BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Chicago and Northern Illinois

BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 05/01/2014

Nu-Again Deck & Fence Renewal Company

Phone: (866) 597-3325Fax: (630) 513-6915

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

12 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues7
Problems with Product / Service5
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints12

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (12)BBB Closure Definitions
04/03/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to honor service under the terms of warranties

Complaint: NuAgain was hired 5/19/2011 to perform a complete paver patio restoration on my existing patio. This process included power washing, sanding and sealing the pavers. All products were provided by NuAgain. Service was performed 5/23-528/2013. The work and sealer carried a 2 year written warranty which is why hired them to do the job.

I noticed in Spring of 2013 that the pavers no longer had a shiny look to them and that there was plenty of sand erosion throughout the front and back patio. I called NuAgain in early May 2013 to notify them that it appears the sealer didn't last 2 years and then I would like someone to come out and take a look at the problem under the warranty contract. ***** called me back and said they were busy and I was put on the schedule for the week of June 10th for the warranty work and they would call day before coming out. Well, they week came and gone and no work performed. When I called the office, again ***** told me they were behind and busy and she would contact **** to see when I will be rescheduled. Needless to say - work hasn't been completed. I call about once a month to and usually speak with ***** to see if they are coming out. In August I emailed instead of calling and then they decided to send a representative unannounced to the house. He did agree that the sealer didn't perform as promised and spoke with **** by phone and said they will do a complete restoration service again. That sounded great and was happy to hear there was confirmation that the product didn't perform as guaranteed. On 8/19/2013, 2 workers came over again without a notice to powerwash the patios - the first step in the restoration process. They had to move all my patio furniture and flower boxes of the patio into the grass and side sidewalk and out of their way to work. I asked when would they be back to finish and he didn't know - whenever **** sends him my way. I called and spoke with ***** on 9/16 and notified her that I was having a party on 9/29 and would really appreciate and hope they could complete the patio work before the party. This morning, 9/30/13, the patio is not finished. At this point it needs to be rewashed too since the weeds are growing in again after 6 weeks of being stripped of sand barrier. For 5 weeks I left all my patio furniture on the side sidewalk and really haven't used the patio for entertaining since I thought they would be coming soon to finish the restoration. I recently had shoulder surgery and couldn't move the heavy pieces back in place, so everything has been piled on the side of the house since 8/19. At this point, I am finished waiting patiently for the work to be performed. We are almost at 7 months since my first call to the office for warranty service. I need the patio finished and will look for another reputable company to perform the service needed.

Initial Business Response
Sorry for the delay. It is on our schedule to be touched up.

Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I have been on the schedule for 6 months at this point. Why can't you actually post a date to do the work and stick to it? No one from Nuagain called me to actually schedule an appointment, just a vague response to this complaint that I am on the schedule. I have heard that response plenty of times before with no action. I have spoken with 2 other contractors who have told me that the weather is too cold now to apply sealer. That the product won't perform properly if applied in the current temperature. That the project should be postponed until spring. Taking the advice of the other independent contractors and seeing that you haven't been willing to perform the restoration in a timely manner, I am again asking for a full refund of $985 the original price paid. Your company's lack of customer service has prompted me to take this action. I don't trust the restoration you promised will be completed professionally nor that the product / job would last another 2 years. Then to again deal with Nuagain for service / warranty work in the future after how poorly this repeated request has been handled, is not a road I want to travel down again. I don't want to be put on your Spring list of to do's either. You have had 6 months to get the job done. Also, I was promised a complete restoration, but in your response above you mention touchup work. Those really are 2 different jobs in my book and I don't believe a full restoration will be done at this point in time. Again, the only resolution I see in this matter is a full refund of $985 to be sent to me this week. I will continue to seek full reimbursement for this project via arbitration / small claims court and or social media as needed until the refund is received. Please resolve this amicably, work with me and issue a refund. I believe I have been more than fair in waiting patiently for as long as I have. Now with the cold weather setting in, I don't trust the work even if I allowed you to do it now. I just want the refund.

