Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

Blue Ribbon Painting & Decorating, Inc.

Phone: (630) 495-2583 Fax: (630) 428-3485 View Additional Phone Numbers 543 S. Chase, Lombard, IL 60148 http://www.blueribbonpainting.org/


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Blue Ribbon Painting & Decorating, Inc. include:

  • 1 complaint(s) filed against business that were not resolved

Factors that raised the rating for Blue Ribbon Painting & Decorating, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Blue Ribbon Painting & Decorating, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 12, 2001 Business started: 02/01/1993 Business started locally: 02/01/1993 Business incorporated 02/19/1993 in IL
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Philip Edwards, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Philip Edwards, President
Business Category

Painting Contractors Painting and Wall Covering Contractors (NAICS: 238320)


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    543 S. Chase

    Lombard, IL 60148 (630) 404-2606

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/23/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The business owner came over on June 3, 3014 and gave me an estimate. He knew I was inexperienced and I believe he took advantage of this. He told me his workers were Americans and they do quality work. I knew he had high ratings on BBB and *****'s **** so I trusted him. I asked him to paint the entire condo,remove nails and hooks, remove a phone jack, he attached some trim in the kitchen, and removed window treatments. I'm told this is what painters do! There were not special requests. I believe when I am asked if a ceiling should be painted then you should take down the light fixtures to paint everything. He gave me a price and I agreed to it. The men worked June 4th, 5th, and 6th. I talked to the owner and told him some vinyl needed to be put back in the bathroom and the trim was not attached in the kitchen. He worked for most of the day on June 7th. One of my switch plates was taken. They also left a chandelier dangling in my living room and never put it back up. They also did not put the light fixture in the kitchen back up. I paid the owner in cash on June 7th. Since then, I have had people to redo the trim. I had to paint the window inset myself. Also, they didn't paint the window sills so I had to do that myself. I asked the owner to paint my doors and he refused so I had to paint those as well. I would give this job a C and that is generous!

Desired Settlement: I don't think I got my monies worth here. The owner of a painting company forgot to write down my paint colors and then bought way too much paint for my condo. As a professional with all of this experience, he definitely should have done better with these basic things. I am asking for 1200.00 back because I feel that 1394 is a fair price for the job that was done.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/09/02) */ I don't understand what the problem is with the painting work at this condominium. When we were finished, she said that she was very happy with the paint job. I told her (like everyone I work for) that if she saw anything that didn't look o.k. to call me. She never called me or emailed me to discuss any problems that she had with the work. We don't take down light fixtures to paint a ceiling. I don't know anyone who does this. We are painters, not electricians. We completed approx. 12 hours of patching and sanding on the walls & ceilings. They were in very bad shape. The vinyl baseboard in the bathroom was barely hanging on the wall and ended up falling off during the work. I re-attached the baseboard. The base shoe in the kitchen was previously never attached, so I attached it with nails. Her doors had veneer that was loose, and had many gouges & holes. We discussed that she would probably replace the doors at a later date. I never refused to paint them!!!!! I never wrote down the colors because she didn't seem sure of them. Why she mentioned that? I don't know. Her place was a wreck when we got there and we made it look very respectable. Everything was painted to her satisfaction when we were completed. It's paint...when it's done, it doesn't change or leak or short out or stop working. Here is the totals of what the job cost were: Paint & Materials: $ 552.00 Labor charges: 76 hours $2,280.00 ________________________________________________ Total cost: $2,832.00 There is no way that I am going to give her $1200 back for work that was done properly. **** ******* Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/09/03) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) After the carpet was changed, I noticed all the blue paint on the baseboards. The carpet should have been pulled back so the baseboards could be fully painted or asked to have the carpet removed before painting. Also, it looks like the door trim was only given one coat of paint. I can see the blue paint on the bedroom door trim. I have pictures of the baseboards and door trim and how bad they look. Secondly, 552 for paint is outrageous with how small my condo is and how much I have left over. I have several full cans of paint here! As a professional, he should have better estimated how much was actually needed. In terms of writing down the paint colors, I was sure of everything except the kitchen and I decided that while he was there. I also asked for Gardenia on the baseboards and I got painters white. Another point, one of your workers OFFERED to take down the light fixture in the living room to paint around it and the light fixture in the kitchen was taken down as well. If you are not an electrician then why were some taken down and others left up? Also if he could take it down, he should have put it back. Also, there are drips everywhere.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Blue Ribbon Painting & Decorating, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)