BBB Accredited Business since

Jewels By Park Lane, Inc.

Phone: (847) 884-9999 Fax: (847) 884-9998 View Additional Phone Numbers 100 Commerce Dr, Schaumburg, IL 60173 View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Jewels By Park Lane, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Jewels By Park Lane, Inc. include:

  • 9 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Jewels By Park Lane, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 9 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 8
Total Closed Complaints 9

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Jewels By Park Lane, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 01, 1960 Business started: 08/01/1955 Business started locally: 08/01/1955 Business incorporated 09/02/2008 in IL
Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Scott Levin, CEO Sales Mr. Donald Richow
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Scott Levin, CEO Sales
Number of Employees


Business Category

Party Plans - In-Home Jewelers - Retail Internet Services All Other Personal Services (NAICS: 812990)

Alternate Business Names
Park Lane Jewelers Park Lane Jewelry Parklane, Inc.

Additional Locations


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/14/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: My sales rep was **************. She submitted my broken jewelry and my repair charge-a check for $7 to Park Lane in the late fall of 2012. I was told it could be up to 6 months for repairs to be completed. Robin then divorced and left the state of Colorado. I have contacted Park Lane customer service hotline, the website's contact form, and emailed the reps who emailed me. The CSR's keep saying they can't find anything but they will research and get back to me within several weeks. Then I never hear from them again. I sent 2 necklaces and a pair of earrings, I must have paid between $100-150 to begin with. I cannot get anyone to take care of this for me. I never received a receipt for the repairs. Just a receipt for new jewelry my daughter purchased at that time.

Desired Settlement: If you could find the order that is what I want. I sent in a chrome chain-but kept the charm from it, it matched a pair of earrings, they are hearts that look like opals. Then the "hooty" necklace, both the owl and the chain, And a pair of dangly earrings, which I cannot remember the names of (something like wisp or whimsy).

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 11, 2015/04/10) */ I would like to help the consumer with her missing items. I need to know what items she is requesting. I have left three messages for************** (BBB Rep)and a message for the consumer. Thank You *************************** (XXX)XXX-XXXX Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 13, 2015/04/10) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I did not receive any call, or message from this person. I am however getting help from another person in the company. Only because I constantly sent emails telling them I would not go away until they helped me. Final Business Response /* (4000, 17, 2015/05/13) */ Dear******** I had left you a message on April 3rd, but have yet to hear back from you, I would like to help you with your missing items. The company is holding a Hooty Necklace for you, the other necklace, could it be Love Story it has Marcasite around the outer edge with the Mother Of Pearl in the center(Heart Shape)? The earring were possibly Whisper PE they have two strands dangling and came in gold or silver? Please let me know when you have a chance if these are the items you gave to the director. I look forward to hearing from you I can be reached at (XXX)XXX-XXXX or my email address is ******* I am also cc the Better business bureau (Case Number XXXXXXXX). Thank You, ************* **************** Park Lane Inc 1********************************************************** f:************************************** Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 19, 2015/05/14) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) They are working with me to replace my items whch satisfies me and my expectations of a lifetime warranty. It turns out it the sales rep actually had my broken jewelry, and not Park Lane. Thank you for your help BBB!

12/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: contacted park lane jewelry and they tell me I have to go to small claims court or press charges on her so they do not stand behind their salespeople or even care what is going on. I have yet to receive ring or refund.

Desired Settlement: I would like my 35.00 back and this salesperson fired from her job.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/12/26) */ Contact Name and Title:***********/Customer Serv Contact Phone: (XXX)XXX-XXXX Contact Email: **************** An email was sent to the Consumer and per her response, I will be sending her the Affection Ring in size 9.

4/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Ordered a black leather bracelet wouldnt stay securely snapped.(wore once)Took it back to rep. She replaced with a new one. The second one didnt snap either. I took it back to her place of employment where she told me to take it.She told me to order something else in its place. Couldn't do it. No credit there. The necklace lost rhinetsones. I sent it in to the exchange. Never heard from them.After a month I contacted them to ask why. I am very angry with them by now. They wantedd my credit card so I could pay for a replacement.! After all of this , I have already spent close to $400 with them and don't feel right about giving them any more of my money. Funny, they spend the money to send back the same defective necklace I sent to them. They UPS Next day AIR to me, instead of just sending me a new one or sending me my money back as I requested after not hearing a thing from them and they are sitting on the defective necklace ! Bad business practice . Date 8/16.2013 -Total paid $239.82 fsib ******* The bracelt was out of stock and was send to me approx one month later . Never was able to wear it. The amount of bracelt is $ 12.00 plus tax' The necklace bought same time $68.00 plus tax

