Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

Skokie Cash Jewelry and Loan

Phone: (847) 675-4444 4859 Dempster St, Skokie, IL 60077 http://www.skokiecash.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Skokie Cash Jewelry and Loan include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 2
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Skokie Cash Jewelry and Loan
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 04, 2012 Business started: 04/01/2011 Business started locally: 04/01/2011 Business incorporated 11/19/2010 in IL
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation
100 W. Randolph, 9th Fl, Chicago IL 60601
www.idfpr.com
Phone Number: (312) 814-4500

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Frank Chapp, President Carl Battaglia
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Frank Chapp, President
Business Category

Pawnbrokers Jewelry Designers Gold, Silver & Platinum Dealers Gold Buyers Jewelers - Retail All Other Nondepository Credit Intermediation (NAICS: 522298)

Products & Services

This company offers Pawn, gold and precious metals buying, jewelry appraisal services.


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    4859 Dempster St

    Skokie, IL 60077 (847) 675-4444

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/4/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: TODAY IS SATURDAY, JUNE 28TH AT 2:41PM. I ARRIVED AT THE STORE AT 10:05AM (SIGN POSTED ON THE DOOR THAT STATES THE BUSINESS HOURS ARE FROM 10AM-4PM)TO SATISFY MY CONTRACT THAT ENDS ON 06/30. I RECEIVED A LOAN ON 05/31 FOR $175, AND IN PLACE THE COMPANY HELD ON TO TWO WATCHES (ROUGHLY $900 RETAIL VALUE)UNTIL I EITHER A)RENEWED THE CONTRACT WITHIN 30 DAYS OR B)PAY THE LOAN OFF, WHICH WITH INTEREST CAME TO $205. I ARRIVED AT THE STORE, AND THE BUSINESS WAS NOT OPEN. I WAITED FOR ABOUT 15 MINS, STILL NO SHOW, SO I DECIDED TO RUN SOME ERRANDS AND RETURN LATER. I RETURNED AROUND 10:45AM; HOWEVER THE STORE WAS STILL CLOSED. I CALLED MULTIPLE TIMES (PHONE RECORDS WILL PROVE THIS) AND UNFORTUNATELY WAS UNABLE TO LEAVE A V/M BECAUSE THE MAILBOX WAS FULL. MY CONTRACT IS UP ON MONDAY, JUNE 30TH; HOWEVER I AM UNABLE TO PHYSICALLY GO BACK DUE TO MY CURRENT WORK HOURS, HENCE THE REASON WHY I DECIDED TO GO ON SATURDAY. THERE WERE NO SIGNS POSTED, STATING THAT THE BUSINESS WOULD BE CLOSED, AND I HAVE NO WAY OF CONTACTING THE OWNER. I SIMPLY WOULD LIKE TO PAY THE LOAN OFF, AND GET MY WATCHES BACK. I THINK THAT IT IS AWFUL AND EXTREMELY UNPROFESSIONAL THAT A BUSINESS WOULD ADVERTISE THEIR HOURS AND NOT PHYSICALLY BE THERE, OR PROVIDE A BRIEF EXPLANATION (NOTE ON THE DOOR) WHY THE BUSINESS WOULD BE CLOSE. PLEASE HELP. THANKS. ***

Desired Settlement: I SIMPLY WOULD LIKE TO PAY MY CONTRACT OFF AND RECEIVE MY WATCHES.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (4000, 12, 2014/08/04) */

4/15/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I need my jewelry and the store is closed! I have no idea how to contact the owner.

Desired Settlement: I would like my jewlery back it had sentimental value! A lot of it was religious jewlery! Please help me.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2014/04/04) */


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Skokie Cash Jewelry and Loan
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)