BBB Accredited Business since

CertaPro Painters of Libertyville

Phone: (847) 740-2599 View Additional Phone Numbers 872 S. Milwaukee #255, Libertyville, IL 60048 View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


CertaPro Painters of Libertyville is a painting contractor which provides painting and decorating services for residential and commercial customers. This company serves the northern suburbs of Chicago, including Green Oaks, Mundelein, Vernon Hills, Lake Forest, Lake Bluff, North Chicago, Waukegan, Park City, Highwood, Bannockburn, Forest Lake, Hawthorn Woods, Grayslake, Hainesville, Lincolnshire, Round Lake, Grandwood Park, Wauconda, Beach Park, Lindenhurst, Wheeling, Deer Park, Long Grove, Forest Lake, Northbrook, and Gurnee. Services available from this company include interior painting, exterior painting, drywall and plaster carpentry, siding painting, and metal painting.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that CertaPro Painters of Libertyville meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for CertaPro Painters of Libertyville include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 2
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on CertaPro Painters of Libertyville
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 15, 2010 Business started: 12/15/2009 Business started locally: 12/15/2009
Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Robert James, Owner/CEO Ms. Gina Newsome, Production Mgr
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Robert James, Owner/CEO
Number of Employees


Business Category

Painting Contractors Painting - Faux Finishing Commercial Painting Contractor Painters - Commercial or Residential Wallpaper Removing Wallpaper Hangers Painting and Wall Covering Contractors (NAICS: 238320)

Alternate Business Names
CertaPro Painters of Waukegan

Additional Locations

  • 872 S. Milwaukee #255

    Libertyville, IL 60048 (800) 462-3782 (847) 740-2599


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/20/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: In July of this year I returned two signed contracts for the painting of the interior and exterior of my home. With these contracts I included a $100 deposit per contract, for a total of $200. The exterior painting was contracted to begin sometime during the summer months after July 7th. I reached out in mid-August when I had not heard anything from the company and was advised that I was scheduled for September. The first week of September or so I received an email indicating the weather had been a problem and that the exterior job was being pushed back to the week of October 6th. Approximately a week ago I received a confirmation email indicating that the exterior process would begin on October 7th with the company power washing the exterior of the house and notification within 24-48 hours of their time of arrival on October 7th. Today, October 6th at approximately 415pm I sent an email to the company requesting a time of arrival since they were now outside their 24-48 hour window. Approximately 4 hours and 15 minutes later I received an email apologizing for my receipt of the email indicating the work would begin tomorrow and that I was scheduled for the following week. I cannot keep rearranging my work schedule and taking vacation time in order to accommodate this company's disregard for my time and I am requesting my deposit be refunded so I can seek out a more reliable company to complete the job in a timely manner.

Desired Settlement: $200 deposit refunded for the headaches and spent vacation time to accommodate a company that cannot live up to its promises.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/10/17) */ Contact Name and Title: *** *****/Owner Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ****** I reached out to Mrs. ******* and explained that I had just bought the company and apologized for how she had been treated. We met at her home and she understood our situation. We have worked out the problem and will be painting her home very soon. I am keeping in contact with her to let her know when we will be out there.

9/6/2013 Delivery Issues
8/2/2013 Problems with Product/Service