Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

Office Designs

Phone: (877) 696-3342 Fax: (847) 504-0176 View Additional Phone Numbers 722 Landwehr Rd, Northbrook, IL 60062 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.officedesigns.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Office Designs include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Office Designs
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 28, 2007 Business started: 09/01/1997 Business started locally: 09/01/1997
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. John MacEntee, President Mr. James A. Crouthamal, Chairman of the board Ms. Marge Dolen, Director of Customer Service
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Marge Dolen, Director of Customer Service
Principal: Mr. John MacEntee, President
Business Category

Office Supplies Furniture - Retail Office Furniture & Equipment Office Furniture & Equipment - Installation Office Furniture & Equipment - Rental & Leasing Stationery and Office Supplies Merchant Wholesalers (NAICS: 424120)

Alternate Business Names
Direct Commerce Home Office Solutions Home Office Solutions Group OfficeDesigns.com

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    722 Landwehr Rd

    Northbrook, IL 60062 (877) 696-3342

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/6/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Incompetency **** ***** *****ed up my order of Order #XXXXXX #XXXXXX he failed to communicate with & me ***** & *****ed up again when he had the product come back on the day ***** was going to deliver This nightmare started the moment **** ***** entered the picture. On the pre-owned ***** chairs the 12 year warranty is thru my company. We are currently out of stock on the C size chairs. There's a very good chance the chair ships out in the next week or so but we can't be certain as we are waiting for the next shipment to come in. September 14th is a safe date my service team enters. When are you leaving town? I ship from Chicago but the chairs come in from all over the country. Like I said, I don't think the chair will take more than a week or two to receive but once you know when you will be out of town let me know so we can make sure we don't ship it if your not there. My best guess is you will be receiving an email with the tracking information sooner than later. Never came why the problem!!! On Sat I was downstairs and get a notice in US Mail, not a doorknob. Only because I had to get a replacement keyboard that was delivered when I bought it off **** and got tracking # that said it was. This company I've had it up to here with and its time both Principal: Mr. ***** A. ********** (CEO) Mr. ************* (President) need to know what a horrible experience it has been dealing with their company. Delivery exception LIVERPOOL, NY Ship date : Mon 8/24/2015 Northbrook, IL US Estimated delivery : Tues 9/01/2015 FULTON, NY US Customer Not Available or Business Closed Recommended action: Delivery will be re-attempted the next business day. ??? From: ********** <****@officedesigns.com> To: D S <*****@yahoo.com> Sent: Monday, August 31, XXXX X:XX PM Subject: Re: Fwd: Your Outlet Order Confirmation Order #XXXXXX #XXXXXX Hi ****, My service team has been speaking with ***** and despite all their efforts they won't redeliver the product. I let them know you will be unable to pick the chair up so they are redirecting it back to my warehouse. Unfortunately, at this point the only thing we can do is wait for the chair to get back to my warehouse and then re-ship it. On Mon, Aug 31, 2015 at 2:23 PM, D S <*****@yahoo.com> wrote: if u have to reship, just tell them to bill u the fee and redeliver tomorrow, rather than have to go thru this all over!!! From: ********** <****@officedesigns.com> To: D S <*****@yahoo.com> Sent: Monday, August 31, XXXX XX:XX AM Subject: Re: Fwd: Your Outlet Order Confirmation Order #XXXXXX #XXXXXX Hi ****, I just got off the phone with *****. They attempted to deliver it 3 times last week and after 3 attempts they will hold the package at the ***** facility. They will hold the package there for 2 days and customer pickup is the only option, they will not attempt to redeliver. After the 2 days they will ship the product back to me. Again, sorry for this inconvenience and my service manager authorized a $25 credit to be applied to your card. At this point you will either have to go and pick up the chair or we'll have to wait until the chair is returned to my warehouse and then reship it to you. Let me know if you have any questions or how you would like to proceed. On Mon, Aug 31, 2015 at 1:37 PM, D S <*****@yahoo.com> wrote: u sure its coming today??? not a peep. From: ********** <****@officedesigns.com> To: D S <*****@yahoo.com> Sent: Monday, August 31, XXXX X:XX AM Subject: Re: Fwd: Your Outlet Order Confirmation Order #XXXXXX #XXXXXX That's our mistake because my service department is supposed to send out the tracking information by email once the product ships I should have been on top of it. My apologies. ***** called me 9/1 I told them of ***** up. They apolog said redeliver today Wed 9/2.****** Senior Operations Liverpool NY told me 9/1. Now going back to IL, cuz another ***** up

Desired Settlement: I would like at least $100 back in addition to the $25. I would like never to deal with **** his Supervisor ever again in my life! This chair has 12 yr warranty per company. I only want to deal with key people who care and give me the excellent customer service this company speaks of. my biggest nightmare ever as far as delivery goes. I just got off phone with them this AM cuz u decided get the package back they won't deliver today! I had an argument with ****** this AM do not use this service to reship back to me. I need something that can be counted on with 2 hour window. This is 3rd day this week both u and ***** wasted my time. I suffer from an anxiety disorder. This can not happen anymore. use ***** ground, same service pay for the 2 hour window, Or just use UPS where I know they are in my bldg at 11AM without fail. At this point I need your president of company to email me worst nightmare I have ever dealt with in my life shipping wise!! From: **** ***** <****@officedesigns.com> To: D S Sent: Tuesday, September 1, 2015 10:44 AM Subject: Re: Fwd: Your Outlet Order Confirmation Order #************** Hi ****, My service manager confirmed with ***** the chair is on its way back to us. I don't know why ***** left the notice in the mailbox and not on the door and I have a request out to them for an explanation. I understand this was our fault and we should have provided the tracking information but it was not done. There's no excuse why it wasn't sent. The only reason I still want the chair is because I sat in one earlier this year and it was really good. I do have buyers remorse that I dealt with this clown ****. Its about time both him and his service manager. I think **** should be fired or be reprimanded big time for causing this nightmare. I have lost sleep 3 days in a row this week! this is what i call horrible customer service from both you and *****, they dropped the ball too they call it a door tag yet it was only in my mailbox downstairs, why wasn't it on my door? i know ups does ground in my bldg every day. and they either leave a package or a notice, not in a mailbox, but on my door! rest of story... i would've not known about the package if my keyboard didn't stop working on thurs i got a notice of it delivered to my email sat am. i went down stairs sat eve. i need another credit from u, and u need to tell ***** how horrible their ineffective service is, in future i suggest you avoid them at all costs. both you guys messed up my sleep big time i did not take my sleeping pill, and slept horribly this exp will not be forgotten! and not sure about forgiving your company either! if both you and ***** did what was required this convo would not be having now!!! instead im angry about both companies when all i should've been was glad to sit in my new chair! thurs if a door tag was there i would've of known to look out fri! if i hadn't gone downstairs on sat, i probably wouldn't have known for another week that this was even going on, you boss needs to know that, at this point so does the pres of ur company! when i looked earlier today on *****'s website said it would be delivered 9/1, nothing is accurate with them. this is the most expensive chair i've ever bought. its not some $99 chair i bought from some massive office supplies chain, you need to do better than $25. i still want the chair, because of its benefits, i sat in one earlier this yr, but i regret doing biz with your co. and i pray that i don't need anything more over the next 12 years. that i have force u to do right thing, that's what eats me the most. if i didn't ask u to do this or that you wouldn't ever of contacted me or made anything right, i hate the world today that we assume other people care tremendous amount of pain plan was plan was to take my pain pill and sleep meds, and turn the ringer off the phone all wk or until my arthritis and pain.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2015/09/18) */ Contact Name and Title: *********** - Director Contact Phone: ************ Contact Email: *****@officedesigns.com It was unfortunate that the ship confirmation was not sent to the customer. ****** attempted to deliver the product 3 times prior to returning the shipment to us. In an attempt to ease the inconvenience, we reshipped the chair fully assembled to the customer. It was originally sent with assembly required. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 11, 2015/09/18) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The chair was missing hardware, the lady ******* ****** Customer Service Specialist Put me thru the ringer to get the missing screw. Quality control is not there at all... so far its one nightmare after another! Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 17, 2015/09/24) */ They need to state the $ amount, and date refunded. At that time I will check with my bank. Once it reaches my bank. Then determine, if I wish to close the complaint. Final Business Response /* (4000, 21, 2015/10/05) */ Contact Name and Title: *********** - Director Contact Phone: ********** Contact Email: *****@officedesigns.com The customer was refunded a total of $150 by 9/24/15 (he had requested $125). An email was sent to the customer when each of the refunds were completed.

9/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Received quote on merchandise on 7/2/13. Called on 8/7/13 to confirm quote/items still valid. Said yes, part of order would be shipped direct from factory (20 new chairs), other half (23 used chairs) would be shipped from warehouse within 24 hours. On 8/13 contacted supplier with no follow up from them on when items actually shipped. Finally notified they would be sent week of 8/19. Placed phone call on 8/23 to find out where items were - was advised that product not available - would we substitute different color or possibly accept some items coming in on Tuesday. Approved shipment of 15 items that we had ordered and held off delivery until items Tuesday were confirmed as the same color. Called 8/28 as still nothing delivered - advised that all items shipped but replaced 8 used items with different color. Supplier is unwilling to compensate for lack of merchandise or for delay of shipment

Desired Settlement: We would like to get replacements for the substituted items so that our entire order is the same

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (4000, 10, 2013/09/04) */ As stated, we are willing to exchange the chairs and are contacting the customer. Consumer's Final Response /* (2000, 12, 2013/09/10) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Although I accept this resolution, I have yet to hear from Office Designs. It has now been almost 4 business days since they stated they would contact me. Not a great way to conduct business.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Office Designs
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)