Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Happiness Is Pets of Arlington Hts.

Phone: (847) 593-7330 Fax: (847) 593-7372 15 W. Golf Rd., Arlington Heights, IL 60005 http://www.happinessispets.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Happiness Is Pets of Arlington Hts. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Happiness Is Pets of Arlington Hts. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Happiness Is Pets of Arlington Hts.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 09, 2000 Business started: 06/01/1987 in IL Business started locally: 06/01/1987 Business incorporated 04/17/2002 in IL
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Illinois Department of Agriculture
100 W Randolph St, Ste 10-700, Chicago IL 60601
http://www.agr.state.il.us
Phone Number: (800) 582-0468

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Ronald Berning, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Ronald Berning, President
Business Category

Pet Shops Pet Supplies & Foods - Retail Pet and Pet Supplies Stores (NAICS: 453910)

Alternate Business Names
Happiness IS Pets Happiness Is Pets of Arlington Heights, Inc.

Additional Locations

  • 15 W. Golf Rd.

    Arlington Heights, IL 60005 (847) 593-7330

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/15/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
5/14/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: May 12, 2015. Not one person was in this store. The animals are all dirty. Not sure why the employee would not come out from behind the counter to show us a dog. We asked, and then he said he doesn't show dogs unless we are buying? I think you need to see if you bond with the animal. You need to see the dog before you know if you will buy it. What kind of business is this? The man then told me he sells dogs all the time and waived me out of the store. I have a right to shop and ask to see the dogs before I purchase. I feel very discrimated against. I was with my husband and there was no reason to think we would not purchase a dog. We had just come from a shelter in Morton Grove and stopped on our way home . t=

Desired Settlement: I think I would like the owner to respond to the complaint about the staff and also the dirty condition of the store. It seems to me if the employee spent some time with potential customers I wouldn't be writing this complaint. He basically didn't want to give us service and I would like to know why.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/05/14) */ I am sorry to hear that Ms. ****** was not pleased with the service she received on May 12th. Upon speaking with the manager and other staff working in the store at the time, I unfortunately received a different narrative. In an effort to help determine what kind of breed/puppy a customer is looking for and to help keep the stress levels low on puppies, we may ask some simple questions prior to allowing customers to interact with the puppies. When Ms. ****** inquired if the puppies "can come out to play" the manager informed her that we strive to minimize the amount of stress on the puppies by limiting how often customers "play" with them. The manager then asked Ms. ****** if she was in the market for a puppy or just wanted to play with puppies and she stated she was unsure. The manager then informed Ms. ****** that we unfortunately do not take the puppies out "just to play." However, if Ms. ****** was looking for a puppy he would show her some. I have been informed by two different employees in the store at this time that Ms. ****** became rather irate by this statement and stated "this place sucks!", to which the manager replied "Ok, have a nice day." Ms. ****** became more irate and began making a scene, at which point she was politely asked to leave the store. I am told that Ms. ****** then left the store and began knocking on the window and began making obscene gestures to the manager. Ms. ******'s statement that the "animals are all dirty." is preposterous. If the puppies were in fact "all filthy" why would she want to play with one? We have more than ample kennel staff to feed, clean and care for every puppy in our store. Ultimately, I am sorry that the situation unfolded the way it did. However, the health of our puppies is our number one priority. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/05/14) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I will gladly respond point by point since the owner did not address the point of the conplaint. #1. The staff did not ask what kind of puppy or breed I was looking for. He did not come out from behind his counter. He stayed behind the counter the entire time I was looking at dogs with my husband. This fact can not be disputed because there is a witness. My husband. #2 When I approached the counter, I asked to "see a dog" Can you show us a dog? I never used the word play. If the owner and employee change what was actually requested verbally by stating we asked to play with a dog, it makes it easy for them to excuse why they didn't show us a dog. Becuase they don't want to stress a dog out?We didn't ask to play with dogs. Period that is not true. I am positive the word play wasn't used. I never used the word unsure at all. This part of their response is a complete falsehood the word unsure was never used. #3 There was never more than one person on the floor so the statement about two employees hearing a statement of "this place sucks" is not true. I said in the original complaint that I told the desk person that his remark about I don't show dogs unless you are interested to buy was ridiculous, I said of course we are here to buy- Why else would we be in the store? I also asked how can you sell dogs like this? To which he replied I have sold many dogs. #4 If there was any way that this staff member was interested in showing a dog or trying to make a sale he would of at that point used whatever customer service or sales skills he had and tried to work with the customer and say. I am sorry I would like to explain why we make that statement, or perhaps I didn't know if you were seriously looking. He could have cared less about his comment or how he treated us, which I find to be offensive and discriminatory. In fact when I told my husband lets leave he doesn't want to show us a dog, the desk person used his hand to wave us off, in other words, good bye, I am not helping you. I ask again, what did we do up to this point to derserve this treatment? Now after we have left the store I am feeling pretty bad that we had not once been treated like a real customer, with real intentions to look at a dog, without even a care from the person who would not budge from behind the counter. Might I add face down to the cell phone!! when he managed to lift his head up was when I was out of the store and I did knock on the window. No obscene gesture. I said I will be reporting you this place is dirty and you were rude. Those were my exact words, I stand by those words. The place is dirty, the dogs feet were standing in feces. The staff was rude. To state that there was an obscene gesture will move the attention back to me and divert from the real problem. Sorry but even though you are trying to say there was a rude gesture by me I believe the rude gesture is when your desk guy waved me off... I think what the ownners response is lacking any responsibilty for how his employees treat customers. I think if you can't look objectively at what is happening in your store, you might be in denial. If the store was clean and the animals were kept in decent conditions there would be no reason to bring that up. Then the complaint would just be about the employees. The reason I am writing back is because the owners response is clearly standard. If the owner were in the store at the time I was he might not be happy with the fact that dogs had feces on their feet and bottom of cage grates. It wasn't one cage. If the owner was in the store and saw his front man on a cell phone and head down and never once coming out to greet a guest or ask if he could help, he might not be sending me this blanket standard statement. The last sentence about ultimately being sorry the situation unfolded does not really answer to his staff behavior or discriminatory treatment my husband and I received. Who determines who is a prospective buyer? The guy with his head down that I said didn't budge from the counter. That is what the owner needs to address and that is a question he is dodging by stating the puppies are the number one priority. (Get a camera and see what your guy is doing) Resonse from business owner unacceptable. Mrs. ****** ******

6/2/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On April 23rd went to this store to look at a puppy i was interested in buying, i found the puppy i wanted and purchased it the same day. I paid $1,863.00 total for the puppy, the following morning the puppy was coughing really bad, and continues coughing till this day,but mostly in the early am. I have taken the puppy to the vet twice, which they paid for, and got antibodies the first time, the vet said she had a upper respiratory causing sneezing and coughing, anyways the medicine is not working, and the puppy is still sick, i have called the store to talk to the owner of the store and left my phone number to return mt call with no return call, and this is why i am filling this complaint, i don't think it is fair they sold me a sick puppy after the price i paid for it,

Desired Settlement: Some of my money back.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/05/21) */ ********* ******* of Happiness Is Pets spoke with Ms. ******* this afternoon, May 21st. Ms. ******* will be taking "*****" to our veterinarian for follow up care and possible testing. This will be done at no cost to Ms. *******. We will be in contact with her throughout the process until the issue is resolved. Thank you, *** *******


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Happiness Is Pets of Arlington Hts.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)