price was within dollars of anyone else's. Their response so far has been wholly inadequate... one call from the original employee who wrote and overcharged us on the proposal/ lied about the price and did nothing more than attempt to justify the overcharge in the phone call. Sent the owner an email and have as yet not heard a word...

Desired Settlement: A fair monetary refund that would bring the price we paid into line with the marketplace

Business Response: Final Consumer Response /* (450, 5, 2014/01/31) */ The consumer indicated ONLINE that the business responded to this complaint to his/her satisfaction. He/she also stated: Company owner did respond in a fair manner and to our satisfaction...

12/24/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: 9/23/13, I contacted ABC Plumbing for an estimate on a water heater. I knew it needed to be replaced and told "Becky" that on the phone. She asked me for my name and number; I gave it. When she asked me for my address, I asked her why she needed that. She said they would send out a licensed plumber to look at the situation to provide the quote. I said OK, and gave her my address. She said a technician would be by that afternoon. Becky also said they were running a special: if there is a technician at my house, they would clean a furnace for $69.95. Because I was also looking to have my two furnaces cleaned, I told her to put me down for two furnace cleanings. Not having any experience with ABC Plumbing, I then looked for reviews on line. I found that many customers had felt deceived because ABC charges for estimates but doesn't tell you that on the phone. So I called back, spoke again with Becky, and asked her if that was true. She said there is a $59 fee for estimates, but it gets applied to the work invoice. And I said, "IF we decide to go with your quote, right?" and she said, "Yes." I told her I had never heard of being charged for a quote, that I would have appreciated being told so on the phone the first time, and that she should cancel my appointment because, I don't do business with people who do business like that. She agreed. Several minutes later, an ABC technician named Jared Johannsen was at my door. I explained that I had cancelled and why. He said, "Well, you need your furnaces cleaned...if I waived the fee for the estimate, would you be happy with that?" I said I would. I took him to the water heater, which is near one of my furnaces - the one in the basement. He said "Looks like your relief valve went off..." - which is not true. I explained that the tank was rusting out and that the water he saw on the floor was leaking. Then he said he'd like to look at the furnaces first, so he began cleaning the furnace in the basement and I went about my other activities that afternoon. Later on, he went upstairs to our attic, although I hadn't shown him how to find the attic entrance. A while later, he came to me and asked to talk with me upstairs. Jared explained said the furnace was at the end of its life and should be replaced. I explained that my brother-in-law is an HVAC mechanic, that I hadn't wanted to bother him to do the cleaning, but that I'd like to talk with my brother-in-law about such a big step. Jared said OK. He sounded like he was all done then, so I had to prompt him that I still needed a quote for a new water heater; that was, after all, the reason for my call in the first place. He did not go back to the basement to look at our water heater or assess the situation there. I went back to my desk and Jared showed up there a few minutes later. He had a piece of paper that showed two charges, each for $69.95, and two notations pertaining to a new water heater - one for $1,198 and one for $1,398. He explained that if I agreed to install a new furnace that day, they would install a water heater for $1,198; otherwise, the cost would be $1,398 for a new water heater. I declined and, because I was very uncomfortable at this point, I paid Jared $139.90 by check so he would leave. Later on, I was looking at the paperwork and wondered if Jared had actually cleaned the attic furnace. The next day, I called the company and Jared call me back. Jared explained that he did not clean the 2nd furnace because the furnace was at the end of its life and, in "his discretion," it didn't make any sense to clean it. I responded, "So, basically I paid $69.95 for nothing?" He said that wasn't true; that I had received the benefit of an inspection. I had not asked for an inspection. Jared offered to come out again and clean the furnace. I had to ask him if there would be any charge for that visit and Jared said there would. I told him I wasn't happy and would not be using ABC Plumbing for anything further and he said, "OK." -------------------------------------------------- 11/12/13 info from consumer: I have tried to contact Mr ****** many times and have left messages for him to call me back. We are willing to work with him regarding this matter to get this resolved.

Desired Settlement: I want a refund of $69.95 and I want the company to revise its tactics.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 12, 2013/12/10) */ we responded to this complaint twice, once on 10/21 and 11/12/13 and it is not showing, we spoke with ***** ****** on 11/12/13 and informed her of the problems we are having with the response on this. prior to this complaint we had agreed to issue a refund to the customer and have left him messages to confirm that he received the response but have not had any response from him regarding the refund. this refund was issued by check in October. please update the concern.

12/23/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have a gravity based hot water recirculation system. When ABC installed new hot water heaters that system stopped working. They want to add plumbing to my house (a pump, a check valve). The system worked fine for 8.5 years without either. I called the maker of the hot water heaters (Bradford White) and asked them what might be wrong. They said the heat traps on the hot water heaters need to be removed for a gravity based hot water recirculating system to work. ABC says the hot water heaters don't have them. I talked to them 48 hours ago and they said a manager would call but no response since then.

Desired Settlement: I would like the hot water heaters to be repaired to work in my system, or, if that's not possible, for them to be replaced with hot water heaters that will work in my system.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2013/12/03) */ Contact Name and Title: **** *******, Manager Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: **** I See you are scheduled for 12/05/13, I will have the supervisor remove the heat trap nipples and see if this solves the problem for you. If you would like to schedule at an earlier time please let me know otherwise we will be there on 12/5/13 to solve this. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 9, 2013/12/10) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) ABC did send out two plumbers. Their fix has partially resolved my problem. The recirc system works in part of the house but not all of the house. I've called again and asked them to return my call but no one has called back. Final Business Response /* (4000, 11, 2013/12/10) */ ****** has contacted the customer and scheduled a return visit to meet with customer and supervisor NOTE FROM THE BBB: Please hold off on your response pending the scheduled visit. Please update us on the outcome of the visit. ***** ****** Assistant Manager-Home Services BBB-Chicago & Northern Illinois

12/9/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Homeowner engaged ABC to install several HVAC pieces of equipment in our home and to inspect such equipment over the ensuing three-year period. Nearly all of the subject equipment failed within a three-year period and homeowner discovered in August 2013 that ABC committed several major infractions during the installation process, which has resulted in Homeowner incurring significant monetary damages and also has created dangerous conditions in our home. Although we have presented verbal and pictorial proof of such claims to ABC and demanded monetary recourse from the company, they have refused to reimburse us accordingly.

Desired Settlement: $30,000 in damages.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2013/11/07) */ We have responded to the customer thru the attorney general Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 13, 2013/11/23) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) ABC conducted inspections of the faulty equipment they installed over more than three years and not once did they alert us to a number of serious infractions in their installation process or the fact that they had installed old equipment that they verbally and in writing represented to be "new." Instead, their employees covered up and ignored the issues, which in turn led to the equipment failing, our basement flooding and our safety being put at risk. After three years of ABC covering up their shoddy workmanship, we were advised by our attorneys as well as the Chamber of Commerce in Buffalo Grove, IL to not allow anyone from ABC to enter our home again. Regarding ABC's demand for pictures, we provided more than 10 pictures of the faulty equipment, including their infractions relating to the installation of the furnace and the fresh intake in relation to the pipe that vents the carbon monoxide from the furnace to ABC, and I have the delivery of such photos documented in several emails. Therefore, I can prove that ABC is willing to lie in writing to their customers, the Better Business Bureas as well as the IL Attorney General's Office. ABC indicates above that "A fresh air intake is designed for the sole purpose to bring in oxygen to the furnace to fuel the combustion and make heat. At no time, will that fresh air, or any of the newly created carbon monoxide for that matter, be introduced into the home. (Unless of a crack in the heat exchanger or other malfunction). This is part of the design of a closed-system." The licensed mechanical engineers that we had inspect the fresh intake pipe that ABC installed within 4 inches of the carbon monoxide vent pipe, and both of them were extremely alarmed because it presented a risk of death to us, the homeowners. Given ABC shoddy workmanship, their willingness to cover up their infractions and lie to customers, both verbally and in writing, they are no longer allowed on our property, and they only accepable remedy is for ABC to reimburse us for the monetary damages we have incurred. Final Business Response /* (4000, 11, 2013/11/18) */ Since ABC was first made aware of the concerns of this customer, it has always been out intention to resolve the situation at no cost and with no inconvenience to the customer. Unfortunately, the customer has denied ABC the opportunity to review the equipment/installation in question on multiple occasions and has been unwilling to work toward a resolution. In order to better answer this specific accusation above, we are in need of further clarification. According to the customer, one of the installation problems with the furnace is that it was a single pipe system. This means there is only one pipe for this unit, which would have to be for the exhaust of carbon monoxide. We are asking that the customer please clarify what two items are 4-inches apart with a picture from both inside and outside the home. A fresh air intake is designed for the sole purpose to bring in oxygen to the furnace to fuel the combustion and make heat. At no time, will that fresh air, or any of the newly created carbon monoxide for that matter, be introduced into the home. (Unless of a crack in the heat exchanger or other malfunction). This is part of the design of a closed-system. Again, we want to do everything possible to resolve the concerns of this customer, however without being allowed access to the property to perform even a basic visual inspection, we can't accurately diagnose the concerns.

12/3/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On October 15th. I called ABC Plumbing, Heating, Cooling & Electric to come and fix a leak on my 1st floor ceiling. I got their name from a book called "First Picks" which recommended them. I also checked with the BBB which gives them an A- rating. The plumber came an quoted me $347.00 to open the ceiling and diagnose the problem. He couldn't find the problem and only said I should calk my shower floor. I ten told him to replace my shower on and off cartridge and he charged me another $563.00. I asked him if they offer a senior discount and he took off $45.00. MY find charge is $865.00 for 1 hours work. I feel this is overly too expensive.

Desired Settlement: I would like a partial refund, preferably at least $365.00. That still leaves them $500.00 for an hours work.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/10/22) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ******* Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: **** I am sorry that the level of service did not meet Mr. ******* needs. we strive to provide the highest service. In this situation the customer called at 12:45 on 10/15 and had a fully trained technician to the home at 1:20 the same day to take care of this issue. ***** quoted all pricing upfront and the customer signed off on the pricing before any work was done. We do strive to impress each customer by not only providing flat rate pricing but superior service which includes cleaning up after ourselves and taking the utmost care with the customer's home. I am willing to refund an additional $150 to make the customer happy because we strive to leave every customer impressed with our level of work, professionalism and quality. If this is acceptable then I will issue a credit the customers credit card. Again I apologize that we were unable to impress Mr. ***** and hope that we do so in all future dealings. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 25, 2013/11/22) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I do not wish to use ABC plumbing, heating and cooling in the future so a $50.00 credit is of no value to me. The fact that he gave me $150.00 credit towards a bill of $865.00 dosen't change the fact that he charged $715.00 for 1 hours work. Gangsters get less for shark loans. Remember he was going to charge me $59.00 just for comming out regardless of if I used his services or not. Please publicly post this so future customers in need for plumbimg assistance can decide for themselves. I agreed to the $150.00 to get some recompense rather than none and have paid $865.00 versus $715.00. Final Business Response /* (4000, 27, 2013/11/22) */ There is nothing further we can do at this point then

10/14/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Air conditioner repaired on 8-29-13. In choosing between variety of parts, services, and payment plans, the salesman sold me on a service contract that would give me an immediate discount and could be canceled at any time. I went over the terms verbally with the salesman twice because I wanted to make sure that I could cancel after two weeks. He assured me "yes". I called after two weeks, and the representative informed me that the terms required a 6-month service agreement at $17/month (still not sure if this is correct). My service/salesman was ****** *******. The service was great and my only problem was the descrepency between what ****** said and what the rep said. While I have receipts, I do not have a copy of the signed contract with my paperwork.

Desired Settlement: I would like to cancel the service agreement without penalty or charges for work that I did not ask for but was told was "free" with the service contract that I could cancel in two weeks.

Business Response: Final Consumer Response /* (450, 5, 2013/10/12) */ The consumer indicated ONLINE that the business responded to this complaint to his/her satisfaction. He/she also stated: They have credited my account for one installment and verbally told me that I am released from the service contract per my request without penalty.

10/14/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had a problem with my bath tub a clog, and they charged 396 to fix it, they start to work on the clog and I found a big leak on the first floor, I told the plumber and he started looking and found an issue and started working it, after finished he billed me 1061 dlls, I called other plumbing services and the estimate for all was a fraction of what they charge me plus he work on the issue he might cause without my approval and without telling me the price, I feel cheated plus they ripped me off on the price, other plumbers told me to charge me 55 dlls to unclog a bath tub , I would like to at least lower the bill of the service they did, or not get charged of the second job they did without my approval

Desired Settlement: I want a refund of the second service that I did not approve

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/09/03) */ Contact Name and Title: ******* ******* Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: **** I apologize that we didn't take care of the customer to our normal levels. We always strive to provide the best service possible and go above and behind for every customer. it is our policy that every job is quoted up front before any work has been done. the technician spent half a day at Mr. ********'s home based upon that most plumbers would not be significantly less money for the job. I am happy to help out with the bill and am willing to offer a 10% discount for the stress that this customer has felt. I hope that we can provide great service in the future and with the customers acceptance will issue the refund for $106. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 13, 2013/10/11) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Ill accept the offer of 15%, but just for your information i did not signed the additional work, that is a lie, i sign the first quote before the work was done, the second work i did not sign it before doing the job. Final Business Response /* (4000, 11, 2013/09/26) */ This was quoted an signed for before the additional work was performed and it was approved by the owner the most we can do is a 15% discount.

10/7/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Being an advantage member of this company, technician "**********" came to my house on 8/23/2013 for routine checkup for furnace and Air conditioning. He broke my AC on purpose and asked for 700 dollars to fix it. I said my AC was working fine and I didn't call you to come and fix it, rather he accused me that my AC was never working. We had lot of arguments, company cancelled my annual membership because I asked them to fix my AC, they told me that they do not want to do business with me. Technician was very very intimidating, he broke my AC and ran away. I had to call 911 and cops came to my house. I called another company to fix my AC. He found that AC cable was not connected and it was attached to heater, so if I switch on my AC, it will not turn on but heater will turn on. ABC company's technician broke it on purpose and asked for money to fix it.

Desired Settlement: I am looking for my annual membership amount 194.00 refunded to me and compensation for mental and physical harrassment (amount to be decided).

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2013/09/06) */ Contact Name and Title:***** ******* Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: **** On 8/23/2013 we sent our Supervisor out to Mr. ***** home to perform his semi-annual heating and cooling service. Upon arrival at his home, we found that the unit was off and temperature in the house was 77 degrees. We turned on the system only to find that the outside condensing unit (the ac) wasn't coming on. We performed a diagnostic of the unit and found several problems with the unit. We informed Mr. ***** of the condition of his unit. At this time, Mr. ***** claimed that we broke his unit, that is was working earlier in the day and that we needed to fix it for him. Our supervising technician tried to explain to Mr. ***** why his concern was unfounded but Mr. ***** did not care to hear his explanation. He then called the office and talked with Mr.***** *******. Mr. ******* tried to explain the same thing. After Mr. ***** refused to accept either of our explanation. We told Mr. ***** that we can't have a business relationship when there isn't reasonable trust in our diagnostic. We wrote up the invoice informing him of the issues we found and let Mr. ***** know that oor company would be ending our relationship with him. We don't feel there was any mental or physical harrasement for the following reasons 1. Mr. ***** called us to perform his system check when the unit was not working properly 2. We only informed him of the problems his unit was having. At no point did we trying and resolve anything other than the issue he called us for. 3. Mr. ***** called the office to talk to the supervisor and he was connected to that person. 4. At no point did ABC call Mr ***** 5. At no point did we make contact to harass Mr. ***** either physically or Mentally. 6. After it became clear that the two sides couldn't agree on the real cause of the problem, we wrote up an invoice (With No Charges) and left the premises. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 17, 2013/09/19) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I scanned portion of the invoice which describes the findings, ABC has nothing to do with rest of the invoice. However, I am attaching the full invoice for reference. My AC was repaired through home warranty and I had to pay 60 dollars. It is clearly evident that I had no reason to call ABC to fix my AC when I can get it fixed through my home warranty with a small amount and I ended up doing that when ABC rep broke it on purpose. I am seeking legal help to get appropriate compensation. Final Business Response /* (4000, 19, 2013/09/27) */ 1. the unit was not on when we arrived. 2. the house was already 77 degrees inside when we arrived. 3. homeowner paperwork shows there was in fact a problem with the ac. It seems like the only thing that your debating at this point is that we broke your AC? In order to "break" the unit, we would have had to walk down to the furnace, rewire the furnace circuit board system. All of this while we were sending our supervisor out to make sure you were happy. I know that it's frustrating to have a breakdown in your homes system. We have been doing business for 60 years, we have more than 50 people working hard to make sure your happy with your service. Our supervisor, **********, who came to your home has many years of experience, is N.A.T.E certified and was sent to your home with the specific instructions to make sure you were happy so we could earn your business back.

9/3/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Original estimate given for $9500.00. Contract signed on 7/9/2013. On 7/11/13 an additional $1400.00 was requested for work that was to be done - this work was included in the original contract price of 9500.00. Final payment was demanded before the work was completed. Payment was made by credit card so that work would be completed. Estimates were given by two different workers, the work for the second estimate was in the original estimate but work would not be completed if payment was not made.

Desired Settlement: Partial refund - negotiable

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2013/08/20) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ******* - ******* Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ***** Dear Ms. *******, It sounds like we had a communication issue and I'm sorry there has been some confusion. When our electrician made the initial visit to your home, he gave you several quotes including quotes for a standby generator and quotes for updating your aging electrical equipment. At that time, you chose to replace your electric panel and install a standby generator. Of course with this kind of work a building permit is required. When our electrician applied for the permit, the Village required that as a condition of issuing the permit we also replace the electric equipment between the panel and the power company lines. This requirement is village dependent and usually not a requirement for a generator installation. This was additional work that was not in the original quote. We understand that customers want to know the price before we start. That's a reasonable request and that's why we made sure to get approval for the additional work before we started the job. That's why there is a discrepancy between the two invoices. The second invoice reflected the additional work required by the Village. It did not make sense for us to do this added work at no additional charge. Because the work was added after the initial contract was signed, we agreed to do the work at a reduced rate. To summarize, this work was not in the original contract. After applying for the permit, the Village inspector informed us that replacement of the outside equipment was required. Before starting the installation, we received written approval for the additional amount of $1400 for the outside work. I hope that I've been able to more clearly explain the reason for the additional charge. I apologize that we did not explain this clearly enough in the first place. If you have any other questions, please feel free to contact me at XXX-XXX-XXXX. Thanks, ***** ******* Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 9, 2013/08/22) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) We understand that there may have been an additional charge for some of the work to be done but work that had already been included in the original quote price was also in the quote for the additional work to be done. We do not feel that we should have to pay for the same work twice NOTE FROM THE BBB: Please provide a copy of the consumer's signed contract for our review. That copy may be attached to your next response or faxed to XXX-XXX-XXXX. ***** ****** ********* ************ ******** BBB-Chicago & Northern Illinois Final Business Response /* (4000, 11, 2013/08/23) */ To whom it may concern. This issue has been resolved with the customer.

8/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: ABC provided an estimate on 7-17-13, their call XXXXXX, to repair an outside faucet in our residence. They gave an estimate of $539.00. Being that the estimate was so excessive based on the simple repair needed, we contacted licensed plumber who did the repair for $135. It appears the "business model", scam, or business practice that ABC engages in is to charge for giving an estimate and make the estimate so excessive as to be fundamentally dishonest. They make money giving an estimate and if the excessive estimate is accepted, the consumer ends up paying several times what the standard rate for a repair is. This is a fundamentally dishonest practice. I think they need to be required to change their practices to be more honest.

Desired Settlement: $59 refund for the estimate and a change in their business practices.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/08/05) */ Contact Name and Title: **** We base our pricing on the cost of doing business and the level of service we provide. Our service charge is a means to recover a portion of the cost of doing business. a license plumber was dedicated to this customer for over 45 minutes. These plumbers cost the company approximately $121.00 per hour in labor and burden. This doesn't even cover overhead. We issued a $59 refund on 07/31/13 for this customer. they should be receiving a check in the mail.

7/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service
5/21/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
5/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service
4/24/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
3/25/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
3/14/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
3/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service