Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Five Star Painting of Illinois

Phone: (847) 239-5385 Fax: (847) 586-9147 1757 E Tano Ln, Mount Prospect, IL 60056 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.fspchicago.com View Additional Web Addresses



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Five Star Painting of Illinois is a painting and decorating company which provides interior and exterior painting services for residential and commercial customers. This company serves the northwest suburbs of Chicago, including Arlington Heights, Barrington, Buffalo Grove, Deerfield, Glenview, Grayslake, Gurnee, Highland Park, Lake Bluff, Lake Forest, Lake Villa, Lake Zurich, Libertyville, Lincolnshire, Mt Prospect, Mundelein, North Chicago, Palatine, Prospect Heights, Round Lake, Vernon Hills, Wadsworth, Wauconda, Wheeling, and Zion. Services available include interior painting, exterior painting, wood finishing, wallpaper hanging and removal, drywall taping and texturing, wall coatings, and wall cleaning.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Five Star Painting of Illinois meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Five Star Painting of Illinois include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Five Star Painting of Illinois
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 21, 2012 Business started: 11/22/2011 Business started locally: 11/22/2011 Business incorporated 11/22/2012 in IL
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Ronald Knight, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Ronald Knight, Owner
Business Category

Painting Contractors Painting - Faux Finishing Painters - Commercial or Residential Wallpaper Removing Wallpaper Hangers Remodeling Services Property Maintenance Wood Finishing Wood Preserving Wall Coatings Ceiling Cleaning Wall Cleaning Pressure Washing Deck Cleaning and Treatment Contractor - Interior Trim Interior Finishing Deck Cleaning and Waterproofing Deck Cleaning & Sealing Carpenters Caulking Contractors Concrete - Restoration, Sealing & Cleaning Basement - Finishing Drywall Contractors Drywall Taping and Texturing Hand Painting & Decorating Paint Removing Painting and Wall Covering Contractors (NAICS: 238320)

Alternate Business Names
Great Stroks LLC

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Five Star Painting of Illinois has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1757 E Tano Ln

    Mount Prospect, IL 60056 (847) 239-5385

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/6/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Five Star Painting of Mount Prospect painted the exterior of my home in September 2013. The total cost of the job was $7,415.27. Notably during the completion of the work, I was told they had to suspend several of the painters for poor performance. Over the course of the winter, I began to notice paint peeling off of the north side of my house near an exhaust vent associated with a garage heater. The unit and exhaust were professionally installed to code. I was put in contact with ***** ****** who came to my home and did a detailed, lengthy assessment of the paint job. He indicated that he had been hired by *** ******, the owner of Five Star Painting of Mount Prospect, to clean up many similar problematic. Furthermore, he indicated that he had had to fire most, if not all, of the painters that he inherited as they were not competent to his standards. As we concluded the assessment of my house, ***** told me that he believed the only appropriate course of action was to repaint the entire house as it was virtually impossible to know what sections had proper adhesion. He told me he would speak with *** ****** to gain his agreement to repaint my home. Several days later, ***** called to let me know that *** ****** was in agreement and that he was authorized to repaint my home. In August, I hadn't heard from ***** so I phoned the main number and received a call from **** *****, who had replaced *****. **** indicated the ***** was incompetent and that he (****) would make a new determination about my home. **** further stated that nothing ***** said should be believed as he had "gone postal" while working at Five Star Painting. In speaking with ***, we agreed that he would repaint my home. He explicitly stated to me that he would either repaint my home by September 15, 2014, or that he would refund the total cost of the job (labor and materials). The next week **** called again to say that there was no need to repaint my home and apparently in spite of at least 20 individual locations of peeling paint, they would just do a touch up job. I refused this inadequate resolution as it (1) would not solve the underlying issue that all of the paint on my home may peel off and (2) it contradicted what had been promised to me by both ***** Guzzo and *** ******. *** then sent me a very telling letter. In the letter he makes the following critical points: (1) *** only asked his employee (**** ****** to review two areas that are peeling ("Regarding the paint that has chipped off of two areas on your home"), while there is photographic evidence of approximately 20 such areas. (2) *** ********* only evaluated two areas of peeling ("he *** does not feel the entire house needs to be repainted only the two areas where peeling has occurred") and has yet to take any samples for laboratory testing ("*** ********* takes chip samples of the paint, sends them to the Sherwin-Williams laboratory in Chicago where they will chemically analyze the paint"-note all future tense) yet *** has positioned himself as an "expert" in helping make a determination about how to resolve this issue. (3) *** is blaming the exhaust vent: "one area where the paint failed was underneath a vent where moisture had been released onto the areas we painted before that paint had fully cured". Importantly, the garage heater wasn't in use until October/November 2013 and thus not until after the painting was completed. Therefore, ***'s thesis that the surface was damp from the exhaust vent prior to painting is simply impossible. Furthermore, even if this were accurate, it does not explain the approximately 20 other peeling locations which have occurred on every side of the house and that are not close to a vent of any type. (4) *** admits that his own employee, who was sent by ***, believed that my home should be repainted: "*****'s opinion was that the entire house needed to be repainted".

Desired Settlement: Refund of the total cost of the job as the house must be repainted. I would use the refund to hire another, qualified painter to do the job properly.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Five Star Painting of Illinois
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart