Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Shamrock Blacktop, Inc.

Phone: (708) 385-1066 13825 S Kostner Ave, Crestwood, IL 60445 http://www.shamrockblacktop.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Shamrock Blacktop, Inc. is a paving contractor which provides blacktop paving and sealcoating services for residential and commercial customers. This company serves the southern suburbs of Chicago, including Alsip, Robbins, Midlothian, Markham, Oak Forest, Harvey, Hazel Crest, Worth, Palos Heights, Palos Hills, Chicago Ridge, Oak Lawn, Hometown, Evergreen Park, Calumet Park, Blue Island, Riverdale, Dolton, South Holland, Tinley Park, Orland Hills, Country Club Hills, Hazel Crest, Homewood, and Flossmoor. Services available from this company include sealcoating, striping, light asphalt excavation work, and speed bump installation.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Shamrock Blacktop, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Shamrock Blacktop, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Shamrock Blacktop, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 05, 1991 Business started: 05/01/1984 Business started locally: 05/01/1984 Business incorporated 12/03/1991 in IL
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Tim Maloney, Vice President Ms. Gail Maloney, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Tim Maloney, Vice President
Business Category

Paving Contractors Asphalt Seal Coating Parking Area Maintenance & Marking Highway, Street, and Bridge Construction (NAICS: 237310)


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Shamrock Blacktop, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 13825 S Kostner Ave

    Crestwood, IL 60445

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/9/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 1) Shamrock Blacktop, Inc. cracked our catch basin ring, the catch basin clay tiles and pipe for our ejector pump are broken both externally and internally and the catch basin is filled with stone from Shamrock Blacktop, Inc. excavation, stone application and heavy equipment. Our plumber advises the driveway will have to be torn up at the catch basin in order to repair the damage Shamrock Blacktop, Inc. has done. 2) Shamrock Blacktop, Inc. hit with their equipment and damaged our neighbor’s new fence during excavation. Asphalt was to be applied up to his fence. Shamrock Blacktop, Inc. poured asphalt on and in between our neighbor’s fence slats beyond the property line. 3) The village owned sidewalk is cracked and shifted from Shamrock Blacktop, Inc. equipment. 4) Our garage floor is cracked from Shamrock Blacktop, Inc. steam roller. There are steamroller marks in the garage; our garage was not sanctioned for Shamrock Blacktop, Inc. to enter or turn around with their heavy equipment. 5) Shamrock Blacktop, Inc. hit with their equipment and cracked and chipped our concrete door sill, concrete window sills, corner of brick house during excavation and damaged our newly tuck pointed front stone wall and repairs to excavation damage by hitting it with Shamrock Blacktop, Inc. heavy equipment during asphalt application. Shamrock Blacktop, Inc. damaged our newly poured concrete with asphalt. 6) when it rains, water pools form on the driveway at our back door, by our catch basin and back stairwell due to poor pitch of asphalt and lack of drainage. No doubt this will cause a safety issue in the winter with icing. 7) The job as agreed has not been completed; we only received 2” of bonding asphalt, not 2” of bonding asphalt and 2”of finish asphalt, and the driveway apron has not been excavated and asphalted. The sealcoating north and south of the garage has not been completed.

Desired Settlement: Shamrock Blacktop is not a bonded company. The only way we received any resolution to our damages was through subrogation through our homeowners insurance. We would like to see Shamrock Blacktop information corrected and BBB rating adjusted to reflect our complaint.

Business Response:

 

Claim is in hands of insurance company will not be able to 

answer complaints at this time.  

9/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On July 8, 2014 paving contractor damaged a section of fence while removing old driveway with a small bulldozer. Upon completing job of paving new driveway, contractor agreed in writing to fix damaged fence within 7 days. After one week I called and talked to his wife about the situation, said she would give him the message. It has been 2 weeks and have not heard from the contractor.

Desired Settlement: Replacement of a section of fence that the contractor damaged while removing old blacktop driveway.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 16, 2014/09/16) */


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Shamrock Blacktop, Inc.
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart