Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Pocket Puppies Boutique

Phone: (773) 857-1519 2479 N Clark St, Chicago, IL 60614 http://www.pocketpuppiesboutique.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Pocket Puppies Boutique meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Pocket Puppies Boutique include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Pocket Puppies Boutique
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 11, 2007 Business started: 06/30/2006 Business started locally: 06/30/2006
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Illinois Department of Agriculture
100 W Randolph St, Ste 10-700, Chicago IL 60601
http://www.agr.state.il.us
Phone Number: (800) 582-0468

Business Management
Mr. Lane Boron, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Lane Boron, President
Business Category

Pet Shops Pet Supplies & Foods - Retail Pet Grooming Pet and Pet Supplies Stores (NAICS: 453910)


Additional Locations

  • 2479 N Clark St

    Chicago, IL 60614 (773) 857-1519

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/12/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I visited Pocket Puppies on May 30, 2015 and I inquired about a Micro teacup Yorkie puppy. Pocket Puppies brought out a Micro teacup Yorkie puppy which I decided right then and there that was the puppy I wanted. After advising me the cost and telling me that I could not take her home right then because she had to be a certain weight, I paid the deposit and left. On June 4, 2015, I picked up the puppy, who I named Jade, with instructions for care and food products. Also Pocket Puppies recommended I take her to their vet within 24hrs, to which I did the same day. In addition to giving shots to Jade, Animal Care Center prescribed Jade ********, for what they thought was for a cold. (Please note this was on the day I purchased puppy) Jade was very active and eating well, but she did not respond to the medication and it appeared the "cold" symptoms were getting worst. On June 22, 2015, we made another visit to Animal Care Center because of the "cold", and she was prescribed Clindamycin Drops. Jade totally had a bad reaction to this new medication so we returned to Animal Care Center June 25, 2015, where she was prescribed Neo-poly Dex Solution and was told to discontinue the Clindamycin. On July 9, 2015, Jade was returned to Animal Care Center for a follow-up. Jade never responded well to the medication and still had what the breeder refers to as a "cold". The vet recommended trying the ******** again, which was the very first medications prescribed, and also Diphenhydramine HCI. The vet also related at that time that if the medication didn't work further testing may need to be done because there could be a more serious matter. The symptoms never cleared during the entire time of administering the medications and progressively got worst. On August 14, 2015, Jade condition got so bad that she became very lethargic and lifeless. We took her to the nearest hospital where she was admitted right away. At this time, I called Pocket Puppies and advised them of the situation and Alex (Pocket Puppies) advised me to go and get her from the local hospital and take her back to their vet at the Animal Care Center. Animal Care Center admitted Jade on August 14, 2015 and on August 19, 2015, Jade was released. On August 19, 2015, Jade appeared better but still very sick. On August 20, 2015, we returned Jade to Animal Care Center because she wasn't progressing enough and still needed medical attention. On August 20, 2015, Animal Care Center called about Jade and related that she should get additional testing done (blood work, cat scan, etc) because there may be an internal problem. At that time I advised them to call Pocket Puppies because they were picking up the cost. On August 20, 2015, about 45 minutes to an hour after being notified by Animal Care Center that Jade should have test done, Animal Care Center called to tell me that Lane (owner of Pocket Puppies) came and pickup of Jade and took Jade home with him. (Never did I give my consent or was it ever discussed with me that Lane (owner of Pocket Puppies) was going to get my dog)

Desired Settlement: Jade has been with Lane/Pocket Puppies from August 20, 2015 until present. On August 21, 2015 I called Pocket Puppies because (1) I had not heard from them at all and the only update was from the vet, (2) I never gave permission for them to take Jade from the hospital and (3) what were they going to do differently with Jade then the doctor. I spoke with Alex and Desiree several times who told me that Jade was at the owner's home doing very well. I ask them to have Lane (the owner) call me back on several different occasions. When I finally spoke with Lane, it was at a time when I called Pocket Puppies and he answered the telephone. I've been told on several different occasions by Pocket Puppies that Jade is doing fine and she just has a cold that will clear up. Lane (owner) related to me that she just needs a heating pad and to continue the medication and she will be just fine. He told me to come in and pick Jade up after the holiday, which I agreed to come in on Wednesday, September 9, 2015. I arrived at Pocket Puppies at about 11:30am on September 9, 2015, to find Jade active and moving about. Since August 14, 2015 until now, Jade has not been in my care but I was continuously keeping in contact with the doctors and Pocket Puppies, both giving me totally different information. When I arrived on September 9, 2015, Desiree was going over the required medication and doses when Jade started to form mucus in the nose and it started bubbling. Also the left eye was starting to crust over. I refused to take Jade in that condition and left the store. I immediately called Animal Care Center who suggested they would have Pocket Puppies bring Jade in for further evaluations. Dr. Krohl called me back to let me know she took a look at Jade and that she can't conclude that Jade has a cold without further testing. After looking at Jade on Friday, September 11, 2015, Dr. Krohl did say that the testing is very expensive and may not be economically feasible. Dr. Krohl also stated that she would consider sending Jade back to the breeder. Please note, at no time did Lane (owner) let me know that he took Jade to Animal Care Center for Dr. Krohl to evaluate. All the information I received was from the doctor until Saturday, September 12, 2015 when Lane called to say Dr. Krohl gave Jade a wonder drug and miraculously she was heeled and that I could come and get her. On September 15, 2015, I called Dr. Krohl to inquire about the medications that she prescribed and if it would be something that would have to be continuously administered to Jade. Dr Krohl responded that she did not prescribe any more medication and there was no medication that would work overnight for Jade. After the brief conversation with Dr. Krohl, I contacted Pocket Puppies and I spoke with John and explained the conversations I had with the Dr. Krohl and previous conservations with Animal Care Center, and to ask for a refund. Pocket Puppies told me I had only two options none of which works out in my favor: (1) Sign a release form to release my owner rights so they can find a home for Jade (2) Leave Jade at Pocket Puppies for them to nurse her back to health because it's just a cold In summary, Jade has had a cold since I picked her up since June 4, 2015. The medications are not working and looking at the medical records they keep going back to the same medications. The doctors are saying that Jade need test done because it is a possibly that something more serious is wrong with Jade. I'm not a vet but I know a cold doesn't last six months. Lane (owner) of Pocket Puppies is not responding to me and everything is now going through a third party, the employees at the store. Pocket Puppies has continued to lie to me about Jade's condition and even the care provided to her by the doctors. Jade was an unhealthy puppy when I purchased it from pocket puppies. I want a refund or an exchange at the very least.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/09/28) */ Contact Name and Title: Lane ***** Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ****@pocketpuppies.com Mrs. ***** has picked up her puppy and Pocket Puppies has re iterrated its gaurantee to Mrs. *****. While colds are not covered in the Pocket Puppies contract betond 30 daysPocket Puppies has stated it would go beyond its contract and cover the cold until it is gone. The puppy improved greatly and Mrs ***** was satisfied with our gaurantee to her.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Pocket Puppies Boutique
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)