This business is not BBB accredited.

uBid Holdings, Inc.

Phone: (630) 948-0394 Fax: (630) 773-1497 View Additional Phone Numbers 740 Hilltop Dr, Itasca, IL 60143 View Additional Email Addresses View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for uBid Holdings, Inc. include:

  • 40 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Failure to respond to 27 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for uBid Holdings, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

40 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 15 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 2
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 5
Problems with Product/Service 31
Total Closed Complaints 40

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on uBid Holdings, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 27, 2012 Business started: 10/09/2010 Business started locally: 10/09/2010 Business incorporated 02/22/2011 in IL
Type of Entity


Business Management
Ketan Thakker, CFO Mr. Robert Roehrich, Manager Mr. Michael Schmahl, EVP
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Robert Roehrich, Manager
Principal: Ketan Thakker, CFO
Number of Employees


Business Category

Online Retailer Internet Shopping Electronic Shopping (NAICS: 454111)

Additional Locations


    740 Hilltop Dr

    Itasca, IL 60143 (773) 272-5000 (630) 948-0394


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/27/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues
9/29/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 05/29/2015, I bought and paid for a "Car HD Portable DVR System with 2.5" LCD Screen," order #: CXXXXXXXX, Lot #: XXXXXXXXX for $29.00. According to the website, this item has been at the supplier's warehouse. Two days later, 05/31/2015, I won a bid for an ***** **** WIFI Enabled Unlocked Android Phone," order #: CXXXXXXXX, Lot #: XXXXXXXXX for $43.00. I later found out that there was a transaction fee of $1.99 attached for a total of $44.99 which I promptly paid. This item appears to have been shipped but when I checked the tracking #, it showed that "pre-shipment info sent to USPS," and it has remained so for months. I had contacted Ubid through the webform several times with no response to my requests. Could you please look into this problem. 9-23-15 additional info from consumer: I will want them to give me the product that I won. We had trust in them and they have to be true to themselves. How do we know they haven't been true to other people and some like me. Everyday they ask people to bid for products that will never be sent to them. I trusted them, I bid for another product. This is what they do. Lie to people. I want them to supply the products they claim we won or otherwise, make them pay for it dearly. Give them the LOWEST RATING possible on the BBB. If I have the power, nobody will do business with them for ever. At this time, I have not heard from them. I just want them to do the right thing. They are hurting a lot of people in my shoes.

Desired Settlement: I would like them to refund my money, or send my winning products to me without delay.

8/17/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I won two auctions one on July 11, order #********* and one on July 12 order #********* paid soon as auction ended, it has been well over 10 days all it says is item is in shippers warehouse. I have sent several messages and no response back, I've tried to call but all you get is a busy signal. I just want my stuff or a refund. I paid one with a credit card the other was with a debit card.

Desired Settlement: At this point I would like my product, if that's not possible please give me a refund.

7/21/2015 Problems with Product/Service
7/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service
6/29/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a ******* 24" LED HDTV from ubid on 5/12/2015. They sent me a conformation email for the purchase. It is 6/2/2015 and I have not received my purchase. I have emailed them 3 times with no answer. I have called them twice so far, with no response. I would like my purchase shipped to me asap. the order number is CXXXXXXXX, the purchase price was $155.00

Desired Settlement: I would like my purchase delivered as soon as possible or a refund of the purchase price.

6/18/2015 Problems with Product/Service
6/15/2015 Problems with Product/Service
6/12/2015 Problems with Product/Service
3/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service
2/23/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 1/14/15, I entered into a contract with U-Bid to purchase a DVD recorder via their web site ( They charged my **************** card $174. Over A week went by and I heard nothing from them. I sent them an e-mail asking where my merchandise was on 1/28/14. Two days went by and they told me they don't have the merchandise. They told me that they would refund my money. I told them I want what the DVD player I contracted for and if they don't have it, that they should go to ******, buy one, and send it to me.

Desired Settlement: I want them to provide me with what I purchased from them and the price we agreed upon, $174.

1/30/2015 Problems with Product/Service
1/29/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 12/22/2014 I ordered a computer from the ubid web site. I was ent only a congratulations e-mail. On 1/1/2014 the money was finally drafted from my account. I still have had no contact from the company. There have been no responses to the e-mails I have sent to the e-mail address listed for the company. Their online problem resolution is "down". And every phone call to ************** is met with a busy signal. I am at 22 days without contact from this company. ubid 1 message **** ******* <********************> Mon, Jan 26, 2015 at 3:51 PM Reply-To: **** ******* <********************> To: "*******" <*******> I have not had any communications from the company as of 1/26/2015.

Desired Settlement: I want the item I purchased shipped immediately. I could have weathered these delays if I was informed of the problem. If immediate delivery of my item is not possible a full refund will be sufficient.

1/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: we placed an order #CXXXXXXXX for ice tray shot glass with serving tray and never received the order. we have 4-7 support tickets we opened in which all were ignored as well as phone messages left which were ignored as well. very unprofessional company 1-9-15 additional info from consumer: they haven't contacted us and we had to dispute our credit card

Desired Settlement: they can replace the item or they can refund me and close my account as I will never order from them again

12/15/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On November 21, 2014 I won an auction for headphones for $20.00 plus tax. I purchased 3 pair for $61.99. I received a notice that I had won the auction and the payment had gone through and my item would be shipped in 2 days. As of today I still have not received the headphones and after repeated emails and phone calls no one has gotten back with me and their phone rings and then goes to a busy signal.

