Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Martin Avenue Pharmacy, Inc.

Phone: (630) 355-6400 Fax: (630) 355-6522 View Additional Phone Numbers 1247 Rickert Dr.  #100, Naperville, IL 60540 http://www.martinavenue.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Martin Avenue Pharmacy, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Martin Avenue Pharmacy, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Martin Avenue Pharmacy, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 19, 1999 Business started: 04/13/1973 Business started locally: 04/13/1973 Business incorporated 03/30/1973 in IL
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation
100 W. Randolph, 9th Fl, Chicago IL 60601
http://www.idfpr.com
Phone Number: (312) 814-4500

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Thomas G. Marks, Owner Ms. Alice Marks, VP / Sec Mr. Matthew Marks, Director of Operatio
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Matthew Marks, Director of Operatio
Principal: Mr. Thomas G. Marks, Owner
Business Category

Pharmacies Vitamins & Food Supplements Consultants - Pharmaceutical Health & Wellness Skin Care Internet Shopping Pharmacies and Drug Stores (NAICS: 446110)


Additional Locations

  • 1247 Rickert Dr.
    #100

    Naperville, IL 60540 (630) 355-6400

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/29/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My Doctor prescribed medication that required compounding on June 2, 2015. I contacted Martin Avenue pharmacy to see if they were capably of provided the medicine in a timely manner. They told me it would be available for pickup in 2 days. I called the pharmacy on June 4 and they said it would be ready that afternoon. When I arrived at the pharmacy they only compounded half and that half was not fully cured and I could not take it until late that evening. I already gave them my credit card prior to compounding, however, since I never received the medicine because of their mistake they refuse to issue a refund. I signed nothing and picked up nothing. I went to the Hospital Pharmacy who compounded the medicine immediately so I could take it. This is our first child and the medicine was urgently needed. I am sure you can understand our frustration and concern.

Desired Settlement: I want my $98.95 refunded back to my credit card. I never took receipt of the medicine due to the Pharmacies mistake.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/06/16) */ Contact Name and Title: ******** ******** Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: ****@martinavenue.com Full refund given.

2/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: About two years ago, about one month after hospitalization for pneumonia, I was diagnosed with Guillain-Barre Syndrome. My condition was serious enough to qualify me for a handicap-parking placard. After having fallen several times (once severely enough to have fractured my coccyx), my doctor prescribed drop-foot braces. I had that prescription filled on August 21, 2013 at the Martin Avenue Pharmacy in Naperville, Illinois. Around the beginning of December, a plastic strap on one of the braces broke - and I returned to the pharmacy for a repair (I believe that for an item costing more than $300, an implied warrantee exists for more than the three months I had used those braces). When I returned those braces, I was told that only the owner of the pharmacy (*** *****) was qualified to properly fit the replacement braces - and that since he was semi-retired and only in the store for a brief period each week, I would have to return when he was available (this was consistent with the information I had been given when I originally bought the braces - so I did not suspect anything wrong). I asked when he would be available, and they told me they would have him call me - but for the next seven weeks I did not hear from them. I had gone into the store at least twice a week during that time, and each time I got the same reply. How long should I have to wait for braces I desperately need? Finally, I received a call that *** ***** would be in the store at 1:30pm on January 17th. I arrived at the store, and though I could see *** ***** wandering idly around the store, he kept me waiting for more than ½ hour before finally waiting on me. He brought out a replacement brace for the one that broke - but it was smaller than the one I already had. He tried to adjust that brace and convince me to use it anyway - but I demurred (after trying to walk within the store with two different size braces, I felt completely off-balance and uncomfortable). He then said that he could try to order a larger size - but because of the experience I had already gone through for the previous seven weeks, I again said no. I told him that I wanted a refund of my money so that I could buy those braces elsewhere - but he refused. After that experience, I no longer have confidence in the store's integrity - and thus I wish to receive a refund of the $316.39 paid for those braces.

Desired Settlement: Whereas a replacement and/or repair would have been acceptable when I first returned the defective braces - after being put off for more than seven weeks and then still not receiving an acceptable replacement, I now want a complete refund of my purchase price. Furthermore, if I accepted a replacement and it later broke again - what would be my recourse if *** ***** completely retires, becomes hospitalized, or even dies (nobody else in the store is qualified to make adjustments)? That is why I now seek a complete refund.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/01/27) */ Contact Name and Title: ******* Director of Oper Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: ****@martinavenue.com Dear ******* *******, I am sorry that you are having trouble with your brace. Please be aware braces are considered a personal care item and are non-returnable to our facility. This is done for the safety of the patient since no one is going to want to buy a used brace. Signs stating this policy are located throughout our facility. I know this does not resolve your situation; however every option that has been made available to you including ordering another brace at your expense has been presented. Please know, ****** ***** R.Ph., is semi-retired and has been for over a year. In addition, during his forty plus years of experience has received extensive training in fitting orthopedic braces. His expertise is very detailed in this area. I am sorry that I am unable to resolve your issue. Thank you for choosing Martin Avenue Pharmacy and I am sorry we can not be of assistance. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/01/27) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Their response is totally unacceptable. At the time of the purchase, I saw their signs indicating braces were not returnable. I interpreted that to mean I could not change my mind after the purchase - but I did not expect that to mean they would not stand behind a defective product that cost more than $300 and failed after only 3 months of use. What kind of option do they claim to offer me by allowing me to purchase another set of braces at my expense? Furthermore, their response completely ignores the 7 week delay I experienced between the time I returned the broken brace and the time I finally received any response from the store (see my original complaint for a complete explanation). Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/02/03) */ Hello *******, I understand you are frustrated, but Martin Avenue Pharmacy is unable to assist you further with this issue. Braces are considered a personal care item and can not be returned. I am sorry that we can not help you any further. Have a great day. Sincerely, ******* ***** Director of Operations Martin Avenue Pharmacy, Inc.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Martin Avenue Pharmacy, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)