Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Shred-It, Inc.

Phone: (630) 633-9990 Fax: (630) 462-1079 View Additional Phone Numbers 3811 Rose St, Schiller Park, IL 60176 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.shredit.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Shred-It, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Shred-It, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Shred-It, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 01, 2002 Business started: 01/01/1989 Business started locally: 01/01/1989
Business Management
Mr. Jose Madera
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jose Madera
Business Category

Paper & Document Shredding Office Records - Destruction Identity Theft Protection & Prevention Services All Other Support Services (NAICS: 561990)


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Shred-It, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 3811 Rose St

    Schiller Park, IL 60176 (630) 633-9990

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/9/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The sales representative mislead us about the price, pick up times, contract period and commitment. Sales representative came to my office with an **** and no hard paper contract to go over with and requested me to sign with my finger on the documents.

Desired Settlement: Cancel the contract since no service performed and refund any amounts paid

Business Response:

*** (the Owner) had reached out to Shred-it to talk about setting up a secure document shredding program at his office. When I got to ***** office we sat at his desk and  talked about what he was looking for in a shredding program, he also walked me around and showed me how they were currently handling there secure documents.  In the Back room they would keep boxes full of client information under the desk and *** and myself agreement the best place to put a Shred-it standard container would be in the back office next to the door.  After the tour of the office we sat back at ***** desk where we talked about different frequency options and how much each pick up would cost. *** agreed that an every month pick up would be best for what he needed, and on  the agreement that *** signed ( on an ****) it broke out exactly how many stops the office would have and how much each pick up would cost.  After all the information was entered *** Signed the agreement on the **** using ********.  There was never a time where *** was mislead about the price, the pick times, contract period or commitment). Everything that was talked about as was exactly how the agreement is laid out.  There was nothing done to mislead the office in any way.  If *** is looking to make changes to his account we are here to help.

Business Response:

 The customer wanted and signed for a Standard container (we also call an executive) so it would fit right next to the door in the back office. This container looks like office furniture, Shred-it also offers a larger 65 gallon and 95 gallon tote but the customer wanted and signed for 1 standard container.  In the first meeting with *** he was shown different options of containers that Shred-it offers(via the ****).   Per the agreement that *** signed up for he is getting 1 standard container every 4 weeks at a rate of $85.00.  If *** wanted to add an additional container per his agreement it would cost $25.00 extra.  The reason the sales rep went back out to ***** office is because *** called in looking at add an extra container.  Per ***** agreement each additional container would cost $25.00. (So yes the second container is at a lower price)

 

 Shred-it offers an every 8 week, 4 week, 2 week, 1 week, or daily pick up schedule.  *** wanted and signed for every 4 weeks.  On the first page of ***** service agreement in a big box it shows exactly what *** is getting.      1 standard container every 4 weeks at a rate of $85.00, each additional container would cost $25.00.

 

There has never been a time when a customer has called (10-15) times and has never received a call back, Shred-its customer service takes calls from 8am to 5pm Monday-Friday.   Shred-it has been honoring the exact agreement that *** has signed   I have attached    The service agreement that was signed by ****                       

 

 

Consumer Response:
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:
Sincerely,

*** **********

3/21/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We were in the process of changing shredding companies and Shred IT USA send their driver *** * to our office to pick up their bin which was empty. Since October, they have been billing us $72.42 for this. Generally when the bin was full the cost was $72.42 not while empty. As stated this bin was empty and when I questioned this with ******* ***** in February she in turn E-mailed her boss ***** I asked if they had talked to the driver *** *. who had picked the bin up and was told there was no need. **** didn't want anything to do with checking things out just wanting us to pay for the return of the empty bin. I had previously discussed this matter with Deana in October 2015. At that time I didn't receive a response. I mentioned this to ******* in our conversation in February. Also in July this whole matter began when an employee by the name of **** informed us if we were to drop their company we would be breaking all ***** rules. At this time we have not paid the bill as we are in dispute about this. We would like to have this matter/bill dissolved and resolved by them eating the cost.

