BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Chicago and Northern Illinois

BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 10/01/2005

OpticsPlanet, Inc.

Phone: (847) 513-6201Fax: (847) 919-3003

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

203 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 88 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues43
Billing / Collection Issues7
Delivery Issues53
Guarantee / Warranty Issues3
Problems with Product / Service97
Total Closed Complaints203

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (203)BBB Closure Definitions
03/03/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to provide promised assistance or support for products or services

Complaint: I ORDERED A********************************************************** PARKA ******************** FOR **** **** **************************** AND RECEIVED ** ** PARKA AND IT WOULD NOT FIT. I EMAILED AND TALKED TO OPTICS PLANET STAFF 12 TIMES AND THEY PROMISED TO SEND A RETURN SHIPPING LABEL AND NEVER DID. I RETURNED THE PARKA AT MY EXPENSE VIA THE *** STORE, INSURED FOR **** ************** ********************************

***************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************


***Final Consumer Response********************************
******** please find the receipt requested by ************************* of Optics Planet regarding ************************************************** returned to Optics Planet*************** at my expense. I am requesting reimbursement of ******, since Optics Planet agreed to pay all return shipping costs, but never supplied a shipping letter or other means to return the Parka, which was the wrong size. Furthermore, I request a new******************* Parka shipped back to me at no expense to me, since I have already paid Optics Planet **********************
***************************************************************************************************************************

***Final Business Response*********************************
We are happy to review ************** case once again.

According to our records, a check was issued on 02/12/14 for the shipping cost ************ incurred. He should receive it shortly.

We apologize for the inconvenience. ******************************************************************************************************
************************************************

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

02/18/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to honor promised refunds, exchanges, or credit

Complaint: purchase date 10/26/2013, order ********************************XXXXXXX.Returned broken case with proper return label,received email conformation on return.Was told I would receive new case.Got email saying I need to call case became more expensive.Called and was told would receive case that was mistake. Never received, called was told we were credited instead.I explained I purcased with rebate card that was not possible. Was told customer service would call within 48 hours.NO call. Called and said would take store credit or refund on my ****** account. No contact again.Sent angry email to both *********** and optics planet.In my opinion they just plain ripped me off!!

***Initial Business Response********************************
We are very sorry to hear about ********** recent shopping experience. Customer service is our number one priority. We apologize for the inconvenience and frustration this issue may have caused him.

According to our records, we cancelled the backordered item per his request. The credit was posted to his account on January 8, 2014. If ******** is still interested in receiving this item, please have him contact us or place another order on our website.

Again we deeply apologize for any inconvenience caused by this issue. We hope ******** will see past this single experience and allow us another chance to exceed his expectations in the future.
*************************************************


***Final Consumer Response********************************
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
Thank you for your help.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

01/13/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Defective, damaged, or incorrect product received

Complaint: i order 11/24, XXXXXXX order number,********************* frames with a prescription for progressive lenses. my customer id is XXXXXXX. after 4 communications with opticsplanet why i had not received glasses yet, i did get a shipment 12/23. the box contained a pair of prescription sunglasses, with a frame called signature calligraphy. i have no idea who's ordered this is but not mine. i still have no ************ prescription eyeglasses. they don't except refunds on glasses. i need glasses now.I have no professional trust with this company, and would never trust them again make eyewear.

******************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
i have received my refund. thankyou for your help. ************

Final Business Response
We are sorry to hear that ********** is not happy with our response.

According to our records, we received and processed your return for credit to the original form of payment. The credit will be posted to the credit card statement shortly.

We apologize for the inconvenience and frustration we have caused during this incident. We hope**** ****** gives OpticsPlanet another opportunity to exceed his expectations in the future.

***********************************************

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

01/06/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to honor promised refunds, exchanges, or credit

Complaint: I placed an order (#XXXXXXX) with the vendor for a single item shown "in stock" with a promise to ship within 48 hours. Three days later I received an email that they would not be able to honor that promise. I called the vendor a week later and was told that the item had been "picked". So I waited another three days and called back to find out that it was still "picked". So I asked to have the order cancelled and my money refunded. I was told that "logistics" would have to do that and that they would take care of it. Another week went by and my money still wasn't refunded so I called the vendor again. I was told that they can't cancel a "picked" item...and that they had a new wharehouse and shipping software that was causing a great deal of confusion. I re-iterated that I wanted the order cancelled and refunded. I was told it would ship and that they would send me a return shipping label. Fine...so I waited another week...and received an email that asked me to process an RMA request online in order to get my return label. Well...since I don't have the product, I can't return what hasn't been sent. So I called back and was told that "logistics" COULD cancel the order and that I would receive a call back...which still hasn't occurred. I am 3 days away from a full MONTH after having placed my order for an item which (by the way) still shows "in stock". I have since placed my order with a different vendor. I would like to have my money fully refunded to me.

******************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************



Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Optics Planet delivered a "free" promotional hat. They did NOT deliver the ************ case that I ordered and paid for. I have called customer service MULTIPLE times. I have emailed customer service MULTIPLE times. I have used online chat MULTIPLE times. I keep getting a different story. Now they are saying that it was delivered?? The only item delivered was the free hat.

Attached is the Packing Slip clearly showing JUST THE HAT.

I would like this "open" order cancelled and receive a full refund.

Final Business Response<********************************

The additional package should be delivered today via *******************

*****************************************************************************************************************************************************

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

12/30/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Unauthorized bank debits

Complaint: I ordered a scope on Christmas Day. I realized that their website said it wouldn't be available for weeks, so I sent them an email on December 27th asking them to cancel the order.#XXXXXXX. I got a response back saying that the order was in final stages of processing, but not yet shipped, and they would" try" to cancel the order. Today I checked my account, and they took the 810.99 for the order I asked them to cancel.

Initial Business Response
We are very sorry to hear about ***************** recent shopping experience. Customer service is our number one priority. We apologize for the inconvenience and frustration this issue may have caused him.

As shipment had not been initiated yet, we were able to cancel his order and issue credit to the original form of payment. The credit will be posted to his credit card statement shortly. If *** *********** is still interested in receiving this item, please have him contact us or place another order on our website.

Again we deeply apologize for any inconvenience caused by this issue. We hope *************** will see past this single experience and allow us another chance to exceed his expectations in the future.


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
Money is back in my account.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

Page 1 of 32
07/08/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Advertised product not available

Complaint: I recently purchased Oakley Batwolf Sunglasses, Black/Sliver Ghost Text Frame and Jade Iridium Pol OOXXXX-XX OC-SG-BATWOLF-OOXXXX-XX Order Number ********, from EyeWear Planet a division company of Optics Planet INC. Upon receipt I was promised that they were to cost $166.00 and be shipped within 3-5 days. I later then received an additional email advising me of my "Order Status Update" in this description stated that the price was $200.00 and were estimated to ship 17-28 Days. In addition to this email it states "We will not capture any funds from your credit card until you order can be shipped." Attempting to ensure the truth, I reviewed my ************* Credit Card to find that funds were captured by EyeWear Planet for $166.00. So I decided to call EyeWear Planet to investigate the current situation to my order. Upon calling on 06/23/14, they advised that they were on back order and I requested for additional pictures of the product as they were not available on the website. ******, whom I was speaking with, advised me that she would have to call or email me in regards as she could not find images of the product. I later received an email from ****** stating that the "Jade Iridium Polarized were mistakenly listed on our website. They were exclusively produced as a Sunglass Hut item vs the general salesforce....and have reached out to my web steam to have this item taken off our site" I was unable to get any further information on my order as their office was now closed. Today I called OpticsPlanet at ************, to whom I spoke with ******************, and advised of the discern and false adverting by their sub-division company, expecting to receive a product and being advised that it was by mistake. She has advised that she was going to cancel the order and refund my purchase to my Credit Card. I later advised her horrendous customer experience I was given and that they item was still currently on the website, she advised she would forward the message to her manager. I have copies of the emails as well as the website showing the false advertisement made by this company.

Initial Business Response
We are very sorry to hear about *********** recent shopping experience. Customer service is our number one priority. We apologize for the inconvenience and frustration this issue may have caused him.
When we contacted our vendor to request additional information, they informed us that the item ********* chose from our website was exclusive to SunGlass Hut and therefore we were unable to sell it. The information was given to our website team and the item has been removed from our website. His order has been cancelled and no funds were captured.
At the time of order placement, an authorization was placed on his credit card; however no funds were ever captured. This authorization expires after a certain amount of days. This timeframe is governed by the credit card company and/or banking establishment. Eyewear Planet does not have the ability to release this authorization. ********* will have to check with his card issuer to release the hold on the funds.
Again we deeply apologize for any inconvenience caused by this issue. We hope ********* will see past this single experience and allow us another chance to exceed his expectations in the future.
Regards,
**************************************


Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Funds were captured on my Credit Card in the amount of $166.00 as it was shown on my Credit Card statement online. Yes, I had authorized the purchase and it verified funds were available and there card was valid therefore capturing funds that are guaranteed to be paid between 3-5 business days. By receiving a receipt from the company means that the funds have been authorized and captured. In addition if funds were not captured, why would they have to be returned to my Credit Card? Had I not done my due diligence in inquiring about my recent purchases and discrepancies between purchased price and shipping time and requesting pictures of the product, I would still be waiting for them. Due to false advertisement and illegally capturing funds, which your company stated it would not per email, have violated my six rights as a consumer. This is highly unacceptable and your company should be reprimanded for their disregard of "customer service", false adverting, selling products that are not authorized and several other reasons. I should not have to purchase another product and potentially go through the same process again.

Final Business Response
We are sorry to hear that ********* is not happy with our response.
According to the attachment and our company policy, we will not capture any funds from a customer's credit card until the order can be shipped. As explained in our previous correspondence, we do not have authority to sell items made exclusively for Sunglass Hut.
We apologize for the inconvenience and frustration we have caused during this incident. We hope ********* gives OpticsPlanet another opportunity to exceed his expectations in the future.
Regards,
**************************************

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined the company made a reasonable offer to resolve the issues, but the consumer did not accept the offer.

11/15/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Advertisement misrepresented a product

Complaint: I purchased a set of ******* see-through scope rings (model #XXXXX). The picture on the website showed a barrel-mounted ring but the actual part is a rail-mounted ring. After my purchase I noticed this and called first thing in the morning to cancel the order.(****************

I was told by the gentleman via the customer service chat that he would put in the cancellation but the payment had gone through and it probably would ship. I called back a few hours later to verify the status of this order and I was told that it was still in processing but the cancellation was noted and can still go through. I called back a few hours after that and was told that the cancellation would go through. Later on that night, I received an email that the part was shipped and called back in the morning and verified that this was actually the case.

I can not understand how a product is packaged and shipped even after it is understood that the purchase should have been cancelled. The cancellation request was known and in the companies' system for almost an entire work day yet this cancellation still was not possible. I have 3 issues with this. #1 - Why does the company list that it has a cancellation policy when it is seemingly impossible and out of their control to cancel the purchase? #2 - Why are the customer service representatives giving me incorrect information (that the cancelation would go through when it did not)? #3 - Why does a company not attempt a better way to remedy an issue (outside of the standard RMA) with an order that was made based on the incorrect advertising presented by the company?

An RMA has been issued and I will receive a return label but at $12.99 is this entire headache even worth it?

The problem identified with this order occured well before this product was packaged and sent out, if fact, this product was packaged and sent out with a cancellation request already placed on it. If the company can not cancel an order, as is very apparent, then they need to list this on their website. They need to state that an RMA is the ONLY way to remedy incorrect purchases. This company should also own up to their false advertising, not at the expense of the customer as I am out the original shipping cost.

********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
OpticsPlanet has offered an apology. That changes nothing. I'm more concerned about the next customer that buys a product that is falsely advertised and then having to deal with trying to right the situation. That is the real issue and OpticsPlanet did not address this issue. I have attached a .pdf to explain what I am talking about.

If a customer buys a scope ring because it is falsely advertised, there should be a better solution than "I am sorry, my hands are tied. Lets do an RMA after I package the box and send it out in a few hours."

The following statement was offered as a reason for the company's inability to cancel the order.

"As many items ship from an offsite warehouse, once an order is approved, it cannot be cancelled."

According to the website policy on ************
******************************************************
"If you wish to cancel your order for any reason, please contact us as soon as possible. As a vast majority of in-stock items ship within 24 hours from our ********-based warehouse, it is imperative that you contact us so we may attempt to cancel your order before it is processed and/or shipped."

To state "and/or shipped" implies that it is still a possibility to cancel the product up until the shipping point of the transaction.

To state that it is can't be canceled once the order is processed conflicts with the company's cancellation policy. Since I ordered the item during the night and called within a few hours of the business opening, there was an entire workday with this as a known issue.

I ask that the company adhere to their own policies or rewrite them so that they are factual. If customer service is their #1 priority, I also ask them to find quicker remedies for their customers that order products that were falsely advertised. Offering an RMA before the box is even shipped and/or giving a customer false information is not my idea of customer service being a #1 priority.


Final Business Response
We are sorry to hear********** is unhappy with our response.

Our website states that most orders are processed within 24 hours. It also states OpticsPlanet is unable to adjust or cancel orders once processed and/or shipped (****************************************************). Processed entails approval of an order with payment verified. As our company processes orders 24 hours a day, most orders are approved for shipment within a few hours.
As we stated in our previous correspondence, we accept returns on most items within 30 days of receipt *********************************************.

We hope this better clarifies our position in this matter and apologize for any inconvenience.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined the company made a reasonable offer to resolve the issues, but the consumer did not accept the offer.

08/28/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Unauthorized credit card charges

Complaint: *******************************************************************************************************************************

After the company engaged in bait-and-switch tactics referenced in Case #XXXXXXXX, I cancelled my order because the item they said they had in stock was not. OpticsPlanet responded to my BBB case apologizing and stating the usual "we value him as a customer, etc. etc.. Then, around August 14, I received the item delivered to my house. After all of the previous interaction: calling OpticsPlanet directly, cancelling my order, filing a BBB complaint, and receiving a response to my complaint apologizing for their mistake, they charged my card and sent me the item anyway. To make matters worse, I then had to call them and waste my time to get an "RMA" number. Then, they didn't send me a shipping label (as they promised they would). So, I had to call yet again. After lying to me (by saying that they sent me the email with the label number, and when I pointed out that was not so and requesting them to forward me that same email that was sent (with them being unable to do so), and then pointing out that they sent me AN email, but not the correct one. So now, I have to wait for them to mail (yes, mail and not email - like mail to my physical mailbox) a shipping label. This was clearly unauthorized charges to my credit card. OpticsPlanet *** say that it was a "mistake", but at some point "mistakes" are so obviously flagrant that they rise to the level of being intentional.


*************** *********** ***************** (********************************) clearly advertised availability of a hard-to-find product. I placed the order, and received an email receipt. The following morning, I was sent an email that said that they did not have the product, but would sell me other (more expensive) items. When I called to inquire, they said the item wouldn't be available until September. I asked why that wasn't indicated on the website. They replied that there was a "check availability" button (but then later recanted that, after I asked them where it was. Their response was that there was a "check availability button on their partner site Opticsplanet.com, but not on the website I was using. At the time, I did not know there was an affiliate between the two sites. During my search for the product, I had actually inquired from Opticsplanet.com whether or not they had availability, using the "check availability" button. Again, though,****************** did not have such a feature). Then, they said that their policies indicate that they *** not have an item in stock, but they do not have to disclose it. PLEASE NOTE: AT NO POINT DURING THE PURCHASE PROCESS WAS I EVER ASKED TO READ OR AGREE TO ANY SUCH "POLICIES" AND AS SUCH, NEVER AGREED TO THE SAME. This consitutes 2) violations of law: 1) Bait and switch (offering a low priced item to induce a transaction, but then trying to switch to a more expensive product, and 2) fraudulent attempt to obtain personal information

***********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
1) I had already ordered the item from somewhere else after they informed me that they had misrepresented their stock availability.

2) The amount of time and frustration is much greater than the 60.99 that they refunded. I think that the voluntary (and unrequested) refund demonstrates that they believe they violated the law in their business practices. Please send a check for $1,500.00

Final Business Response
We are sorry for the frustration and inconvenience we caused him.

We refunded him as a gesture of goodwill and a token of our apology. However, we cannot issue him ****** for product availability and processing time issues. As he has received a refund for the item purchased, no additional reimbursement is forthcoming.

We are very sorry for this isolated incident and hope he will give us another chance to prove it.

***************************************

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined the company made a reasonable offer to resolve the issues, but the consumer did not accept the offer.

02/27/2014Delivery Issues
02/27/2014Delivery Issues
Page 1 of 9

Industry Comparison| Chart

Optical Goods - Retail, Laboratory Equipment & Supplies, Watches - Dealers, Telescopes, Eyeglass Suppliers, Sunglasses, Sporting Goods - Retail, Photographic Equipment & Supplies - Retail, Gun sights, Scopes & Mounts, Compasses, Binoculars, Microscopes

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.