Rabine Group

Additional Locations

Phone: (888) 722-4633 Fax: (888) 722-4634 View Additional Phone Numbers 900 National Parkway  Ste. 260, Schaumburg, IL 60173 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.rabinegroup.com View Additional Web Addresses

! BBB Business Review on Rabine Group is being Updated by BBB !



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

The Rabine Group is a paving and roofing company that provides asphalt and roofing services for residential and commercial customers. This business is located in Schaumburg, IL, and serves the north-western Chicago suburbs including Elgin, Streamwood, Hanover Park, Bartlett, South Elgin, Roselle, Bloomingdale, Elk Grove Village, Des Plaines, Mt Prospect, Naperville, Prospect Heights, Arlington Heights, Palatine, Carpentersville, Crystal Lake, St Charles, Campton Hills, Pingree Grove, Hampshire, Burlington, Harmony, Huntley, Algonquin, Genoa, Sycamore, Buffalo Grove, Wheaton, Geneva, and Carol Stream. This company offers paving, asphalt, striping and sealcoating, asphalt maintenance and repair, pot hole repair, crack sealing, roofing contracting, roof repair, commercial roofing, flat roofing, tile and shingle roofing, metal roofing, and commercial snow removal.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • This business has no rating at this time because BBB file information is being reviewed and/or updated.




Additional Locations

  • 4501 U S Highway 12

    Richmond, IL 60071 (888) 722-4633

  • 4552 W. Patterson Ave

    Chicago, IL 60641 (888) 766-3131

  • 900 National Parkway
    Ste. 260

    Schaumburg, IL 60173 (815) 675-0696 (888) 358-7621

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/29/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues
9/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In July, 2014 I had a driveway installed by Rabine Paving (now **** Paving) at a cost of $3200. Given my belief that Rabine Paving was a quality company I chose them over another contractor with a lower price. I guess I was wrong. The job was done in a careless manner. There was exposed gravel base several inches high(I have pictures) which I was informed was my responsibility to cover with dirt. There was also an uneven border caused by the roller repeatedly going over the edge of the pavement. There was also an area of pitting in the driveway. **** **** came out and tried to convince me that the exposed gravel was my responsibility. Then he said he would fix the exposed gravel if I gave him a check on the spot. I declined to do so given that there were other issues we needed to discuss. **** lost his cool and stormed off to his truck while threatening to sue me. After complaining to Rabine's corporate offices **** ****** came out from the field office and went over my concerns. We discussed the exposed gravel and **** reiterated ***** line that I should cover the area with dirt. I told **** that this was not going to work, the the drive would crack and begin to slough off at the corner. **** repaired the pitting himself and arranged to have hot rubber applied to areas of the driveway entrance which had been damaged while removing a cement apron. He looked at the uneven edge and recognized that it wasn't very attractive but he asked me if I could live with it. Insofar as **** had responded in a much more professional manner and that I still had a guarantee, I elected to pay in full. One year later, in July of 2013, cracks did develop where the gravel had been exposed and at the corner of the driveway at the garage. There was also cracking along the edge of the driveway. **** came out on July 26 and looked at the cracking. He took pictures and told me he would put me in for hot rubber repairs. Subsequently, he called me back and said **** would not come out for repairs only but he would do so if he could do sealing as well ($100). I declined. Why should I have to pay him more money for standing behind his work? Now to the present. this spring I noticed the corner of the driveway at the garage had developed a significant crack that needs to be repaired. There is also cracking near the entrance which is also in need of repair. To top it off, the driveway lifted up and separated from the driveway apron at the seam. As I said, I have placed two phone calls to **** with no response.

Desired Settlement: I want them to repair the cracks and reinforce the driveway where the gravel was exposed. I also want them to repair the uneven edge of the drive since it has resulted in a low spot which does not drain.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2014/07/21) */ Contact Name and Title: **** **** Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ********@pettpaving.com This is not a customer of **** Paving Inc. This was a Rabine Residential customer. However, we did inform homeowner that as a favor we would fill the cracks at no charge at the time of sealcoating if he chose to hire us to sealcoat. Cracks were not covered under Rabine Residential's warranty. Any landscape work to fill in on the sides was also not part of Rabine's contract. Homeowner had sealcoating scheduled with **** Paving and then cancelled the day prior. Rabine Residential installed the driveway in July 2012. **** Paving has not done any work for this homeowner. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 12, 2014/07/28) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I spoke with Rabine (******) on 7/28. According to Rabine, **** purchased the warranties from Rabine. I believe this means **** is responsible for warranty work. ****** is contacting **** and will get back with me. The only landscaping I had to do was cover an area of exposed gravel several inches in height which should never have been exposed to begin with. As I understand the warranty, I am covered for cracks greater than 1/8" for a two year period. Also, no sealcoating was scheduled with **** and "cancelled the day prior." I am faxing a copy of the contract to the attention of Diana Mendez. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 21, 2014/09/02) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Well, it's been two months and we're back where we started. The BBB has done nothing for me but it has facilitated the finger-pointing game employed by the businesses. I won't waste my time using the BBB in the future. I don't think it serves the consumer well. Final Business Response /* (4000, 23, 2014/09/02) */ *****, we apologize for all of the confusion. We've attempted to get the BBB to stop associating **** Paving with our business but they haven't helped at all. I'm pushing the BBB to make it clear that Rabine Paving is not in any way associated with **** Pavinghopefully your voice will ring louder than ours has!!

11/7/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Rabine contracted with our HOA to sealcoat driveways in our sub-division. Dealcoating was done on June 10 and 11, 2013. Poor qualty job and damage done to at least 12 garage doors. Subsequently Rabine employees removed trim and weather sealing from the damaged doors. (Did so with no notice to homeowners). Rabine agreed to replace lower garage door panels and replace trim and weather stripping. As of today, panels, trim and weather stripping not replaced.

Desired Settlement: Immediate replacement of the damaged garage door panels, trim and weather sealing. This is urgent now that colder weather is here.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/10/24) */ Contact Name and Title: *** ******* Director Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: **********@rabinegroup.com Hi ******, thank you for making our team aware of the experience you described above. In order to resolve the issue, I need a few additional pieces of information. 1) Which Association do you live in? 2) Did you contract ****** or is their a management company that works for the Association? Thanks ******, as soon as you provide me with that information, I can start looking into the issues that you mention above. Thank you for making us aware and please know that we handle a complaint like this very seriously. *** ******* Director of Sales and Marketing Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 11, 2013/11/07) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) The garage door, trim and weather stripping has been replaced. The replacements are working well. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2013/11/01) */ Hi ******, thanks again for providing invaluable feedback. We work really hard to improve our processes and this kind of review from our customers is critical to that process. As you probably saw, your garage has been replaced along with several of your neighbors. We still have a few left, but I hope that you see the replaced garage doors as a suitable resolution to the issues that you mentioned. This was coordinated with ***** from ******** so she is in the loop as well. Is there anything else that you need from us? Thanks ******!

10/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service