This business is not BBB accredited.

Baxter International, Inc.

Phone: (847) 948-2000 Fax: (224) 948-1813 View Additional Phone Numbers One Baxter Parkway, Deerfield, IL 60015 View Additional Email Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Baxter International, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Baxter International, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1964 Business started: 10/19/1931 Business started locally: 10/19/1931
Type of Entity


Business Management
Marilyn Rodbro, Operations Manager Vicki Berger, Customer Response As
Contact Information
Principal: Marilyn Rodbro, Operations Manager
Number of Employees


Business Category

Pharmaceutical Products - Wholesale & Manufacturing Pharmaceutical Products - Research Health & Medical - General Medicinal and Botanical Manufacturing (NAICS: 325411)

Alternate Business Names
Baxter Healthcare Corporation

Additional Locations


    One Baxter Parkway

    Deerfield, IL 60015 (800) 422-9837


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/24/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received an email from ******* Plasma Services and their parent company is Baxter International. The email was stating that I would receive a $100 bonus on my BioLife Visa Debit Card of a $100 on June 29th, 2015. The bonus was for donating plasma 12 times from May 4th, to June 27th. I have donated 12 times and I called Baxter and complained that I have not gotten that bonus and they said the would call me back and I complained about a week ago and they did not call me back yet on the phone number listed in this complaint to the BBB. I was wondering if you can help me solve this issue! Thanks!

Desired Settlement: I am just seeking that honor the email and put the $100.00 on my ************** Visa Debt Card!

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/07/10) */ Unfortunately, this donor received an email that was not intended for him. The email was for a promotion for which he was not eligible to participate (nor was any other donor at his donation center). Within a very short time frame the same day the erroneous email was sent, the donor received a retraction/correction email from ******** letting him know he received the email by mistake and it was not intended for him. The donor's behaviors were not influenced by the email because there was no extended gap between receiving the incorrect email and the correction email. Since the donor received the correction email the same day he would not have had time to take any actions to participate in the erroneous promotion he received at first. Additionally, the donor's donation center was running a different promotion in which the donor was already participating and this was publicized by a multitude of signage posted in his donation center. So the donor did have a chance to participate in his location's correct promotion. Also, the donor did have a chance to talk with the manager at his donation center about his concern regarding the email. We go to great lengths to make sure a donor receives messages intended for him or her, and we apologize for the mistake and issued a timely correction so as to keep the donor informed of this mistake.

3/9/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: We have informed customer service that we lived in a gated community and informed them that to call my wife's number because she is in charge of accepting delivery. Numerous times the driver keeps calling me from an unknown number and ask to call them for any questions. Again! we have told them to call my wife since I'm at work and I can't help them. This happens every month and I am getting sick and tired of their stupidity, miscommunication with their drivers. This will not be the only complain I'm filling. If this keeps going I am going to file another complain to the higher companies until this gets resolved.

Desired Settlement: Pleas fix your communication issues with your drivers and customer service and make sure to relay important information to them.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2015/02/26) */ We have made 8 deliveries to this location. This is the first compliant we have heard about. We have researched the details of this delivery complaint. The driver attempted to make delivery and called the wife first to let her know he was there. There was no answer after 3 attempts so he left voice mails to call back. He then went to the next contact number which was the husband's number. There was no answer so the driver left a message on that line as well. Since the location is a gated community, the driver moved onto his other stops. The husband's number will be removed from the contact info the driver gets and we will make sure the only contact info there is will be the wife's number. This should eliminate any calls to the husband. Moving forward, if we can't reach the wife and can't get access to deliver, we will have to reschedule delivery and a fee will apply.

7/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On June 16th I placed a normal monthly order for dialysis supplies with Baxter Homecare Services phone # XXX-XXX-XXXX. this order included 25 cases of my most important solution. When the delivery arrived on June 30, there were NO cases of the 2.5% 5 liter bags I need, and no explanation for them not being there. I immediately called ****** and spoke with ******** She seemed a bit unwilling to help but finally said she would order 5 cases to arrive on July 3, to carry me though the weekend. When I did not get my pre-delivery call on July 2, I called again, spoke with ******* she did not see any notes or record of my call on June 30. She assured me she would get my supply of 5 cases to arrive on July 3. She phoned back on July 3, saying again that the 5 cases would be delivered. At 5:15 PM, I phoned again, spoke with **** to see if we should still expect a delivery. She put me on hold for a while, then said the cases were scheduled to arrive between 7:15 and 7:30 PM. The shipment arrived at 9:45PM. I am now faced with a repeat performance of this situation, because my supply will run out on Monday, and I need the remaining 20 cases to properly performed my home dialysis. ****** is toying with my health by their callous handling of my medical supply order. No one really seems to care about following through causing myself and perhaps other patients to wonder if we will soon have to be hospitalized to be able to continue our dialysis. This process used to work quite smoothly. It is now broken. Last month my order arrived in four separate pieces, 3 of them placed on the porch for us to carry inside. These are heavy boxes and moving them around is a chore.

Desired Settlement: Get my delivery back on track, or give us an alternate solution using another vendor.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/07/09) */ Customer's account and all three phone calls (June 30, July 2 and July 3) were reviewed by the supervisor and it was determined that all agents followed up on the order as requested by customer. The customer's local warehouse is Charlotte, NC; but because the 5 cases of product needed to get her through the weekend was not currently available from that warehouse, the products were shipped on 7/3/14 via courier service from the Durham, NC warehouse approximately 3 hours away from the customer's home. The customer called on July 3 at 4:13pm and was given an ETA of 7:15-7:30pm along with the phone number to the courier service so that she could call them directly if she needed to. Unfortunately, the product did not arrive until 9:45pm. A follow-up call to the courier service revealed that the original ETA of X:XX-X:XXpm was not met because of heavy holiday traffic and a large number of other Baxter deliveries on the truck. The order for the remaining 20 cases has been confirmed and filled from the Charlotte warehouse and scheduled for inside delivery on 7/8/14 between 8am and 11 am. The supervisor called the customer and notified her of the 7/8/14 delivery.