Desired Settlement: I would like either the headphones or my money returned.

10/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service
10/6/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased ***** camera listed as NEW. Came refurbished. Customer service is not cooperative. They asked for pictures and I sent them. Then again they asked for pictures. Being a month so far dealing with them. Opened Dispute with credit card company. Order # CXXXXXXXX. Lot # XXXXXXXXX.***** ******* SXXXX XX MP Digital Camera w/ 12x Zoom & Built-In Wi-Fi (Red). Purchased 08/27/2014. Second purchase from sister site www.******.com. Refurbished ********** Pulse Steam Mop 1500 Watts Compact & Lightweight. purchaed 08/24/2014. Order # CXXXXXXXX. Customer service is non existent. Need to file dispute again. This is not a product that failed during use. This is product sent dead-on-arrival DOA.

Desired Settlement: $120.00

9/19/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: ***** headphones are not only fake but used. Serial number is copied. Company contact information is fake. XXXXXXXX 1 message ******* **** <*********> Mon, Sep 8, 2014 at 9:35 AM To: "*******" <*******> Case number XXXXXXXX I have not heard from the company and they are still using fake contact info Sent from my iPhone

Desired Settlement: Would like not only a refund but additional for the time I have spent tracking down a fake company. They should pay for a REAL set of headphones from an AUTHORIZED dealer

8/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service
6/20/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
3/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service
3/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service
2/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service
1/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have two issues with ubid, 1) order cXXXXXXXX - Xn 11/15/2013 I won the bid, requested a shipping update after payment, never got one, they kept my money for 3 weeks. They said they could not find the item.2) order bXXXXXXXX - On 12/15/2013 I won the bid, requested a shipping update after payment, never got one, status as of today 01/03/2014 the only actual reply I got was they were checking with the supplier. Product_Or_Service: Mach speed 9.7" trio stealth pro android tabl Order_Number: bXXXXXXXX

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I would like an immediate refund from these "sellers" and a written appology. I do online business with several sites, ****, ******, etc and not a single other seller has disrespected me the way has.

Business Response: Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 12, 2014/01/28) */ although the company returned my money the issue is they are in the business of selling items, these two cases illustrate a pattern that is disturbing, they automatically take your money if you win an auction, their terms and conditions indicate they only place a hold on your money but in my case they took the whole amount not just a hold. Thus they do not follow their own policies and falsely put items that are not really available for purchase online.

1/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: My Auction was won on 12/11/13 and was shipped 12/11/13. Tracking number given is showing no record under **** system ******************** . This is a link to everything promised by Ubids*********

Desired Settlement: I am asking the business to send all property/vouchers directly to me with correct shipping information and of full value that I bought. If they cannot provide such vouchers I will be willing to accept retail value of promised vouchers.

1/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service
1/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service
12/27/2013 Delivery Issues
12/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service
12/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service
12/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a laptop from at the end of september. I had a good experience with them before so was not worried about anything. My laptop I was using the screen was dead. The laptop arrived, everthing was fine. A couple days later I put on netflix to watch a movie and noticed there are several blotches of dead pixels on the screen. I contacted Ubid, no answer. Contacted them again and got an answer a week later. I had already had all my files transferred onto the new laptop (50+ Gigs) and had disposed of the old one that did not work. At first they told me there was no warranty but on the description page it stated a 30 day warranty on hardware. After a couple more emails back and forth they said to send it back and they will look at it. That is not possible for 2 reasons. 1. All my files are already on this computer, where are they going to go in the meantime. 2. I run a small **** business, being without a computer is not a option for me. I told them that I would be more than happy with an exchange or a credit to have the screen repaired. They refused and said the only way was to send it back. ------------------------------------------------ Re: BBB Complaint Case# ******** (Ref#XX-XXXXXXXX-XXXXXXXX-X-XXX) 1 message MG <**********> Fri, Nov 29, 2013 at 8:36 AM To: ******* Business has not responded or contacted me in any way

Desired Settlement: I am not asking for much just the right thing to do. 1. Send out a replacement laptop, so I can transfer all my files over and send the defective one back. or 2. A credit/refund to have the screen replaced on the defective one. (It runs about $100 + Labor)

12/6/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I won an auction from this company on 10-30-13. The company states in their shipping policies that you will receive the product after 14 days. It has now been over 14days. I have sent numerous emails to the company regarding my product with no response from this company. Also their online live chat option is not working either. I just want my product!

Desired Settlement: I want my product and some sort of compensation like free shipping or something else.

Business Response: Final Consumer Response /* (450, 9, 2013/12/06) */ The consumer indicated ONLINE that the business responded to this complaint to his/her satisfaction. He/she also stated: The problem has been resolved.

11/29/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have contacted uBid regarding this issue via email, they didn't respond. live chat is never functioning, no phone number is posted on the Web site. So there is no way talk to a live representative from uBid. Auction listing has a phone number shown, but no one ever picks up the phone at that number and the message always says that the mailbox "is full, no messages can be accepted".

Desired Settlement: Full refund

11/19/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
10/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service
7/1/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
4/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service
1/21/2013 Problems with Product/Service
1/2/2013 Problems with Product/Service
12/21/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues