Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Fellowes, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Fellowes, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 24, 1992 Business started: 05/01/1917 Business started locally: 05/01/1917 Business incorporated 03/18/1918 in IL
Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. James E. Fellowes, Chairman/CEO Mr. John Fellowes, President/Marketing Ms. Barbara Gargano, Customer Service Manager Ms. Maureen Moore, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. James E. Fellowes, Chairman/CEO
Customer Contact: Ms. Barbara Gargano, Customer Service Manager
Business Category

Office Furniture & Equipment Office Supplies Paper Shredding Machines Manufacturers & Producers Furniture Merchant Wholesalers (NAICS: 423210)

Alternate Business Names

Additional Locations

  • 1789 Norwood Ave.

    Itasca, IL 60143 (630) 671-8434 (630) 893-1600


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/24/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
10/31/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 08/06/14, I purchased a Body Glove iPhone 5 case, manufactured by Fellowes. The purchasing price was $29.95 plus TN sales tax, making the total purchasing price $32.91. This particular phone case had military approved on the packaging. When I opened the packaging and put my phone in the case, I noticed a crack in the case. I didn't think it was a big deal at that time. 08/07/14 I dropped my iPhone 5 on the kitchen floor while it was in the Body Glove phone case. The front phone screen, which is made of gorilla glass, is the part that hit the floor and it shattered really bad. The drop was a straight down drop, and hit absolutely nothing except the kitchen floor. I contacted the Fellowes Claims Department either the night of 08/07/14. I specifically asked the representative that I spoke with about Fellowes replacing my phone since their case didn't protect my phone. My main concern was my phone being replaced. The lady told me that Fellowes does replace phones, and that I would have to file a claim and go through that process. I filled out the proper paperwork and sent in the phone case, along with pictures of the damages to my phone. I received a letter dated 09/10/14 stating that the claim was denied, and that they would only refund me a portion of the phone case which was $20.00, $12.91 less than I actually paid for the case. I didn't care about the refund for the case, that wasn't my biggest issue. I called and spoke with a lady and she said that she would file an appeal and have someone test the product and that they would be back in touch with me within a week. It was about two weeks before I heard from them, but not before I called to see if they had a response or not. 10/6/14 I spoke with a man name ***** ******* in the legal department. The first time I spoke with *** ******** he told me that the case was not defected, and when I asked him about the crack in the phone he stated there was no crack which led me to believe he didn't thoroughly inspect the case. He also went on to ask me why the case was "so dirty". I told him I didn't realize the case was dirty unless it came from being in my purse. If the case was dirty, it was purchased that way if it was more excessive than what could have come from being in a purse. He told me he would reinspect the phone case and take all the new "findings" to the claims department. 10/7/14 *********** called me back and said that since I didn't have a receipt, and since they don't know how I obtained the phone case, and since they determined the phone case was not defected, they would not replace my phone. I don't understand how the found the case not to be defected when it clearly had a crack in it to begin with. For almost two years, I trusted my phone in an OtterBox and never once had any trouble. The one time I trusted my phone in a Fellowes product, it drops one time and the phone completely shattered, and I now have a phone that I can barely use.

Desired Settlement: I would like for Fellowes to replace my phone that was damaged while supposed to be being protected in one of their products. Yes, they sent me a portion (not the full amount) of the money back for their case, but that's not my issue. Money back for the case is no good to me when I have a severely damaged phone.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/10/17) */ Thank you for contacting ******** regarding your experience with the Body Glove iPhone 5 case and subsequent support. I apologize for any misunderstandings that may have occurred and hope that this letter will help clarify a few details. Appreciating the fact that you filed a claim and included supporting documentation, I confirmed with our legal department that the claim was reviewed, the product was thoroughly tested, and the final result of the claim being denied does stand per the findings communicated with you earlier. In regards to the refund for the case, the $20.00 was sent as a good will gesture since there was not a receipt included with the claims information. The $20.00 refund was based on what Amazon was selling it for at the time we received the claim. If you have since found your receipt for $32.91, please submit it and we will credit the difference. Attached is a hard copy of the Body Glove Mobile warranty which provides the specific details of the limited warranty including notation that "This warranty does not cover the cost or replacement of any device or item inside or outside of the case." Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/10/17) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The case isn't my concern! My phone is my biggest concern. However, the case was NOT free from defects! It had a crack in the case, so how could it have been determined that it was free from defects? The guy who "thoroughly tested" the case didn't even see the crack. It's not hard to miss! The Body Glove Mobile warranty that was provided was not in the packaging. However, when I received the claim denial letter, it did state "In no event shall Fellowes, its affiliates, subsidiaries, related entities or their respective officers, directors, or employees, be liable for incidental, consequential, punitive, exemplary, or special damages". Where in that statement does my phone fall? We aren't talking about a $20 phone, we are talking about a pretty expensive phone that I trusted a Fellowes product to protect. The Body Glove is supposed to be MILITARY approved, but when dropped one time it provided NO protection. Fellowes should stand behind their products! If not, that proves that they are false advertising when selling their products. When I initially called to see what can be done, I was not told that Fellowes would not replace the phone. I was, in fact, told that ******** does replace phone and that I just needed to FILE A CLAIM! Yes, Fellowes gave me a $20 check for the phone case. They also priced the case from Amazon. The problem with that is, I didn't buy the case from Amazon. It was purchased from Wal-Mart! Again, the case isn't my concern, my phone is.

8/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Bought a Voyager 125 ($800 Laminator) and it broke just after the 14 days with which i could return it to the store!!!! I had only used it twice for just a few very small projects (no more the 10 sheets of 5mil each). I Called Fellows. They told me they would have a replacement sent the next day and I should expect it in 3-5 business days. Two weeks later...nothing. Called today. They are out of stock (and apparently knew they were at the time of my call) till the end of the month at the earliest! The guy I spoke to didn't seem to care that this was for a business, was not sympathetic at all, basically told me to deal with it!!! I've dealt with similar situations with other companies and they have always worked with me to make it right (and a lot quicker). I've even on several occasions received an upgraded item when the model I purchased was unavailable. Seems like a lot of money to put out for poor customer service and an uncaring manufacturer. (And don't give me the "they can't afford to upgrade everyone's faulty equipment argument, because that would mean they have a lot of it out their and it should be recalled no sold if that's the case!!! Assuming this is an isolated incident, like tech support led me to believe, it shouldn't be a big deal.) Laminating is part of my job, and its a function I can no longer preform as I have faulty equipment. I usual purchase their branded punches even though they are a little more expensive and we replace our laminator about 1 time per year (heavy use) but i'll be looking for another vendor for all of my laminating needs in the future. That's a few thousand per year they will be losing from this consumer.

Desired Settlement: They need to replace immediately with equal or greater value product or offer refund for defective unit.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/08/18) */ I apologize for the delay in responding to the BBB claim, however I believe this matter has already been resolved to ************* satisfaction. The BBB claim was filed on August 6, 2014, but I show that Fellowes spoke with *********** on August 7th and was able to provide a satisfactory solution. Please respond if this is not the case and we will reengage accordingly. Thank you.

4/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a ******** powershred 99ci in January of 2014. The unit was dead out of the box. I called ******** and was told that I needed to ship it back at my expense. I took the shredder to the post office and had to pay 36 dollars to mail the 21 pound package. The package was sent to: ********, **** ************************************* I called approximately 2 weeks after I sent it and was told that it was received and that they were processing a replacement. This was still January when I called. Since then Ive called numerous times only to be given a runaround and now I am being told that there is no record of them even receiving a package. They cant even pull up my profile any longer its as though they deleted it. I spent 225 on the shredder and 36 to mail it and now I am left with nothing.

Desired Settlement: I am seeking the prompt replacement of the 99ci shredder.

Business Response: ********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************** ***************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************** Final Business Response /* (4000, 16, 2014/04/25) */ Based on the steps you that outlined taking, we believe we can swiftly resolve the matter as soon as you supply your supporting documentation. As stated before, please send your phone number, receipt for the purchase of the 99Ci, and the post office return receipt. For your convenience, these may be dropped in the mail ************************************************************ ****** or sent via e-mail **************************** If you are unable or unwilling to provide this information we must consider this matter closed. Thank you for your cooperation. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 12, 2014/04/11) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Fellows is committing fraud. Refuses to replace shredder.

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Fellowes, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)