Desired Settlement: We would like to resolve the matter by having Shred It USA give us a balance of zero. They are completely proving that they are not worthwhile, don't keep good records, hire people who nothing about relationship with businesses who trusted them.

Business Response:

This complaint is not for the Shred-it that services the Chicagoland area. This complaint needs to be directed to :

Shred-it   **** ******* ****** ***** ** ***** ******************

Email: ******************* ******** ********* *** *****

Consumer Response:

 
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

**** *****

 

I would like the complaint forwarded to the BBB of ***** *********  Attention *** *****.   The Billing address Shred It inc is the Chicago one.  

8/11/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We recently moved offices here in Chicago, during this process I wanted to pursue setting up a formal document shredding service so that we could start fresh with an official and documented way of disposing of anything that might be HIPPA related to protect us. I set up the same type of service in our ****** Hub and it is 64$ per Quarter for ****** to come service our office. When the sales person arrived I was unavailable and never saw the contract. The Shred-It sales rep never explained to anyone what the contract was or what the terms were. He rushed someone at our Chicago office into signing an illegible document and now they are saying they have us locked into a $150 dollar A WEEK contract for a length of 5 years that cannot be terminated without penalty. This is not even close to the service I requested from them, I wanted a quarterly service. I've been consistently trying to obtain a copy of the contract...as we never even had one.... We've been reaching out to our "sales rep" who set up this contract and he's been ignoring our requests. I've called our sales rep's Manager and left a voicemail and he never returned my call. After weeks of numerous calls/emails the I finally found someone who would respond, who is ****** ********** He finally helped me obtain a copy of the contract, which as I mentioned before is basically illegible. He said he could adjust it to once every 4 weeks but that's still nothing like what I originally requested or would have agreed too. We wanted to do business with them, they took advantage of us and the situation. They are telling me that if I want to cancel the service they are going to charge us ½ the amount of the contract which adds up to $20,000.

Desired Settlement: I want the contract to be canceled. I do not want to do business with them anymore. They have treated me and my employee's poorly. They have treated this as if they are running a scam from the start. If they would be willing to work with me and set up the quarterly service over a length of a year or 2 I would possibly be OK with that.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2015/07/29) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ****** District Dire Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ***********@shredit.com After investigating the agreement the customer signed an agreement and now is saying that the person who signed is not authorized. In our agreement it states that the agreement in valid after the first service. This way if we do a service and we were not suppose to be there or our services were not authorirized we would void the contract at that time. In this situation we have been servicing the customer for some time now. At this time the customer wants to cancel the services so we gave the customer the buyout numbers. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 10, 2015/07/29) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I never had a copy of the contract. My understanding would be that they were showing up for the quarterly service I requested. Without a contract was I just supposed to assume your sales associate screwed me over and changed my request to weekly? The second I identified there was a problem (which didn't take more than a week) I began trying to combat this...which again was almost immediate. The only reason it took so long to get to this step is because nobody from Shred-IT would respond to me. I personally left numerous voicemail's and emails with anyone and everyone I could find at your company. I even left you a voicemail if I'm not mistaken. The guys who physically shred the paper here gave me your phone number as well as ***** ********'s phone number. It took months just for me to obtain a copy of that "contract". Then I tried to negotiate in good faith to have it corrected closer to something in the range of what I requested (quarterly). Only after my numerous efforts to try to get it fixed with you guys directly did I start having to reach out to my legal department and the BBB. That is the only reason it took so long. Your employee's were not responding or communicating. And I still tried to negotiate in good faith once I finally found someone who did respond. I do not accept length of time as a reason for me to be satisfied with this. I want it canceled or I need it switched to 1 service every 16 weeks at the very least. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 14, 2015/08/04) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) What can we do as far as changing the length of the service agreement. Can I do 8 week agreement but for a length of 1 year? Final Business Response /* (4000, 20, 2015/08/11) */ I just wanted to be clear that I am willing to go to every 8 weeks for two years.

