Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

College Pro Painters

Additional Locations

Phone: (800) 327-2468 View Additional Phone Numbers 555 E Butterfield Rd Ste 210, Lombard, IL 60148 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.collegepro.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that College Pro Painters meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for College Pro Painters include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on College Pro Painters
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 22, 1992 Business started: 01/01/1971 Business started locally: 01/01/1971
Business Management
Mr. Dave Rychley, Senior Vice President, US West Brant Carver, District Manager Colton LeFevre, General Manager Mr. Tony Valle
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Dave Rychley, Senior Vice President, US West
Business Category

Painting Contractors Painting and Wall Covering Contractors (NAICS: 238320)


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

College Pro Painters has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    15 Commonwealth Ave Ste 202

    Woburn, MA 01801

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    40400 Ann Arbor Road
    Ste 202A

    Plymouth, MI 48170

  • 555 E Butterfield Rd Ste 210

    Lombard, IL 60148

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/11/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Signed a contract in May and paid $250 for this student to stain our fence in June. There have been multiple phone calls, voice messages and texts from June to August with promises to come to our house and bring two color swatches so we could choose a color of stain we wanted. By Aug 1, we grew tired of waiting and let the student know we wanted to cancel the agreement and asked for our money back. The student refused to return the money stating he had already purchased supplies with the money. We informed him he couldn't have purchased supplies for our project, as we hadn't even chosen the color we wanted yet b/c he had not showed up to provide the color swatches. We called the company and was told it was up to the student as to whether to return the money or not, which we found ludicrous. The only thing the student offered to do was to complete the job. By August 2, we had already purchase our own stain and stained the fence on our own time. The project is done and College Pro Painters received $250 of our money for no service rendered.

Desired Settlement: Return our $250.00.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/08/11) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ****** Vice Preside Contact Phone: (XXX) XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ******@collegepro.com Mr. ******* - Thank you for letting us know about the issue. We would like to get some additional information from you in order to help work to a full resolution. ****** *******, General Manager of Indiana is calling you today (8/11) in hopes of helping you get this resolved. Sincerely, College Pro Painters Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2015/08/11) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) They honored my refund request for $250 deposit I made in spring where as no work was performed as promised.

7/10/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Had house, sheds, and fencing painted April 2014. Less than 1 year later, house peeling, bubling up,fence and deck down to bare wood. read below... Had my house painted by college Pro Painters in RI. ( April 2014 )as well as my deck and 200 ft of fencing. Less than 1 year later the paint is coming off like wallpaper... peeling, bubbling,and you can see the the prior color through the entire house. The fence is down to bare wood as well as the deck... I had called them back in April and they had sent a represenitive from their company over to the house in May of 2015. He could not apologize enough. He was at my house on the roof, exterior sheads, deck, and entire fencing. He had spent about 2 hours with me, up and down latters ETC. He had explained to me that he had figured 173 man hours for 4 guys to power wash, scape, prime entire house, sheds, deck and fencing, He was disappointed with the entire job, and tried to call his boss from my house several times and got no response. He did tell me that everything is covered under warranty and not to worry, and said his crew would start the job and do it correctly on June 15th. Taking about 1 week. I had called him on the 15th when they did not show up and had spoke to ****** the general manager. He said the paint was up to me to purchace that it was not covered under College Pro's warranty... I had explained to him that I had expected more that 11 months on a paint job and that I wanted to talk to his boss... I've called them everyday sometimes twice, Their Rep on the phone assured me that they had and are continuing to email them, call them, page them ETC... Nobody is calling me back... Customer service... Really... They had no problem taking my money... College Pro Painters in Rhode Island quality rating " EXTREMELY UNHAPPY".Their going to have to really step up there game and do what was agreed upon, and honor their contract... If they had done the job correctly the first time, there would not be any need for me to purchace any paint... Extremely unhappy with all of the services provided by College Pro Painters of Rhode Island... **** ********

Desired Settlement: Everything that was suppose to be done correctly... Please read complaint above

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 18, 2015/06/27) */ Contact Name and Title: **** *******, President Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ********@collegepro.com This customer has filed a BBB complaint with the BBB in Minnesota, Chicago, and also Massachusetts - all for the same issue. I filed a complete response on the Mass site as that is the one closest to the jobsite in Rhode Island. Please close this complaint so that we can work through it on just 1 site (Minnesota has already deleted it from theirs). Our local GM in New England (**** *********** working to contact the customer, view the job, and determine proper resolution to correct any peeling paint issues. As always - we will stand behind our warranty.

6/8/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Painting was to be done last summer, but I was then contacted saying they couldn't do the job because their painters were returning to school. We agreed to have them keep the deposit and schedule our work for the summer of 2015. I've been contacting them since March, but have been told either they are training painters or they are looking for someone to complete this work. It's nearly June and paint completion is holding up the completion of other work. I emailed the rep on Friday and have yet to hear from him. I suspect they were not pleased with the price the previous rep agreed to, and now they are hoping I simply ask for my deposit to be returned.

Desired Settlement: I'd like this work completed in a timely manner and done to a professional level.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/05/26) */ Mr. ****** - Thank you for bringing this issue to our attention. I believe you spoke with **** ****** a few weeks back, informing our training was taking place. This was the case as schools ended 1.5 weeks ago. Our training is ending this week and we have crews nearby that can get a date scheduled with you in the early party of June. The General Manager by the name of *** ********** is going to call you on Wednesday / Thursday of this week to ensure that you have a clear date scheduled. If you have any other questions or concerns, *** will be happy to work through them with you. We apologize that we ran out of time last year for production and that you feel we are not taking your job seriously. As you are aware, we only work with College Labor and we did have to wait until training was completed. However, you should have been given an ideal date and more clarity around the situation, i am sorry this was the case. Sincerely, ***** ***** Vice President

9/15/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am writing to notify your company that my husband and I are rescinding the authorization for ******* ******* of College Pro Painters to paint our house in *** ***** ********* He has failed to execute on the contract as agreed and we are extremely unhappy with his lack of follow through and communication with us as customers. Mr. ******* was supposed to begin the prep work to paint our house today, August 11th. The work was rescheduled from July due to an international business trip I had to make. ******* informed us that the week of August 11th was when he could reschedule. I received a call from ******** in your customer service office confirming the new date of August 11th. Despite the fact that Mr. ******* gave us the new date of August 11th to begin the work, he called and left me a voice mail message on August 4th saying that he was done with his work in Ohio and wanted to get started with the work on our house. I attempted to reach him by phone, which I was not able to do, so I left him a voicemail message reminding him that the date he chose was August 11th and that he could not do the work the week of August 4th because we were headed out of town on vacation. We scheduled our vacation for the week of August 4th to accommodate the August 11th painting schedule for our house since we had requested a reschedule from the July date. I did not receive any call back from Mr. ******* acknowledging that he received my message and that the work would indeed start on August 11th vs. August 4th, but he clearly received the message since when we got back home on Sunday August 10th no painting had been done to our house. I was concerned that I had not heard back from Mr. ******* but assumed he would be in contact this morning since the work of power washing the house was to begin today. I took a day off of work so that I would be here to talk with Mr. ******* about the job. Unfortunately Mr. ******* never called me or showed up at my home. I tried in vain to call him on his cell phone but the calls went straight to voice mail and I was unable to leave a message because his voice mail box was full and not taking messages! This was not the first time I had that experience with Mr. ******* when trying to reach him, and he also does not respond to emails. He told me that he never reads email so I should always call. But what is the point of calling someone who NEVER answers his phone and does not return your calls. This is the most unprofessional and poorest example of customer service I have ever experienced! When I was unable to reach Mr. ******** I called ******** in your customer service area to let her know that I had not heard from Mr. ******* and I was unable to reach him by phone. I requested that someone from your office get in touch with him to tell him to contact me to discuss the job since I would be home all day. ******** said that your computers were down at that time so she could not contact Mr. ******* until later but she promised she would do so and someone would get back to me. Well needless to say it is now 11:22pm and no one has contacted me! Since we started working with College Pro Painters in ********* we have had nothing but problems. We had trouble with the first franchise owner ******* ******* and wanted to cancel the contract. We let the regional manager convince us to give the job to Mr. ******* instead of canceling and getting a refund of our deposit. While Mr. ******* started out being more responsive, he too has not followed through in a professional manner so we now have absolutely NO CONFIDENCE in College Pro and we are (1) rescinding our authorization for the house painting work and (2) want a refund of all of our deposit money totaling $1,231.79. I am copying Mr. ******* on this email as well. The only action we now want is a refund of our deposit and we will never do business with College Pro Painters again.

