BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Chicago and Northern Illinois

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 03/01/2011

Nordic Energy Services LLC

Find a Location

Phone: (630) 321-0888Fax: (630) 321-0819View Additional Phone NumbersOne Tower Lane, Suite 300, Oakbrook TerraceIL 60181 Send email to Nordic Energy Services LLC

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 03/01/2011

BBB has determined that Nordic Energy Services LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered Nordic Energy Services LLC's rating include:

  • 6 complaints filed against business

Factors that raised Nordic Energy Services LLC's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 6 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues4
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service1
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Nordic Energy Services LLC

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (6)BBB Closure Definitions
06/09/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Savings tremendously exaggerated and no notice given as to increases until after the fact. Enticed to stay with credit to be applied to future bill but only if continuing to take their product. Indicating knowledge of over charge. Average prior bill 350 - *** 600 - Feb 1100 Rate increases coincide with my meter reading no incremental changes

Desired Settlement
Refund difference between what ****** would have charged and what Nordic did charge with no prior notice of the enormous increases

Business Response
************** ********: $755.28

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
We do not understand the response. We have not received any response from Nordic. Have they refunded $755.28? They charged us over $2727 for three months that would have cost us approximately $1200 had we stayed with *******Our April bill from *******was $250 since we changed back to *******

Final Business Response
Please see my email from 4/8 below-we sent the customer a lost savings refund check in the amount of $755.28. Please let me know if there is any additional information you need. Thank you.

Consumer Response
We never received a refund for $725. They lied if they stated that we did. Ask to them provide you with proof of such a refund. You closed this complaint with no proof because they cannot show the proof


Business Response
Nordic issued a refund check in the amount of 755.29 on 4/11/2014-check number *****. The check was sent to ***** ******** at **** **** Rd ******* IL XXXXX. Nordic contacted the customer and he informed us that he does not get mail delivered to his home because he is in a rural area. He gave us his PO Box so Nordic is going to cancel the check and send to the PO Box as directed by the customer.

Consumer Response
We never received a refund for $725. They lied if they stated that we did. Ask to them provide you with proof of such a refund. You closed this complaint with no proof because they cannot show the proof


Business Response
Nordic issued a refund check in the amount of 755.29 on 4/11/2014-check number XXXXX. The check was sent to ***** ******** at **** **** ** ******* IL XXXXX. Nordic contacted the customer and he informed us that he does not get mail delivered to his home because he is in a rural area. He gave us his PO Box so Nordic is going to cancel the check and send to the PO Box as directed by the customer.


Consumer Response
The consumer indicated ONLINE that the business responded to this complaint to his/her satisfaction. He/she also stated:
We have been out of town but returned to find a check from Nordic Energy as per their previous notice to you. We appreciate your help in arriving at a reasonable resolution to this matter. We thank BBB and Nordic for responding to our compliant

06/09/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
it all started in june of 2013 when I was contacted by Nordic energy stating that they could save me money on my electric bill.they said that I would be charged a fixed rate of 0.049 till 7/14 and that the contract was for one year and that I could cancel at any time.what I didn"t realize that it was for only one month.now iam at there mercy and they can charge what ever they want.my bill this month being febuary was 849.90 at a rate of 0.XXXXX as compaired to my neibhors who's rate is 0.XXXXX.i contacted them last mounth and told them I wanted to cancel the contract which I never did sign and that I wanted to go back with com. ed.they said they would let com.ed. know.that was on about 1/20/2014.i think they tolk advantage of me and that they are not a trust worth company and that someone needs to put a stop to the scam that they pulled on me. yours truly ***** *****

Desired Settlement
I think that they should reimbers me the money that I had to pay over what it would cost me if I would have stayed with ******* and never heard of Nordic energy.

Business Response
********************: $490.32



Consumer Response
I am still waiting for a refund check of $490.32 from Nordic Energy. They said they mailed it on 4-14-14. I contacted them on 5-9-14. They said they were stopping payment on that check and issuing a new check because I never received the 1st one. I called on 5-22-14 & spoke to **** who was going to find out what happened to he 2nd check. He never returned my call. Could you please look into this matter? Thank you, ***********. Phone ************.


Business Response
Nordic Energy confirmed the check was not cashed. We are going to cancel the check and reissue a new check for the same amount. The new check will be mailed in the next 3-5 business days. customer has been contacted.

04/21/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
account nos-XXXXX-XXXXX,XXXXX-XXXXX,XXXXX-XXXXX i have 3 different accounts and they promised me a cheaper rate than my previous provider ****** illinois after one month they increased the rate from 4.4 which is cheaper than ****** to 10.5 cents more than doubling my power bills and i cant afford it. they did not disclosed the fact that they would double my rate, they deceptively hounded me on the phone to sign up for this 'cheaper' electrical rate and they lied about the rate being cheaper than ****** illinois i have switched back to ****** this morning after talking to the company but they still say i have to pay this outrageous rate for power of my two homes on the bill from jan2 to feb 2 when i called the number X(XXX)XXX-XXXX the guy on the phone said my power bill will fluctuate with the market depending on who they buy the power from and they did not tell me that on the phone that after a month my bill would more than double

Desired Settlement
i expect them to change my bill to the rate they promised me

Business Response
********-**** ****** (please note-she has 3 accounts): $942.40

04/21/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My electric service thru Nordic Energy increased from approx .05 to over .21 in one month with no notice. I contacted them about this and was told it was because of the weather. When I told them I wanted to immediately cancel their service, they said they were unable to do so and that I would have to pay another 30 days worth of service before I could cancel.

Desired Settlement
I want to disconnect from them on the date I contacted them and I want the rate I was charged to revert to the earlier rate - retroactively.

I would also like this practice of their to be boldly outlined and explained in any contracts or sales presented to future customers.

We have contacted the Commerce Commission, **** ****** - *** ******* the local ********* ****** and a few others including posting on social media (facebook) about this issue.

I do not believe they have to right to hold me hostage for another billing period when I told them I wanted to cancel their service effective immediately.

Business Response
********-******* *******-no refund owed. We already refunded customer for all lost savings on 2/20/2014

04/21/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Electricity prices will be less than present supplier. Period!. After we signed on with Nordic. the 2 months were reasonable, then $970 bill. I feel gouged since after the fact, I called ComEd and to my surprise Nordic was charging .20/killomate whereas ***** was charging .05/killowat. I understand that the weather has been extremely cold although the use of this as a reason to gouge the consumer is very bad. Since receiving that bill from Nordic we transferred back to ***** and for a cost of $90 we are now part of a budget plan at $160/month for the next year. This monthly payment will be double our normal cost. Nordic is a scam.!!!

Desired Settlement
$970 dollars.

Business Response
********-**** *******-no refund owed. We already refunded customer for all lost savings on 3/17/2014

Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Natural Gas Companies

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 11/12/2008Business started: 06/02/2002
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. James C. Deering (President)
Business Category

Natural Gas Companies

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Nordic Energy Services LLC

One Tower Lane, Suite 300

Oakbrook Terrace, IL 60181

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • One Tower Lane, Suite 300 

    Oakbrook Terrace, IL 60181

  • 4449 Easton Way Fl 2 

    Columbus, OH 43219-7005

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Chicago and Northern Illinois. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Nordic Energy Services LLC is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (877) 808-1022

Additional Fax Numbers

  • (614) 934-1001
X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Natural Gas Companies

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.