Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Castino Painting & Restoration meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Castino Painting & Restoration include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Castino Painting & Restoration
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 22, 1997 Business started: 06/01/1974 Business started locally: 06/01/1974 Business incorporated 03/11/1986 in IL
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Cathy Barnard, Office Manager Mr. Roger Castino, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Cathy Barnard, Office Manager
Business Category

Painting Contractors Painting - Faux Finishing Deck - Repair Stucco & Exterior Coating Contractors Tile - Ceramic - Contractors & Dealers Wallpaper Removing Wallpaper Hangers Handyman Services Flood assistance Carpet & Rug Cleaners Fire & Water Damage Restoration Deck Cleaning and Treatment Mold & Mildew Remediation Snow Removal Service Deck Cleaning and Waterproofing Deck Cleaning & Sealing Carpenters Contractors - General Floor Refinishing Gutter Cleaning Painting and Wall Covering Contractors (NAICS: 238320)

Additional Information

Castino Services is not affiliated with nor is it the same business as Castino's Professional Painting in Streamwood.


Additional Locations

  • 2820 Old Willow Rd.

    Northbrook, IL 60062

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/7/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Representative made repeated requests for our credit card information even though we had given them a check. The check amount was for 1/3 of the estimated cost of the project. We suggested that they scale back the project just to include the initial $200 of painting. The representative continued to pressure for credit card information. When I suggested that we should ask the Illinois Attorney General's office for advice per the consumer rights brochure, Castino indicated that they would not schedule the painting, severing the potential business. we are awaiting the return of our $200. The undue pressure for the credit card info seems out of line with business practices and suggests fraudulent intent on the part of Castino.

Desired Settlement: We would like our $200 returned to us and for other consumers to be warned of such unscrupulous practices.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/09/24) */ From: ***** ******* Sent: Wednesday, September 17, XXXX XX:XX PM To: '*******@chicago.bbb.org' Cc: **** ****** ***** ********** ***** ******* Subject: ***** ******** complaint against ******* Ms. ******** states" Representative made repeated requests for our credit card information even though we had given them a check." Ms. ******** was given a packet by her condo association president indicating what steps needed to be taken in order to schedule the work with ******* for each of the 23 condo residents. ******** sent in her signed contract with a $200. Deposit. She didn't include the required Consumer Rights Form, the credit card number, nor the correct deposit amount for her unit ($505. Per her association request). Our scheduler, ****** called Ms. ******** on Aug. 22 and informed her that she was missing a required signed document that was needed in order to get her on the exterior painting schedule. ***** told ***** "well then send it to me". ***** sent the form via email as she and ***** agreed. ***** indicated that she would be mailing it back and ***** informed her that once ******* receives that form we would call her to schedule and at that point we would require a credit card number on file to secure the balance as the contract indicates. The ********** Square association president (******* *********) was informed of this and she herself reached out to ***** and requested that she send in the required document along with the credit card number. A little less than two weeks later ***** called ***** because ******* had not yet received the form ***** needed to schedule and we wanted to make sure that her project was scheduled within the season time frame. ***** left a message for ***** indicating that a we hadn't received the form that she said she was going to mail in. ***** called back and told an employee of ours to send another form and that message was left with *****. ***** called ***** that same day to touch base and perhaps address any issues that ***** may be having regarding the Consumer Rights form because this would have been the second time that we would be sending the document. And she had been given it by her condo association president also. During the conversation, ***** said that she sent the document and that we must be losing and misplacing things in our office. ***** explained to ***** that she was not sure what could have happened to her mail but that it was highly unlikely that it would get lost in the ******* office. ***** then told ***** she didn't like the way ***** approached her about not receiving the paperwork and that she was insulted. ***** told her that she was confused and didn't understand why ***** would be insulted by her follow up call. ***** then said that she felt like ***** insinuated that ***** did not send in the form that she said she was going to mail. ***** told her that she never said that and reiterated that she said "we did not receive the form" and that ***** did not insinuate that "***** did not send the form but that anything could have happened between ***** mailing the form and ******* not receiving it, perhaps the post office lost/misplaced it. ***** informed ***** that she was actually being proactive about making sure that ***** was able to be scheduled before it was too cold to paint and that ***** was working on *****'s side by following up with her about her paperwork. ***** then requested that ***** "send the form again with a self-addressed stamped envelope so that you get the form you want"! On August 8th, we received *****'s signed Consumer Rights form and ***** called ***** to schedule but reiterated that the last item we needed for scheduling was a credit card number to secure the balance. ***** then said she didn't need to give a credit card number because her project was paid in full and that she just wanted about an hours' worth of painting. ***** knew that this statement was changing the scope of the work that the association had decided was *****'s work and did not want to get involved in this. ***** told her it is company policy to obtain a credit card number for scheduling all jobs to secure the balance as indicated on the contract as well. ***** also told ***** that she wasn't authorized to confirm whether the job was paid in full (Especially since the job was a job to be done on an hourly basis),she was only to take a deposit and a credit card number per company protocol. ***** reminded her that her $200. Check was not for payment in full but was for a deposit as she indicated on her own check in the memo section. ***** refused to give her credit card number and threatened to call the Illinois States Attorney, ***** told her that was fine and to be clear and let the Illinois States Attorney know that we require a signed estimate, signed Consumer Rights form, 1/3 deposit, along with a credit card number on file for scheduling and that everything is fully disclosed on the front page of the contract where the signature is required. ***** also told ***** to feel free to call back once she had spoken with them and if she wanted to move forward with the painting. ***** was then instructed by our estimator to return the $200 check she mailed in. ***** had it mailed certified on Aug. 9. We have the receipt. ***** was also called on the 9th and told we would not be working for her and her personal check, stating "Paid in Full", was being sent back to her. And then the next day she contacts you to complain about our policies and not returning her check. Please feel free to call with any questions. I also have copies of our contracts, consumer rights etc. XXX-XXX-XXXX


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Castino Painting & Restoration
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)