Desired Settlement: Money back , as I do not trust the warranties on the jewlery they warrant. the sales rep. ( very nice lady -Lacey Mott ) still has the black leather bracelet. I took it back to her the second time. She wanted to replace it with hers. I declined, as I had payed for a new one, not a used one. NO longer interested in their products.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/03/26) */ Contact Name and Title: ***********Customer Serv Contact Phone: (XXX)XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ****** Per the customers request two Now and Forever Necklaces were shipped out on Monday March 24,2014.

12/2/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I order the bracelet back in August. It had stones missing, I sent it back the same day that********* ***** gave it to me. It took like 6 weeks and I got a call from********* that the bracelet was sent to her. My address of *****************************************. ********* said the bracelet came to her and she would mail it to me. I have never received the bracelet. From Park Lane or*********. I called on 11/4 to inquire about bracelet and told them of my dis satisfaction with their product. They really didn't care how dis satisfied I was. I told them I wanted my 52.00 back and not the bracelet and the girl said SORRY CAN'T DO THAT. That I would have to fikle a complaint with their BOARD OF DIRECTORS TO GET MY MONEY BACK. I told her that I would file this complaint and she basically said go right ahead. That the time frame for refund has past, well I'm not the one at FAULT here....PARKLANE is It is now 11-11-2013. 3 months after this bracelet was bought and I still do not have a replacement and or my money. At this point, I do not want the bracelet and will never order from this company again. The bracelet is only $52.00 not $520.00. Sincerely

Desired Settlement: I want my money back ($52.00) and NO BRACELET.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/11/12) */ Contact Name and Title:***********/Customer Serv Contact Phone: (800)621-0088 Contact Email: ******* One of our Agents talked to the customer on November 5, 2013, per the conversation with the customer she requested the bracelet be shipped. The On The Town Bracelet was shipped to the address the customer provided. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2013/11/13) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I have never received the bracelt. This is now 11-13-2013. I told Parklane to send the darn bracelet after the girl told me that I would hsve to file a dispute with their board of directors, which to me is un call for. I mailed the bracelet back the same day I receive the defective one , it's taken too long to receive another one, which didn't even come to the right address. It went to Adrienne Price in Batavia, Ohio (over 2 weeks ago). The RMA had Covington, KY. Still to this day I have not received a bracelet from Adrienne Price or this company. I woukd like my MONEY BACK!! not the bracelet. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2013/11/18) */ We will refund the customers credit card. A PREPAID envelope will be sent so that she can return the On The Town Bracelet that was sent to her on November 5th.

11/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased jewelry from Park Lane & I did not like it. The item #'s were: ******************** *************. On X-XX-XX I returned the items listed & request that they be exchanged for other items. I was given 2 RMA's. They are XXXXXX-X & XXXXXX-X. I never received the new items. Park Lane claims they have not received my return. I've contacted the US Postal Service & they have done several investigations in attempt to find this package. The case #'s through the USPS were: CAXXXXXXXXX, CAXXXXXXXXX, & CAXXXXXXXXX. I even contacted the dead letter center in Atlanta GA which is where all undeliverable mail is sent as well as speaking to the actual postal service employee who delivers daily to Park Lane. This was on 5-30-12. When contacting customer service at Park Lane, they simply stated that they have no record of receiving it & that I should've asked for a signature upon return. There was no one willing to investigate what happened to my jewelry. The address on the package was clear & legible as well as the return address. On 9/3/13 I attempted to contact Park Lane once more to resolve this issue & still got the same response.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be refunded $142.00 plus tax (8.25%) for the jewelry I never received.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/11/01) */ Contact Name and Title:***********/Customer Serv Contact Phone: (XXX)XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ******* I have contacted the customer and will be sending out the items that were requested on her exchange. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 7, 2013/11/08) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) *** Peters at Park Lane did a wonderful job fixing the problem I was having. I am disappointed I had to contact the BBB in order to get it resolved but I'm happy it's finally taken care of.

7/1/2013 Problems with Product/Service
6/24/2013 Problems with Product/Service
6/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service
5/13/2013 Problems with Product/Service