BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 05/01/2002

ABC Humane Wildlife Control & Prevention Inc.

Find a Location

Phone: (847) 870-7175Fax: (847) 392-9925View Additional Phone Numbers1418 E Olive St, Arlington HeightsIL 60004-5023 Send email to ABC Humane Wildlife Control & Prevention Inc.View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

ABC Humane Wildlife Control and Inspection, Inc. is a pest control company which provides wildlife remediation and pest intrusion prevention services for residential and commercial customers. This company serves the greater Chicagoland area, including Hinsdale, Wheaton, Oak Brook, Naperville, Rolling Meadows, Mt Prospect, Prospect Heights, Palatine, Des Plaines, Inverness, Schaumburg, Buffalo Grove, Wheeling, Hoffman Estates, Barrington, Park Ridge, Northbrook, Deer Park, Kildeer, Long Grove, Bannockburn, Lincolnshire, Riverwoods, Itasca, Bensenville, and Wood Dale. Services available from this company include animal control and removal, insect control and removal, commercial bat proofing, commercial bird proofing, municipal animal control, soiled attic insulation replacement, and animal entry and exit hole sealing.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 05/01/2002

BBB has determined that ABC Humane Wildlife Control & Prevention Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised ABC Humane Wildlife Control & Prevention Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues2
Problems with Product / Service4
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on ABC Humane Wildlife Control & Prevention Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (6)BBB Closure Definitions
02/17/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On January 5, 2014, I heard some noise coming from my attic. At times, I heard something that even sounded like something/someone jumped on my roof. I thought maybe a rodent got into my attic. I was very worried because I have 6 yr old daughter living with me so I wanted to take care of any potential problems quickly. I called ABC Humane Wildlife on Monday, January 6, 2014 to ask someone to come out to check out my issue. They said they would charge for an inspection. If they didn't find any evidence of entry, it would be $90. Otherwise, it would be $150. I agreed. They were able to come out on January 7, 2014. ***** and **** came out to assess the area. ***** said he thinks possibly that a raccoon got into my attic. He said that the fan blade of my big attic vent was bent, and so the noise I heard on my roof was probably the raccoon getting in or out. He stated that I would want to replace the vent. At this time, there was a lot of snow and ice on my roof. ***** said they would have to come back later to get rid of some of the ice in order to install a special trap on my roof by the attic vent. Two days later the trap was installed. ***** informed me that it was a special trap so it would be $250. He suggested I call their office in Arlington Hts to give them a credit card number to authorize the charge. If a rodent was trapped, then it would be $75 each time to come and retrieve the rodent. I said OK. I called the office and authorized them to charge my **** card. They charged my card $250. They never sent me an invoice or receipt of payment. I guess when they installed the trap, they also animal proofed the rest of my vents. I think there were 4 others. They covered the vents with these black metal mesh type things that they screwed into my roof. I never authorized that nor was I ever provided any estimate of cost to do that work. One week went by since they installed the trap and vent covers, no animal was ever trapped. ***** called me to set up an appt to have the trap removed and to assess any damage in the attic. I told him I wanted someone to come out on Saturday, January 18, 2014 after 10 am. He said he would take care of it. He failed to do so. I called Saturday morning and I was told no appt was made. So now they had to come out Sunday, January 19, 2014. *** came out and assessed my attic. He said that you could see where the rodent had been by the marks left in the insulation. However, he said that there really wasn't much damage and no foul odor from possible urine or feces. *** then went outside and removed the trap and animal proofed the big attic vent with the same material as the other vents. Again, I didn't ask for it and didn't know if someone was going to talk to me later about pricing. On January 21, my **** card was charged $670 which I didn't know until later when I checked my account online. I was very upset. Again, no one gave me an estimate of cost for this nor an invoice or anything. I was very upset. I called ABC Humane Wildlife on Monday, January 27, 2014 around 6 pm. I got their answering service. I spoke with ***** who was in another state. I told her the situation that I was basically charged $920 and never received any type of estimate or invoice. ***** was sorry for what happened and said she would relay my message to them and that someone would get back to me within 1 business day. It is now Saturday, February 1 and no one has called me. One last thing, ***** told me that they are roofing specialists. I had an issue with lack of insulation in my attic and wanted to get an estimate. ***** said that he would gladly work with me on that after the animal control problem was addressed. No one ever contacted me after *** removed the trap. Obviously, at this point, I have absolutely no interest in giving them any more of my business.

Desired Settlement
I want ABC Humane Wildlife to refund the $670 they charged my **** card without my authorization and remove their animal proofing covers from my vents and make sure they properly seal all the holes made in my roof from the screws to install those covers.

Business Response
Upon our receipt of this complaint, we were extremely concerned about the claims that Ms. ****** made. It is in no way our desire or intention to install products or provide service that our customers do not ask for. Our general manager has already contacted Ms. ****** to discuss this situation and arrange to rectify the situation as soon as possible.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
**** the owner called me on Thursday Feb. 13 and left me a message stating he sincerely apologizes for what had happened. He said that he truly does not know how that mistake occurred. He asked that I return his call so he could rectify the situation. I called him back and we discussed my options. I could keep the vent guards and he would only charge me his cost for the products or I could have the vent guards removed and he would refund the $670. His cost for the vent guards was $385 which is $285 less than what I was charged. I thought that seemed like a fair offer. I called **** back on Friday Feb. 14 and said I would keep the vent guards and be refunded $285. **** said that he would begin processing the refund and that it should be completed by middle of next week (Feb. 19 or so) and I would receive an email summarizing what was discussed. I said that was fine. I also requested that I receive a receipt of payment for the original $250 I was charged for the trap. **** agreed to the request.

**** was very pleasant to deal with and sounded genuinely sorry for what had happened. I am glad the matter was resolved in a very positive manner. I will check my credit card account next week to make sure the credit went through.

06/17/2013Problems with Product / Service
04/24/2013Problems with Product / Service
06/20/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Contracted with this company in regards to a raccoon getting into our attic.

Was told on the initial call that they would take care of EVERYTHING....getting rid of the animal(s), taking care of any damage in the attic.

Raccoon never came back, upon the "inspection" of the attic, their employee made the ASSUMPTION that PERHAPS there MIGHT be asbestos insulation, without seeing any.

The only insulation in the attic is PINK FIBERGLASS, and have PICTURES to PROVE.

Desired Settlement
Obviously this company could care less about holding to what was originally promised.

Perhaps this company can inform ME of what they should do about this complaint!

Business Response
We are very sorry to hear that Mr. ***** was not completely satisfied with the service we provided. We were contracted to help with an issue he was having with a raccoon that had entered his home and was denning in the attic space. We performed an initial inspection of the property and set a trap. The raccoon ended up leaving the property and not returning, so the trap was removed. After the raccoon had left the area we installed several animal proof vent guards at Mr. *****'s request.
It appears that Mr. ***** is concerned with the findings of our attic inspection. Our technician identified three different types of insulation in the attic. The northern portion of the attic was indeed insulated with fiberglass batts as Mr. ***** stated. The southern portion of the attic contained little to no insulation of any type. The western portion of the attic (in the area of the front roof peak) contained a sheeted, blanket-style insulation which was not fiberglass. Given the age of the home, and the apparent age of this insulation, we determined that there was a strong possibility that the insulation contained asbestos.
Safety is always one of our top priorities, both for our employees and for the occupants of any buildings that we work in. Asbestos is a known carcinogen and its use has been discontinued for decades, although it can still be present in older buildings. Asbestos abatement requires special licensing and training that we do not possess. For the sake of health and safety concerns, if there is a possibility that asbestos is present we have to assume that it is until proven otherwise. The suspect material would need to be tested by someone with the appropriate licensing and equipment to determine conclusively if asbestos was present.
The attic inspection was performed by one of our Senior Technicians who has inspected hundreds of attic spaces in his time with our company. He also consulted with one of our managers who, in addition to having over eight years of experience with our company, also has a background in masonry and home construction. Between the two of them they made the determination that there was a strong possibility that the blanket-style insulation contained asbestos. The Senior Technician who performed the inspection also took pictures of the three different areas of the attic space, which can be made available upon request.
Finding asbestos insulation is not a common occurrence. Products containing asbestos have not been used since 1978 and much of the asbestos insulation that was installed prior to that has already been removed from buildings. When we informed Mr. ***** that we would be able to take care of the removal of the animal as well as any preventative animal proofing and remediation necessary, it was not our intent to mislead him. Unfortunately, we are not licensed for asbestos abatement. It is one of the few areas of remediation work that we are unable to perform. Since it is such a rare occurrence it is not typically something that we bring up to our clients. If a licensed third party is able to verify that the insulation in question does not contain asbestos, we would be happy to provide an estimate and perform this work for Mr. *****.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
According to the "senior technician", in a phone conversation with me, the person he "consulted" with was his construction foreman (his words). And based on hearsay, between the two of them, as I stated in my original complaint, the maybe, might be, could be, we don't know so screw you basically. We are responsible for paying for the vent guards which were placed on the vents. We also will begrudgingly paying the attic inspection, even though what was represented to me in my original phone call with them WAS NOT DONE. We will also make everyone we know in the Chicago area exactly what kind of company this is, so what happened to us perhaps won't happen to someone else. BUYER BEWARE!

Final Business Response
It is never our intention to knowingly mislead our customers or misrepresent our company or the services we provide. While we are not licensed to perform asbestos abatement, this is not something that we have found necessary to bring up to potential customers since it is exceedingly rare to encounter asbestos-containing insulation in residential homes. The determination that there is a possibility of asbestos insulation was not one that was made lightly. The consequences of exposure to asbestos without proper precautions include mesothelioma and lung cancer. Because of this, it is something that we treat very seriously. We are not willing to expose our employees or our customers to this level of risk if it is not necessary. If a licensed asbestos professional can confirm that the material does not contain asbestos then we would be glad to perform the remediation work. It would be irresponsible and dangerous for us to proceed with work once we have identified this type of risk.
We have successfully assisted with making sure the home is free of intrusive wildlife and installing preventative, guaranteed animal proof materials to protect the home. The additional visit to inspect the attic after the conclusion of the trapping and animal proofing process was done so at no additional charge as a courtesy to the homeowner. Every step that we have taken in the work conducted here has been done in the best interest of our client. If the attic insulation does not, in fact, contain any asbestos, then we would be happy to continue assisting them with any additional remediation.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
It appears they "copied and pasted" exactly what they wrote the last time. By the way, this company has never contacted me about this by phone or by mail (the only mail from them is the invoice for "services rendered".

This quote: The additional visit to inspect the attic after the conclusion of the trapping and animal proofing process was done so at no additional charge as a courtesy to the homeowner." *

I was told from the very beginning that the visit to inspect the attic was part of the original process!

Can you say ******

06/05/2013Billing / Collection Issues
07/27/2013Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Pest Control Services, Bat Removal, Bee Removal, Squirrel Removal, Skunk Removal, Raccoon Removal, Animals - Nuisance Control - Trapping, Animal Carcass Removal, Bed Bug Removal, Fumigation Services, Ant Control, Bird Barriers, Repellents & Controls, Bird & Wildlife Supply Shops, Animal Rescue Relocation

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 07/27/1990Business started: 08/01/1976
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Vito Brancato (Branch Coordinator)Customer Contact: Mr. Joshua Fisher (Office Manager)Ms. Rebecca Fyffe (Owner)
Business Category

Pest Control Services, Bat Removal, Bee Removal, Squirrel Removal, Skunk Removal, Raccoon Removal, Animals - Nuisance Control - Trapping, Animal Carcass Removal, Bed Bug Removal, Fumigation Services, Ant Control, Bird Barriers, Repellents & Controls, Bird & Wildlife Supply Shops, Animal Rescue Relocation

Products & Services

With 38 years of experience, call us to solve and prevent any of your wildlife or insect problem. We are available 24/7. We service all Chicagoland.

Alternate Business Names
ABC Humane Wildlife Control & Prevention, ABC Humane Wildlife Rescue, Chicago Wildlife Management and Consulting, Inc., Pigeon Barrier, Inc
Industry Tips
Contracts

Photos & Videos

Photographs

1 Photo

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for ABC Humane Wildlife Control & Prevention Inc.

1418 E Olive St

Arlington Heights, IL 60004-5023

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 1418 E Olive St 

    Arlington Heights, IL 60004-5023(866) 722-2666
    (773) 870-0870
    (773) 890-0188

  • 1845 E Rand Rd., Suite 107 

    Arlington Heights, IL 60004-4359

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Chicago and Northern Illinois. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*ABC Humane Wildlife Control & Prevention Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (866) 722-2666
  • (773) 870-0870
  • (773) 890-0188
X

Additional Web Addresses

X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Pest Control Services

Contracts
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.