Desired Settlement: Since we started working with College Pro Painters in *** ***** we have had nothing but problems. We had trouble with the first franchise owner ******* ******* and wanted to cancel the contract. We let the regional manager convince us to give the job to Mr. ******* instead of canceling and getting a refund of our deposit. While Mr. ******* started out being more responsive, he too has not followed through in a professional manner so we now have absolutely NO CONFIDENCE in College Pro and we are (1) rescinding our authorization for the house painting work and (2) want a refund of all of our deposit money totaling $1,231.79.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/08/18) */ College Pro cares deeply that all of its customers get taken care of and it appears we have dropped the ball in this situation. We are setup as a franchise system and one of our managers took this money. We will pursue this manager on behalf of the homeowner to recollect the money and return their deposit while we do this. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/08/18) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) We wrote our checks to College Pro and they were cashed by College Pro. The work was never done. We want our money back from College Pro, not excuses. If some college kid came to our door, we would never let them paint our house. College Pro offers follow up, management, and warranty services, therefor they can also refund our deposit. Final Business Response /* (4000, 11, 2014/09/02) */ 9/1/14 I have ordered the check to be refunded, please give 1-2 weeks for processing and it will be delivered to the ****'s directly NOTE FROM THE BBB: Please hold off on your response pending receipt of the check. Please confirm receipt ***** ****** Assistant Manager-Home Services BBB-Chicago & Northern Illinois

8/25/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: no product just poor work

Desired Settlement: just finish the work

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/08/12) */ Contact Name and Title: ****** ******* GM Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: ********@collegepro.com My name is ****** ******* and I am the General Manager for College Pro in the states of Indiana and Kentucky. I spoke with ****** ********** this afternoon about the work that was done on his home. The issues included a few missed spots, some drips below the deck and a few on the roof line next to the trim after. These were noticed after the final walk-around with the franchise owner that took place a few weeks ago. ****** also felt that the deck was not powerwashed well enough and does not like the color he gave to the painters to use. We are happy to fix the deck the way we know works best and the way paint reps for Sherwin Williams are instructing, but he wants to use a product that we are not familiar with. All the items ****** mentioned to me are minor and fixable. We are more than willing to take care of these concerns and ensure the job is fixed to the best of our ability. The franchisee for the territory is ***** ****** and he has left ****** a message to ensure the issues are taken care of promptly. The customer is very willing to work with us to get this resolved as are we the company. He will be talking to ***** ****** tomorrow to establish next steps in getting these items resolved. I left him with my cell phone in case he has trouble reaching Brent.

8/5/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hired College pro painters to stain our fence. After the stain dried it was quite obvious they did a horrible job. They had power washed much to hard and when they put on the stain it did cover many areas. They had 2 college students doing the job which was the first time for them and no one to check the work. Product_Or_Service: Labor Order_Number: 1023319 Account_Number: N/A

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund We have spoken to a Department manager who came to the house and agreed it was a bad job. He said they would refund 1/2 the price we paid. Today he called and said the Franchisee Rept. said he would not agree to do that and they can not force him to refund any of our money. We had to give the Franchisee Rep a check made out to him personally. We feel he took advantage of us as senior citizens. The cost was $904 dollars.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/07/25) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ***** Contact Phone: XXX XXX XXXX Contact Email: ******@collegepro.com Our general manager in the area is aware of this situation. The Franchise Manager was out to the Jobsite yesterday and was suppose to be fixing the project. Our General Manager in WI will be reaching out to the homeowner today to gather pictures of the project and we will be looking into a potential settlement.

11/22/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: College Pro was hired to paint the interior of a house in August of 2013. As of October 2013, the paint on the walls was peeling off at several different locations. There are numerous other areas where the painters did not fully paint over the surface. Quality was sub-par. Company was contacted to explain, owner was rude and disrespectful, stating that it isn't his problem. I explained to him that if the paint was as good as he promised, then there should be no trouble with it physically peeling off the wall as I rub my hand over it or use painters tape to cover the surface. I explained to the owner that this was unacceptable and he stated, "I did what you told me to do, paint, and I did, from here I can see if I can open my schedule to check it out" Per contract when it was signed, the owner stated that he would make sure we were happy with the work, which I am not.

Desired Settlement: To come back out to the location and repaint all surfaces that were supposed to be covered in the contract, including costs of paint, brushes, and full cleanup.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2013/11/09) */ Contact Name and Title: **** *******, President Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ********@collegepro.com Rich Fearing - College Pro Painters Franchisee - is trying to set up a meeting at the ******* residence. He is going to bring along a Sherwin Williams (paint supplier) representative as well to try to determine why the paint is not adhering. At this meeting, Rich and the customer, with the help of the paint rep, should be able to determine proper next steps on the job. -------------------------------------------------- 11/10/13 additional info from business: Update from our franchisee Rich Fearing: "I've talked to the customer once on the phone and offered to come look at the problem with Adam Miller (representative from Sherwin Williams). The costumer did not show up for the appointment. I left 4 messages trying to reschedule another time. Adam had left a few as well. The plaster seems as if it was not ready to be painted. I painted it when the customers contractor said it was ready." College Pro's Franchisee is willing to come and look at the problem and bring along it's representative from Sherwin-Williams.

7/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on College Pro Painters
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart