Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

Root Studios-Ottawa

Phone: (815) 433-1869 Fax: (815) 433-5034 View Additional Phone Numbers 4105 Progress Dr, Ottawa, IL 61350 http://www.hrimaging.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Root Studios-Ottawa include:

  • 7 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Root Studios-Ottawa include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Root Studios-Ottawa
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 21, 2006 Business started: 07/01/2003 Business started locally: 07/01/2003 Business incorporated 01/06/1989 in IL
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Jerry Halterman, Owner Linda Miller, Manager Ryan Reynolds, VP Sales
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jerry Halterman, Owner
Customer Contact: Linda Miller, Manager
Business Category

Photographers - Portrait Photography Schools Photographers - Commercial Photography Studios, Portrait (NAICS: 541921)

Alternate Business Names
HR Imaging Partners HR Imaging Partners, Inc.

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    4105 Progress Dr

    Ottawa, IL 61350 (815) 433-1869 (800) 521-7454 (847) 573-1648 (847) 706-9688

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/28/2015 Problems with Product/Service
6/8/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a 8x10 and digital image of school photos. While ordering his info would only show up on wallets. They have changed the wording on the website after I have sent many emails complaining of his name, year and school being on the photos taking up a great deal of space. When I ordered the info was only to be on the wallets of which I did not order. I have asked them to fix the image and just resend the digital. They told me I could get a refund just to send the product back. I still have not received my 8x10, meaning I cannot send it back. I let them know that and asked them to fix the photos again. They emailed back with "this is how we chose to edit the school photos this year". I then asked them to refund my money or fix the photos or I was contacting the BBB. They have not responded back to me and it has been several days. I am not the only parent they have wronged. I have asked other parents at the same school if they knew they were placing the names, year and school on the photos and they told me that they were not aware of it either and had placed orders that they will not be happy with. Their customer service person ***** told me ******** Since you have the copyright release letter for the digital image of ****** you have the rights to do whatever you want with this digital image. Our company has chosen to have the spring pictures printed with the student's name, logo and year on everything we do for spring this year. There are no changes that can be made.". I cannot do what I wish with the photos. My family are all disgusted with the photos and said they will not display them in their home. The company has the ability to fix this and just won't. I have read and heard many reviews about this company that they are horrible and they do not want to fix problems and have horrible customer service of which I agree. I have the emails saved if you would need those.

Desired Settlement: I want the digital image replaced with the version without the name, year and school info. If that cannot be reached then I am seeking the full refund of $22.00.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2015/05/22) */ The customer can get a full refund simply by contacting customer service. All our flyers and order forms clearly show the product with the student's name, school name and school logo (where provided).

4/6/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Graduation photos in August 2014, paid $10 for it to go into yearbook and $50 deposit towards photos that would be ordered. Told I had to select a photo for year book by Oct of 2014. Went recently to order pictures and told the $50 expired and is only an access fee.

Desired Settlement: The $50 to be applied to my $179.50 order.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2015/03/23) */ In all emails and literature sent to the customer, it clearly states that the customer's $50 deposit can be refunded or applied to an order prior to January 1, 2015. The customer called for online ordering help on October 17 -- at which time their $50 deposit was available. We sent an email notification in mid-December explaining to all customers that their pending deposit would expire on December 31, etc. Our deposit policy is clearly explained in all correspondences with all customers.

1/12/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 10/16/2014 wrote check for school photos. The photo sent home appeared normal and even cute. Upon receiving actual photos 11/20/14. There is visible food on my sons face. I feel this is a photographer error and should have and could have been easily addressed at the time on site. I have called and emailed them. No response back yet. Even if this settles I wish to report for unsatisfactory service. Grooming and clean face at elementary school should be common practice.

Desired Settlement: Would like a refund, so that u can take my child elsewhere to get photos.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 11, 2014/12/03) */ Contact Name and Title: ************* Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email:************************* This complaint was submitted to the BBB on 11/20. The customer contacted our customer service department around 4pm on 11/20; we told the parent that we would look into it and let her know; We were then contacted on 11/20 at 4:43pm CST via email. In the customer's email, she stated that "I do expect a response in a timely manner and will contact the BBB if this mistake is not corrected." The next day, I authorized to digitally remove the food from the child's portrait at no cost. We then contacted the parent and let her know we would offer a full refund or remove the food at no charge. We have not heard back from the parent. I have no problem resolving disputes like this (especially easy ones like this). But it would be nice to be given a chance to fix the problem before a BBB case is opened. Regardless, we are waiting on the parent to be told what to do. And I agree with the parent: the pictures of her child are indeed cute. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 13, 2014/12/04) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I did get a call from company but they told me it would be extra money, 10 cheaper than my whole package. I see they did not state it that way with you. I will contact them and see if they will actually send me pics or refund. Final Business Response /* (4000, 17, 2014/12/30) */ We have been waiting on a response from the customer since 11/21 in which we stated that we would offer either a refund or retouching at no charge. We have not as of yet heard from the customer. We will do whatever the customer wishes. Currently, we are on our winter shutdown until January 5th; but we still monitor customer service email and voicemail. A call or email to customer service after January 5th will resolve this issue.

11/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My son is a senior at his school. His yearbook picture was taken by this company. It was unsatisfactory. Child was sick on day of retakes. Company refuses to make any arrangement for the the picture to be retaken. Child is stuck with unsatisfactory picture that will be saved in hundreds of kids yearbooks for all posterity.

Desired Settlement: Allow the child to schedule an appointment at the company's office to have pictures retaken.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/11/08) */ We have made our Naperville Studio available on Monday, November 11, 2013 from 2 PM until 5 PM. Roberto needs just to walk in and we will fit him in between our Seniors portrait sessions. We will emil his new image to his school. I tried calling the main phone but voice mail is not available. I left a phone message on the daytime phone. November 11, 2013 is the only day that will be available for non seniors.

11/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased picture package D9, valued at $34.00 on 09/26/2013. I utilized the option of adding my child's name to the wallets, for free, if the order was placed online at shop.hrimaging.com. I made payment online and printed the receipt showing my name and ship to address, along with my child's name, school, and event number. The pictures were taken on 09/27/2013. It is now 11/06/2013 and I have not received the pictures. I called the company today for an update, and spoke with someone named ********* I was told that there is a missing connection within the online ordering system so the order did not show an address of where to mail the pictures to. The representative advised me that when this happens, they usually mail the pictures to the school. She then told me that she would submit my order again so I would not have to wait any longer. This confused me for a moment. If the order was already processed and sent to the school like she said, why would the representative put through another order? I thanked her and proceeded to call my child's school. I spoke with an office staff member who advised me that any picture packages were sent home with the appropriate student. I am not sure what day the pictures were sent to my child's school but I know nothing was sent home with my child. I checked the company's website to find out more information on delivery times and I found that I should have received my picture order within 14 business days. Assuming business days are Monday through Friday, it has now been 28 business days and I still have NO pictures. I am under the impression that the original order was never processed and the representative did not want to tell me that. If a company has a system for online ordering of a certain product, you would think that all the "bugs" would be worked out before it will be utilized by the general public. Also that there would be some sort of quality control going on at some aspect of the process between online ordering and delivery of the finished product. I am highly disappointed. I do hope that someone is paying attention so that the credit card used to pay for the original order will not be charged twice.

Desired Settlement: Please process my order ASAP and mail to my HOME, ASAP!!! I feel a special rapid delivery method is in order due to the company's error. I will not be utilizing this company ever again for pictures of any kind in the future.

Business Response: Final Consumer Response /* (450, 5, 2013/11/08) */ The consumer indicated ONLINE that the business responded to this complaint to his/her satisfaction. He/she also stated: Picture package was received today 11/08/2013.

10/21/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On October 1, 2013 at 3:15 PM I called ******************* at (XXX)XXX-XXXX in regards to my recent school photo order which was incorrect and done very unprofessionally. I asked multiple questions in regards to my order which included the reason for the background being an incorrect color, the quality of the picture being poor, and the retouching being done improperly and for every single question the customer service representative named ******** responded by mocking me, laughing at my questions, saying how wrong I am for thinking that I was correct. She was very snippy and rude and in a way made fun of me. I felt like I was a five year old getting scolded by my parent. She did not address my problems just told me I was wrong so I asked for her to email me their brochure so I can check for myself, I also asked her name which she was reluctant about but did finally tell me and rudely while laughing asked "well what's your name" which I said was *****. After ending the call I called back at 3:52 PM in order to get my answers actually answered in which I did while speaking with another representative who was absolutely great in answering my questions and her attitude was amazing but I still asked to speak to a supervisor. I was patched through to a female manager and after I made a complaint against ******** the manager told me that it's impossible that ******** was rude to me because she knows that ******** is a very nice person who never acts like what I described and told me that it must have been my fault. I quickly said thank you and I hope that she speaks to ******** about the incident after she told me again that it must have been me. I said thank you very much and hung up the phone. The service I received during those calls was horrible.

Desired Settlement: Better customer service please.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/10/07) */ ***** ********** called CS. Mom was upset because the background on her daughters picture was not what she was expecting. She was also upset because her daughter has a strand of hair out of place over one cheek. The High School her daughter attends does not accept or offer the jeweltone background. This special background is created at the camera when the picture is taken. Our brochure does have picture samples of the different colors, but they are not offered or available for this school nor did she have the option to pay the additional cost for the special color. Our CS Rep also explained the retouching problem. The following information is on the order form: Basic retouching, add $10.00 to your order. Blemishes on picture day? No worries! Add this option to your picture package. Digital retouching will not remove stray hairs, scars or moles. To order, write R in the options section on the envelope. The basic retouching was paid for. All blemishes were removed from her daughters image. During the phone conversation our rep did offered additional retouching. Her image would have to travel to our special retouchers and the cost would be $20.00. We would request they remove the stray hairs. A copy of the order brochure was emailed to mom. The order brochure shows we do not offer what mom wanted at their particular school. After receiving the emailed order form mom called back and talked to a different rep. Our rep again re-explained the available option. Mom also may return the complete package of pictures for a full refund. I have tried calling the home phone number three times. I apologized on Mrs. ********** voice mail and asked that she please call me back. I have not heard from her. Mom states she wants better customer service, she wanted things we do not offer. During our conversation, after listening to Mrs. **********'s concerns, I explained the first rep she talked to is a very good rep and I have not had a complaint in the past regarding her care. I agreed to mom's demand that I would talk to my rep. If more information is needed, please do not hesitate to contact me.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Root Studios-Ottawa
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)