Final Business Response
April 3, 2014

**** ******
**** ***** ****
****** ******* IL XXXXX


Re: Paver Warranty Work

Dear ****,

Please let this letter be acknowledgement for scheduling your paver warranty work. Your work is scheduled for the week of April 28, 2014, weather permitting. You will receive a call/email from our office the day before we come out to start your job. Once we complete your warranty work, Nu-Again will guarantee our product for 2 years from the date your warranty work was completed. Please note, Nu-Again does not guarantee, grass, weeds, moss or surface dirt from returning. When working around weather conditions, it does cause delays. Our customer satisfaction has always been our focus and we do apologize for the weather delays you have experience.

If you have any questions feel free to call me at XXX-XXX-XXXX, Monday through Friday 8am to 4pm.

Sincerely,



***** *******
Nu-Again



Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
As of today, only 2/3 of the job has been completed. The patio has been rewashed and sanded, but not sealed.

In a text from **** the owner, I was notified this week that the weather is too cold to seal the patio and that I am ear marked for spring to complete the sealing process.

The only reason I agreed to allow Nuagain to complete the warranty work was for 2 reasons: when they came out on 10/17 I was told that the weather wasn't too cold for sealing and that it would be completed asap and that the company would extend the warranty another 2 years to cover the newly performed work and that I would receive warranty papers in writing. So I agreed to the terms.

Sequence of events is as follows:
Power washed the patio on 10/17 and received a call from **** after the crew left and he told me that he would extend the warranty and drop the papers in the mail that week and the job would be finished soon.

On 10/19 a rep came out and sanded the patio but didn't know when it would be sealed since it has to be dry and no rain in the forecast.

On 10/28 I texted **** to inquire about the sealing and paper work. I was then informed due to the cold weather, sealing would take place in spring and that I would have the new warranty papers this week.

As of today, 11/1, I haven't received the papers and have only a promise the sealing job will take place in spring.

I am now stuck hoping Nuagain will complete the warranty work in spring since it is too late in the season to complete the work as other contractors had told me even though Nuagain reps said they can get it done before the cold set in. As we now know - that was not the case. I was really hoping for a finished job after waiting for 6 months since my first call for warranty back in May. Now it looks like the work might be completed 11-12 months after my initial request. I am putting Nuagain on notice now, if the sealing is not completed first thing in spring 2014, I will be forced to seek legal action to request a refund of $985 in order to have the patio completely restored by another reputable, professional company who can complete the work in a timely manner.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues, but not within the Bureau's timeframe.

09/16/2013Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to honor service under the terms of warranties

Complaint: Had Tri level patio cleaned and restored in may 2012, contacted may 2013 because of multiple white spots/ cracks in sand and multiple defects. Was to come out and powerwash, clean, resand and stain. Came out 8/13 and resealed over dirty surface, was tols this was a "special" cleaner and they would be here to finish waork this week.. Multiple calls left were unreturned. Must have another dealer repair

Initial Business Response
Nu-again completed the warranty on Monday 6/12/2013. Customer was notified that previous Friday.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
We were told they needed to powerwash on Monday- all they did was reapply stain over dirty surface. Also, the warranty was for the polymeric sand- no warranty work was done. We were told the powerwash would be followed by sand repair and then resealing. So we believe they have been fraudulent in their claims. Also, the date listed in their response is incorrect- the restaining was done Monday 8/12 between 11am- noon. The warranty has not been completed per the signed contract.

Final Business Response
We verified that the touch ups were done on the Monday we told the customer we would. Sand was touched up and a solvent was used to remove some whitish spots. See inspection picture below.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

05/08/2013Guarantee / Warranty Issues
06/18/2012Guarantee / Warranty Issues
08/09/2011Problems with Product / Service
09/27/2013Guarantee / Warranty Issues
07/17/2013Problems with Product / Service
06/18/2013Problems with Product / Service
02/01/2013Problems with Product / Service
11/26/2012Guarantee / Warranty Issues
Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Patio & Deck Builders, Chain Link Fence Sales, Service & Contractors, Fences - Wood, Fences - Vinyl, Fence Material, Fence Posts & Fittings, Fence Staining, Brick Preservatives, Stone Setting - Interlocking Pavers, Driveway Installation, Paving & Repair, Paving Materials, Brick Pavers, Deck - Repair, Patio Equipment & Supplies, Deck Cleaning & Sealing, Deck Cleaning and Waterproofing, Vinyl Decking, Patio, Porch & Deck Enclosures, Patio Design, Deck Builders, Deck Cleaning and Treatment, Fence Contractors

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.