Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Campus Corps Painters, Inc

Phone: (630) 971-1577 Fax: (630) 971-1726 413 N Cass Ave, Westmont, IL 60559 http://www.campuscorps.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Campus Corps Painters, Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Campus Corps Painters, Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Campus Corps Painters, Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 01, 2000 Business started: 01/01/1968 Business started locally: 01/01/1968 Business incorporated 02/13/1985 in IL
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Scott Yochim, President Russ Kukla, Operations Manager Ms. Susan Yochim, Secretary/Treasurer
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Scott Yochim, President
Business Category

Painting Contractors Painting and Wall Covering Contractors (NAICS: 238320)


Additional Locations

  • 413 N Cass Ave

    Westmont, IL 60559 (630) 971-1577

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The contract to have wood trim on our 2 story brick house, including window frames, front door including frame, & garage door frame, was signed in Oct 2011. The problem noted in 2014 is that areas of bare wood were seen on the front door frame and garage frame. These area were painted in late October 2011 with most of the work delayed until the following spring. Duration paint was selected because it has a limited lifetime warranty if there is proper surface preparation. I contacted campus corp and was told I would be contacted within a few months. When I called to get a specific date I was promised a call back about twice, which did not happen. I complained to Angies list because the company is a member. Some days later the district manager of campus corp came to the house and asked to see the contract and the bare wood areas. He asked if I would be willing to pay for sanding before the areas were repainted. I said I would consider that but asked him to email this option to me. He did not want to email. He said he would return. I asked him to notify me when he would come. I found the district manager painting over the bare wood areas with Duration paint. I was quite annoyed because I had been thinking about sanding the area myself before it was repainted. He said I should not do that because it might be lead paint. I said I was not told it was lead paint.

Desired Settlement: I would like to have the front door frame and the garage door frame repainted with proper surface preparation. A refund amount would be based on an estimate of what this would cost.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/07/15) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ****** Contact Phone: XXX XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *******@campuscorps.com Below is the exact request that the client made through an Angie's List complaint. "Redo any area where bare wood is visible with proper preparation. At this time I only observe this around the garage and front door." After visiting the site the week following her complaint we talked to the client.She was contemplating having us sand the badly cratered previous peeling paint down to smooth wood, but that sanding work would violate the EPA Lead Law Guidelines as the home was built in 1947. That said, we came the following week, scraped, primed, and painted the peeling areas with Duration paint, as requested. The client was home, witnessed the phases of the work, and her only complaint at the time, was that we didn't call and give her several days notice before we came out. That said, the work that she requested, the work that is due her via our contract has been completed. We can provide before and after photos if desired. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/07/15) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) My home was not tested for lead or if it was I was not informed about the test. A paint store employee explained that EPA guidlines should not be an excuse for inadequate preparation of a surface. I was home when the District manager repainted but did not witness his work. (He said the door bell did not work but I demonstrated it worked.) He said he scraped but I was able to flick off paint with my fingernail. The areas I complained about were high visibility areas. The reason I wanted to be notified was that I had planned to sand and scrape on my own before Duration applied. If Duration was offered the company should have complied with directions even if there were an extra charge. I will submit any documents that are requested. These were shown to the District Manaager. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/07/19) */ Quoting from the consumers requested resolution: "I would like to have the front door frame and the garage door frame repainted with proper surface preparation." We have already scraped, properly primed, and painted the peeling areas. Apparently that is not fulfilling the consumers expectations therefore... We need to know what the consumer believes the "proper preparation" to actually be. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2014/07/28) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The statement that I witnessed all phases of the work is incorrect. (See previous rebuttal.) My only observation was the district manager with a paint brush,scraper,and Duration paint finishing up. I complained that he did not notify me of his coming. He explained that coffee was spilled on the work order obliterating my request. I flicked off some paint with my finger nail and exposed bare wood. He painted over the area. So I know one small area for certain was just painted over with Duration. On his first visit I asked him to look at the Anderson windows in the rear. Paint is chipping here as well. These windows were installed on a room addition in the mid 70's so unlikely to have lead.

6/2/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We signed a contract on April 30th for our bathroom to be painted. In three weeks, all i received was a letter saying they would be in touch. I called 2 or three times to set up our appointment to be completed asap. They responded great at the get go, and then the painters came. Not only were they not from Campus Corp painters, they were subcontracted by them to do the work. This was never mentioned. Anyway, The painters took two afternoons to finish a job. This was fine as well. The problem is that when they left, there were areas that you can see the old paint colors through the new color, Paint was peeling above the shower, they painted over the caulk on the sink, got paint on the stone, and got paint on the windows. All while not cleaning up. We contacted Campus Corp Painters and after a couple calls, they responded, and this was a Friday, They promised the painter to be at our house Saturday by 9am. Nobody ever showed up. Monday morning we all go to work and then the painter shows up unannounced, we have someone at the house who let him in to touch things up. When we get home it still looks bad and he said he can come back if we need him.

Desired Settlement: I would like this bathroom to be completely sanded down and done professionally or get my $50 back from my deposit and be released of the $376 charge for the job done.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/05/30) */ We inspected the work that was done, and, as per the customers request, have refunded their $50.00 deposit. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2014/05/30) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I accept the refund, even though *** came to the house again after a week or so of no contact and agreed to have a new crew redo the bathroom. This is just poor business practice.

10/18/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 6/10/13, I signed and mailed a contract to Campus Corps Painters, to have the exterior wood windows painted on my house. After not hearing back from them, I called ************* on 7/5/13 to see when the work would be done. A receptionist answered the call and I gave her the details about my situation. She took my phone number and name and said she would give Mark the message. I waited for about 2 weeks and I did not hear back from Mark. Once again, I called and I went through the process again with the receptionist. Unfortunately, I did not hear back. I went through this process two more times with the same outcome; no call back from Mark or anyone from Campus Corps Painters. It is very sad, that a company, who gets high ratings on Angie's list and other websites, treat some of their customers/potential customers poorly. I would not recommend doing business with them. In my opinion, it is very unprofessional and unethical not to call a customer back or to keep their promise of doing the work since I signed their contract.

Desired Settlement: To have my exterior wood windows and trim prepared, painted, and caulked as discussed verbally and by the signed contract.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2013/10/15) */ This is an inaccurate accounting of the facts. We have returned calls and even visited ( and met with ) Mr.*******. For example, on Aug. 9th 2013, and again on August 13th, he called our office, and the message he left was " I'm returning your call. " How can he call and leave that message if he there was never a "call back from **** or anyone from Campus Corps Painters." We're certain about this since all calls in and out of the office are logged, as are all messages. I have no idea what motive Mr ******* for this fiction, but it is not true. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 9, 2013/10/15) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The response is a lie. After the initial visit, for the estimate, I never heard back from campus corps painters. When I called them to get them to call me back, I always left a message with a the woman that answered the phone. She told me she would give the message to ****. If they did try to call me why didn't they leave me a voicemail? Their response to my complaint seems like they are responding to a different complaint. In my opinion, they are acting unprofessionally, and still don't want to perform the work. At this time, I know longer want the work done by them. Final Business Response /* (4000, 11, 2013/10/17) */ Our response is factually correct. The messages the secretary took did read "Returning your call" None the less, the consumer states "At this time, I know longer want the work done by them." And we are happy to comply with his request.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Campus Corps Painters, Inc
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)