12/4/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After repeated communications with Shred-It Management regarding the unethical and deceptive practices of their salesperson, Ms.************** we feel unfairly harassed by the collections department regarding a terminated trial service. Ms.***** misrepresented both the capability of Shred-It and the terms of our trial period, to make a sale. And while we have provided the paper trail, communications, and testimony of office personal supporting Ms.*****'s false claims, Shred-It continues to ignore the facts, and harass our firm. In August of 2013, Ms.***** presented Undo Identity Theft Inc. with the opportunity to use the Shred-It service. While it was not something our shared office space was considering, Ms.***** proposed a unique offering to accommodate the business model. Our office environment is one that has five (5) different businesses occupying the same unit. It was made clear that if we considered using Shred-It, each of the businesses would require individually generated "Certificate of Destruction" documentation, specific to their company. Ms.***** assured us that this would not be an issue, and included that we could enroll in the program on a trial basis, to insure the documentation and the service would be accommodated for the shared office environment. Upon presentation of the contract, September 16, 2013, we addressed the three (3) year term in the agreement and were assured by Ms.***** that it was not an issue, because of the unique situation. We relied on her representation of the agreement, and signed the contract. After the first document pickup on November 18, 2013, we received the "Certificate of Destruction" documentation for Undo Identity Theft only. We immediately addressed this problem with Ms.*****, and were assured that she was going to have it resolved and provide individual documentation for each business in the office. We made repeated attempts over the next few weeks to get the "Certificate of Destruction" matter resolved. Ms.***** ultimately responded on December 10, 2013 with, "Haven't forgotten about you..." to an email sent on December 04, 2014. After we paid for two pick up cycles with no effort to provide individual "Certificate of Destruction" documentation as promised, it was determined that the service was not of value to our group. We contacted Shred-It to terminate the service and were informed they do not offer trials, and that the three (3) year contract was in force. Ms.***** has since denied any recollection of her offer and maintains that our group agreed to the three (3) year term in the contract. While we relied and trusted Ms.***** at her word, her denial of ever having the discussion, is our cause for this communication. All five (5) companies in the office space were aware of Ms.*****'s unique proposal, the need for individual documentation, and mutually agreed to a trial of the service based on the "Certificate of Destruction" requirement being met. Shred-It's unwillingness to acknowledge the misrepresentation by Ms.***** has caused us grave concern for our business reputation, and feel a strong need for the BBB to intercede. We await your response - thank you, ******************* VP Undo Identity Theft, Inc.

Desired Settlement: Our request is simple. Honor the trial offer made by the Shred-It salesperson, Ms.*************** remove your Shred-It container from our office, void any existing invoices (services not performed after second pickup), and terminate the agreement without any early termination penalty, as was promised.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/11/11) */ Contact Name and Title: ***********, Acct Mgr Contact Phone: ************ Contact Email: *********************** Upon discovery of the client's formal complaint, we have reversed all actions as a representative for client satisfaction. Consumer Response /* (-5, 10, 2014/12/03) */ The consumer indicated ONLINE that the business responded to this complaint to his/her satisfaction. He/she also stated: Business Response /* (2000, 12, 2014/12/04) */ The consumer indicated ONLINE that the business responded to this complaint to his/her satisfaction. He/she also stated:

11/6/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Service was terminated in December 2012. Containers which held shred material were returned. Received bill for service in May 2013. No service was provided. Discussed with company and agreed with company to pay $35 to settle all outstanding 2012 service issues. Check written in Full Accord and Satisfaction and agreement of manager that account was closed with no amount owed. Check was cashed by Shred-IT. The problem invoice number is ********* ********* account number was ********. The amount involved is $32.35.

Desired Settlement: Close account, honor agreement that no amount owed and full accord and satisfaction notation on check and stop sending bills for which no service has been provided.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2013/11/06) */ Contact Name and Title:**************, CSM Contact Phone: ********** Contact Email: ************************* As of current (11.6.2013) this account does not owe any amount to Shredit, and the matter is considered closed. The account has been closed since June. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 9, 2013/11/06) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I agree with this resolution so long as Shred-It does not send another invoice like the one sent October 1, 2013 indicating an amount owed despite the account being closed with no amount owed.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Shred-It, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart